Clear Extra Strength Kit

Break up with breakouts. Stop pimples cold, zap those zits, unclog pores, and calm redness without the dry-out. Time to start a long-term relationship with great skin.
Item #: 475
  • Acne Breakouts, Enlarged Pores
  • For All Skin Types
  • 3 products: Clear Cleanser, Clear Extra Strength Exfoliant, Clear Extra Strength Blemish Treatment

Please Note: Do not use the Exfoliating Solution if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

Try the Clear Extra Strength Trial Kit

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Extra Strength Kit

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 105 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. RACHELLE
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally an acne system that works!
    • At 42 the texture of my skin is changing and I didn't realize how much until after using these products. For years I have used ProActive with little success. This product, even the extra strength, is gentle and VERY effective. It has drastically reduced the size of my pores and the presence of black heads, making my skin smoother than it has been in years. I recommend purchasing the RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% AHA too.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    only product that has ever worked!
    • I have struggled with acne since I was in my early 20's - I am now 33 years old. i have been on and off various prescriptions, tried Proactive, Mary Kay, Clinique, etc. This is the only thing that WORKS!!! My skin is the best its ever been, this is worth every penny!!! If I forget to reorder in time and have to go without a day or two I immediately start to break out again. I know my skin is clear due to this product!! I have used Clear Extra Strength for over a year and am still thrilled!

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best product I've tried!
    • I developed acne in my early 20s (thank you, hormones) and every dermatologist I saw recommended birth control, but I didn't want that to be my only solution. I have tried Mary Kay, Proactiv, and almost every OTC product - some made it "better", but none of them truly CLEARED and HEALED my skin the way this line does. I will say that my face was incredibly dry during the first week of using it and it does require moisturizer DAILY, but I have never had a cystic blemish heal in TWO days! LOVE IT.

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, May 17, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works Quickly
    • My 28 year old daughter was having terrible problems with breakouts, blackheads and some cystic acne. It was causing her self-esteem issues. She had tried several products, none of them seemed to work. I was familiar with Paula's Choice and after reading the reviews, bought the Extra Strength acne products. Within 1 week, my daughter's face is noticeably improved. I will reserve further comments until we are sure that her acne does not get worse-as sometimes happens. I hope not!

  5. HITOMI S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Please try this products !!
    • 10 x stars!! I want to rate 10 x stars, because my daughters'(16 yrs old) skin start improving in a week. 90% of her face used to be covered with ugly pimples and scars. She'd tried any kind of face wash and lotion from drug store (even proactive.....) , suffered years and years. I found Paula's comment & knowledge on-line, read whole story, ordered right away.My daughter is still having acne on/off, but 98% of her face is soft and smooth. It's been three months since then. Unbelievable!

  6. Sonia
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Impressed So Far
    • I started using this system about two months ago after years of acne that started in my teens. I've taken oral medication and used different topical treatments. I was so frustrated and decided to try PC. I'm so glad I did! I've seen a noticeable change in the texture of my skin (so smooth!) and the acne has decreased significantly. I'm still crossing my fingers as I hope that this continues to work well for me.

  7. Alli G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    My staple acne system
    • I bought the trial size of the Regular Strength Clear System. It didn't work. I decided to try the Extra Strength. My dermatologist told me Bezoyl Peroxide was the best treatment for my bacterial acne. The Extra Strength did the trick! My pores reduced to 75% of their previous size, I haven't had a breakout in over 2 weeks. Even during my PMS I didn't have a bad infected pimple. I do have to use a moisturizing cleanser at night. I have moderate cystic acne, need a potent system for severe acne.

  8. Rebecca M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Wonderful skin care!
    • I have been battling acne since I was a teenager, including severe bouts of cystic acne.This is the first line of products that has managed my skin's health without having to take BC or antibiotics. I still get breakouts and occasional cystic spots, but my skin looks soothed and so much healthier. I am much more confident about my skin! The only reason I took it down one star is because the toner leaks when traveling. I try to prevent by tightening the cap, but it still leaks. Hate to waste it!

  9. ANGIE R.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miraculous!
    • I first tried this two years ago after suffering for decades with huge boils and hormonal/genetic acne all over my face, neck, chest and back. I think it was on sale and I thought, what the heck, might as well try it. Within 3 days the horrible mess was almost cleared right up, and after a week it was all gone! The large cysts just shrank away. I've just bought my 4th kit tonight -- I absolutely cannot be without it! I have NEVER found any acne product that worked as well as this.

  10. Lynn S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I got the sample kit when it was on sale a few weeks back & wish I would have tried it sooner. I had zero luck with the regular strength exfoliant & treatment, but the extra strength is working wonders. I had some cystic hormonal breakout along my jawline & saw about a 50% decrease in size overnight, & it was gone in three days. I have oily skin (which tends to be 'normal' in the winter), & this was not too drying for me. It does burn a bit initially, but I don't mind when it works so well!

  11. I
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I am 28 and have battled persistent moderate acne since I was a teenager. I've tried everything including prescription meds and nothing has worked like this system does! For the first time in years my skin is 90% clear and looks healthy and smooth to boot. My breakouts are much less severe when they do occur and heal quickly. I have extremely sensitive skin and was irritated by many other brands but have had no problems tolerating these products. All I can say is thank you so much!!

  12. P. R.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I owe PC for my clear skin!
    • I am 31 and after several years of dealing with acne, I was about ready to give up. I thought I would never have the clear complexion I so badly wanted. Then out of the blue, a new friend gave me Paula's Choice CLEAR Extra Strength to try. She had also suffered from acne and discovered Paula's Choice - she now has radiant, clear skin. The next day, I bought the CLEAR Extra Strength System package. It's now been a few months and I am SO pleased with the results. My complexion is now 95% clear!!

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great!
    • Product dried my skin out a little bit, but really cleared my skin!

  14. PAM K.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Likeable
    • I liked the trial kit, but I think the equate system that is similar to proactive works just as good.

  15. AliceinJapanaland
    Reviewed on Friday, March 01, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Pretty great stuff
    • My face is very oily so I was amazed by the face wash: gentle & left my face soft w/o leaving behind any oil. The toner is a bit odd. It makes my skin look and feel a little oily; a shame because it does it's job WELL. Winters tend to leave my skin dry and flaky which causes more under the surface pimples than usual and since using it, I don't have any flaky skin and noticeably less pimples. LOVE the 5% benzoyl! Silky and gel-like and really effective without drying my skin at all.

  16. SP.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Job
    • Ok we have tried EVERYTHING on the market for my 13 year old and then I ordered the 2 week trail kit. My daughters skin has cleared considerably and there are just a few blemishes remaining and four days to go. We have ordered the regular size kit. She gets large boil type blemishes and this product does the trick. I would strongly recommend that you avoid Proactive, I feel its a total waste of money and promises far too much. I should have read Paula's review. The best part is that the skin that is unaffected by the acne looks beautiful and glowing - the extra strength does not affect it or dry it out. Get the trail kit you have nothing to loose and clear skin to gain!

  17. Amy B.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really cleared up my skin
    • I've tried a lot of different products and have worked in the cosmetics industry and was amazed at how well this system works. I've always been a fan of Paula's products, but was extra thrilled about the results I saw while using this system. It's hard to find a good BHA product on the market that doesn't have harsh and drying alcohol in it! My skin loves this system and I'm not going back. Less breakouts, smoother skin, more glow! I even use this on my back and have noticed a huge difference. I'm really picky about what I use and this is totally worth it!! Thank you, Paula!

  18. DANIELLE T.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works Great!
    • Now in my early 30's I am still dealing with very oily skin and breakouts. I had been using proactive since high school and it was still working ok but I wanted more. I still had skin issues that proactive could not fully address. When I heard about Paula's Choice I thought I would give it a try and I'm glad I did! It works even better than proactive. After I made the switch I noticed a difference after only two days. Pore size has decreased already, redness is reduced and the tiny little bumps on my forehead are almost gone already!

  19. KAT G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not Impressed
    • I have ordered this product and had really high expectations. I have a moderate acne so i thought this product will definitely should help (specially after all the good reviews). After first week of using it I noticed a difference, my acne was reduced by 70%. I was so happy and thought that within a month my skin will be clear.. However, with time (after 3weeks) this product stopped working. My skin came back the way it was..and even little bit worse.. Very dry skin on the cheeks and nose (that it is almost peeling) and very shiny oily skin on the forehead!.. not a good look!.. and my skin colour looks very unhealthy!.. like grey colour!.. I follow a very healthy diet and a healthy lifestyle in general!.. so I can not blame it on "bad lifestyle". I am very disappointed, specially as I had to buy a high postage fee to ship it all the way to UAE. I also use one of the Paula's Choice products for the oil control (comes in the brown tube), which is amazing!.. but the acne kit is not doing any good for me.. Really sad that i tried some many different products and spent so much.. and nothing helps.. Well, I will keep trying, hopefully Paula will come up without new soon that will work better on my skin. Customer Care Response: We are sorry to hear the products did not produce favorable results for you. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. We do think it would be helpful to know what other products you are using as this could be the reason you are not seeing the maximum benefits. We will give you and in house credit but first would like to analyze your routine. If you can contact customer care via live chat, email, or over the phone we will gladly help with your routine.

  20. BlueMoon
    Reviewed on Friday, December 07, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Best used at night
    • I bought the trial kit, because I didn't want to spent too much on products that I might not like. The products certainly do work, but I think you might like it better if used at night instead of the daytime when you need to apply makeup. The toner is sticky feeling and you can't really overcome that, BUT, if you apply the benzoyl peroxide on top of the toner, it actually helps to make it more matte. If you are using makeup on top of that, I would suggest a powder (loose or pressed). I haven't tried a liquid foundation yet, but I think you may have some trouble with a liquid as opposed to the powder. If your skin is oily, you are most likely opting for powder foundation anyway. I have sampled the other toners as well, and they tend to feel sticky, but the drugstore brands are no better. Only the Obagi seems to be better, but it is also ridiculously expensive. At any rate, despite the complaints about the toner feeling sticky, just know that it does improve when you put the benzoyl peroxide on top of that (which are you supposed to do anyway). Now, if the product leaves you red or dry, just put moisturizer over it. In fact, I'm surprised that they don't include a moisturizer with the kit. Personally, I really like the anti-aging clear skin hydrator from the Resist line, and actually wonder why they don't just bundle that moisturizer with this kit. I like it better than the one they make for oily skin. It goes on super matte. Of course, if you are using a sunscreen during the day (which you should always do without fail), then that will act as a moisturizer for you. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. It is certainly okay to apply these products just once per day! We will note your feedback with Paula and please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  21. Analeza A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Haven't seen any benefits yet
    • I really don’t know what to say about the products.  I had purchased some other Paula products, which were good for oily skin, but since I have some acne, I wanted to try this.  And I was sure my skin could handle the extra strength, since my skin is very oily in the t-zone. When I started to use it, I put the toner, and the treatment all over my face, since I was using the treatment in place of a moisturizer.  Well using it in all those areas is too much.  My skin would sting.  I was sure I read a review that stated the stinging goes away shortly after, so I continued.  But then I couldn’t find the review, and the stinging continued, so I stopped on all areas but my t-zone.  Even with that, my skin is still oily, and peeling at the same time.  So now, I place a little of the toner and treatment on my cheeks since they’re slightly acne prone.  Regardless, my acne hasn’t disappeared.  My acne may be hormone related, but I am going to still use the products since i believe that Paula's products are the only products that are good enough to use. And I'll just hope it reduces and diminishes my acne.  I may want to use the cleanser to balance out oily skin, as opposed to the cleanser w/ the acne package-not sure. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this kit. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. There are factors that can keep BHA from improving skin, such as using products not appropriate for your skin type (heavy moisturizers,) or those containing irritating ingredients (bar soaps, fragrances,) or not following a consistent skin care routine. Please contact customer care so that we may help with your routine and offer the best options to try.  

  22. AB
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I bought this entire line after trying the regular strength line which made my skin worse. This line helped a little, but did not get my skin clear. If you are like me (possibly too sensitive for Benzoyl Peroxide?), please try the Resist BHA 9! It's done more for my acne than all the prescription medications and regimens I've tried in the past 16 years. Two stars are for the cleanser portion of this system, which is actually fantastic and doesn't overly dry my already dry skin. I'm convinced the cleanser is a part of my success. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. It would be helpful to know what else you were using in your routine to determine the best recommendations and possible reason as to why the products did not respond well for you. Please contact customer care via telephone, live chat, or email so that we may discuss your routine and offer you an in house credit for the product.

  23. Nicole
    Reviewed on Monday, November 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So Thankful!
    • I am 33 and the past five-six years of my life have been consumed with skin issues. I went from a makeup free face to not leaving the house without it. My face began to break out with a few pimples but soon turned to what the dermatologist called cystic acne. There were multiple spots on my face ranging from quarter to dime size and some of them seemed to have remained on my face for months! I couldn't even look at myself in the mirror anymore, I just wanted to cry everytime. I was disgusted with myself and how I looked. I came across the reviews for Paula's Choice Clear extra strength and decided to purchase the trial size. I have spent so much money on prescriptions, vitamins, topical treatments and numerous other acne products, I didn't see the harm in trying one more. I received the shipment on a Monday, so that evening I tried it. By Thursday morning, the smaller pimples were gone and the large cystic spots were significantly smaller and the redness was minimal. There were smaller knots on my face and jaw that had been there for at least a year and they were almost non existent. My pores are barely there and minus a few hormonal breakouts, my face is clear, of everything! My face is smooth, clear and the tone is more even! I have gone from packing on the makeup to a light powder everyday and my confidence in my appearance is back. I obviously purchased the full size along with the weekly resurfacing treatment, which I love. It has been three weeks since I started using the system and decided to purchase a couple different samples of moisturizers, I haven't experienced much dryness, but noticed a couple of spots. I absolutely love this system and have recommended this to my friends and family. Thank you for helping me to feel beautiful again!Nicole

  24. Jane
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 30, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The only thing that works!
    • I have had skin problems all my life and this is the first treatment that has worked. My skin has never looked so good. I get compliments all the time. I doubt this would have improved the cystic acne I had earlier but I love how it works now. The cleaner is so gentle yet it cleans my face without drying it. The toner and treatment also work nicely. Try it if you have oily or acne prone skin and your skin will be the best it has ever been.

  25. Debbie
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best acne products out there!
    • My son has struggled with moderate but stubborn acne and blackheads throughout high school. He's gone to dermatologists and has tried every topical perscription product, but they all have left his skin irritated and dried out, and have not cleared up his acne. Finally, after seeing an infomercial for Proactive, he asked me if I could order it for him. As a loyal reader of Beautypedia as well as user of Paula's products, I knew that the Clear Extra Strength Set would be the better solution. And I was right! His acne cleared up within 2 weeks, much more quickly than I would have expected. And the best part is he has no irritation at all, even though this product is Extra Strength! I only wish I had gotten it for him sooner. Outstanding product!

« Prev Page of 5 Next »

Products in the Clear Extra Strength Kit Include:

Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser:
All Skin Types
This gentle, but thorough formula quickly dissolves oil, dead skin cells, and makeup that can clog pores.

Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution:
All Skin Types
This solution penetrates deep into pores for more thorough exfoliation, antibacterial action, and redness reduction.

Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment:
All Skin Types
A proven solution for stubborn acne. 5% benzoyl peroxide goes to work immediately to eliminate acne-causing bacteria.

FREE Pack of Oil-Blotting Papers:
These handy and discrete Oil-Blotting Papers instantly absorb excess surface oil and leave your skin smooth and matte. These tissue-thin papers will not disturb your makeup nor will they add any powder to the skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics, November 2003, pages 407-412; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; and Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55.

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution

International Immunopharmacology, August 2009, pages 1,126–1,130; Cutis, July 2009, pages 48–55; Chemical Research in Toxicology, January 2008, pages 53–69; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November-December 2004, pages 519-531; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment

Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, February 2010, pages 712–718; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, February 2010, pages 131–136; Dermatologic Clinics, January 2009, pages 33–42; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2008, pages 480–481; and Dermatology Therapy, March-April 2008, pages 86–95; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 873–880; Lancet, December 2004, pages 21882195; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, September-October 2000, pages 292–296; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: allantoin, panthenol, benzoyl peroxide, salicylic acid, green tea, glycerin, bisabolol, triclosan, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate

Product Ingredients:

Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser:
Water, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate (detergent cleansing agent), Acrylates/Steareth-20 Methacrylate Copolymer (polymer thickening agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient/slip agent), PEG-200 Hydrogenated Glyceryl Palmate (thickener), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (detergent cleansing agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (emulsifier), Panthenol (skin conditioning agent), Triclosan (antibacterial agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (solubolizing agent), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin (preservatives).

Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution:
Active: Salicylic Acid 2% Inactive: Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Extract (anti-irritant/antioxidant), Polysorbate-20 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment:
Active: Benzoyl Peroxide 5% (anti-bacterial agent) Inactive: Water, Propylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Acrylates C10-30 Alkyl Acrylates Crosspolymer (film-forming/suspending agent), Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Sodium Citrate (stabilizer), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser:
DIRECTIONS: Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Spread a nickel- to quarter-sized amount of cleanser over your fingers and apply to facial skin with gentle but vigorous circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup.

Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution:
DIRECTIONS: Use twice daily. After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Normalizing Cleanser, soak a large cotton ball with Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution and gently stroke over face. Pay special attention to acne- and blackhead-prone areas. Do not rinse. Avoid contact with eyes, eyelids, and mucous membranes. If excessive dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once per day or once every other day.

Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment:
DIRECTIONS: After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser and exfoliating with Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, cover the affected area with a thin layer of Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment 1–3 times a day. Because some people may experience dryness when they first start using a product with benzoyl peroxide, it may be necessary to reduce application to once every other day or, if twice daily application proves to be too much, reduce application to once daily, morning or evening.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser:

I already use a Paula's Choice cleanser. Do I have to use the Clear cleanser?

You don't have to but it is recommended. The Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser contains a unique antibacterial agent that's designed to begin the process of killing acne-causing bacteria. It is designed to work with the other products in the Clear range, but if you prefer your regular Paula's Choice cleanser, you may continue to use it with other Clear products.

The Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser contains triclosan, an ingredient Paula has mentioned isn't a good option for acne. Why did she include it?

Paula and her team decided to include triclosan in our Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser due to its potential to begin the process of killing acne-causing bacteria. Recent research indicates that triclosan may play a stronger role than originally thought when it comes to anti-acne skincare. We have used triclosan in an amount that is effective as a first line of defense against acne-causing bacteria; however, benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our leave-on Clear Acne Fighting Treatments) is the antibacterial powerhouse when acne is the concern.

Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution:

How does Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution differ from Paula's regular BHA products?

Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution is actually identical to our longstanding, best-selling 2% Beta Hydroxy Acid Liquid. The original product is so effective at keeping acne under control that Paula decided to add this formula to her Clear line so it is a distinct part of this 3-step routine for those struggling with blemishes. If you're already using our 2% BHA Liquid, you don't need to switch to this product; either way, you're getting an exceptional product to help combat acne, blackheads, and whiteheads while creating smooth, healthy skin.

Why does Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution feel tacky and/or greasy on my face?

Most likely because you're using too much product. The average amount necessary for facial application is less than the size of a dime. The product is best applied in a thin layer, and has great spreading properties. The "greasy" feel can be attributed to the high levels of glycol in this product (glycol helps the BHA penetrate the surface layers of skin and also works as a water-binding agent). If you live in a humid, moist climate, this effect will be more pronounced and, if too much product is used, can create a "greasy" feel on the skin. Many customers have remarked how silky-soft their skin is as a result of Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, and that is the result of the humectants working with the BHA to exfoliate and hydrate the skin. To eliminate the tacky feeling, press a tissue gently onto skin after the exfoliant has been absorbed. This removes any residual product while not affecting efficacy.

Clear Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment:

Why doesn't Paula's Choice offer a 10% strength benzoyl peroxide?

Paula feels that once you have tried a 2.5% and then a 5% benzoyl peroxide product and determined that these did not give you results, the next sensible step is to look into a prescription topical antibiotic for blemishes such as Benzamycin or Clindamycin. Trying a 10% benzoyl peroxide may prove effective for some, but the kickback from the irritation and excessive dryness that can occur at this level may not be worth it when there are prescription products that can be more effective without the strong side effects. In any event, truly stubborn blemishes almost always require the care and supervision of a competent dermatologist.

What happened to your Extra Strength Blemish Fighting Solution?

Nothing happened except a name change! The same formula that's worked so well for thousands of Paula's Choice customers struggling with acne has been renamed and added to our Clear line. Paula wanted to reposition this product as part of her streamlined, 3-step approach for achieving Clear skin. Other than the name, Extra Strength Daily Skin Clearing Treatment is identical to our former Extra Strength Blemish Fighting Treatment.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.358 12/18/2014 2:23:04 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.