Items you may also like

Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Speedy, powerful 5% benzoyl peroxide goes after acne-causing bacteria and redness in a flash. Kick breakouts to the curb—self-confidence is moving in.
Item #: 611
  • Acne Breakouts
  • For All Skin Types
  • Effective on blemishes, yet gentle on skin

For best results use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 75 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 3
  1. Liliya
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It really helps!
    • Works instantly! Highly recommend.

  2. Stephanie
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 25, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Harsh Product for My Skin
    • I have combination skin that is prone to breakouts. I purhcased the Clear cleanser and loved it, so thought I would try out another of the products in this line. I used this product twice and both times it burned my skin and left is red, splotchy, and itchy (even days later my skin is still red and itching from the harshness of this product). I wish I could use it as a spot treatment, but am now scared to do so. I will stick with the other Paula's Choice products and avoid this benzoyl peroxide treatment. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. It does sound like your skin does not respond well to benzoyl peroxide so you would not want to use it. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  3. Stephanie
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 19, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    too harsh therefore causes breakouts, love the 2.5
    • so i love PC BHA products. this one is too harsh for regular all over face use. i recently switched from 5% to 2.5% and noticed more radiant skin and no breakouts. then i ran out and reverted to the 5% and was breaking out a bit again. this is fine for spot treatment, but it is harsh on my skin. for all over face use i have to use a VERY small amount, like quarter of a pea. whereas, the 2.5 i can use around a quarter and this is more effective. i have combination, sensitive, reactive acne prone skin. the only cleanser that i can use 2x/ day is cetaphil though i use a foamy wash after to get last traces of make up at night. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. We are happy to hear the regular strength works better for you! Please contact customer care with any questions.

  4. J
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lifesaving product for clear skin
    • This is yet another wonderful product of Paula's that I have tried. I have very oily skin which is prone to consistent but mild breakouts. The Extra Strength Acne Fighting Treatment has significantly reduced the severity of my breakouts. It also has shortened the duration of the occasional breakouts that I do get. I use a thin layer all over the face twice daily after toning, sometimes concentrating the product onto areas with more severe acne. I don't find that this is too drying if I apply a good moisturizer afterwards. Another plus is that this is so much more effective and competitively priced than other over-the-counter benzoyl peroxide treatments.

  5. Elaine
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 14, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Very strong
    • Used this product for almost a year thinking it would work after a long period of time but my acne is still the same. Definitely won't be using the CLEAR system again.This acne treatment was very strong and dried out my skin a lot but didn't work for my stubborn acne which is still the same as it was before I used this but my skin is a lot drier now because of it. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. It does sound like it would be best to consult a dermatologist for prescription options to help control your acne. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  6. Anna
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 07, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good product, to strong for me.
    • I got this as a sample and the first night I used it my pimples had all shrunk and were mostly gone. But it also left my skin feeling tight and very dry. I LOVE PAULA'S PRODUCTS, though. I think I need to try the regular strength. I just have to say my favorite products are Paula's conditioner, foundation, exfoliating toner and mattifying seerum - they are absolutely AMAZING, unlike anything I've ever tried before!!

  7. Carol
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 29, 2011
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    LIKE!!
    • Can you tell that I like this? I have been fighting acne since my teens (now 50). While I have used benzyl peroxide lotions before, I have never seen it in 5% strength. I am glad I got this as a sample and tried it. It really helps to clear up stubborn blackheads!!

  8. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Friday, June 24, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It works!
    • I have been fighting with blemishes for nearly 30 years and have tried every topical acne medicine out there. Paula's Extra Strength Acne Fighting Treatment works! My blemishes are fewer, and the ones I do get disappear quickly. I finally convinced my teenage son to give it a try (after having him on Proactiv, MaxClarity, and Differin Gel - all with poor results), and he's even seeing a huge improvement in his skin. Thanks for a great product!

  9. Suzanne B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 15, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Strong and Effective
    • This product has worked brilliantly for me. The first time I used it I put it all over my face and was very happy with the way it diminished the redness and severity of my whiteheads. Since I do have a habit of picking at my whiteheads, I always use this now as a spot treatment and anywhere else I see that I may be trying to break out. Usually around my chin, nose and cheek, forehead areas. I feel this product is most effective at making the reddness and inflammation go away on site of the acne. I have fairskin, redhair, stubborn blackheads and some whiteheads, am early 50's with sundamaged skin, especially around eye, cheek,nose and neck areas. It is drying and I have some flakiness with it at times, but I immediatly apply one of my Antioxidant serums or the Resist Barrier lotion and the dryness is gone.

  10. Darlene
    Reviewed on Friday, April 08, 2011
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good Product
    • I started using this as a spot treatment,but moved to all over face every morning with goods results. No drying. Even though I have gotten a few chin breakouts they cleared up quickly.

  11. Amy
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 01, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Thank you soo much!!
    • I just want to say a big thank you. I was using prescription benzoil peroxide 10% for years until it lost it's effect last year and I started to break out bad. It was also drying out my skin. This formula is better, the redness doesn't hurt any more almost instantly, it's been a week and all my acne is going away. Plus my skin is not dry anymore (it healed). Better than anything I've seen out there. Thanks!

  12. Christine
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 03, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    a pleasant surprise
    • Use this as a spot treatment on stubborn blemishes and it works overnight. I'm thrilled with it.

  13. Ruth
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 26, 2010
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    blackheads
    • I'm a senior citizen and still get blackheads and occasional unsightly pimples/whiteheads.The Extra Strength Acne Fighting Treatment 5%Benzoyl Peroxide is excellent to clear up blackheads/whiteheads. Best product I've tried so far.

  14. Lisa
    Reviewed on Monday, September 20, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works fast
    • Combined with Clear extra strength 2%, clears a blemish fast with little to no mark.

  15. Geri R.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 06, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A godsend
    • The only product that's ever cured my adult acne. I have clear skin for the first time in 20 years. Bless you forever, Paula.

  16. anna
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 01, 2010
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Clear extra strength acne fighting treatment
    • I hated this product. I use many of Paula's products and they work great. This was a major disappointment. Did not dry to a matte finish. Did not clear anything, too much comes out of the tube, too liquidy. Does absolutely nil.Customer Care Response: We are sorry to hear about your experience with these items. Please contact Customer Service for further assistance with returning these items or selecting alternate ones.

  17. K
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 27, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best BP product out there
    • This is the only Benzoyl Peroxide product I have ever used that does not irritate or dry out my skin. This is gentle, but it works, and that is why I will continue to repurchase. My skin looks great!!

  18. Trudy A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 11, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great
    • I've been using this product for years, and I think it works great. Just enough Benyzol to work without overdrying your skin, which is a problem I find with typical store brands. My only complaint is it keeps getting more expensive. The actual formula & size hasn't changed in the 4+ years I've been using it, but it's now several dollars more in price.

  19. Chrissy
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 11, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing product
    • i have been using this product for the past 3 months. i haven't had such clear skin in years. i had tried various topical and systemic medication but to no avail. i am so pleased with the results. my skin is much smoother and healthier.i found that using Resist Aging Anti-oxidant serum after the Clear Cream avoids my skin from drying as well as making sure i am nourishing my skin with anti-oxidants to fight off aging!

  20. Sunni
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 15, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Customer Service!
    • Love this product, but had an issue with the packaging...customer service was OUTSTANDING, went above and beyond to make things right.

  21. Heesu
    Reviewed on Monday, May 10, 2010
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Patience is needed
    • First of all, I bought this product to prevent and treat my acne/ and break outs just like anyone else who bought this product. However, it didnt seem like doing its job at first so I didnt use it for a long time. but maybe a few weeks ago, I started to use this product with q tips right before applying my moisturizer. And now I believe in this product. Although I have a few break outs from time to time, I believe that this product helps preventing acne! You just need to use this product patiently and you will see what I mean..!

  22. Marlene
    Reviewed on Friday, March 19, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I have had a stubborn milia near my lip for months. After applying this lotion for a few days, the white spot went away beautifully. Great job, Paula!

  23. Kelly
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 28, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great so far
    • This has been great so far, almost 30 days. I switched to this from my 10% benzoyl peroxide because that was drying me out too much. With this I am able to spot treat or spread on entire area (like my chin line where my hormones go crazy) and it does not irritate. I use this in combo with BHA liquid and so far so good. I don't use every day, mostly every other day. It works best if you put under moisturizer.

  24. Tara S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 21, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AWESOME product! :-)
    • I L-O-V-E this stuff!! :-) :-) I use it for myself, and my hubby uses it also :-) It is AWESOME :-) :-) I have also given it to a few teenagers and a pre-teen that I know, and it has really helped with their acne :-)

  25. Susan
    Reviewed on Monday, November 23, 2009
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this stuff!
    • This is one of the very few benzoyl peroxide treatments that I am able to use and actually works. The texture is a very lightweight lotion that dries completely matte. It is also not at all sticky or tacky like other brands I have used in the past. Highly recommended!

« Prev Page of 3

What makes this product unique?
Persistent or stubborn acne has met its match thanks to Paula's Choice Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment. This 5% benzoyl peroxide solution works instantly to eliminate acne-causing bacteria to stop blemishes in their tracks.

Unlike most benzoyl peroxide-based acne products, Paula's Choice Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains no harsh or irritating ingredients that can make acne worse, such as alcohol, menthol, or camphor.

Paula's Choice Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment also contains soothing anti-irritants to help skin heal and reduce red marks caused by blemishes. It has a super-light lotion texture that sets to a matte finish, and can be worn under makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Paula's Choice Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment works great for all skin types struggling with stubborn, persistent acne. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment

Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, February 2010, pages 712–718; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, February 2010, pages 131–136; Dermatologic Clinics, January 2009, pages 33–42; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2008, pages 480–481; and Dermatology Therapy, March-April 2008, pages 86–95; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 873–880; Lancet, December 2004, pages 21882195; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, September-October 2000, pages 292–296; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: benzoyl peroxide, allantoin, bisabolol

Product Ingredients:

Active: Benzoyl Peroxide 5% (anti-bacterial agent) Inactive: Water, Propylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Acrylates C10-30 Alkyl Acrylates Crosspolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Sodium Citrate (stabilizer), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser and exfoliating with Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, cover the affected area with a thin layer of Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment 1–3 times a day. Because some people may experience dryness when they first start using a product with benzoyl peroxide, it may be necessary to reduce application to once every other day or, if twice daily application proves to be too much, reduce application to once daily, morning or evening.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our RESIST Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Can the Clear Extra Strength Treatment be used with prescription tretinoin/retinoid products?

Research has shown that benzoyl peroxide can, in fact, be applied at the same time with tretinoin/retinoid prescription products such as Retin-A, Renova, Tazorac, or their generic counterparts (Source: The Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, October 2010, pages 26-28).

Can I use the Clear Daily Skin Clearing Treatments with Benzoyl Peroxide at the same time as a product that contains retinol? 

Great question! This is an often misunderstood subject—we’ve read and heard it claimed that retinol and benzoyl peroxide cannot be used together for fear they will adversely affect each other’s stability.  However, what is often missing from these claims is any cited corroborative studies, and with good reason, because the scientific and medical research actually says the two ingredients can complement each other—which is good to know, whether you’re dealing with acne alone or the unwelcome mix of wrinkles plus breakouts! (Cutis 2009 & 2012, Journal of Drugs and Dermatology 2013).

Why doesn't Paula's Choice offer a 10% strength benzoyl peroxide?

Paula feels that once you have tried a 2.5% and then a 5% benzoyl peroxide product and determined that these did not give you results, the next sensible step is to look into a prescription topical antibiotic for blemishes such as Benzamycin or Clindamycin. Trying a 10% benzoyl peroxide may prove effective for some, but the kickback from the irritation and excessive dryness that can occur at this level may not be worth it when there are prescription products that can be more effective without the strong side effects. In any event, truly stubborn blemishes almost always require the care and supervision of a competent dermatologist.

What happened to your Extra Strength Blemish Fighting Solution?

Nothing happened except a name change! The same formula that's worked so well for thousands of Paula's Choice customers struggling with acne has been renamed and added to our Clear line. Paula wanted to reposition this product as part of her streamlined, 3-step approach for achieving Clear skin. Other than the name, Clear Extra Strength Treatment Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is identical to our former Extra Strength Blemish Fighting Treatment.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.