CLEAR Extra Strength Kit

Break up with breakouts. Stop pimples cold, zap those zits, unclog pores, and calm redness without the dry-out. Time to start a long-term relationship with great skin.
Item #: 475
  • Acne Breakouts, Enlarged Pores
  • For All Skin Types
  • 3 products: CLEAR Cleanser, CLEAR Extra Strength Exfoliant, CLEAR Extra Strength Blemish Treatment

*PLEASE NOTE: Do not use the Exfoliating Solution if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

Try the CLEAR Extra Strength Trial Kit

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

CLEAR Extra Strength Kit

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 84 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. AB
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I bought this entire line after trying the regular strength line which made my skin worse. This line helped a little, but did not get my skin clear. If you are like me (possibly too sensitive for Benzoyl Peroxide?), please try the Resist BHA 9! It's done more for my acne than all the prescription medications and regimens I've tried in the past 16 years. Two stars are for the cleanser portion of this system, which is actually fantastic and doesn't overly dry my already dry skin. I'm convinced the cleanser is a part of my success. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. It would be helpful to know what else you were using in your routine to determine the best recommendations and possible reason as to why the products did not respond well for you. Please contact customer care via telephone, live chat, or email so that we may discuss your routine and offer you an in house credit for the product.

  2. Nicole
    Reviewed on Monday, November 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So Thankful!
    • I am 33 and the past five-six years of my life have been consumed with skin issues. I went from a makeup free face to not leaving the house without it. My face began to break out with a few pimples but soon turned to what the dermatologist called cystic acne. There were multiple spots on my face ranging from quarter to dime size and some of them seemed to have remained on my face for months! I couldn't even look at myself in the mirror anymore, I just wanted to cry everytime. I was disgusted with myself and how I looked. I came across the reviews for Paula's Choice Clear extra strength and decided to purchase the trial size. I have spent so much money on prescriptions, vitamins, topical treatments and numerous other acne products, I didn't see the harm in trying one more. I received the shipment on a Monday, so that evening I tried it. By Thursday morning, the smaller pimples were gone and the large cystic spots were significantly smaller and the redness was minimal. There were smaller knots on my face and jaw that had been there for at least a year and they were almost non existent. My pores are barely there and minus a few hormonal breakouts, my face is clear, of everything! My face is smooth, clear and the tone is more even! I have gone from packing on the makeup to a light powder everyday and my confidence in my appearance is back. I obviously purchased the full size along with the weekly resurfacing treatment, which I love. It has been three weeks since I started using the system and decided to purchase a couple different samples of moisturizers, I haven't experienced much dryness, but noticed a couple of spots. I absolutely love this system and have recommended this to my friends and family. Thank you for helping me to feel beautiful again!Nicole

  3. Jane
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 30, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The only thing that works!
    • I have had skin problems all my life and this is the first treatment that has worked. My skin has never looked so good. I get compliments all the time. I doubt this would have improved the cystic acne I had earlier but I love how it works now. The cleaner is so gentle yet it cleans my face without drying it. The toner and treatment also work nicely. Try it if you have oily or acne prone skin and your skin will be the best it has ever been.

  4. Debbie
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best acne products out there!
    • My son has struggled with moderate but stubborn acne and blackheads throughout high school. He's gone to dermatologists and has tried every topical perscription product, but they all have left his skin irritated and dried out, and have not cleared up his acne. Finally, after seeing an infomercial for Proactive, he asked me if I could order it for him. As a loyal reader of Beautypedia as well as user of Paula's products, I knew that the Clear Extra Strength Set would be the better solution. And I was right! His acne cleared up within 2 weeks, much more quickly than I would have expected. And the best part is he has no irritation at all, even though this product is Extra Strength! I only wish I had gotten it for him sooner. Outstanding product!

  5. Angie
    Reviewed on Friday, July 20, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it :)
    • I use tazorac and clear extra strength and I am pretty happy. You just have to start off slowly, or else u will really peel. Tazorac om it's own was not helping my hormonal acne but with clear it's looking soooo much better.

  6. Kasia
    Reviewed on Monday, July 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Worth trying!
    • This was the only acne system that actually worked. Out of all the others I have tried, and I have tried everything under the moon, from natural lines to painful prescriptions. Now that I am 27, 12 years later I finally have clear skin, and can go out in public with no makeup! Ok, just mascara and some great lip gloss!It feels amazing not to spend hours in front of a mirror working with concealers and powders.Thank you so much Paula! Keep making this product, and I recommend this to any man or woman who is struggling with acne.

  7. Sara
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I have recommended this to friends!
    • The Clear Extra Strength line has changed everything for my husband and son. They went from having terrible acne to showing off their handsome faces! We are so pleased with the line that we have recommended this to family and friends, who are now also seeing great results! Thanks Paula!

  8. Sean
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 18, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I recommend this!
    • I've been using CLEAR regular strength with moderate satisfaction, then decided to give a try for extra strength for extra result. I am not disappointed at all. It didn't perfectly or magically turned my skin into flawless skin, but I am satisfied with the outcome. I started low-sugar diet and using this product at the same time, so I'm not 100% sure which one benefited me the most. However, now I only get one or two zits maybe once a week or so. Like I said, it is not perfect to get rid of my last one or two zits, but it made my life more easier. Tangible difference I felt between regular strength and extra strength is, while regular strength toner feels like water, extra strength toner feels a bit like oily water. It felt a little weird at first but I got used to it later. I highly recommend this product.

  9. Angie
    Reviewed on Friday, April 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Calgary
    • There are not enough words to rave about this product! I've struggled with acne since age 11 and by the time I had hit my early 40's it had become a terrible mess. I have genetic tendencies toward acne and the middle-age hormones turned it into huge cysts and galaxies of whiteheads on my face, neck, chest and back. I tried this set out of sheer desperation, and with some skepticism since I had been using other acne products with similar ingredients with no success. My acne started to clear up right away and within three days it had disappeared. The redness and uneven tone over my face had also cleared up. I went from being ashamed to leave the house, to feeling good about myself! My skin hasn't looked this good since before I hit puberty. I was also encouraged by the return policy and excellent customer service; I knew if it didn't work for me I would be able to get my money back, which really does provide a felling of security when trying new skin care products.

  10. Kristin
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 12, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Too harsh for me
    • I really hoped this system would work for me. I had such high hopes. This system was a huge let down. All it did was dry me out. It was the weirdest thing too, it wasn't like dry flaky, it was dry wrinkly. I was 26 last year when I used this product. I don't have wrinkles or fine lines yet thanks to my super oily skin. While using this system however, my face was drier than a desert, pink, and had fine lines everywhere including my cheeks. I tried using moisturizer with it, but it didn't help. I tried skipping days between application, rotating the products so I wasn't using all the products on the same day, nothing helped. This system is just too harsh for me. It did nothing for my acne besides aggravate it more. I'm still on a quest to find the right products for me. I'm glad it works for some people, but it definitely doesn't work for everyone. Customer Care Response: Thank you for taking the time to review this product. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce more favorable results for you personally. We understand that each person will respond differently to products and ingredients. Regarding your purchase with us, we will be sure to credit your account for the purchase price of the product. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  11. dana
    Reviewed on Friday, March 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE!
    • I have struggled with acne on my face for most of my life. Then, once I got pregnant, I started breaking out terribly on my back, neck, jawline and shoulders. So painful. like those crazy cystic ones that hurt when you smile. PC's products are the only ones that have worked for me. I started off using them once a day to see how my skin would react, and gradually changed things up to monitor how my skin was handling it. the acne on my face and jawline is gone, and the breakouts on my neck and back are healing big time. I am in love.

  12. Angela
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My daughter has her beautiful skin back!
    • I have known about Paula Begoun for a long time now, and know that she knows her stuff. I am an Esthetician, and am constantly reading up on the newest skin care products and fads. Let me say that Paula's products are the most true and honest products out there, not to mention affordable. There is so much hype and fancy packaging these days that consumers who are not familiar with active ingredients, and ingredients that are just fluff, are spending to much money and being very dissapointed in the end. I teach my clients to read ingredient labels and recommend they read Paula's books. They are extremely helpful and give you product power in the cosmetic department! So, with that said, my daughter is a college student, living away from home. She called me a few months ago and said she was breaking out really bad. My daughter has always had beautiful skin, so when she sent me a picture, I was shocked. She came home the next weekend, and we went to see our dermatologist (it was that bad, cystic and very inflamed). He wanted to give her a prescription to take by mouth. We were reluctant to do this, so I suggested she try Paula's Choice Clear Extra Strength. If that didn't work, we would re-visit the prescription. Well, I just returned from a visit with her, and her skin was BEAUTIFUL! She was so happy. She has been using the products for about three months now, and it has completely healed her Acne. I was so relieved. Thanks Paula for coming through with a wonderful, very effective and top quality product for my daughter. I knew you wouldn't let me down.

  13. Jennie
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It really works!!
    • This product REALLY WORKS!!! I have had moderate acne since the 7th grade and I am now 24. I used Proactive for years, but it was extremely drying and didn't control my acne very consistently. I would still get acne in waves, especially around the time of my cycle. I've also tried other products/systems to no avail. After trying the CLEAR system from Paula, I can truly say that my face is now clear!!! My skin is much more smooth and even. I still get the occasional pimple, but not like before. I do not experience excessive drying, but I also use one of Paula's moisturizers. The only complaint is that the extra strength version of the toner and treatment cream is a little harsh and makes my skin burn. I try to use the last two steps at night only, while I use the cleanser morning and night. I may try the regular strength next time, but I'm worried that it won't clear my skin like the extra strength. Regardless, I will never stop using this product. THANK YOU PAULA!!!! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear the products work well with your skin! You certainly don't want to use any product that causes stinging or burning every time you apply it so we suggest the regular strength versions to try and see how your skin responds. If these are also a bit too much we suggest the Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Gel Exfoliant instead of the CLEAR Toner and you would not want to use the benzoyl peroxide product within the CLEAR line. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  14. Joy
    Reviewed on Monday, January 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    OMG! No more oily skin!
    • I read the review from Jackie about no more oily skin and I just had to try the system. I would give it 10+ stars! In one day, my skin was no longer shiny and much less red from rosacea. I cannot believe the thousands of dollars I have spent on skin care, including FotoFacial laser treatments. I will never be without this system!

  15. Jackie
    Reviewed on Friday, November 18, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    No more oily skin
    • Within two days of using the 3 products in the set, I was thrilled to see that my skin is not oily anymore. The first tell-tale sign was when I woke in the morning and my skin had no oily look to it, I was shocked. When I bought the set, the special price includes oil blotting paper and shine stopper but I honestly have not needed to use either of these! I have been using the first two steps religiously morning and night and every other day using the third, I do not want my skin to overdry. I will definitely reorder and probably get the regular strength next time, though I have not had a problem with overdrying. So happy to have clear, dry skin finally!

  16. Maggie
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 22, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It Works!
    • Thank you for creating these wonderful products! I'm not normally one to write product reviews, but I'm truly in love with this stuff. I suffered from adult acne for about 8 years before trying this skincare line. I started with the Regular Strength set and noticed improvement within days. My face felt calmer and the texture improved almost immediately. When my toner ran out I switched to the Extra Strength set and that's when the magic really started to happen. It's been about 5 months now and I am thrilled with the results. I'd estimate that I'm about 99% clear right now and my face hasn't felt this smooth and soft since I was 11 years old. The trick is to be patient and stick with the routine. Rejoice in the small milestones and maintain realistic expectations.

  17. Kim
    Reviewed on Friday, July 22, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Kimberly
    • This system has been a miracle for me. These are the first anti-acne products I've used that don't dry up my skin. I'm 35 and have been battling acne for 20 years. My pores are greatly diminished and my skin is so smooth and clear. I don't know why bigger companies don't have products as good as these! Thank you Paula for your wonderful products!

  18. Maria
    Reviewed on Monday, July 11, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Effective product
    • My son suffered from acne and blackheads on his face and chest. I use Paula's Choice products exclusively and thought we should try this line, even though he wanted to try a different, extensively advertised product. Using Beautypedia, I researched the products he wanted to buy, and determined that, as always, Paula's Choice would be more appropriate. Even though he started out using this system every other day for a couple of weeks (made his skin too dry to use daily) he saw improvement within a week. Now he uses these products daily and the skin on his face and chest is completely clear! He's very happy I insisted on these products.

  19. Danielle
    Reviewed on Friday, October 22, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product
    • This product is amazing. I developed acne after going of birth control and have not found a product to clear it until now. I found the system a tad drying at first, but my skin got used to it very soon. This product has made my skin not only clear, but glowing. I have only used the system for one month and I am addicted. If you are struggling at all with acne, give this a try. It WILL work for you!

  20. Michelle C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 11, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Ordered for my teen as a
    • Having enjoyed many of paula's choice products myself, I decided to give the extra strength system a try as a last resort for my teen daughter before paying to see a dermatologist. The reviews and paula's guarantee helped in the decision. WOW! It worked! After using it for a couple of weeks daughters skin transformed. She now has really great skin with only the normal hormonal break-outs that many of us have each month. She has been using this system for over a year now. Thank you for developing this product!

  21. Pauline G.
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 20, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best acne treatment ever!!!
    • I bought this for my son because he was having a problem with acne in high school. I know what he was going through since I battled acne my whole life. My sister recommended it and within one week his face was cleared within two weeks the red spots were lighter. You would never think he had a problem in the first place. Good bye weekly facials $60each. I use it now and cant believe the results. AMAZING!!! Don't give up, at least give it two weeks and you will see results.

  22. Cate
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 15, 2010
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    my skin looks worse
    • I tried this and the regular strength system, and I'm breaking out more, not less. My skin looks worse now than it did before I started using these products.Customer Care Response: We are sorry to hear about your experience with these items. Please contact our Customer Care team for further assistance in selecting alternate items. Please note: we do offer a 60 day return/exchange policy.

  23. Dana
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 17, 2010
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    About to try something different
    • I used the Clear system and by the time I ran out, I finally began to see a little difference in my skin. I am either going to try the extra strength or try something entirely different. I love Paula's Choice overall, but I may have tougher acne than the regular strength Clear System can help.

  24. Janelle
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 17, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Beyond Amazed
    • Despite two rounds of Accutane, four chemical peels, and usage of every acne product under the sun (OTC and prescription), my acne was still a problem....and then I started using the CLEAR products. I am in the Navy and I just deployed to a ship for 3 months (meaning: I spent 3 months stewing in a steel box of other people's hygiene) and I thought FOR SURE I was going to get off that ship with my acne as bad as it was before the Accutane....but using the CLEAR products twice a day, my face looked better than ever. I have genetic cystic acne and live in the desert (in the Middle East now) and was on a ship. My face *should* be worse than ever right now. Instead, thanks to Paula's products, I wake up to skin every morning that I literally dreamed about as a child.

  25. Linda
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 30, 2010
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Too harsh and drying for me
    • I got the sample kit and tried the regular and extra strength. LOVE the regular, but this dried out my skin and made me break out more. I'm sticking with the regular!

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

Products in the CLEAR Extra Strength Kit Include:
 

CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser:
All Skin Types
This gentle, but thorough formula quickly dissolves oil, dead skin cells, and makeup that can clog pores.

CLEAR Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution:
All Skin Types
This solution penetrates deep into pores for more thorough exfoliation, antibacterial action, and redness reduction.

CLEAR Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment:
All Skin Types
A proven solution for stubborn acne. 5% benzoyl peroxide goes to work immediately to eliminate acne-causing bacteria.

FREE Pack of Oil-Blotting Papers:
These handy and discrete Oil-Blotting Papers instantly absorb excess surface oil and leave your skin smooth and matte. These tissue-thin papers will not disturb your makeup nor will they add any powder to the skin.

Sources to support the claims made for CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics, November 2003, pages 407-412; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; and Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55.

Sources to support the claims made for CLEAR Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution

International Immunopharmacology, August 2009, pages 1,126–1,130; Cutis, July 2009, pages 48–55; Chemical Research in Toxicology, January 2008, pages 53–69; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November-December 2004, pages 519-531; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Sources to support the claims made for CLEAR Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment

Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, February 2010, pages 712–718; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, February 2010, pages 131–136; Dermatologic Clinics, January 2009, pages 33–42; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2008, pages 480–481; and Dermatology Therapy, March-April 2008, pages 86–95; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 873–880; Lancet, December 2004, pages 21882195; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, September-October 2000, pages 292–296; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: allantoin, panthenol, benzoyl peroxide, salicylic acid, green tea, glycerin, bisabolol, triclosan, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate

Product Ingredients:

CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser:
Water, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate (detergent cleansing agent), Acrylates/Steareth-20 Methacrylate Copolymer (polymer thickening agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient/slip agent), PEG-200 Hydrogenated Glyceryl Palmate (thickener), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (detergent cleansing agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (emulsifier), Panthenol (skin conditioning agent), Triclosan (antibacterial agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (solubolizing agent), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin (preservatives).

CLEAR Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution:
Active: Salicylic Acid 2% Inactive: Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Extract (anti-irritant/antioxidant), Polysorbate-20 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

CLEAR Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment:
Active: Benzoyl Peroxide 5% (anti-bacterial agent) Inactive: Water, Propylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Acrylates C10-30 Alkyl Acrylates Crosspolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Sodium Citrate (stabilizer), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser:
DIRECTIONS: Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Spread a nickel- to quarter-sized amount of cleanser over your fingers and apply to facial skin with gentle but vigorous circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup.

CLEAR Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution:
DIRECTIONS: Use twice daily. After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Normalizing Cleanser, soak a large cotton ball with Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution and gently stroke over face. Pay special attention to acne- and blackhead-prone areas. Do not rinse. Avoid contact with eyes, eyelids, and mucous membranes. If excessive dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once per day or once every other day.

CLEAR Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment:
DIRECTIONS: After cleansing with Paula's Choice CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser and exfoliating with Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, cover the affected area with a thin layer of Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment 1–3 times a day. Because some people may experience dryness when they first start using a product with benzoyl peroxide, it may be necessary to reduce application to once every other day or, if twice daily application proves to be too much, reduce application to once daily, morning or evening.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser:

I already use a Paula's Choice cleanser. Do I have to use the CLEAR cleanser?

You don't have to but it is recommended. The CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser contains a unique antibacterial agent that's designed to begin the process of killing acne-causing bacteria. It is designed to work with the other products in the CLEAR range, but if you prefer your regular Paula's Choice cleanser, you may continue to use it with other CLEAR products.

The CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser contains triclosan, an ingredient Paula has mentioned isn't a good option for acne. Why did she include it?

Paula and her team decided to include triclosan in our CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser due to its potential to begin the process of killing acne-causing bacteria. Recent research indicates that triclosan may play a stronger role than originally thought when it comes to anti-acne skin care. We have used triclosan in an amount that is effective as a first line of defense against acne-causing bacteria; however, benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our leave-on CLEAR Acne Fighting Treatments) is the antibacterial powerhouse when acne is the concern.

CLEAR Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution:

How does Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution differ from Paula's regular BHA products?

Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution is actually identical to our longstanding, best-selling 2% Beta Hydroxy Acid Liquid. The original product is so effective at keeping acne under control that Paula decided to add this formula to her CLEAR line so it is a distinct part of this 3-step routine for those struggling with blemishes. If you're already using our 2% BHA Liquid, you don't need to switch to this product; either way, you're getting an exceptional product to help combat acne, blackheads, and whiteheads while creating smooth, healthy skin.

Why does Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution feel tacky and/or greasy on my face?

Most likely because you're using too much product. The average amount necessary for facial application is less than the size of a dime. The product is best applied in a thin layer, and has great spreading properties. The "greasy" feel can be attributed to the high levels of glycol in this product (glycol helps the BHA penetrate the surface layers of skin and also works as a water-binding agent). If you live in a humid, moist climate, this effect will be more pronounced and, if too much product is used, can create a "greasy" feel on the skin. Many customers have remarked how silky-soft their skin is as a result of Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, and that is the result of the humectants working with the BHA to exfoliate and hydrate the skin. To eliminate the tacky feeling, press a tissue gently onto skin after the exfoliant has been absorbed. This removes any residual product while not affecting efficacy.

CLEAR Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment:

Why doesn't Paula's Choice offer a 10% strength benzoyl peroxide?

Paula feels that once you have tried a 2.5% and then a 5% benzoyl peroxide product and determined that these did not give you results, the next sensible step is to look into a prescription topical antibiotic for blemishes such as Benzamycin or Clindamycin. Trying a 10% benzoyl peroxide may prove effective for some, but the kickback from the irritation and excessive dryness that can occur at this level may not be worth it when there are prescription products that can be more effective without the strong side effects. In any event, truly stubborn blemishes almost always require the care and supervision of a competent dermatologist.

What happened to your Extra Strength Blemish Fighting Solution?

Nothing happened except a name change! The same formula that's worked so well for thousands of Paula's Choice customers struggling with acne has been renamed and added to our CLEAR line. Paula wanted to reposition this product as part of her streamlined, 3-step approach for achieving clear skin. Other than the name, Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is identical to our former Extra Strength Blemish Fighting Treatment.

432586-PCWEB-WW v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.