Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Acne, you’re history. Get ready to zap the zits, take a pass on pimples, and calm redness, with 2.5% benzoyl peroxide. Take up with spotless skin.
Item #: 610
  • Acne Breakouts
  • For All Skin Types
  • Effective yet gentle on the skin

For best results use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 92 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. Angie G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Most gentle and effective product
    • I've been struggling with stubborn acne on my back and chest for YEARS. This is the only benzoyl peroxide product I've found that actually clears my skin and doesn't make it red and irritated. My chest and back are smoother and clearer than they've ever been, and the mild acne on my face is gone completely. I am VERY impressed with this product and plan to be Paula's Choice customer for life.

  2. Cynthia
    Reviewed on Friday, October 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    less is more
    • There is indeed something special about this formulation. I've been dealing with acne for 30 years and while clinical tests show 2.5% can be as effective as 5% BP, only 5% BP has ever worked for me. However, this 2.5% BP is doing the job. I've also begun using PC 10% AHA Weekly Resurfacing Treatment, as BHA's wreak havoc with my sensitive skin. I may have found the magic duo. My skin has not looked this clear and soft in decades.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very good
    • Finally a BP product that doesn't unnecessarily irritate my skin but is very efficient against breakouts. Easy to apply. I am very satisfied with the formulation.

  4. Rachel M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A little goes a long way
    • When I first used the clearing treatment I used an amount about the size of a dime and it dried my skin. Then I started using less and less and found a little pea size drop can easily cover my face. I use it day and night and even with a retinol treatment, my skin doesn't dry out and I'm still acne free. Yea!

  5. KathyB
    Reviewed on Monday, October 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product
    • At 62 I still continue to have breakouts with my oily/combination skin especially in the T-zone. I had avoided Benzoyl Peroxide for years as I associate it with the harsh products from my teens and what is usually the case with drugstore formulations that are too drying. This 2.5% formula is great and since using it I have had no breakouts but it doesn't dry out my skin.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    the KEY product for my teen's acne routine
    • PROS: My teen with stubborn acne uses this. Works very well and still doesn't irritate her sensitive skin. No artificial scents. CONS: Wish it came in a bigger container so we could have the choice to save $ on it. TIPS: She uses CLEAR cleanser, then reg. strength exfoliating solution, then this, then Clean & Clear Oil-Free Dual Action Moisturizer.

  7. Sarah Lesser
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Magic
    • Best treatment ever!!! I will say that it does try me out a little but it's still worth using because makes my acne disappear within 3 days! Love this stuff love all of the Paula choice this is magical.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, September 02, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great stuff annoying top
    • Best BP I have found and much gentle than most OTC. Weaker is just as effective and less drying.. It's watery and it's easy to squeeze out way too much and it drips out fast if you put the tube down for a second. Even if you clean the top of and store it upright, there is a lot under the cap when you re-open it. As it bleaches, spills are a problem. Often I can see the logic of PC packaging choices, but this is iffy. Still a great product though!

  9. William
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good stuff!
    • Very effective product at a lower BP concentration. Just wish they could come up with a "lightly tinted" formula...then it would be perfect!

  10. Carol F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Effective prevention - not too harsh!
    • I had used PanOxyl benzoyl peroxide for acne in the past, but being unable to find it for the last while, (and an interest in finding an alternative that was not tested on animals!) I ordered this product. I find it is gentler than PanOxyl, so that I can use it every day without burning/redness, and it seems very effective in preventing breakouts! I am very pleased and I will definitely recommend it and repurchase for myself!

  11. Pauline S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The icing on the cake.. of my skin care routine
    • This is my new secret weapon against breakouts! I was happy with my skin care routine, but I still get occasional (hormonal) pimpley areas. Now when I see a pimple developing, I add this product to my morning and night routine for a few days, just a tiny bit over the blemish-prone areas. The pimple clears up faster, and I don't get new ones popping up nearby. (Within a few days, I literally cannot see where the pimple was. Before I found PC, it would've been two weeks of angry red spots!)

  12. Kay M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect Benzoyl Product
    • This is a great benzoyl product that is delivered perfectly with a lightweight, fast-absorbing silky formula! My skin definitely had to adjust to the potency at first but after 1 week it did not make me dry anymore and does not to this day! (I use it twice a day) I also love how affordable it is and how you don't need to slather it on to get the benefits. It pretty much disappears on your skin after you apply it and is not a problem AT ALL under makeup. LOVE LOVE LOVE

  13. Tracy B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 01, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Sadly not for me
    • Unfortunately I turned out to be sensitive to this one and it made my incredibly itchy. Customer Service has kindly suggested a different product instead. Just one of those things!

  14. Lori M.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works for very dry/flaky skin!
    • I have very dry/flaky skin with acne. This product does not dry out my face and vastly improves my mild acne. It's a wonderful, gentle solution to my skin problems.

  15. Ann H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Superior
    • The consistency has changed since my first purchase of the product, and I prefer the new, lotion-like texture to the previous, more liquid consistency. It absorbs quickly and is not drying. The 2.5% is a great starting point for anyone suffering breakouts on the face or body. It is very soothing and non-irritating, yet very effective. I prefer it to the Repairing Lotion from Proactiv, which I thought could not be beat. I used to buy the kit just for the lotion, but no longer! Thanks, Paula!

  16. Kiah K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a BP product I can actually use!
    • I'm 27 and have dryness-prone, sensitive combo skin with some congestion and break outs on the lower half of my face. I have NEVER found a BP product I could keep using without continuous irritation that would eventually turn my skin to sand paper. I am not using the full CLEAR line, but this and the CLEAR cleanser with other products. At first, I broke out even more and flaked but am finally able to use daily. In part, I thank the use of BHA/AHA exfoliation. Maybe now hot yoga and clear skin!

  17. Lucy
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Still on the fence
    • I've been using PC BP 2.5% for a year and I can't decide how I feel about this new formula. I really like that the lotion is now smoother (the little particles are no longer visible), it absorbs and dries faster and of course it works. But I agree with the other posters, it leaves the face feeling tighter and drier. Interestingly though, I can put make up over this formula and sunscreen, and it doesn't get cakey. I ended up using it every second or third day now.

  18. Bryna A.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 22, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Burns My Skin
    • I have been using the product for years under the old formula with great success. I had been searching for years to find an acne product for my sensitive skin and was thrilled when I found this product. I ordered three new tubes not realizing that the formula had changed. This product now causes my skin to burn, turn bright red, and itch with the lightest application. This is so distressing because now I have nothing for my skin which breaks out on a daily basis.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 09, 2013
    Thank you for your review and we're sorry to learn of your experience. The new formula was designed to increase the efficiency of the benzoyl peroxide, and for that reason, you may need less product than you did previously, (and/or to use it less often). This may explain your experience. If you decide this isn't a fit for you, please contact our Customer Care Team and they can help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  19. Irina M.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    love it
    • I've always had horomonal acne on my chin, but lately have had some on my cheeks at odd times of the month. I tried store bought BP products, but they smelled bad and fried my skin. This one has no smell and is very gentle. I started off using this one every other day, then built up to every day. After the initial 6 week "purge", my cheek spots were greatly reduced. It couldn't do anything for the ones on my chin, but I didn't expect it to.

  20. Arya
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Irritated my skin
    • This caused serious irritation on my skin. It took me a while to realize that this was causing it... I strongly recommend to anyone that wants to try this product to test it on a small patch of the skin and see how you react to it. I don't have extra sensitive skin, I get blemishes every now and then and I thought this was a good product to keep handy. Never again will I use this!!! I know it has great reviews, but definitely doesn't work for everyone; please test it before using it!!!!

  21. Cynthia B
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    please bring back the old formula for us middleagers
    • Been using PC for 10+ years now. This new acne formula is WAY too drying for my middle aged skin. The old formula was perfect for my 44 yr old facial skin. My skin needs the old formula w/ the silicone and honeysuckle. PLEASE, I beg, bring it back to us aging skin folks who still get acne! PLEASE!!! (love it for my chest and back though)

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! The new formula has an emphasis on a sheer finish, and was designed to increase the efficiency of the benzoyl peroxide formula works on skin. This also means that you will need less of it (and/or use it less often), which may explain why you are experiencing dryness. If you decide this isn't a fit for you, please contact our Customer Care Team and they can help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  22. Max
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Keeps acne at bay
    • Been using this, along with PC Clear Regular Strength toner and a good moisturizer and sunscreen (both Elta MD brand) for about a year. I can't thank Paula enough for making such an outstanding product. I dare you to find a higher quality benzoyl peroxide (hint: you cant!!). My face is normally categorized under moderately/severe acne. Now I maybe get one small pimple a month, and they go away very fast. My overall complexion looks healthier than it has since I was 13 (mid twenties now).

  23. Naomi W.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Final something that works
    • I love this stuff so much, yes around that time of the month I still get a break out but its not where near as bad and clears up within a matter of days. I use this along with the Clear extra strenghth exfoliant at night and with the hydralight toner and 2% bha gel during the day - I also use the hyrdalight cleanser twice a day and just started using the weekly resurfacing treatment. Anyway, this really lives up to its claims as do all of PC other products I have tried so far!!!!

  24. CYNTHIA B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA....!!!
    • Please, bring back the old formula for - we the mature skin ladies! :) Ok, I have been using PC acne products for many years now...probably about 10. (my order history online only dates back to 2011 since having to create a new account) Anyhow, The old formula was a little heavy for my young 30's skin, but it still worked better than anything out there so I continued to use it. As the years went by it worked better and better. Now, at 44, this new formula DRIES out my matureing skin so bad.....

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 29, 2013
    Thank you for your review and feedback! We will certainly share it with the team. The new formula is lighter, but also contains a balance of ingredients which increase the efficiency of how its benzoyl peroxide formula works on skin. This also means that you will need less of it (and likely need to use it less often), which may explain why you are experiencing dryness. If you decide this isn't a fit for you, please contact our Customer Care Team and they can help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  25. C
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This is the best benzoyl peroxide product i have ever used. It doesn't dry out my skin and i get absolutely NO pimples since i started using it months ago. And i really mean NONE! This, along with the Skin Balancing cleanser and the two Moisture Boost moisturizers has made my skin look like it never has before in my life: flawless. Thank you so much for these excellent products. I recommend it to everyone struggling with imperfections!!

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains 2.5% benzoyl peroxide which is considered the gold-standard for preventing acne breakouts. It works immediately to start eliminating acne-causing bacteria and reduce redness.

Unlike most benzoyl peroxide-based acne products, Paula's Choice Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains no harsh or irritating ingredients that can make acne worse, such as alcohol, menthol, or camphor.

Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment also contains soothing anti-irritants to help skin heal and reduce red marks caused by blemishes. Its super-light lotion texture sets to a matte finish, and can be worn under makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is recommended for all skin types struggling with mild to moderate acne. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment

Expert Opinion on Pharmacotherapy, October 2009, pages 2,555–2,562; Dermatologic Clinics, January 2009, pages 33–42; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2008, pages 480–481; and Dermatology Therapy, March-April 2008, pages 86–95; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 873–880; Lancet, December 2004, pages 21882195; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, September-October 2000, pages 292–296; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: allantoin, benzoyl peroxide, bisabolol

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5% (topical disinfectant). Inactive Ingredients: Water, Propylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser and exfoliating with Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, cover the affected area with a thin layer of Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment 1–3 times a day. Because some people may experience dryness when they first start using a product with benzoyl peroxide, it may be necessary to reduce application to once every other day or, if twice daily application proves to be too much, reduce application to once daily, morning or evening.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Can the Clear Regular Strength Treatment be used with prescription tretinoin/retinoid products?

Research has shown that benzoyl peroxide can, in fact, be applied at the same time with tretinoin/retinoid prescription products such as Retin-A, Renova, Tazorac, or their generic counterparts (Source:The Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, October 2010, pages 26-28).

Can I use the Clear Daily Skin Clearing Treatments with Benzoyl Peroxide at the same time as a product that contains retinol? 

Great question! This is an often misunderstood subject—we’ve read and heard it claimed that retinol and benzoyl peroxide cannot be used together for fear they will adversely affect each other’s stability.  However, what is often missing from these claims is any cited corroborative studies, and with good reason, because the scientific and medical research actually says the two ingredients can complement each other—which is good to know, whether you’re dealing with acne alone or the unwelcome mix of wrinkles plus breakouts! (Cutis 2009 & 2012, Journal of Drugs and Dermatology 2013).

Why doesn't Paula's Choice offer a 10% strength benzoyl peroxide?

Paula feels that once you have tried a 2.5% and then a 5% benzoyl peroxide product and determined that these did not give you results, the next sensible step is to look into a prescription topical antibiotic for blemishes such as Benzamycin or Clindamycin. Trying a 10% benzoyl peroxide may prove effective for some, but the kickback from the irritation and excessive dryness that can occur at this level may not be worth it when there are prescription products that can be more effective without the strong side effects. In any event, truly stubborn, cystic blemishes almost always require the care and supervision of a competent dermatologist.

What happened to your Blemish Fighting Solution?

Nothing happened except a name change! The same formula that's worked so well for thousands of Paula's Choice customers struggling with acne has been renamed and added to our Clear line. Paula wanted to reposition this product as part of her streamlined, 3-step approach for achieving Clear skin. Other than the name, Clear Regular Strength Treatment Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is identical to our former Blemish Fighting Treatment.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.