Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Acne, I won’t miss you when you’re gone. Unclog pores, reduce redness, and start a relationship with the healthy skin of your dreams.
Item #: 620
  • Acne Breakouts, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Redness
  • For All Skin Types

For best results, use with the complete Clear Anti-Acne Kit

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution With 2% Salicylic Acid

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 214 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. Olivia M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm Hooked
    • Paula really out did herself with this one. This is hands-down one of the best products, besides Accutane, I have ever used. My skin looks and feels wonderful. Please, please, please do not discontinue or alter the formula. Leave it just the way it is, its a truly great product.

  2. Elisha K.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love the product, dislike the quantity
    • I love this product, however I find myself purchasing this much more often than the cleanser, as the bottle is a lot smaller. I probably purchase this twice as much as the cleanser, and it's very inconvenient having to reorder products at different times. The CLEAR line of products is the only line that has worked for my acne!

  3. Monica H
    Reviewed on Friday, July 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very very good (please change the bottle)
    • I love love love this product. I have found it to be one of the only products that keeps my chin clear. Without it I would have pimples no matter what products I use. The only gripe I have is that bottle is so tall and thin that as the product diminishes, the bottle tips over very easily. I have had so many bottles of this fall off the counter or else tip over accidently spilling onto the countertop or floor. Please make the bottle a bit more squat! Other than that one issue, I LOVE this!

  4. Jay P
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Definitely "Holy Grail" status for me...
    • This is now a total, holy grail status skin care product for me. I have seen this stuff almost instantaneously shrink pimples and greatly reduce their redness in a matter of minutes. This not only keeps my skin clear, I believe it also improves the texture and clarity of complexion overall. And I love that this is in liquid form- so, I just use this in place of my toner in the morning. I use this once every morning. It initally feels a little sticky, but after 20 min, your face will feel smooth.

  5. Ali
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Gentle yet effective
    • I use this BHA liquid as an everyday toner and have also poured some into a small opaque travel spray bottle for easy application to my back. It dries up my excess oil production without drying out my skin. I love the consistency and prefer this formula over the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA liquid which I found too drying.

  6. SARAH B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Absolute holy grail toner
    • This toner is amazing and feel weightless. I like the consistency/feel of this one much better than the extra strength version, and it seems to work just as well on my large pores and breakout prone skin. Works to calm acne and shrink pores. I also use it on my arms and back if I ever get breakouts from sports bras, etc. Also works on ingrown hairs. I use it every night. It's the best toner ever!!

  7. LYNN R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product!
    • I have very sensitive skin with a few stubborn bumps on my chin. They weren't really pimples, just clogged up pores, I think. After using this product for one week, several of them just sloughed right off and the rest are on their way out. Even with my dry & sensitive skin, this product doesn't cause flakiness. If it feels too dry, I just skip one application.

  8. NATALIA C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great for acne prone skin!
    • I am allergic to benzoyl peroxide. This product helps to clear skin.. and keep acne at bay. I find this product is not as drying the extra strength 5% benzoyl peroxide and works better on my skin. I used it all over my skin except on my cheeks because the skin on my cheeks is quite dry already.

  9. LORENZO W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • This seems to be the best exfoliant that works for me. This really feels lightweight unlike the liquid and so far I haven't had any major new breakouts! I think this one is a keeper.

  10. kris
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best BHA liquid!
    • I can't say enough about this product. It has made a huge difference in the clarity of my skin! The search for a star Salicylic Acid treatment is over! Non irritating even with twice daily use. I also noticed a huge difference in the redness of a blemish within a few hours of use. It can leave a slight residue on the face but is unnoticeable as soon as I apply my next product no matter how light it is. I really like the size of this product as well.

  11. GEORGE
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • absolutely wonderful exfoliant. I love this so much and love the new packaging change which helps limit the amount of liquid that comes out. Bravo, PC!

  12. Laura
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally something that works.
    • I have very sensitive skin that is prone to clogged pores and pustules. Until now I could not use BHA due to irritation, but the Clear Regular toner works amazing for me. I use this once a day at night and have seen great results. Inflamed acne starts to go down in just one night and I also have not had any new clogged pores. Best of all I don't experience any stinging, redness, or dryness. Doesn't leave a shiny finish either. Just ordered 2 more bottles and will be using for a long time.

  13. LENA C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    MY #1 FAVORITE OF PC!!
    • I have been using the product for almost a year and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it so much!!!! I have tried 2% BHA liquid but I don't like it, it made me feel itchy and leaving my skin super sticky, so I decided to switch to this product and that's the best purchase that I've ever made!!!!! It's not irritated my skin like the the 2% BHA liquid and doesn't leave my skin sticky at all. For those of you can't use and don't like 2% BHA liquid should give this a try! You may like it!!!!

  14. Hynoki
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect as a post-workout anti-acne toner
    • The creamy 2% BHA lotion is perfect for nighttime but too heavy for cleaning and toning my face after sweaty workouts, which the reg strength 2% liquid does just perfectly. I just wash with water and splash some of this on, then im good to go. You know how you sometimes feel your acne worsen after a workout? Not any more thanks to this stuff. Its weightless, non greasy, non-drying and quickly shapes up your pores against those P. Acnes! Thanks again to the genius exfoliant makers at PC!

  15. Nicole O.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful- consistently clear skin
    • After years of using an ok BHA product I finally ordered form Paula's Choice. I needed a properly formulated BHA product that was available to me without hunting around stores in my tiny town. I love this solution! I started off using it twice a day and am now down to once in the evening after cleansing and I just cannot say how much I depend on this solution. I am on my second bottle and intend to never run out. It never burns, has no film and doesn't leave my sensitive combination skin tight.

  16. Corrie
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this product - need bigger size please !!
    • I've used this product for a couple of years now and love it ! The pores of my combination mature skin are quickly congested (which means I often get tiny little white heads) and this toner, plus the new BHA9, really help to keep my skin clear and bright. I also use the 2% BHA liquid and although I do like that as well, my skin flakes after each use which is not the case with the CLEAR toner. Can we please have a bigger size bottle as 118ml is quickly gone and I like to use lots of it !!

  17. Charla C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 28, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Love it. Wish it came in 8 oz bottle. too much plastic!
    • In a world of plastic everything, we really need cosmetic companies helping out with things like over consuming of plastic. Please consider making a larger size bottle so we don't have to use so many plastic bottles throughout the year. My heart is so guilt ridden tossing more crap in the landfill. This formula line is so amazing! My skin is finally getting back to a beautiful state after a failed 1+ years experiment with the "wonderbar". Thank you Paula for saving my skin!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 01, 2013
    Thank you for your review and suggestions! Please note that our CLEAR bottles are accepted by your community recycling program accepts plastics labeled as #1 (for PET plastic) or #2 (for HDPE plastic). Don't hesitate to contact Customer Care with any questions!
    —Admin
  18. Amanda
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 24, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Terrible!
    • I contacted an expert though email as I was unsure which BHA/AHA to purchase based on my skin type & concerns. This was the recommended exfoliant for my dry skin & I had been using it along with the other Paula's products recommended to me for about 2 months. This exfoliant has exacerbated my dry skin & now I have patches of dry, scaly skin on my cheeks and chin. It has also made my breakouts worse as well. I've only used it 1x/day since I've received it but now I've stopped.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to learn the CLEAR Regular Strength BHA wasn't a fit for you. While we would be happy to discuss alternatives (perhaps a lotion/moisutrizing base would have better for your needs), we can also assist with a credit or exchange. Please contact our Customer Care Team for help!
    —Admin
  19. Anneliese T.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Effective, Skin-Clearing Exfoliant
    • This exfoliant has done a great job of minimizing my breakouts and reducing the number of blackheads that pop up on my cheeks and nose. My skin is softer, and my pores are less noticeable. The highly-penetrating liquid formulation seems to be a little more than my skin can handle, however, and I experienced some mild irritation. I ordered samples of Paula's other BHA products and am very happy with the 2% BHA lotion, so I'll be switching to that next time I order. Still, excellent product.

  20. Win LY
    Reviewed on Monday, February 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product
    • Great product! It feels like water and doesn't leave any type of sticky residue. It absorbs quickly, and leaves my skin feeling clean and smooth.

  21. Dawn R
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Every morning and every night...
    • I've struggled with acne for over thirty years. I've tried Accutane and every other topical and oral drug available. It wasn't until I started using Paula's Choice products that my skin finally started behaving. This is my go-to product. I NEVER skip a treatment. I use the Regular Strength Exfoliating Solution after cleansing every morning and every night, before any other products. I don't even the Skin Clearing Treatment anymore; that's how well this has worked for me!

  22. ANDREW
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great!
    • Great product. This has completely eliminated my previous acne problem. It is a very thin fluid, leaves no residue or oiliness and causes no irritation. Using it every other day has given me great clear skin.

  23. MELISSA L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 10, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Not drying, no irritation
    • I like this toner. I have oily, acne-prone skin but given that I want some anti-aging properties I opted to couple this toner with the Skin Balancing line and they work very well together reducing my acne and blackheads, although blackheads still stubbornly remain. This toner is great in that it isn't drying or irritating. It has never once stung or tingled. I did dock it one star because my complexion still seems a bit uneven from past acne marks and blackheads, and my understanding was the BHA in this was supposed to help with that. I have ordered a sample of the BHA 9 to see if that might work better, but I do think this is a great maintenance salicylic acid toner. I have tried the Extra Strength version and it was far too strong for my skin. My skin, even after my other moisturizing products, felt tight and dry all day.

  24. Max
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing when used as directed
    • I am a male with VERY acne prone skin. I have been holding off writing this review for a few months to make sure the product would not randomly stop working...it has not :-). Very slight tingling after I apply lets me know its working. My skin looks better than it has in a long time. I have tried the extra strength, and it really dried my skin up. The normal version is soothing and effective. I highly recommend to anybody with acne prone skin.

  25. Rowr
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect balance
    • Been meaning to review this for a while. It works sooooo well. When my skin is flaky, it exfoliates perfectly - never leaves it raw. When it's oily, it keeps the oil in balance - never strips it. A perfect product that keep my skin in balance and keeps acne successfully at bay. This, along with the Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment have BANISHED DECADES of ACNE.

« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution brings about an immediate reduction in blackheads, white bumps, and acne by unclogging pores and reducing inflammation with 2% salicylic acid.

Unlike most products designed for acne-prone skin, Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution doesn't use harsh, irritating ingredients such as alcohol, menthol, peppermint, or camphor that can make acne worse.

Its light-as-water texture leaves skin feeling like there is nothing on your face, yet delivers powerful anti-acne benefits all day long.

Ongoing use can guarantee significantly Clearer, smoother, even-toned skin and can eliminate redness from acne lesions.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with an effective pH range of 3.5-3.9.

Who is this product for?
This product is recommended for all skin types experiencing mild to moderate acne, blackheads, or white bumps. It is suitable for men or women, teens and adults alike.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution

Cutis, July 2009, pages 48–55; Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, allantoin, salicylic acid, panthenol, sodium hyaluronate

Product Ingredients:

Active: Salicylic Acid 2% Inactive: Water, Dipropylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Pentylene Glycol (slip agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), PEG/PPG-17/6/Copolymer (solvent), Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agent), Glycereth-26 (thickener), Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane (skin-conditioning agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Sodium Metabisulfite (stabilizer), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: Use twice daily. After cleansing with Paula's Choice Clear Pore Normalizing Cleanser, soak a large cotton ball with Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution and gently stroke over face. Pay special attention to acne- and blackhead-prone areas. Do not rinse. Avoid contact with eyes, eyelids, and mucous membranes. If excessive dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once per day or once every other day.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution differ from Paula's regular BHA products?

Clear Regular Strength Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution contains salicylic acid just like all of her other BHA products. The difference is that this product is a nearly weightless liquid for those struggling with acne and blackheads. It also contains specialized anti-irritants and a blend of skin-conditioning agents designed to help calm skin that's inflamed and reddened from acne.

Why didn't Paula formulate a 1% salicylic acid exfoliant for the Clear line?

The Clear line was designed to be an over-the-counter routine that's as effective as possible for those struggling with acne. Rather than offer an exfoliant with 1% salicylic acid, Paula opted to use 2% but formulate the exfoliant so its pH is slightly higher but still within range for efficacy. The penetration enhancers chosen help control the release of salicylic acid into the skin; the result is an effective product that's surprisingly gentle.

What's the difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants? Both contain 2% salicylic acid!

The difference between the Regular and Extra Strength Clear exfoliants is in the delivery systems and their textures. Both contain 2% salicylic acid but the Regular Strength has a nearly weightless feel on your skin and a pH of around 3.9, making it gentler on the skin. The Extra Strength version's formula can penetrate deeper into the pore and has a pH of 3.5. It is designed for those with more stubborn or persistent breakouts. Both exfoliants are highly effective options as part of a routine for Clear skin; you may need to experiment with both to see which works best for your skin type. It is also fine to use both: Apply one in the morning and the other at night.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.