Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Acne, I won’t miss you when you’re gone. Unclog pores, reduce redness, and start a relationship with the healthy skin of your dreams.
Item #: 620
  • Acne Breakouts, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Redness
  • For All Skin Types

For best results, use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 223 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. Narin A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    best exfoliator
    • This is the best toner/exfoliator/breakout prevention treatment/skin lightener all in one. I used to use gritty exfoliators and didn't realise I was actually damaging my skin. I feel like this product does a good job at daily exfoliation, it brightens my skin and prevents breakouts. I haven't had any dry patches, irritation or redness from this. Its perfect.

  2. Mae C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantabulous!!!
    • This product is amazing!!! I was using the CLEAR extra strength exfoliant and found it to be too irritating for my skin. I switched to the regular strength and couldn't be more happy with the results! My pores are smaller, blackheads are reduced and hardly any more breakouts!!

  3. Christina C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lifesaver!
    • After having success with Stridex for several months, my skin began to break out again for some unknown reason. Nothing in my routine changed at all. Suddenly there were just more breakouts. I've heard the menthol in Stridex can be problematic for some, so I went on the search for a BP toner without it. This product has been AMAZING. The clogs and whiteheads I was seeing have become far less frequent. I'm so much more confident!

  4. kayr
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The only thing that is helping clear up my skin!
    • I've tried just about everything, including prescription acne medications and nothing has made my skin look and feel the way this product does! It's only been about two weeks, but I have fewer pimples and those that have come about go away in less than two days! It's non-drying and has also made my pores smaller. I am an absolute fan of this!

  5. Nicole G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • I was previously using PC's 1% BHA Gel Exfoliant in the morning, but it was rolling up when I was applying my foundation. So, I ordered this when the gel was almost gone, and I love it! It's very light and does not dry out my skin. It also made my face feel extremely soft! It's never felt this soft before. I definitely recommend this!

  6. Linda F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Magic potion!
    • As with other reviewers, my son & I prefer this formulation over the extra strength for its weightless feel on the skin. With just ONE use, his acne calmed and redness was visibly diminished. He's inherited terrible acne-prone skin from both his father & me. This is like a magic potion reducing redness and breakouts overnight! I wish I had this product when I was his age!

  7. Anna
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Keeps my pores Clear
    • I LOVE this product. It keeps my pores clear and feels like nothing. Is not drying either.

  8. erika m.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Well, this works
    • Keeps my pores clear. My oily, acne-prone, fair skin that has always been red (before I found Paula's Choice), is no longer discolored. Not harsh or drying and doesn't sting. I agree with the other reviewers and would also like to submit my request that this be upgraded to a larger size bottle. I would gladly purchase this by the liter because I'm forgetful and lazy and don't want to keep having to remember to re-order.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Savior
    • After my 2nd pregnancy (5 yrs ago), my skin changed. It began with a few clogged pores and next I knew, it was along my jawline to my temples. My skin was never problematic so battling this was stressful. About 8 mths ago, I learned about Paula's Choice from www.skinacea.com. Although I have a cabinet full of useless products and spent money on facials, I'm glad I haven't spent money for a dermatologist yet. This product saved me from my saga with battling clogged pores. Glad I found it!!!

  10. Katie N.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect and lightweight!
    • This in the morning, in conjunction with 2% liquid BHA at nighttime have completely saved my skin! This toner is perfectly absorbent and lightweight, and didn't dry my skin out like I feared it would. It helps keep breakouts at bay, but hydrates at the same time. For a while I thought salicylic acids were a hoax because NONE of them had ever worked for me, but Paula's Choice products are fantastic! It's a perfectly perfect daytime toner for me!

  11. Erin S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A Great Find for Me
    • This has been a great find for me. I have oily (drier in winter), sensitive, break-out-prone skin. I cannot pile products on my face, or I will pay for it with a plethora of pimples. I've found that toners in general either bring me more break outs or really sting and irritate my skin, including other PC toners I've tried in the past. But this one is different. I use it at night after washing my face with PC Moisture Boost Cleanser (the best!), and it helps keep my skin clear w/o irritation.

  12. Victoria G.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favourite exfoliant.
    • This is my favourite out of all Paula's exfoliants. I love that it absorbs into my skin instantly and doesn't leave a shiny look. It is also completely non irritating.

  13. Kristen D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wondeful!
    • This is a super light exfoliant. It feels like putting water on your face. It really helped keep my acne at bay. I tried a sample of the extra strength version but it was much too drying for me. So glad that Paula's Choice has samples.

  14. Marina V.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This is the only BHA that worked for me, I tried just about each one and this is the only one I love and will keep on repurchasing! Ive noticed a huge improvement in my pores and finally after a year of battling with acne, my skin is clearing up. I couldnt be happier, and it really feels water-like (no smell, no greasy feeling and dries in an instant.) A++++++

  15. Christy L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Improvement!
    • As an adult, my skin began to break out more than it did as a teenager. My mom recommended this product and it cleared up my skin within two uses. I was amazed!

  16. Michelle G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    the best
    • This product is amazing! I tried the extra strength formula first but it was too harsh and made my skin peel pretty badly..but the regular strength is holy grail status for me and is transforming my skin very quickly! I absolutely love it and will always have this on hand!

  17. Anne W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Saved my skin!
    • This replaced the BHA 1% lotion in the Hydralight set I got. The lotion was giving my cystic acne, but since replacing it with this BHA, my skin is healing and no more new breakouts! I am extremely happy with this solution, it is a must-have!

  18. Nicole S
    Reviewed on Friday, December 13, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works great
    • Works way better on me than the extra strength one, but still irritates a little bit.

  19. Drew
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Did not see improvement
    • After using this product for over a month, I have not seen any significant difference in my acne and my skin is just as oily if not oilier. I have been using it with the Clear Normalizing cleanser, and I also tried the Skin Balancing cleanser to no avail. I made sure to pair it with a 2.5% BP moisturizer, and yet still no difference with the addition of this BHA. I wanted to like it and I had high hopes based on many of the good reviews, yet it fell short of my expectations.

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful - Will use for life
    • I found this amazing product after much trial and error. I have extremely sensitive, acne-prone skin. This has eliminated my acne and after several months, has also significantly improved my skin tone. Please never discontinue this.

  21. Olga C.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best Paula's product
    • I have used many products from Paula's website and this one is the best so far. This product alone healed all my acne including hormonal cysts, blackheads/whiteheads. I tried Extra Strength one first and it was very greasy. This one is not greasy at all and just perfect.

  22. Cynthia
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    where have you been all my life?
    • I'm over 50 and thought I was still battling acne, which began when I was 13. For years I used mild soap and 2.5% BP and thought it was the best I could do. I've realized that I don't have inflamed pustules or cysts, just lots of enlarged clogged pores. My routine has now changed. I use this every other night and only spot treat if necessary with the BP. I have smooth and glowing skin for the first time in decades. It is due to this product. I noticed a difference after the first use.

  23. Jenny T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    No results in 3 months
    • I used it as a toner. I transferred it to a mini travel spray bottle. I like to spray it to my hand, spread it on my face, and pat it. At night, I use it with a cotton pad if I wear makeup that day. It dries a little fast. I have the extra strength version and noticed it doesn't dry as fast. I used this day and night for 3 months. My reason to buy this was because my main concern is clogged pores. I didn't see a difference that it had made for my clogged pores or my skin according to its claims.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, November 07, 2013

    Thanks for your review! Without knowing what else you were using on your face, it's difficult to determine why this exfoliant didn't improve matters. Please contact us for additonal information and to determine if another product or products in your routine are making your clogged pores worse.

    —Admin
  24. Rachel M
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for Moderate Acne
    • I was afraid to use any BHA because I thought it would burn my skin. I'm prone to the acne that is red, hard, clustered, and doesn't pop. I call them super zits. Before this BHA, these clustered pimples would last forever. Now that I use this at morning and night, when I do get these pimples, they go away quicker. Yea! My skin isn't drying out and it seems like my old acne scars are going away, too. BONUS!

  25. Katelyn H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this stuff!
    • This is my miracle product. Doesn't dry out my skin and doesn't feel sticky or heavy on. Just wish it was sold in a bigger bottle because since I use it twice a day, I run out pretty quickly and I am constantly having to re-order. Great stuff though - definitely worth the money.

« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution brings about an immediate reduction in blackheads, white bumps, and acne by unclogging pores and reducing inflammation with 2% salicylic acid.

Unlike most products designed for acne-prone skin, Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution doesn't use harsh, irritating ingredients such as alcohol, menthol, peppermint, or camphor that can make acne worse.

Its light-as-water texture leaves skin feeling like there is nothing on your face, yet delivers powerful anti-acne benefits all day long.

Ongoing use can guarantee significantly Clearer, smoother, even-toned skin and can eliminate redness from acne lesions.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with an effective pH range of 3.5-3.9.

Who is this product for?
This product is recommended for all skin types experiencing mild to moderate acne, blackheads, or white bumps. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution

Cutis, July 2009, pages 48–55; Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, allantoin, salicylic acid, panthenol, sodium hyaluronate

Product Ingredients:

Active: Salicylic Acid 2% Inactive: Water, Dipropylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Pentylene Glycol (slip agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), PEG/PPG-17/6/Copolymer (solvent), Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agent), Glycereth-26 (thickener), Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Sodium Metabisulfite (stabilizer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Use twice daily. After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser, soak a large cotton ball with Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution and gently stroke over face. Pay special attention to acne- and blackhead-prone areas. Do not rinse. Avoid contact with eyes, eyelids, and mucous membranes. If excessive dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once per day or once every other day.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution differ from Paula's regular BHA products?

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution contains salicylic acid just like all of her other BHA products. The difference is that this product is a nearly weightless liquid for those struggling with acne and blackheads. It also contains specialized anti-irritants and a blend of skin-conditioning agents designed to help calm skin that's inflamed and reddened from acne.

Why didn't Paula formulate a 1% salicylic acid exfoliant for the Clear line?

The Clear line was designed to be an over-the-counter routine that's as effective as possible for those struggling with acne. Rather than offer an exfoliant with 1% salicylic acid, Paula opted to use 2% but formulate the exfoliant so its pH is slightly higher but still within range for efficacy. The penetration enhancers chosen help control the release of salicylic acid into the skin; the result is an effective product that's surprisingly gentle.

What's the difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants? Both contain 2% salicylic acid!

The difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants is in the delivery systems and their textures. Both contain 2% salicylic acid but the Regular Strength has a nearly weightless feel on your skin and a pH of around 3.9, making it gentler on the skin. The Extra Strength version's formula can penetrate deeper into the pore and has a pH of 3.5. It is designed for those with more stubborn or persistent breakouts. Both exfoliants are highly effective options as part of a routine for Clear skin; you may need to experiment with both to see which works best for your skin type. It is also fine to use both: Apply one in the morning and the other at night.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.