Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser

I can see clearly now. This acne face wash gently removes excess oil, dead skin cells, and makeup without leaving a trace. Use it day and night to curb breakouts without dryness.
Item #: 600
  • Acne Breakouts, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores
  • For All Skin Types
  • Reduces red marks & prevents redness

For best results use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 205 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. Katherine F.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good Clean
    • Nice cleanser, doesn't dry out my skin much. I use this only at night. This take some good rubbing of hands to make foam but it feels nice and light when I'm working this cleanser into my face. It cleans make up well but make sure you use at least a quarter size product, if you use it won't foam well. I am seeing smaller and cleaner pores on my nose, I am using this with the 2% BHA liquid and Oil absorbing mask. (I don't recommend the mask though, it seem to discover my skin.)

  2. Jenny L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally! Something that works!
    • I have only had this cleanser for a few days and I am completely in love. I have dry/acne prone/sensitive skin, and this cleanser doesn't make me red, dry out my skin or dry out my blemishes. So many cleansers I have tried makes my acne flaky and super dry. Not this one! The first time I used it was at night and I could see results the next morning! My new holy grail cleanser. Something that really works. Obsessed! Thank you thank you thank you Paula's Choice!

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great product
    • I do really love this product! I'm acne prone but I have normal to dry skin and this leaves my face feeling clean but perfectly balanced. However, I wish I could order it in a bigger size, I find that I go through the entire bottle within three weeks.

  4. H.C
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Life saving!
    • I started using this cleanser when my skin was in a BAD state and within a few weeks i saw DRAMATIC changes in the condition and congestion of my skin. I can't even remember the last time i had to use a blotting sheet, i use it at night with the PC exfoliant.

  5. Amy
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Clean ad Clear
    • I wanted to add a product that would help control my random and hormonal breakouts to my anti-aging skincare routine, and this seems to be doing the trick perfectly without completely drying out my skin! My breakouts have been mostly eliminated, especially if I follow up with the CLEAR Regular Strength Acne Treatment as a spot treatment. This combo takes control before zits even have a chance to appear on my skin. Good stuff!

  6. Happy C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Still the best
    • I reviewed this product in 2009 and gave it 5 stars. Fast forward to 2014 and I am still using it. This is an amazing cleanser and sets the standard for gentle cleansers aimed for blemish-prone skin. It is a truly fantastic product and I will never be without it.

  7. Samantha P.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    My skin didn't love this
    • I'm not saying this is a bad cleanser but my face did not love it! I think mainly the triclosan was to blame. I used this the first day and loved it but the more I used it the worse my skin got, it became dry and my acne wasn't healing properly so I stopped using just the wash to see if that was the problem and it was. I love all of the paulas choice products but this was a failure for my skin

  8. Virginia S.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 07, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great for diminishing pore size and blackheads
    • I normally use the Skin Balancing cleanser, which I love, but I used this on vacation recently because I had a trial size of it. I was amazed at how great my skin was the whole week I was using this--my blackheads seemed to shrink in size and visibility, and I had perfectly clear skin with no breakouts. However, when it comes to removing makeup the Skin Balancing cleanser is definitely superior, so I'm not sure yet which one I want to keep using.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Cleanser!
    • I tried Paula's Choice on a whim thinking it was affordable enough that if I didn't see results, I wasn't out hundreds of dollars. I swore off all other skincare brands and committed myself to Paula's Choice for 1 month. I have combination skin, acne, redness, and wrinkles. This cleanser is amazing…leaves my skin clean, but not stripped. Acne and redness have improved significantly, I use it in conjunction with RESIST products and the 2% BHA liquid. Great stuff!

  10. Denyse
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Cleanser!
    • This is a great cleanser for acne prone skin and unlike so many other products on the market does not contain any irritating fragrance. This is a bonus for me because although my face is oily, I get eczema on my hands.

  11. Mae
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT!!
    • I absolutely love this cleanser!!! I was using the Skin Balancing Cream Cleanser but decided to switch to this cleanser when my acne wasn't going away. This keeps my acne at bay and never dries out my skin! Love!!!

  12. Gregory P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Wonderful product and wanting more of it!
    • I have really enjoyed the Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser for my combination/oily skin. However, I find myself needing to reorder frequently because of the smaller 6 oz. size. Would Paula's Choice consider offering a larger size? Many thanks for reading!

  13. JT
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My skin cleared up completely within 2 days
    • This cleanser works for me because it does not contain BP or salicylic acid - it just does it's job without any "acne medicine" in it. I have blemish prone skin that has been a nightmare lately with tons of acne popping up on my forehead and chin. I had been using Bioelements Decongestant cleanser for the past 12 months and it just wasn't working for me anymore. This cleanser is great for my skin and I am completely blemish free after 4 days. I started with a sample and just purchased 6oz.

  14. Dennis M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good cleanser
    • I have been using this cleanser for approx 3 months now. It is a good, not-too drying acne cleanser. I can't really tell if my acne improved because of this or not (since I also started taking isotretinoin at the same time) but it def didn't aggravate, which a lot of other brands do. Do note this cleanser may be dry for dry skin (not to the extent of tightness).

  15. Katie N.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great basic cleanser
    • This is a wonderful, no frills cleanser. When you start breaking out for the first time, your first instinct is to go to the drugstore and buy an "acne face wash" of some kind. Don't. From trail and major error I've learned that your cleanser should be basic. No perfumes, no exfoliating agents, no dyes, and no harsh alcohol. You want to calm your skin, not make it worse. This does a great job of that. Great product!

  16. Charlotte M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite!
    • I love this cleanser! Usually anything that is sudsy like this dries my face out too much, but this stuff has never dried my face out, even in this -10 degree weather we are currently having here in Chicago. After switching my birth control, I have very acne prone skin. I have tried a number of other cleansers, including PC's, but I always get a break out, even if I just stray away once from this stuff.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 04, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Too drying
    • I LOVE Paula's Choice products but this was not for me. I am a teen with very dry skin and I loved how it will make face feel fresh and clean but it was way too drying for me. It made my skin flake because it cleaned alway too much oil and moisture. But, it didn't irritate my skin (other than flaking) so it was good. If you're a teen with very dry skin I don't recommend this product. For people with combo or oily skin, I think this will be a perfect product.

  18. Noor Anggerainie A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Disinfect acne prone skin
    • I love this cleanser. |t helps to control my acne prone skin especially during PMS. To remove makeup, I use the Skin Balancing Cleanser to remove makeup then use this to remove the last trace of makeup. Perfect combination for 100% cleansing.

  19. K
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    THE BEST CLEANSER
    • I have used skinbalancing cleanser for a while, but I had occasional breakout when I used that. However, since I have changed to this product, I rarely have breakouts. I am allergic to aspirin, so i cannot use BHA product in regular basis, but after using this product, as its name suggests, it actually "normalized" my pore and skin. : ) Thanks PC for the amazing product!

  20. Elizabeth R.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    amazing cleanser! the ONLY thing that solved my acne!
    • This cleanser literally changed my life. It is the ONLY thing that worked for me. I have been using it nonstop for two years, and my face is super clear. This cleanser is gentle, doesn't dry out my skin, doesn't leave it feeling tight or irritated. I saw it work after about 2 weeks of regular use. Now, I only need to use it once a day and my skin is great! I recommend it to everyone I know who has problem skin. I had given up hope and was so discouraged before I found this cleanser. Try it!!

  21. Allayna M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 24, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Unfortunately not a fit
    • I purchased this almost half a year ago to try and combat the acne I get on a regular basis. I've been using it this entire time thinking that it was my skin that just wouldn't clear up, but then I stopped using it and started using a balm cleanser (not of Paula's line). Magically, the dry patches on my face disappeared and my acne is reducing. It would have been a good idea for me to stop using this months ago so - a lot of people love this but for some, it may be too harsh. For me, it was.

  22. Sylvia N.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Sigh, very disappointed. Didn't work for me!
    • Ive been using the regular cleanser, xtra stength exfoliant, and acne treatment for a month now. I felt sure that this would be the key to diminishing the breakouts I've been having lately. After 2 weeks of using the whole system, I felt that my acne was getting irritated, my face started to get really dry (I think the toner caused this) and my blemishes were still there! Overall it has not made any difference for my blemish prone skin. I really wanted it to! I'll be returning my purchases

  23. DAVID L.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very good cleanser for sensitive acne-prone skin
    • This cleanser feels very gentle on the skin while deeply cleanses and moisturizes. Although it is salicylic acid free so not sure if that affect its effectiveness in terms of clearing acnes, my face does seem to stay pretty clear with it. I like its natural quality.

  24. Ashlea C
    Reviewed on Friday, November 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    An All Round Good Cleanser
    • I like this cleanser a lot. I have sensitive, sever combination skin and hormonal acne. While I haven't been using this cleanser long enough to know if it's preventative, I have definitely noticed that my acne breakouts heal considerably quicker. I find the cleanser none irritating, none drying on my dry spots and it noticeably increases the time it takes for my skin to turn oily. The only down side is it's not as effective on my blackheads as the Balancing cleanser.

  25. Rebecca
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 02, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good Cleanser but not for me...
    • I purchased the full size after using the trial size during the summer and it would occasionally sting my face but I attributed it to irritation from the Clarisonic that I had started (and since stopped) When I added in the Clear cleanser to my twice daily BHA, my skin began to get increasiningly dry and tight and started to flake. My face almost always stings after I use this cleanser. I am not particularly sensitive and have oily skin but this doesn't work for me and I can't use it anymore.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, November 07, 2013

    Thanks for your review! Please contact us for assistance with choosing an alternate cleanser. We're happy to help!

    —Admin
« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Get ready to take your first step toward Clear skin! Unlike other anti-acne cleansers on the market, Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser is completely free of drying, irritating ingredients that make acne worse. This silky, refreshing cleansing gel is tough on blemishes yet gentle on your skin, working quickly to remove makeup. It contains an antibacterial agent to begin the fight against acne plus soothing agents to help reduce redness.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser is recommended for all skin types suffering with acne.

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics, November 2003, pages 407-412; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; and Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55.

Key Ingredients: sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, glycerin, triclosan, panthenol

Product Ingredients:

Water, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate (detergent cleansing agent), Acrylates/Steareth-20 Methacrylate Copolymer (polymer thickening agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient/slip agent), PEG-200 Hydrogenated Glyceryl Palmate (thickener), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (detergent cleansing agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (emulsifier), Panthenol (skin conditioning agent), Triclosan (antibacterial agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (solubolizing agent), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Spread a nickel- to quarter-sized amount of cleanser over your fingers and apply to facial skin with gentle but vigorous circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

I already use a Paula's Choice cleanser. Do I have to use the Clear cleanser?

You don't have to but it is recommended. The Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser contains a unique antibacterial agent that's designed to begin the process of killing acne-causing bacteria. It is designed to work with the other products in the Clear range, but if you prefer your regular Paula's Choice cleanser, you may continue to use it with other Clear products.

The Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser contains triclosan, an ingredient Paula has mentioned isn't a good option for acne. Why did she include it?

Paula and her team decided to include triclosan in our Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser due to its potential to begin the process of killing acne-causing bacteria. Recent research indicates that triclosan may play a stronger role than originally thought when it comes to anti-acne skincare. We have used triclosan in an amount that is effective as a first line of defense against acne-causing bacteria; however, benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our leave-on Clear Acne Fighting Treatments) is the antibacterial powerhouse when acne is the concern.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.344 10/23/2014 1:41:50 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.