Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Acne, you’re history. Get ready to zap the zits, take a pass on pimples, and calm redness, with 2.5% benzoyl peroxide. Take up with spotless skin.
Item #: 610
  • Acne Breakouts
  • For All Skin Types
  • Effective yet gentle on the skin

For best results use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 104 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. Lori M.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works for very dry/flaky skin!
    • I have very dry/flaky skin with acne. This product does not dry out my face and vastly improves my mild acne. It's a wonderful, gentle solution to my skin problems.

  2. Ann H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Superior
    • The consistency has changed since my first purchase of the product, and I prefer the new, lotion-like texture to the previous, more liquid consistency. It absorbs quickly and is not drying. The 2.5% is a great starting point for anyone suffering breakouts on the face or body. It is very soothing and non-irritating, yet very effective. I prefer it to the Repairing Lotion from Proactiv, which I thought could not be beat. I used to buy the kit just for the lotion, but no longer! Thanks, Paula!

  3. Kiah K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a BP product I can actually use!
    • I'm 27 and have dryness-prone, sensitive combo skin with some congestion and break outs on the lower half of my face. I have NEVER found a BP product I could keep using without continuous irritation that would eventually turn my skin to sand paper. I am not using the full CLEAR line, but this and the CLEAR cleanser with other products. At first, I broke out even more and flaked but am finally able to use daily. In part, I thank the use of BHA/AHA exfoliation. Maybe now hot yoga and clear skin!

  4. Lucy
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Still on the fence
    • I've been using PC BP 2.5% for a year and I can't decide how I feel about this new formula. I really like that the lotion is now smoother (the little particles are no longer visible), it absorbs and dries faster and of course it works. But I agree with the other posters, it leaves the face feeling tighter and drier. Interestingly though, I can put make up over this formula and sunscreen, and it doesn't get cakey. I ended up using it every second or third day now.

  5. Bryna A.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 22, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Burns My Skin
    • I have been using the product for years under the old formula with great success. I had been searching for years to find an acne product for my sensitive skin and was thrilled when I found this product. I ordered three new tubes not realizing that the formula had changed. This product now causes my skin to burn, turn bright red, and itch with the lightest application. This is so distressing because now I have nothing for my skin which breaks out on a daily basis.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 09, 2013
    Thank you for your review and we're sorry to learn of your experience. The new formula was designed to increase the efficiency of the benzoyl peroxide, and for that reason, you may need less product than you did previously, (and/or to use it less often). This may explain your experience. If you decide this isn't a fit for you, please contact our Customer Care Team and they can help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  6. Irina M.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    love it
    • I've always had horomonal acne on my chin, but lately have had some on my cheeks at odd times of the month. I tried store bought BP products, but they smelled bad and fried my skin. This one has no smell and is very gentle. I started off using this one every other day, then built up to every day. After the initial 6 week "purge", my cheek spots were greatly reduced. It couldn't do anything for the ones on my chin, but I didn't expect it to.

  7. Arya
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Irritated my skin
    • This caused serious irritation on my skin. It took me a while to realize that this was causing it... I strongly recommend to anyone that wants to try this product to test it on a small patch of the skin and see how you react to it. I don't have extra sensitive skin, I get blemishes every now and then and I thought this was a good product to keep handy. Never again will I use this!!! I know it has great reviews, but definitely doesn't work for everyone; please test it before using it!!!!

  8. Cynthia B
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    please bring back the old formula for us middleagers
    • Been using PC for 10+ years now. This new acne formula is WAY too drying for my middle aged skin. The old formula was perfect for my 44 yr old facial skin. My skin needs the old formula w/ the silicone and honeysuckle. PLEASE, I beg, bring it back to us aging skin folks who still get acne! PLEASE!!! (love it for my chest and back though)

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! The new formula has an emphasis on a sheer finish, and was designed to increase the efficiency of the benzoyl peroxide formula works on skin. This also means that you will need less of it (and/or use it less often), which may explain why you are experiencing dryness. If you decide this isn't a fit for you, please contact our Customer Care Team and they can help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  9. Max
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Keeps acne at bay
    • Been using this, along with PC Clear Regular Strength toner and a good moisturizer and sunscreen (both Elta MD brand) for about a year. I can't thank Paula enough for making such an outstanding product. I dare you to find a higher quality benzoyl peroxide (hint: you cant!!). My face is normally categorized under moderately/severe acne. Now I maybe get one small pimple a month, and they go away very fast. My overall complexion looks healthier than it has since I was 13 (mid twenties now).

  10. Naomi W.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Final something that works
    • I love this stuff so much, yes around that time of the month I still get a break out but its not where near as bad and clears up within a matter of days. I use this along with the Clear extra strenghth exfoliant at night and with the hydralight toner and 2% bha gel during the day - I also use the hyrdalight cleanser twice a day and just started using the weekly resurfacing treatment. Anyway, this really lives up to its claims as do all of PC other products I have tried so far!!!!

  11. CYNTHIA B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA....!!!
    • Please, bring back the old formula for - we the mature skin ladies! :) Ok, I have been using PC acne products for many years now...probably about 10. (my order history online only dates back to 2011 since having to create a new account) Anyhow, The old formula was a little heavy for my young 30's skin, but it still worked better than anything out there so I continued to use it. As the years went by it worked better and better. Now, at 44, this new formula DRIES out my matureing skin so bad.....

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 29, 2013
    Thank you for your review and feedback! We will certainly share it with the team. The new formula is lighter, but also contains a balance of ingredients which increase the efficiency of how its benzoyl peroxide formula works on skin. This also means that you will need less of it (and likely need to use it less often), which may explain why you are experiencing dryness. If you decide this isn't a fit for you, please contact our Customer Care Team and they can help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  12. C
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This is the best benzoyl peroxide product i have ever used. It doesn't dry out my skin and i get absolutely NO pimples since i started using it months ago. And i really mean NONE! This, along with the Skin Balancing cleanser and the two Moisture Boost moisturizers has made my skin look like it never has before in my life: flawless. Thank you so much for these excellent products. I recommend it to everyone struggling with imperfections!!

  13. Tammy S.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 14, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Didn't work for me
    • I loved the silky texture of this treatment, but it didn't make any noticeable improvement in my acne after two months of use. I know there is research indicating that 2.5% benzoyl peroxide is as effective as stronger concentrations, but I have not found that to be the case for me personally. I ended up ordering the 5% treatment and I find that it works much better and has the same wonderful feel.

  14. Max
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Boy is this stuff good
    • I have extremely acne prone skin (I am also a male). I have been using this stuff for a few months (along with the Clear toner), and I have not written any reviews yet because I wanted to make sure they didn't stop working. As I am typing this my skin is clearer than it's been in years. This is really good stuff! Don't let the "regular strength" name fool you, this is powerful stuff (it really decimates acne). I use a thin layer twice a day (about a quarter sized blob of the BP on my hand). If I try to use more my skin starts to flake mildly. Using a thin layer keeps me clear and keeps my skin flake-free :-). also I just wanted to say THANK YOU to Paula's Choice for the ingredient change. I would never use a product with isopropyl myristrate, and taking that out has made this an acne fighting powerhouse.

  15. Erik
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 25, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Comment on formula change!
    • I've used this product since it debuted years ago,mainly as a spot treat.This new formula is definitely drying compared to the original formula,guess since you took the thickeners/emollients out,which I thought were an issue for acne anyways,but definitely made the formula less drying and more elegant feeling. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. This formula did have to be changed to make it more technologically advanced and slightly more potent. Since it is a bit more potent you would want to experiement with applying it less frequently which should still help keep acne at bay and reduce any chance for dryness. We will certainly note your comments and feedback regarding the formula change with Paula and please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  16. Harriet
    Reviewed on Monday, December 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE!
    • This is great for use on skin when you feel a breakout coming :) I do not use this every day as the CLEAR line by Paulas Choice has made my skin less break-out prone so this is only used when I feel a breakout coming. Thank you for this great product which doesnt dry out my skin like over BP and dries to an invisible finish. I am moving to the UK soon and am sad that this is isnt available on the UK Paulas Choice site!

  17. Lara
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Best on the Market!!!!
    • I just wanted to take a moment to thank Paula and her Rockstar Customer Service team for sending me the 2.5% clearing treatment. This is a very gentle formula. My skin didn't react to it as it did to the 5% clearing treatment. It was probably my fault for ordering the 5%. I don't have acne....I'm just dealing with stubborn whiteheads that won't go away. The entire CLEAR line is the best on the market. Forget all those expensive other lines that simply dry your skin out. This is the real deal!!!!!!! My once oily skin is no longer a concern. Paula's products are fantastic. You really get your money's worth. I've tried prescription strength products and they don't even come close to what is formulated in the CLEAR line. These stubborn whiteheads are almost gone!!!!! I can't believe my eyes!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!!

  18. danielle
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 22, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Please change it back
    • I have used this for many, many years. It is a wonderful product, but your new version is so drying. That was the terrific thing about it - it did not dry you out. Sadly, the new version does. I will keep using it for now as it does keep the blemishes away, but the red, dry, tight skin is no fun. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear this product is not responding well for you. It does not contain any drying ingredients, perhaps a change in your routine is causing your skin to become drier. Please contact customer care so that we may analyze your daily routine and see if some changes are necessary.

  19. S.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Why did I wait so long to try this?!
    • So, when I was in high school, I had a reaction to a topical from my dermatologist that had benzoyl peroxide in it. So, I've spent years thinking I was allergic to it. However, I tried the trial size of this for spot treatment, because I was tired of dealing with cystic acne for which BHA is only mildly effective. And, wow, what a difference - this really shrinks acne overnight, and for me, it has prevented almost all of my cystic acne from hitting the surface. I have begun using it not just as a spot treatment but over all of my acne prone areas. My skin is a little bit drier, but nothing that I cannot combat. Definitely worth it - I may try the sample of the 5% as a spot treatment for the really rough patches next!

  20. Bridget
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Why, oh why did you change the formula??
    • Kudos on the new packaging, it looks nicer & the cap isn't all leaky. BUT - the formula? If it ain't broke, don't fix it. I've been using the new formula for about a week now - I haven't broken out yet, so it's working for that, but it leaves my skin feeling uncomfortably dry & tight (something the original formula didn't do). Also, it's got a funky smell now which, thankfully, fades pretty quickly. I would give it a 3.5 if the rating system worked that way (used to be a 5, minus 0.5 for the smell & minus 1 for the drying). Put it back the way it was please! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear you are not happy with the new formula. We did update the formula to make it more technologically advanced, added more anti-irritants, and created a slightly richer texture based on customer feedback. The reason for change in your skin may be due to the weather getting colder as most due experience more dryness during the colder months, but nevertheless we want you to be happy with your purchase and will leave the purchase price of this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Feel free to contact customer care so that we may discuss your routine to see what could be causing excess dryness. In the meantime we will track your comments and feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  21. K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 02, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Quite good!
    • This is a lightweight, non-greasy lotion that works very well for mild/moderate acne! I've been using it a couple times a week over my blemish-prone areas for the past few weeks and so far it has definitely helped to keep large blemishes at bay and clear up my skin! I really like that I can layer it underneath other skincare/make-up products without it feeling heavy or having any combination problems. I would definitely recommend it to others!

  22. Lynn
    Reviewed on Friday, August 10, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Alright, not great
    • After seeing the positive reviews on this product, I decided to buy it. I initially debated between the regular strength and the extra strength and settled on the regular strength in an effort to not dry my face out too badly. However, I wish I would've gone with the extra strength. This product is nice because it is thin enough that you can wear it during the day without worrying about having white residue all over your face, so that is a definite plus. However, for me, it has not had any affect on my acne. In fact, at night, I have resorted to using the over the counter benzoyl peroxide product that I have used in the past. Bottom line: if you have moderate (or stubborn) acne, I suggest going for the extra strength instead of the regular strength. It's a lot to spend for a product that doesn't have any effect. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product has not worked well for you. You do have to pair this product with a BHA exfoliant or else you will not see the maximum benefit. We also suggest pairing them with the CLEAR Normalizing Cleanser. Preventing acne does take some time; we suggest continuing to use this product but adding in the mentioned product above for at least a couple months to see how your skin will ultimately respond. If after this time with the above routine you still don't notice a difference then it would be best to seek a dermatologist for adding in a prescription product. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  23. CC
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 21, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The BEST!
    • This is an AMAZING anti-acne treatment! I have tried tons of different products and I found that this is the only product that works. And it works perfectly! For the first time in my life, my skin is totally clear! It cleared up my acne almost immediately but caused redness and peeling at first. I stuck with it and after 1-2 months, the irritation went away. Paula, you're skin care advice and products are brilliant! Thanks you!!!

  24. Louise
    Reviewed on Friday, July 20, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It works for my daughter
    • After some experimentation with my teen daughter we have finally found a regime that works for her. This is wonderful as for two years her skin was very oily and prone to breaking out. Finding that perfect combination of products that actually treats her acne but does not dry her has been tricky. She now uses the PC normalizing cleanser, this 2.5% acne fighting treatment in the morning and her prescription cream at night. Adding the two PC products was when her skin really started to clear up. Her skin is MUCH better than it was before and we are grateful! Actually, she just got all dressed up to go out with a friend this evening and her skin IS CLEAR and I know she feels good. This sounds corny, but THANK YOU PAULA (if you are reading!)

  25. Holly
    Reviewed on Friday, June 29, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for everyone
    • I purchased this product for occasional breakouts, however, I find it unusable. The first application creates an unsightly red mark, while subsequent applications create dry, scaly patches that take weeks to heal. My skin has never before reacted like this to a product. Sadly, this product is not for me. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product which may be used on a future phone order. We suggest sticking with just the CLEAR Normalizing Cleanser and CLEAR BHA exfoliant to help battle blemishes and clogged pores and not use a benzoyl peroxide product. Please contact customer care with any questions.

« Prev Page of 5 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains 2.5% benzoyl peroxide which is considered the gold-standard for preventing acne breakouts. It works immediately to start eliminating acne-causing bacteria and reduce redness.

Unlike most benzoyl peroxide-based acne products, Paula's Choice Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment contains no harsh or irritating ingredients that can make acne worse, such as alcohol, menthol, or camphor.

Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment also contains soothing anti-irritants to help skin heal and reduce red marks caused by blemishes. Its super-light lotion texture sets to a matte finish, and can be worn under makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is recommended for all skin types struggling with mild to moderate acne. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Regular Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment

Expert Opinion on Pharmacotherapy, October 2009, pages 2,555–2,562; Dermatologic Clinics, January 2009, pages 33–42; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2008, pages 480–481; and Dermatology Therapy, March-April 2008, pages 86–95; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 873–880; Lancet, December 2004, pages 21882195; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, September-October 2000, pages 292–296; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: allantoin, benzoyl peroxide, bisabolol

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5% (topical disinfectant). Inactive Ingredients: Water, Propylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply to affected areas after cleansing and exfoliating. Because excessive drying may occur, start with 1 application and gradually increase to 2 or 3 times daily if needed. If dryness or peeling occurs, reduce frequency of application to once per day/every other day. For daytime, follow with a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 25 or greater.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Can the Clear Regular Strength Treatment be used with prescription tretinoin/retinoid products?

Research has shown that benzoyl peroxide can, in fact, be applied at the same time with tretinoin/retinoid prescription products such as Retin-A, Renova, Tazorac, or their generic counterparts (Source:The Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, October 2010, pages 26-28).

Can I use the Clear Daily Skin Clearing Treatments with Benzoyl Peroxide at the same time as a product that contains retinol? 

Great question! This is an often misunderstood subject—we’ve read and heard it claimed that retinol and benzoyl peroxide cannot be used together for fear they will adversely affect each other’s stability.  However, what is often missing from these claims is any cited corroborative studies, and with good reason, because the scientific and medical research actually says the two ingredients can complement each other—which is good to know, whether you’re dealing with acne alone or the unwelcome mix of wrinkles plus breakouts! (Cutis 2009 & 2012, Journal of Drugs and Dermatology 2013).

Why doesn't Paula's Choice offer a 10% strength benzoyl peroxide?

Paula feels that once you have tried a 2.5% and then a 5% benzoyl peroxide product and determined that these did not give you results, the next sensible step is to look into a prescription topical antibiotic for blemishes such as Benzamycin or Clindamycin. Trying a 10% benzoyl peroxide may prove effective for some, but the kickback from the irritation and excessive dryness that can occur at this level may not be worth it when there are prescription products that can be more effective without the strong side effects. In any event, truly stubborn, cystic blemishes almost always require the care and supervision of a competent dermatologist.

What happened to your Blemish Fighting Solution?

Nothing happened except a name change! The same formula that's worked so well for thousands of Paula's Choice customers struggling with acne has been renamed and added to our Clear line. Paula wanted to reposition this product as part of her streamlined, 3-step approach for achieving Clear skin. Other than the name, Clear Regular Strength Treatment Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is identical to our former Blemish Fighting Treatment.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.358 12/19/2014 3:43:38 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.