Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

I can see clearly. Keep stubborn breakouts and red marks at bay with this maximum pore-penetrating salicylic acid acne formula. Silky liquid leaves skin refreshed, clarified.
Item #: 621
  • Acne Breakouts, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Redness
  • For All Skin Types
  • Salicylic acid fights acne-causing bacteria

For best results use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

79 out of 100
(Based on 131 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Jason B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Very Odd
    • It's got such an odd, almost oily, texture but I kept telling myself it's got the acid in it so don't worry. It's just not a texture I'm used to. It's very slippery, which I've never encountered in any sort of acne toner before. Usually acne products feel more like alcohol and more drying, but this felt a bit like very light baby oil on my skin. I don't feel clean after using it. For nowI'll just keep telling myself it has acid, it has acid, it has acid, everything will be alright. We shall see!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 22, 2014

    Thank you for sharing your experience, Jason! The CLEAR Extra Strength 2% Salicylic Acid formula does have a unique consistency, which is attributed to its penetration enhancers. However, it doesn't actually contain oil, so you won't find any extra, unwanted moisture from it's use. Alcohol-based formulas can certainly have a negative impact on skin, especially acne-related inflammation, which is why we won't go that route.  Rest assured, once it dries, the sensation vanishes. If you find it's not a fit for you, consider trying our lighterweight formula in the CLEAR Regular Strength version instead (be sure to contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with an exchange or refund if that's the case).

    —Admin
  2. Harlowe F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Thank you!
    • This stuff has changed my skin. I am just so thankful I finally found Paual's Choice products. I've was battling acne since I was 11-12 years old, on and off. This product is the only thing that has cleared up my skin.. after all this time! It took about 2 months for my skin to get clear. I finally look in the mirror and only have one blemish right now, when I used to have 20-30 pimples on my face. Thank you for clear skin, Paula! I hope you always keep selling this product!

  3. Nc,D
    Reviewed on Friday, April 04, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I like it
    • I like this product. I use it with my CLEAR face wash. I tried using it daily but it made areas of my skin dry and flaky. Currently I alternate between this and benzoyl peroxide and haven't had any dry patches. It helped to clear some of my acne. Hopefully the RESIST foam will help with the rest.

  4. Barbarah
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Travel Tip
    • For traveling I took a piece of plastic wrap, unscrewed the top of the product, placed the wrap doubled over the large opening and re-screwed with the wrap well over the edge of the top. Just to make certain, I put the bottle in a plastic bag, but there was no leakage. When the wrap was tossed by housekeeping in one hotel, a throwaway shower cap worked in a pinch!

  5. Ashleigh P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Clear Skin, poor packaging
    • I absolutely love the product itself! I found that I do no require the 3 step system as it was too harsh on my skin. I use my regular drug store face wash and then I use the exfoliating solution afterwards. My skin has certainly cleared up. It has even helped correct some dry problem areas. My only complaint is the packing or seal. During a recent trip, half of the product had leaked out even after ensuring it was closed and tightened. Other than that, it is a great product for my skin!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, February 25, 2014

    Hi Ashleigh! We're glad you're liking your CLEAR Extra Strength formula! Regarding travel, it's tricky as no skin-care product packaging is designed for this purpose.  Once a product has been used, especially liquids, it's quite difficult to keep it from seeping out unless the product is packaged in an air-reduction pump.  However, if you contact Customer Care they will be happy to help out with a replacement. 

    —Admin
  6. Amy O.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail Desert Island Product
    • Keeps my oily, acne-prone skin clear used 1/x day. Also works well to keep mild KP on my upper arms at bay. I have been using this product every day for 15 years and I would never leave home without it.

  7. Dani
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love,Love,Love
    • I love most of PC's skin care products I have all the lines of PC skin care and I alternate. The people with the bad reviews seem to not follow a skin care system. You need to use the products as a system. I use a cleanser (usually CLEAR because I love it, then an Exfoliate solution (usually CLEAR), then the skin perfecting AHA or BHA gel, then the RESIST dark spot eraser, then an antioxidant serum (alternating the SKIN BALANCING OR RECOVERY) then a moisturizer. Need to use complete regimen.

  8. E.D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Works For Others... But Just Not For Me
    • I just starting using Paula's products due to the great reviews. I recently purchased CLEAR Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid exfoliant. It gave me a severe case of dryness. Tried it on and off for a few days but same effect. It also made my skin so itchy! I hope to try the Regular one.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, February 13, 2014

    Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry that the CLEAR Extra Strength Anti-Redness wasn't a fit for you!  There may be a variety of reasons why you had the response you did, and so the best course is to consult our Customer Care Team at custserv@paulaschoice.com. They would be happy to help with advice on how you can find the best Paula's Choice products to treat your concerns, as well as assist with samples and a refund/exchange of your current CLEAR Extra Strength Anti-Redness product.

    —Admin
  9. SANDY S.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    works!
    • My daughter in law had a lot of acne after her baby was born. She tried several products and nothing seemed to work. I told her about Paulas Choice and she said she would give it a try. I ordered the regular first and she said she needed the extra strength. It is amazing to see the difference in her skin after just a few months!! She is so happy with it and I hope it works for you!

  10. TC
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    same as old 2% BHA
    • This seems the same as the 2% BHA solution (which predates it). Both very good products.

  11. Cam
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Easily the best exfoliator/toner I've ever used
    • For reference, I'm a 25-year-old man who's tried all sorts of OTC treatments and cleansers, and was on Accutane in high school during the worst of it. I still have oily, blemish-prone skin, especially on my chest and arms, but this has been a remarkable help alongside the cleanser. I've gotten significantly fewer new pimples, and those I already had have gone or been reduced a good deal. Here's hoping my second bottle, along with the BHA 9 I'm trying, will take care of the last stubborn ones!

  12. Drew
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not for me
    • I used up two of the trial size bottles of this. Or at least everything that didn't leak out when I took it on vacation with me. I actually like the weird thick texture and this product did a fantastic job of reducing blackheads on my nose, and making existing ones easier to extract. But ultimately it ended up being way too drying for me. It made the skin on my cheeks red and flaky. I'm going to try the regular strength version and hope it has the same benefits this one does.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, January 16, 2014

    Hi there! Thank you for sharing your experience! Many have found that if you cannot tolerate the use of the CLEAR Extra Strength 2% BHA as your daily exfoliant, alternating it with the CLEAR Regular Strength 2% BHA is a perfect balance. Hope that helps!

    —Admin
  13. Noor Anggerainie A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My exfoliant forever.
    • It helps to exfoliate and control my acne prone skin. Since my teenagehood, I've used the physical scrub. I wish that I can turn back time. Maybe I will have a perfect skin if I know this product long time ago.

  14. Cathy
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This product has changed my life. PC: Thank you so much!! Can't live without this
    • I seriously cannot thank PC's enough.Since using this product my skin has changed 100% - NOTHING gave me perfect, smooth clear skin (I tried Retin-a, Pro-Activ, BP treatments,. . ). My skin never breaks out anymore. It's soft, the redness is gone. I was even asked to be in promotional photos for work- and have random people asking me all the time now what I do to keep my skin so clear and healthy looking! I like the texture, easy to apply and doesn't dry out or irritate my skin, it's amazing!

  15. YurieH
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 24, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Too much greasy for my skin
    • It is not for my skin. My skin produces a lot of oil. I think a product similar to water will fit my skin better, but this product leaves a greasy layer on my skin. After just 1 hour everybody could see my skin shiny due to the excess oil. After a trial week strictly follow guidance with hope, I had more pimple and break out than before I used it and had to stop. Not recommend for people who has the same skin type as me, and look for a water liked toner.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, November 26, 2013

    Thanks for your review! We suspect you'll prefer the texture and finsh our our CLEAR Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, Regular Strength. Please contact us for details.

    —Admin
  16. Rachael M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I am 36 & have battled acne since 12 years of age. I have taken oral meds & tried all kinds of products with low success rates(even those expensive prescription ones). This product along with the Clear Cleanser and Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel have finally given me clear skin!!! Plus I am no longer taking oral medication & my skin looks & feels amazing! Wish I had found this so much sooner. I have been using them 2 months & am glad the free shipping made it totally risk free!

  17. TRACY P.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My 17 year old's face is clear!!!
    • I recently wrote an email to Paula's Choice, asking for some recommendations for my teenage son who has been battling acne. He takes oral meds and uses Differin. Not quite cutting it. Paula's Choice recommended this product, along with some others in the "Clear" line. In three weeks time, his face is clear and smooth. I am so thankful for all of you at Paula's Choice. I respect your honesty and integrity so much. I use many of your products and have hooked many friends too! Thank you!

  18. Joy C.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Oh WOW!
    • I ordered a sample of this out of desperation. I woke up with better skin this morning. I have never used any product that had more immediate effect on my skin. I am amazed.

  19. ZAW
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Skin has become less oily
    • I started off using the Regular Strength version of this toner and noticed gradual positive changes, however, my skin remained very oily and began to have occasional blemishes again. The BHA gels did not absorb well, though I loved the overall feel of them, so I ordered a sample of the Extra Strength. To my surprise, it hasn't been too strong for my skin, and I have noticed a real reduction in oil finally. I switch between the Regular and Extra Strength depending on my skin and both are great.

  20. Jay C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Texture
    • I found this exfoliant to have an oily texture that feels that it just sits on top of the skin. I prefer the regular strength version of this product, it absorbs much more nicely.

  21. Carla W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Something that actually works!
    • Reasons why I love this stuff: 1.) It's inexpensive. I'm someone who's shelled out as much as $100 for just a bottle of cleanser. Having to pay $20 for a product--that actually works--is very, very reasonable. 2.) It's mild. I have pretty sensitive skin and use this stuff nightly with no irritation/redness--just use a mild cleanser and moisturizer 3.) It works! My blackheads/whiteheads are almost gone after 2 weeks. My face looks brighter, cleaner, less oily, and my pores have shrunken!

  22. SSK
    Reviewed on Friday, August 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really makes skin less oily
    • I have tried every single BHA that Paula offers and they all made my oily skin OILIER! Except this one! This gets rid of blackheads, whiteheads and other imperfections while making my skin less oily. This stings like crazy if I use with Retin-A so I had to make a choice between the two. I chose this because I see better results with this than with Retin-A. This is too shiny to use during the day so I use at night, followed by Skin Balancing antioxidant serum and wake up to glowing skin!

  23. patty t
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Admit it 40 pimples and wrinkles
    • I've been using PC a few years now and love most all her products. It has come down to admitting I still have acne along with wrinkles and need help. I'm using the Clear cleanser, extra strength redness solution and the 2%BHA gel. Benzoid makes my face really red, but does rid the zits. I use the new light serum before makeup. I've never seen my face so EVEN Toned, and acne free. I keep looking in the mirror even though I'm not that type- have the crows feet though, cause I'm still laughin

  24. Wanda O.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 19, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Love Paula's Choice, but this is not for me...
    • I love Paula's Choice skin care, and I've tried a lot of her products. I've begun to have acne in adulthood (due to hormonal changes) and I tried the trial size RS CLEAR system. It seemed to work at first, but then my blemishes returned, so I tried the ES CLEAR. This exfoliant has an oily, greasy feel compared to the RS exfoliant. The Regular Strength one feels light as water, makes my face feel clean. This product also makes my face sting and feel itchy and dry. I guess I should go back to RS.

  25. Pauline S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good for body, but too potent for my face
    • This formula is a little too strong for my face; I don't have extra-sensitive skin, but this leaves me feeling slightly itchy and uncomfortable. However, I can use it on my neck/shoulders/back without any irritation, and it does seem to be helping with breakouts there. (Interestingly, I find I can use BHA 9 on my face without a problem, even though it's a higher strength.) 5 stars for the product itself; not ideal for me personally, but nice texture/formula and it'll be perfect for some people!

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution provides an almost immediate reduction in blackheads, white bumps, and acne by unclogging pores and reducing inflammation with 2% salicylic acid.

Unlike most products designed for acne-prone skin, Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution doesn't use harsh, irritating ingredients such as alcohol, menthol, peppermint, or camphor that can make acne worse.

Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution is designed to penetrate deeper into the pore lining than our Regular Strength Clear exfoliant for fast, concentrated results on stubborn, more serious breakouts.

Ongoing use can guarantee significantly Clearer, smoother, even-toned skin and can significantly reduce redness from acne lesions.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.2-3.8.

Who is this product for?
This product is recommended for all skin types experiencing mild to moderate acne, stubborn blackheads, or white bumps. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution

International Immunopharmacology, August 2009, pages 1,126–1,130; Cutis, July 2009, pages 48–55; Chemical Research in Toxicology, January 2008, pages 53–69; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November-December 2004, pages 519-531; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Key Ingredients: salicylic acid, methylpropanediol, green tea

Product Ingredients:

Active: Salicylic Acid 2% Inactive: Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Extract (anti-irritant/antioxidant), Polysorbate-20 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Use twice daily. After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser, soak a large cotton ball with Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution and gently stroke over face. Pay special attention to acne- and blackhead-prone areas. Do not rinse. Avoid contact with eyes, eyelids, and mucous membranes. If excessive dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once per day or once every other day.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution differ from Paula's regular BHA products?

Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution is actually identical to our longstanding, best-selling 2% Beta Hydroxy Acid Liquid. The original product is so effective at keeping acne under control that Paula decided to add this formula to her Clear line so it is a distinct part of this 3-step routine for those struggling with blemishes. If you're already using our 2% BHA Liquid, you don't need to switch to this product; either way, you're getting an exceptional product to help combat acne, blackheads, and whiteheads while creating smooth, healthy skin.

Why does Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution feel tacky and/or greasy on my face?

Most likely because you're using too much product. The average amount necessary for facial application is less than the size of a dime. The product is best applied in a thin layer, and has great spreading properties. The "greasy" feel can be attributed to the high levels of glycol in this product (glycol helps the BHA penetrate the surface layers of skin and also works as a water-binding agent). If you live in a humid, moist climate, this effect will be more pronounced and, if too much product is used, can create a "greasy" feel on the skin. Many customers have remarked how silky-soft their skin is as a result of Clear Extra Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution, and that is the result of the humectants working with the BHA to exfoliate and hydrate the skin. To eliminate the tacky feeling, press a tissue gently onto skin after the exfoliant has been absorbed. This removes any residual product while not affecting efficacy.

What's the difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants? Both contain 2% salicylic acid!

The difference between the Regular and Extra Strength exfoliants is in the delivery systems and their textures. Both anti-acne exfoliants contain 2% salicylic acid but the Regular Strength has a nearly weightless feel on your skin and a pH of around 3.9, making it gentler on the skin. The Extra Strength version's formula can penetrate deeper into the pore and has a pH of 3.5. It is designed for those with more stubborn or persistent breakouts. Both exfoliants are highly effective options as part of a routine for Clear skin; you may need to experiment with both to see which works best for your skin type. It is also fine to use both: Apply one in the morning and the other at night.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 2:12:43 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.