CLEAR Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Acne, you’re history. Get ready to zap the zits, take a pass on pimples, and calm redness, with 2.5% benzoyl peroxide. Take up with spotless skin.
Item #: 610
  • Acne Breakouts
  • For All Skin Types
  • Effective yet gentle on the skin

For best results use with the complete CLEAR Anti-Acne Kit

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

CLEAR Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

86 out of 100
(Based on 84 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 02, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Quite good!
    • This is a lightweight, non-greasy lotion that works very well for mild/moderate acne! I've been using it a couple times a week over my blemish-prone areas for the past few weeks and so far it has definitely helped to keep large blemishes at bay and clear up my skin! I really like that I can layer it underneath other skincare/make-up products without it feeling heavy or having any combination problems. I would definitely recommend it to others!

  2. Lynn
    Reviewed on Friday, August 10, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Alright, not great
    • After seeing the positive reviews on this product, I decided to buy it. I initially debated between the regular strength and the extra strength and settled on the regular strength in an effort to not dry my face out too badly. However, I wish I would've gone with the extra strength. This product is nice because it is thin enough that you can wear it during the day without worrying about having white residue all over your face, so that is a definite plus. However, for me, it has not had any affect on my acne. In fact, at night, I have resorted to using the over the counter benzoyl peroxide product that I have used in the past. Bottom line: if you have moderate (or stubborn) acne, I suggest going for the extra strength instead of the regular strength. It's a lot to spend for a product that doesn't have any effect. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product has not worked well for you. You do have to pair this product with a BHA exfoliant or else you will not see the maximum benefit. We also suggest pairing them with the CLEAR Normalizing Cleanser. Preventing acne does take some time; we suggest continuing to use this product but adding in the mentioned product above for at least a couple months to see how your skin will ultimately respond. If after this time with the above routine you still don't notice a difference then it would be best to seek a dermatologist for adding in a prescription product. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  3. CC
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 21, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The BEST!
    • This is an AMAZING anti-acne treatment! I have tried tons of different products and I found that this is the only product that works. And it works perfectly! For the first time in my life, my skin is totally clear! It cleared up my acne almost immediately but caused redness and peeling at first. I stuck with it and after 1-2 months, the irritation went away. Paula, you're skin care advice and products are brilliant! Thanks you!!!

  4. Louise
    Reviewed on Friday, July 20, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It works for my daughter
    • After some experimentation with my teen daughter we have finally found a regime that works for her. This is wonderful as for two years her skin was very oily and prone to breaking out. Finding that perfect combination of products that actually treats her acne but does not dry her has been tricky. She now uses the PC normalizing cleanser, this 2.5% acne fighting treatment in the morning and her prescription cream at night. Adding the two PC products was when her skin really started to clear up. Her skin is MUCH better than it was before and we are grateful! Actually, she just got all dressed up to go out with a friend this evening and her skin IS CLEAR and I know she feels good. This sounds corny, but THANK YOU PAULA (if you are reading!)

  5. Holly
    Reviewed on Friday, June 29, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for everyone
    • I purchased this product for occasional breakouts, however, I find it unusable. The first application creates an unsightly red mark, while subsequent applications create dry, scaly patches that take weeks to heal. My skin has never before reacted like this to a product. Sadly, this product is not for me. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product which may be used on a future phone order. We suggest sticking with just the CLEAR Normalizing Cleanser and CLEAR BHA exfoliant to help battle blemishes and clogged pores and not use a benzoyl peroxide product. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  6. Silvia
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect
    • I have been using 2.5% benzoyl peroxide from different brands for years, but for some reason this one from Paula's choice seems to be much less irritating (it it even possible? Are other brands adding other irritating ingredients?) I used it twice a day every day and it has never caused any burning or itching sensation like some other brands have before. It is as effective as other 2.5% benzoyl peroxide products. It does a good job at keeping my acne under control, even if I do still get the occasional pimple (I have been thinking of trying the extra strength). I think it's perfect for mild to medium acne.

  7. A
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best BP
    • I've tried a bunch of Benzoyl Peroxide treatments over the tests, and this is definitely the best I've found. It is less irritating than other products while still being affective against acne. It has a nice thin texture and leaves a matte finish, so it's invisible on my skin.

  8. Nicole
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 21, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    So far, so good!
    • I am really happy with the results of this product. So far, it has helped to reduce my acne when using it as a spot treatment. It seems to speed up the process of getting rid of blemishes. I do, however, find it overly drying at times, and I need to apply a lot more moisturizer to compensate. Also, as other reviewers have noted, you have to store this product upside down to avoid it leaking into the cap. Other than that, I am pleased with this purchase. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments, we will be sure to share your experience with the product to Paula and her Product Development Manager. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  9. H.W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Effective while gentle
    • I've tried a sample of this 2.5% treatment as well as the 5% one, and find that both are equally effective at healing pimples. I use it as a spot treatment, and it really helps to reduce the soreness and redness, sometimes just overnight. The 2.5% is a bit more gentle and less drying than the 5%.

  10. SH
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    CLEAR FACE.
    • I have dry skin but had moderate acne for about 4 years and severe white heads all over my face. I started using the benzoyl first and eventually moved on to the whole line and after 4 months, my skin has no acne at all, only some little red marks from the past cystic breakouts. *I used skin recovery moisturizer as well. Paula, You've really saved my life and now I'm going around telling my friends how wonderful your products are and once they try it, they LOVE it! Thank you again. I'll probably use your products rest of my life and I'm only 21.

  11. Stephanie
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    so effective and gentle
    • i have combination sensitive reactive acne prone skin that i am able to keep clear as a part of a regimen... i can't use retin a since i'm trying to get pregant...Anyways I have been using the PC BPs for several years and I am very pleased. I discovered that I prefer 2.5% vs 5%. with 5% i can only use a quarter of a pea and w/ 2.5% i can us a quarter. this 2.5% is more effective for me than some other store bought brands that I have tried, perhaps because it is formulated with calming agents which complement its effectiveness and reduce inflammation. gentle and calming and effective. i order this from canada! and it is not cheap to do that.

  12. Elaine
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 14, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Weak
    • Used this product for a few months but my acne was still the same so I switched to the extra strength. Paula's Choice needs a middle ground for their acne treatments. This was too weak for my skin but at least it didn't dry it out and the extra strength treatment dried out my skin SO MUCH but it still didn't work. Definitely won't be using the CLEAR system again. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. It does sound like it would be best to consult a dermatologist for prescription options to help control your acne. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  13. Michelle
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 18, 2011
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Contains a pore-clogging ingredient :(
    • I love the first two steps of the CLEAR three-step treatment but I think this benzoyl peroxide lotion is breaking me out. I researched the ingredients and noticed that it contains isopropyl myristate -- which is a known pore-clogging ingredient, so I am confused as to why Paula would include this in the lotion when it's supposed to be an anti-acne lotion! The 5% benzoyl peroxide lotion does not contain isopropyl myristate so is there anyway you can remove it from this formula for those who cannot tolerate a 5% solution? I haven't tried the 5% yet, so I'm praying that will work for me. Please please consider reformulating without the pore-clogging ingredient!! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. While we know each case is different, we can assure you that the amount of isopropyl myristate used in this formula is very low and thus poses no risk of clogging the pores or leading to a breakout. The benzoyl peroxide in the formula is designed to help kill the acne causing bacteria and the lotion texture is very light and fluid so it would be very unlikely the product would cause a problem. In reality any product can potentially clog the pores as it depends on how each user personally responds to the ingredients/products being used along with other products and outside factors. If this product or any product were to cause a problem for you such as a breakout or irritation we would certainly credit you for the product and may offer suggestions on what to try instead. In the meantime we have passed along your concern to Paula and she would like to add that the information you have seen on the internet about pore clogging ingredients is misleading. The research about pore clogging ingredients dates back to the 80s and the ingredients that were tested were used in a 100% concentration and not in combination with other ingredients. The isopropyl myristate in the 2.5% BP product is less than 1% of the formula. What she strongly suggests for you is to consider the texture of the product to determine if it can clog pores. For example a liquid, gel, or thin serum or lotion can work beautifully for someone with oily or blemish prone skin and stay away from thicker products such as creams and balms which can be a problem. She also wants to encourage you to consider using one of her 2% BHA Exfoliating Toners from the CLEAR line as well if you are not already. We hope this information proves helpful, please contact customer care with any questions.

  14. Sandy
    Reviewed on Friday, December 02, 2011
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Effective without irritation
    • I like the light texture of this product. It helps to help with my breakouts yet does not irritate or dry my skin. I would prefer a pump applicator, as the tube doesn't seem to seal well. When I open the cap, there is a lot of product that gets into the lid. So I now store it upside down with the cap up.

  15. Gwen
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 30, 2011
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Zaps acne but by cautious
    • this is a real effective products for speeding the healing of 'zits', however be cautious where you place this product. Using this on the entire face may cause stinging/redness, however just placing a small dab on the 'zit' will not cause the same irritation. Customer Care Response: Thank you for taking time to review this product. We can understand how frustrating this experience must be. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we understand that each consumer is distinctly different which means they may respond differently to our products (whether used alone or combined with other products). This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. Please contact our customer care team if we can be of further assistance.

  16. Diane
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 16, 2011
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Needs an in-between size
    • I like the fact that this really does prevent a breakout from getting too nasty, and the matte finish is a good thing to have in an anti-acne product. I get pimples occasionally and would like to see a smaller size version made available. As it stands I don't think I can finish the full size tube before it expires but I want to have an anti acne product handy when the pimples strike! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback! We will pass along your suggestion to Paula. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  17. Dustin
    Reviewed on Monday, August 29, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A life saver
    • I have been using this product for so many years now, I cannot remember NOT using it. And to be honest, at age 38, I despise having to use benzoyl peroxide; that said, I have tried just about all of them (the ones recommended on Beautypedia and others rated highly by consumers), and none even come close to working as well as Paula's Choice Blemish Fighting Solution. This one does not irritate or dry out my skin, even while using it in cold weather. Plus, if I use it religiously, once per day (at night), I practically never break out. (It should be noted that the Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator works brilliantly in tandem with this product; the results are enhanced, and you really do wake up with glowing, soft skin). One minor quibble: the recommended amount to use of this product is not effective for me. I must apply a generous layer to achieve perfect skin. I suspect this is true for BP in general, as this is explored extensively on acne forums like acne.org. Because of that, this product is fairly expensive to use consistently. But having broken out skin (especially at my age) does not warrant spending less on an inferior product. For anyone struggling with acne, I can't recommend this brilliant product highly enough. It has transformed my skin.

  18. David
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 05, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A must have for problem skin
    • If there's one thing I'd like to think I can help anyone with, it's how to deal with oily, acne prone skin. I've been cocktailing PC's products for a few years now and my skin has never looked better. The CLEAR line is her attempt to create anti-acne products to those dealing with breakouts, be that hormonal or not. This is a slightly fluid/watery lotion that comes in both a 2.5% and 5% concentration of benzoyl peroxide that is the gold standard when dealing with breakouts. I've tried both formulas and am a little more partial to the 2.5% only because I don't have terribly stubborn acne breakouts. The lotion is also packed with anti-irritants that help to reduce redness and dryness from the BP. The thing that I admire about Paula is that she always lists the ingredients, the reason for including them in the product and their function. I've had amazing results with this product (unfortunately it is only available through her online site so I ran out and am now using a Clinique product). Anyone dealing with oily skin or breakouts please check this product out because it is a wonderful option to anyone that is frustrated with their current skin care routine.

  19. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 28, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    please please can we get this in the UK?
    • Would love to be able to get hold of this in the UK, help!I am currently using the cleanser and toner from the CLEAR range and it has done wonders for me skin, would love to complete it with the treatment!

  20. LC
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 12, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great
    • This is the best benzoyl peroxide product I have used (and I have used many). I can use both salicylic acid and this and won't get all red and irritated. It still leaves the skin slightly tight, but it's very mild compared to the drying effect of some other BPs I've tried. It's very effective, except for those hormonal monthly cystic breakouts. But, that's to be expected. I use the birth control pill and clindamycin cream to remedy that. The price is not a bargain, but it's fair and the quality of this lotion makes it worth it.

  21. Stacy H.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 09, 2011
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Powerful & Light
    • This formula is light and does a great job at getting rid of acne without being too drying for my sensitive skin. I have combination skin that gets very oily in the T-zone. I also have rosacea that will act up if I use any products that are too strong. This one has been very calming and clears up my acne quickly. I have been very pleased wth this product. I also use the 2% BHA gel before this, twice a day.

  22. Eden
    Reviewed on Monday, March 28, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I like the packaging...
    • I'll be the dissenter here and say I happen to love the new packaging. I think the bright orange is a great divergence from the bland and clinical grey-and-white of the previous package. I will say the old name was better, but the fact remains- this product WORKS. Nothing else cleared up my skin like Paula's CLEAR line has.

  23. Pamela S.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 07, 2011
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Packaging
    • I love this product! The only reason I give it a four instead of a five is because of the packaging. It is designed to stand on its cap. However, the lotion isn't viscus enough to stay in the tube and tends to continually leak into the cap; I lose quite a bit of the product this way and can't store it in the way that it's designed. Customer Care Response: We are sorry you had a leaky tube! Leaking shouldn't occur when the cap is closed tightly. We would be happy to send you a replacement for a leaking product. Contact Customer Care at 1-800-831-4088 for assistance.

  24. Devon W.
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 01, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lifesaver
    • I have acne-prone skin but most drugstore benzoyl peroxide products prompt a very nasty reaction. This is the first product in YEARS I've been able to use without breaking out in a rash. Hallelujah!

  25. linda
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 25, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    GREAT SPOT TREATMENT EVER!!
    • I use the regular strength daily, but I do have cystic acne as well and this does the trick when I feel one coming on.(those that have this kind of acne know what I'm talking about). It stops it in it's tracks!!My face currently is acne free due to Paula's other products, but I still WON'T let go of this one, just in case of stress or hormonal acne emergencies. It's the BEST!..

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
CLEAR Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains 2.5% benzoyl peroxide which is considered the gold-standard for preventing acne breakouts. It works immediately to start eliminating acne-causing bacteria and reduce redness.

Unlike most benzoyl peroxide-based acne products, Paula's Choice CLEAR Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains no harsh or irritating ingredients that can make acne worse, such as alcohol, menthol, or camphor.

CLEAR Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment also contains soothing anti-irritants to help skin heal and reduce red marks caused by blemishes. Its super-light lotion texture sets to a matte finish, and can be worn under makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
CLEAR Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is recommended for all skin types struggling with mild to moderate acne. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

Sources to support the claims made for CLEAR Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment

Expert Opinion on Pharmacotherapy, October 2009, pages 2,555–2,562; Dermatologic Clinics, January 2009, pages 33–42; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2008, pages 480–481; and Dermatology Therapy, March-April 2008, pages 86–95; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 873–880; Lancet, December 2004, pages 21882195; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, September-October 2000, pages 292–296; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: allantoin, benzoyl peroxide, bisabolol

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5% (topical disinfectant). Inactive Ingredients: Water, Propylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: After cleansing with Paula's Choice CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser and exfoliating with CLEAR Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, cover the affected area with a thin layer of CLEAR Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment 1–3 times a day. Because some people may experience dryness when they first start using a product with benzoyl peroxide, it may be necessary to reduce application to once every other day or, if twice daily application proves to be too much, reduce application to once daily, morning or evening.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our RESIST Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our CLEAR Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

Can the CLEAR Regular Strength Treatment be used with prescription tretinoin/retinoid products?

Research has shown that benzoyl peroxide can, in fact, be applied at the same time with tretinoin/retinoid prescription products such as Retin-A, Renova, Tazorac, or their generic counterparts (Source:The Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, October 2010, pages 26-28).

Why doesn't Paula's Choice offer a 10% strength benzoyl peroxide?

Paula feels that once you have tried a 2.5% and then a 5% benzoyl peroxide product and determined that these did not give you results, the next sensible step is to look into a prescription topical antibiotic for blemishes such as Benzamycin or Clindamycin. Trying a 10% benzoyl peroxide may prove effective for some, but the kickback from the irritation and excessive dryness that can occur at this level may not be worth it when there are prescription products that can be more effective without the strong side effects. In any event, truly stubborn, cystic blemishes almost always require the care and supervision of a competent dermatologist.

What happened to your Blemish Fighting Solution?

Nothing happened except a name change! The same formula that's worked so well for thousands of Paula's Choice customers struggling with acne has been renamed and added to our CLEAR line. Paula wanted to reposition this product as part of her streamlined, 3-step approach for achieving clear skin. Other than the name, CLEAR Regular Strength Treatment Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is identical to our former Blemish Fighting Treatment.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.