Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Acne, I won’t miss you when you’re gone. Unclog pores, reduce redness, and start a relationship with the healthy skin of your dreams.
Item #: 620
  • Acne Breakouts, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Redness
  • For All Skin Types

For best results, use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 220 Reviews)
Page of 9 Next »
  1. Monica E.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Saved my face!
    • Where do I begin to tell my story? It's a very long tale that began 2 years ago with no hope in sight until I came across this product in November 2013. I was on the verge of going on Accutane in my middle 30s to fight adult cystic acne when I somehow stumbled on a lady on YouTube raving about Paula's Choice 2% BHA. Fast forward to today 8/18/2014 and my face is clear with not traces of acne. Paula's 2% BHA is my holy grail! I hope it becomes yours soon-Monica

  2. brooke s.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this stuff!
    • I believe this stuff truly works. I've had adult acne for years and have just dealt with it. I always read reviews on beautypedia and would try to buy good products. I finally decided to try Paula's Choice. I'm so glad I did. I use this with the 2.5% benzoyl peroxide and the Hydralight lotion. I've been using it consistently since March, and the last 2 months I've noticed a huge different in the amount of breakouts I get. I will buy these products forever!!!

  3. Laura A.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 06, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Disappointing - Caused break outs
    • I'm really disappointed with this product. After reading so many positive reviews, I thought this would be great, but I was wrong. Maybe my skin is too sensitive for this product, but it made my face sting and break out. I wasn't convinced this was the problem, because I wanted to believe it would work for me just as well as everyone else, but after stopping it (face cleared up) and starting it again (broke out again), I knew this was the culprit. Chemical exfoliants just might not be for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, August 11, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We agree with your assesment, and encourage you to contact us for a refund.

    —Admin
  4. pretty g.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 02, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    No results!
    • I have combo skin and purchased it based on the results. I like the texture as it goes on as a toner. However, I had high hopes for this expecting it to help with blackheads and pores! Instead it does nothing! I don't know if there is a trick to applying it. Do I need to wait for it do dry before applying my moisturizer? It doesn't seem to exfoliate my skin and I still need a manual scrub.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, August 11, 2014

    Thanks for your review! You need to use an exfoliant like this consistently, as part of your daily skincare routine. Clogged pores and blackheads take time to occur, and for some they can take time (more time than most of us would like!) to go away. If you remain unhappy with this product, please contact us for assistance with a refund.

    —Admin
  5. ERIK D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A blessing in a bottle!
    • Just applied this as usual before bed and was thinking,I don't know what I would do without this product,it's truly a blessing to have such a gentle product that delivers.Thanks Paula and Product Development Team!

  6. Andrew L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent!
    • Provides great results with consistent use, and since the pH of this is slightly higher than the 2% BHA Liquid and the Clear Extra Strength I find this is much gentler to the dry areas on my face. I love using it with 2.5% BP every night to make my skin clear and fight any breakouts that may happen

  7. Anna Mary W.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 20, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Almost, but not the one
    • This was working ok, but I needed something stronger. I switched to the extra-strength and it perfect for me.

  8. Gabriela D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 13, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    I Give Up on PC BHA
    • I remember using the skin perfecting bha and it broke me out. Then I decided to get samples of this one and at first everything was okay but then I started breaking out/getting more clogs. I ran out of the samples and my skin started calming down. A few days ago I bought the full size. I should have not since I knew it was the cause of my break outs but being stubborn I wanted this to work for me. It's only been a few days but clogs/breakouts again.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, July 14, 2014

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry that none of our BHA exfoliants have worked for you. Your skin may respond better to an AHA exfoliant, and of course you also want to consider the other products in your routine and whether they may be contributing to breakouts or potentially keeping a BHA exfoliant from working as well as it should. Please contact us for a refund.

    —Admin
  9. Sophia B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    gentle but not effective
    • I was using the 2% BHA from the regular line twice a day, but even though it was effective, it was too drying and mildly irritating. I cut down to once a day but eventually decided to try the gentler clear version. I have been using this only at night, and while it isn't irritating my skin, I have been experiences hormonal break outs and cystic acne on my cheeks, which I have never experienced before, even after 2 months of use. Going to try alternating every night with the extra strength.

  10. pretty g.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good product!
    • I don't have acne but I wanted a BHA exfoliant for my combination skin. This is light weight and doesn't dry it out. I basically use it after washing my face as a toner. So far I seem to only be able to use it every 2nd day otherwise my skin gets irritated but I hope once my skin gets used to it I can increase to using it daily. My skin does seem to look clearer since using it!

  11. Sarah L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    For anyone struggling with Acne
    • For anyone struggling with acne, I felt I should share my experience with this line. My personal struggle with acne began in my pre-teen years, around the age of ten, and after over a decade of trying to overcome my skin issues I can honestly say PC has given me back the skin I had long ago resolved I would never see again. I have worked in the beauty industry for over eight years and have earnestly tried every acne solution available to no avail. Don't give up hope and try this brand.

  12. Kathryn L.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This product is amazing! Feels like water.
    • I've used BHA products before and they are usually very drying. This, though, feels like putting water on your face! I suggest skipping the cotton ball directions and just putting some on your fingertips. You have to apply it fast but cotton soaks it up too much. Seriously amazing product.

  13. Mini
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miracle in a bottle
    • I have been suffering with hormonal cystic acne for several months. I'd been using a 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide cream and an AHA cream, which had always worked in the past, but didn't seem to be cutting it. BHA's have never worked for me, but I tried this as a last resort. I noticed a difference overnight - my skin's texture was better and the huge cysts I had on my face for months were FINALLY shrinking. I've used this for a month now and have since re-ordered so I will never be without it again!

  14. Jason B.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This Is The One!
    • I was using the extra strength CLEAR exfoliant for a couple weeks and I hate the texture of it, so Paula recommended I try this version. I'm glad I listened. It's not oily feeling at all like the extra strength one is. This regular strength is like slightly thick water; Does that even make sense? Well, whatever, the texture's great, I don't feel oily, I see it calming my skin but doing its job of exfoliating too. This is the one I'll keep buying again and again. Thanks for recommending it!

  15. Yuliya
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a BHA I can trust
    • I really like this exfoliant and i feel like I can only trust PAULAS BHA because everything else doesn't have the right pH. I started out using this day and night but it was too much and gave me tiny irritation pimples .. I now only use it at night and sometimes only on problem spots. This and the c15 are pimple blasters! Just make sure you don't over use if you have sensitive skin.

  16. Katherine V.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Gave it a second try
    • I tried the regular strength acne trial kit, was disappointed with the results, tried the extra strength, and again was disappointed. I tried other PC products and found a regimen that worked for me. My skin wasn't perfect, but it was ok. But soon I realized that I was settling for less than perfect skin! I decided to give the exfoliating solution another shot. SO glad I did! My skin is totally clearing up and looks healthier! Combined with the right toner & moisturizer this system really works!

  17. Adrianna C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    great product, bottle leaks
    • love the product, not the packaging. 95% of the time when I have it upright on my sink, the packaging works fine with no leaking. But when it goes in my suitcase for a trip (roadtrip, not a flight), it leaks. Not necessarily a deal breaker for me since I really like the product, but its a little bit annoying. Might try another one of PC BHA products that is less liquidy.

  18. Hena S
    Reviewed on Monday, April 21, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    So so
    • I purchased this product after reading many good reviews about PC products. I'm in my early 30s struggling with white heads. I use this product twice daily along with other PC products. After 2 months use, I can't say that the product has reduced or eliminated white heads (as advertised) but the redness and marks have faded.

  19. Trisha B
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    First Salicylic Acid That Works!
    • Salicylic Acid always irritates my skin. I love the benefits of a Salicylic Acid but I wish I could experience those results. I have extremely acne prone, oily skin. I am glad I gave Salicylic Acid another chance. I believe this is the only product that contains Salicylic Acid that works! My horrible skin cleared up beautifully in a week. I am a forever lover of Paula's Choice products! I cannot wait to try out more things from this site.

  20. Marie
    Reviewed on Friday, April 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best salicylic acid product EVER
    • This product is the BEST! I'm 32 and still struggle with acne! Birth control pills plus this product have kept me breakout free for over a year. I have tried almost all of PC's other sal acid products, but this is the best: it is gentle, effective, and weightless on the skin. I can layer my sunscreen (eltaMD UV clear) and makeup over this without product balling up on the skin. Though truthfully, I only wear powder now since my skin is so clear!

  21. MARY K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Product at the BEST Price!
    • I use this every other day in the morning & at night. One day I use AHA one day BHA. My skin is very oily & resistant to products. I love how this toner really has made a difference with my acne, and pore size. I love how this has transformed my skin and it well priced it is. If you are hesitant buy the trail size portion, you will be amazed at the results.

  22. YIDAO H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Review for Paula
    • I feel really strange why Paula did not promote this product as from my pespective, I believe this should be the best BHA product for those oliy skin. I wish Paula could see my review and tell this execellent BHA product to more people.

  23. Narin A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    best exfoliator
    • This is the best toner/exfoliator/breakout prevention treatment/skin lightener all in one. I used to use gritty exfoliators and didn't realise I was actually damaging my skin. I feel like this product does a good job at daily exfoliation, it brightens my skin and prevents breakouts. I haven't had any dry patches, irritation or redness from this. Its perfect.

  24. Mae C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantabulous!!!
    • This product is amazing!!! I was using the CLEAR extra strength exfoliant and found it to be too irritating for my skin. I switched to the regular strength and couldn't be more happy with the results! My pores are smaller, blackheads are reduced and hardly any more breakouts!!

  25. Christina C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lifesaver!
    • After having success with Stridex for several months, my skin began to break out again for some unknown reason. Nothing in my routine changed at all. Suddenly there were just more breakouts. I've heard the menthol in Stridex can be problematic for some, so I went on the search for a BP toner without it. This product has been AMAZING. The clogs and whiteheads I was seeing have become far less frequent. I'm so much more confident!

Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution brings about an immediate reduction in blackheads, white bumps, and acne by unclogging pores and reducing inflammation with 2% salicylic acid.

Unlike most products designed for acne-prone skin, Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution doesn't use harsh, irritating ingredients such as alcohol, menthol, peppermint, or camphor that can make acne worse.

Its light-as-water texture leaves skin feeling like there is nothing on your face, yet delivers powerful anti-acne benefits all day long.

Ongoing use can guarantee significantly Clearer, smoother, even-toned skin and can eliminate redness from acne lesions.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with an effective pH range of 3.5-3.9.

Who is this product for?
This product is recommended for all skin types experiencing mild to moderate acne, blackheads, or white bumps. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution

Cutis, July 2009, pages 48–55; Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, allantoin, salicylic acid, panthenol, sodium hyaluronate

Product Ingredients:

Active: Salicylic Acid 2% Inactive: Water, Dipropylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Pentylene Glycol (slip agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), PEG/PPG-17/6/Copolymer (solvent), Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agent), Glycereth-26 (thickener), Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Sodium Metabisulfite (stabilizer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Use twice daily. After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser, soak a large cotton ball with Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution and gently stroke over face. Pay special attention to acne- and blackhead-prone areas. Do not rinse. Avoid contact with eyes, eyelids, and mucous membranes. If excessive dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once per day or once every other day.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution differ from Paula's regular BHA products?

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution contains salicylic acid just like all of her other BHA products. The difference is that this product is a nearly weightless liquid for those struggling with acne and blackheads. It also contains specialized anti-irritants and a blend of skin-conditioning agents designed to help calm skin that's inflamed and reddened from acne.

Why didn't Paula formulate a 1% salicylic acid exfoliant for the Clear line?

The Clear line was designed to be an over-the-counter routine that's as effective as possible for those struggling with acne. Rather than offer an exfoliant with 1% salicylic acid, Paula opted to use 2% but formulate the exfoliant so its pH is slightly higher but still within range for efficacy. The penetration enhancers chosen help control the release of salicylic acid into the skin; the result is an effective product that's surprisingly gentle.

What's the difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants? Both contain 2% salicylic acid!

The difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants is in the delivery systems and their textures. Both contain 2% salicylic acid but the Regular Strength has a nearly weightless feel on your skin and a pH of around 3.9, making it gentler on the skin. The Extra Strength version's formula can penetrate deeper into the pore and has a pH of 3.5. It is designed for those with more stubborn or persistent breakouts. Both exfoliants are highly effective options as part of a routine for Clear skin; you may need to experiment with both to see which works best for your skin type. It is also fine to use both: Apply one in the morning and the other at night.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.