Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Acne, you’re history. Get ready to zap the zits, take a pass on pimples, and calm redness, with 2.5% benzoyl peroxide. Take up with spotless skin.
Item #: 610
  • Acne Breakouts
  • For All Skin Types
  • Effective yet gentle on the skin

For best results use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 101 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. Jason kim
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good product
    • This is a great quality product. I use to purchase acne.org bp gel but after years of use it caused horrible reactions to my skin. Horrible reactions being red itchy spots that takes weeks to disappear. I wasnt sure if reactions were being caused by acne.org bp gel but after further research ive noticed other peoplr were facing the same issue. I switched to paulas bp gel and im very satisfied with the results. I only wish products were bigger than 2.25oz..

  2. Jason kim
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good product
    • This is a great quality product. I use to purchase acne.org bp gel but after years of use it caused horrible reactions to my skin. Horrible reactions being red itchy spots that takes weeks to disappear. I wasnt sure if reactions were being caused by acne.org bp gel but after further research ive noticed other peoplr were facing the same issue. I switched to paulas bp gel and im very satisfied with the results. I only wish products were bigger than 2.25oz..

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect
    • I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!! I have very dry and sensitive skin and this product is just right! It didn't irritate my skin and helped get rid of my mild acne. Although, it hasn't gotten rid of all my acne it has definitely helped. Thank you! I would recommend this to anyone because its light enough for people with oily skin but not drying for those with dry skin or very dry skin.

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Superb!
    • Pimples are few and far between since I started using this every morning several months ago. It was initially quite drying to my skin, so I tried using it less often - every other day or a few times a week. It wasn't very effective this way, so I've continued using it daily but make sure to moisturize well day and night to prevent dryness from being an issue. A little goes a very long way. My skin is more clear than it's ever been, and any acne I do get doesn't stick around long.

  5. Naomi P.R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for whiteheads, managing cystic acne
    • This is the best formulated 2.5% BP spot/skin treatment on the market. I've been very happy with my mix of Skin Balancing, Hydralight, and Resist products, which seem to be clearing up the main factors behind my chronic acne. I use this stuff directly where I find whiteheads, and anywhere I feel a cystic acne starting to push up. I might need to dial up to 5% or 10% for those cysts (or just finally get them extracted), but for medium-to-large areas of the face, this stuff rules. :)

  6. K
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Sadly, not a good fit for me.
    • I have used CLEAR Pore normalizing cleanser, and absolutely loved it, but this product was not a good fit for me. It was a bit irritating (have no idea why - I am allergic to aspirin, but this product is benzyl peroxide. I have used clean & clear persa-gel10, with higher percentage of benzyl peroxide and worked fine.) I still have no idea why, but was just not the right fir for me :(

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, December 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing for clearing up acne
    • This benzoyl peroxide product has been amazing for clearing up my skin! For the most part the Skin-Balancing line keeps my acne under control, but I occasionally have bouts of moderate acne in my T-zone (especially my chin). It felt like everyday I was waking up with a new pimple, but this product has calmed my skin right down.

  8. Nicole S
    Reviewed on Friday, December 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The very first anti-acne that works for me
    • I've tried many of those anti-acne products out there. None of them EVER worked, until this one. You do need some patience to see its effectiveness. At first, you'll feel like you are still chasing those annoying red bumps over your face; one of them fades away while the other gets ready to show up. Then it's getting better, slowly though. Now I've got way less flaws than a month ago when I began to use this treatment. I'm still sticking with it and hopefully it will get me all cleared!

  9. Liz G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product
    • I bought this for my 14 year old daughter to try and in two days the redness was significantly diminished and the acne is clearing up. This is something that she will use which is awesome. The consistency of this product is very nice not like your basic acne treatment. Thank you for the two-week trial I will be purchasing the full size product for her.

  10. Angie G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Most gentle and effective product
    • I've been struggling with stubborn acne on my back and chest for YEARS. This is the only benzoyl peroxide product I've found that actually clears my skin and doesn't make it red and irritated. My chest and back are smoother and clearer than they've ever been, and the mild acne on my face is gone completely. I am VERY impressed with this product and plan to be Paula's Choice customer for life.

  11. Cynthia
    Reviewed on Friday, October 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    less is more
    • There is indeed something special about this formulation. I've been dealing with acne for 30 years and while clinical tests show 2.5% can be as effective as 5% BP, only 5% BP has ever worked for me. However, this 2.5% BP is doing the job. I've also begun using PC 10% AHA Weekly Resurfacing Treatment, as BHA's wreak havoc with my sensitive skin. I may have found the magic duo. My skin has not looked this clear and soft in decades.

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very good
    • Finally a BP product that doesn't unnecessarily irritate my skin but is very efficient against breakouts. Easy to apply. I am very satisfied with the formulation.

  13. Rachel M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A little goes a long way
    • When I first used the clearing treatment I used an amount about the size of a dime and it dried my skin. Then I started using less and less and found a little pea size drop can easily cover my face. I use it day and night and even with a retinol treatment, my skin doesn't dry out and I'm still acne free. Yea!

  14. KathyB
    Reviewed on Monday, October 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product
    • At 62 I still continue to have breakouts with my oily/combination skin especially in the T-zone. I had avoided Benzoyl Peroxide for years as I associate it with the harsh products from my teens and what is usually the case with drugstore formulations that are too drying. This 2.5% formula is great and since using it I have had no breakouts but it doesn't dry out my skin.

  15. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    the KEY product for my teen's acne routine
    • PROS: My teen with stubborn acne uses this. Works very well and still doesn't irritate her sensitive skin. No artificial scents. CONS: Wish it came in a bigger container so we could have the choice to save $ on it. TIPS: She uses CLEAR cleanser, then reg. strength exfoliating solution, then this, then Clean & Clear Oil-Free Dual Action Moisturizer.

  16. Sarah Lesser
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Magic
    • Best treatment ever!!! I will say that it does try me out a little but it's still worth using because makes my acne disappear within 3 days! Love this stuff love all of the Paula choice this is magical.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, September 02, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great stuff annoying top
    • Best BP I have found and much gentle than most OTC. Weaker is just as effective and less drying.. It's watery and it's easy to squeeze out way too much and it drips out fast if you put the tube down for a second. Even if you clean the top of and store it upright, there is a lot under the cap when you re-open it. As it bleaches, spills are a problem. Often I can see the logic of PC packaging choices, but this is iffy. Still a great product though!

  18. William
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good stuff!
    • Very effective product at a lower BP concentration. Just wish they could come up with a "lightly tinted" formula...then it would be perfect!

  19. Carol F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Effective prevention - not too harsh!
    • I had used PanOxyl benzoyl peroxide for acne in the past, but being unable to find it for the last while, (and an interest in finding an alternative that was not tested on animals!) I ordered this product. I find it is gentler than PanOxyl, so that I can use it every day without burning/redness, and it seems very effective in preventing breakouts! I am very pleased and I will definitely recommend it and repurchase for myself!

  20. Pauline S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The icing on the cake.. of my skin care routine
    • This is my new secret weapon against breakouts! I was happy with my skin care routine, but I still get occasional (hormonal) pimpley areas. Now when I see a pimple developing, I add this product to my morning and night routine for a few days, just a tiny bit over the blemish-prone areas. The pimple clears up faster, and I don't get new ones popping up nearby. (Within a few days, I literally cannot see where the pimple was. Before I found PC, it would've been two weeks of angry red spots!)

  21. Kay M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect Benzoyl Product
    • This is a great benzoyl product that is delivered perfectly with a lightweight, fast-absorbing silky formula! My skin definitely had to adjust to the potency at first but after 1 week it did not make me dry anymore and does not to this day! (I use it twice a day) I also love how affordable it is and how you don't need to slather it on to get the benefits. It pretty much disappears on your skin after you apply it and is not a problem AT ALL under makeup. LOVE LOVE LOVE

  22. Tracy B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 01, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Sadly not for me
    • Unfortunately I turned out to be sensitive to this one and it made my incredibly itchy. Customer Service has kindly suggested a different product instead. Just one of those things!

  23. Lori M.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works for very dry/flaky skin!
    • I have very dry/flaky skin with acne. This product does not dry out my face and vastly improves my mild acne. It's a wonderful, gentle solution to my skin problems.

  24. Ann H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Superior
    • The consistency has changed since my first purchase of the product, and I prefer the new, lotion-like texture to the previous, more liquid consistency. It absorbs quickly and is not drying. The 2.5% is a great starting point for anyone suffering breakouts on the face or body. It is very soothing and non-irritating, yet very effective. I prefer it to the Repairing Lotion from Proactiv, which I thought could not be beat. I used to buy the kit just for the lotion, but no longer! Thanks, Paula!

  25. Kiah K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a BP product I can actually use!
    • I'm 27 and have dryness-prone, sensitive combo skin with some congestion and break outs on the lower half of my face. I have NEVER found a BP product I could keep using without continuous irritation that would eventually turn my skin to sand paper. I am not using the full CLEAR line, but this and the CLEAR cleanser with other products. At first, I broke out even more and flaked but am finally able to use daily. In part, I thank the use of BHA/AHA exfoliation. Maybe now hot yoga and clear skin!

« Prev Page of 5 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains 2.5% benzoyl peroxide which is considered the gold-standard for preventing acne breakouts. It works immediately to start eliminating acne-causing bacteria and reduce redness.

Unlike most benzoyl peroxide-based acne products, Paula's Choice Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains no harsh or irritating ingredients that can make acne worse, such as alcohol, menthol, or camphor.

Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment also contains soothing anti-irritants to help skin heal and reduce red marks caused by blemishes. Its super-light lotion texture sets to a matte finish, and can be worn under makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is recommended for all skin types struggling with mild to moderate acne. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment

Expert Opinion on Pharmacotherapy, October 2009, pages 2,555–2,562; Dermatologic Clinics, January 2009, pages 33–42; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2008, pages 480–481; and Dermatology Therapy, March-April 2008, pages 86–95; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 873–880; Lancet, December 2004, pages 21882195; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, September-October 2000, pages 292–296; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: allantoin, benzoyl peroxide, bisabolol

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5% (topical disinfectant). Inactive Ingredients: Water, Propylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser and exfoliating with Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, cover the affected area with a thin layer of Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment 1–3 times a day. Because some people may experience dryness when they first start using a product with benzoyl peroxide, it may be necessary to reduce application to once every other day or, if twice daily application proves to be too much, reduce application to once daily, morning or evening.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Can the Clear Regular Strength Treatment be used with prescription tretinoin/retinoid products?

Research has shown that benzoyl peroxide can, in fact, be applied at the same time with tretinoin/retinoid prescription products such as Retin-A, Renova, Tazorac, or their generic counterparts (Source:The Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, October 2010, pages 26-28).

Can I use the Clear Daily Skin Clearing Treatments with Benzoyl Peroxide at the same time as a product that contains retinol? 

Great question! This is an often misunderstood subject—we’ve read and heard it claimed that retinol and benzoyl peroxide cannot be used together for fear they will adversely affect each other’s stability.  However, what is often missing from these claims is any cited corroborative studies, and with good reason, because the scientific and medical research actually says the two ingredients can complement each other—which is good to know, whether you’re dealing with acne alone or the unwelcome mix of wrinkles plus breakouts! (Cutis 2009 & 2012, Journal of Drugs and Dermatology 2013).

Why doesn't Paula's Choice offer a 10% strength benzoyl peroxide?

Paula feels that once you have tried a 2.5% and then a 5% benzoyl peroxide product and determined that these did not give you results, the next sensible step is to look into a prescription topical antibiotic for blemishes such as Benzamycin or Clindamycin. Trying a 10% benzoyl peroxide may prove effective for some, but the kickback from the irritation and excessive dryness that can occur at this level may not be worth it when there are prescription products that can be more effective without the strong side effects. In any event, truly stubborn, cystic blemishes almost always require the care and supervision of a competent dermatologist.

What happened to your Blemish Fighting Solution?

Nothing happened except a name change! The same formula that's worked so well for thousands of Paula's Choice customers struggling with acne has been renamed and added to our Clear line. Paula wanted to reposition this product as part of her streamlined, 3-step approach for achieving Clear skin. Other than the name, Clear Regular Strength Treatment Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is identical to our former Blemish Fighting Treatment.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 1:22:36 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.