Items you may also like

Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter

This cream is rich in fat, so go ahead and indulge. Antioxidants, shea butter, and plant oils soften and smooth.
Item #: 556
  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin
  • For All Skin Types
  • Spreads easily forming a light, restorative barrier to heal dry skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 61 Reviews)
Page of 3 Next »
  1. Kimberly K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this for eczema prone skin.
    • Something set off an eczema flare up on my eyelids about a week ago. It was either something I ate, or a new medication, or the sudden change in the weather from warm and humid to cool and dry. Who knows? But the itching was driving me INSANE. This body butter is the only thing I could put on my skin that actually soothed rather than made it worse. My skin seems to be back to normal now. I will continue to use this as an eye cream. Paula's products have been a lifesaver for my skin!

  2. YVONNE T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 01, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Drys too quickly
    • I have been using this product for a few weeks now and do not like it because it drys on the skin as I am trying to rub it on. This is not what I would call body butter. I think there is too much drying agent in this product and therefore I will not purchase it again. Also, this product is not improving the dryness of my skin and therefore I cannot recommend this product.

  3. ann m.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    hydrating but not greasy!
    • I usually have to wash my hands after putting lotion on them because of the greasy feeling. Finally hydration without the greasy oily residue. Love this stuff. Need bigger size option though.

  4. Northstar5
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good emollient cream
    • Very rich and emollient, good for dry skin. However, may I suggest that PC consider formulating a basic body lotion, with anti-oxidants, but without anything extra --- no AHA, no BHA, no retinol, just a good daily body lotion that could be paired up with these other more specialized products? The body butter is quite rich for all-over daily use. I'd love a fragrance-free basic lotion that is lighter than this.

  5. Ethel H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not moisturizing...
    • I have been using this body butter at night for a hand cream. In the morning I find my hands are still dry or even dryer! It almost feels like there is an ingredient missing in this cream. I have started adding reg. lotion and mixing it together and this has helped. I would not re purchase this one.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 06, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    all purpose cream/butter...
    • I really like the idea of having a cream on hand for all over the body, I can use it for my face, dry chest, hands, feet, elbows and knees. I just got it last week so I'm curious to see how much it can actually improve my skin.

  7. M.B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!
    • I have been using this body butter on my cracked heal and all over my feet. No more cracked heal. Put it at night with a little pair of cotton socks over then go to bed, Next morning you have silky touch feet. I use it in summer on cracked heal and I use it in winter all over my body especially on dry patches, hands, knees, elbows this product is AMAZING!!!! Paula, thank you!!!

  8. Lisa
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Nice, but not for the price
    • Reading the ingredient list I was so sure this would be the absolute perfect body butter. I do like it better than the old one but this doesn't moisturize enough. I had stopped using Keihls Creme de Corps b/c it got a so-so review in Beautipedia b/c of its lack of antioxidants, skin identical and skin communicating ingredients but it made my skin soft. This butter has all good stuff but dries up after a few hours. Plus it's twice the price. I'll alternate Keihl's w/ Retinol Body Treatment.

  9. Cathy
    Reviewed on Friday, July 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great for face or body
    • I love the texture and how smooth this makes my skin feel, and a little truly does go a long way. I also noticed it works wonderfully on dry patches on my face, especially in harsh weather, it really protects the skin from dehydration. Makes a great "eye cream" as well. Perfect for dry hands. And it has evened out the rough, dry discoloured skin around my elbows and knees.

  10. Kelly W
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love the product
    • This worked wonders on my 4 year old's dry, itchy skin. But I'm terribly disappointed at what we get for the price. I need a tub of this stuff! My hands were so soft after applying to my son's legs, I used the rest of the sample on myself! Will have to buy for my son, but with the small amount we'll be getting, I won't get to use it too!

  11. RICH F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    FANCY
    • THE FIRST TIME I PUT ON THIS THICK, RICH CREAM, I THOUGHT IT WAS A LITTLE BIT TOO THICK. I SAID IT HAS FANCY INGREDIENTS LIKE SHEA BUTTER AND OLIVE OIL BUT I LIKE THE THINNER DRUG STORE BRANDS. THEN I WENT TO THE DENTIST, AND AS HE WAS PULLING MY TOOTH I WAS LOOKING DOWN AT MY HANDS. THEY LOOKED AMAZING! YOU CAN'T ARGUE WITH SUCCESS. THE PRICE IS A LITTLE STEEP, BUT I HOPE PAULA WILL PUT IT ON SALE.

  12. PAULINE C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good Stuff!
    • This is a WONDERFUL hand cream! It lasts throughout the day and definitely moisturizes. It's a bit thick however, and getting the last bit out of the tube is a tough job!

  13. Chris G
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not all that rich, just thick
    • Immediately after applying this I seem to need to use some lotion! It absorbs but vanishes leaving a not-so-moisturized feeling. I won't be getting this again, f or the price I have better, more hydrating products I can buy elsewhere. Too bad - I finally bought a number of PC products from this site, most are great, this one not impressive.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, May 21, 2014

    Hi Chris! We're sorry the CLINICAL Body Butter wasn't a fit for you, but we're happy to help with a refund or exchange! Just contact our Customer Care Team at custserv@paulaschoice.com for assistance.

    —Admin
  14. Rivka
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Missed the old formula!
    • This formula is super thick and almost feels dry on my skin and I don't feel it compares to the old formula which I loved! The old formula moisturized so much better, was much creamier and felt better on my skin plus had a wonderful very slight fragrance. I bought 3 tubes of this new one and ended up having to buy another brand of body butter that actually works more like the old formula.

  15. PAULINE C.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Marvelous
    • I used this on my hands all winter and they stayed soft and smooth. It soaks into the skin beautifully; it's only greasy if you use too much. Just ordered a second tube!

  16. Carol F
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Miss the original body butter
    • I wish we had the opportunity to purchase the original body butter. I noticed my dry hands, feet, and elbows are not responding to the new formula. It seems very greasy, and less absorbent, and as I use it at bedtime, there is no improvement over night to my dry skin like the original soothing body butter. I also miss the fragrance.

  17. THERESE C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Healed my son's dry hands!
    • My 10-yr old son suffers from extremely dry hands during the winter. His skin is so sensitive and he usually breaks out from anything I put on his skin besides coconut oil. We tried this one night before bedtime, his skin felt like sandpaper, was red and covered with bumps. He woke next morning to all the redness and bumps gone and after using just one more time the dryness disappeared!! Needless to say we use this every night now. Thank you for such a wonderful moisturizer!

  18. Sue C.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very pleased
    • I bought this product really just to get free shipping. :-) But I am very pleasantly surprised at how much I like it. I had no experience with the previous formula so can't compare, but I like it much better than the pure shea I had been using that was grainy and difficult to spread. I still like to mix this body butter with a bit of lotion so that I can spread it on evenly after I apply my BHA body treatment. A little bit goes a long way. I will likely repurchase.

  19. Amber
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    More of a "cream" than a "butter"
    • I'm giving this 4 stars because it's a good product, HOWEVER, I much prefer the original body butter. PC - if you are listening, I think you should bring the original butter back and offer two products, the original butter, and this as more of a "cream." I was fond of the body butter's faint cocoa scent but I'm glad that, unlike some of PC's other lotions, this has no scent whatsoever. I'll probably keep a tube of this on hand but it won't be holy grail status like the original.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, April 02, 2014

    Thanks for your feedback! We may expand our "butter" lineup to offer more options. Your comments will be shared with our Product Development team.

    —Admin
  20. Farhan Wahab
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    A life saver!
    • I started purchasing this magical stuff late last year. The good thing about this product is that Shea Butter is one of the most active ingredient (it comes second right after water). I use it on my arms, elbows, shoulder and chest as I have tanned skin and it really works well! It leaves a healthy glow. Especially great when you apply onto the elbow after exfoliating with the BHA. It makes your skin soft! The only downside is that it only comes in a tube of 103ml!

  21. Shelley H
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    FANTASTIC
    • Absolutely love this great new product. Marked improvement from the old formula.

  22. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    12 hour claim is true for me!
    • I use this nightly on my very dry hands after applying the RESIST Body Treatment 10% AHA and use the RESIST hand lotion w/ SPF 30 1-2 times during the day. Hands are so soft and protected that it's now hard for my skin to scrape or tear and I use my hands hard at work. My cubicles are never dry anymore and "what hangnails?". A very little goes a long way!

  23. Seth E A.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    beautiful
    • I do prefer the old formula. It "seemed" much more moisturizing. However, I absolutely love to pair this with RESIST AHA 10% body exfoliant. When paired together and warmed up on the skin, Body Butter turns into a beautiful emollient oil like texture with extreme moisturizing properties. Great for massage and absolutely beneficial for the skin in the process. Dries down quickly and has super human restorative properties when it comes to dry skin. Well done and properly formulated.

  24. SAMANTHA
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice, but old version was better
    • I get really dry, itchy skin in the winter, and the previous version of this body butter was so soothing and moisturizing, and of course smelled delicious. This newer version is still better than most body butters for dry, itchy skin, but not quite as moisturizing as the former.

  25. Tamie
    Reviewed on Friday, January 31, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • What a great lotion - thick, not greasy and with a smooth, almost dry finish. It is the middle of winter and my hands and elbows feel softer than they have ever been. I have even been applying this to my undereye area (one of my dry zones) at bedtime. In the morning, my concealer goes on much smoother and looks great, not cakey.

Page of 3 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is the solution for problem dry skin anywhere on the body. This Clinically proven treatment cream immediately softens dry, rough skin and keeps it moisturized for 12 hours. A superior blend of antioxidant-rich plant oils, restorative emollients, soothing anti-irritants, and pure shea butter work together to restore and strengthen skin's protective barrier. Its rich texture is non-greasy and spreads easily helping dry, cracked skin become healthy again, look younger, and feel velvety-smooth.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is recommended for dry to very dry areas of skin from head to toe. Excellent for treating eczema-prone skin and designed to apply easily, even on the driest skin.

SOURCES TO SUPPORT THE CLAIMS MADE FOR Clinical ULTRA-RICH SOOTHING BODY BUTTER

Talanta, December 2009, pages 924-934; International Journal for Vitamin and Nutrition Research, May 2009, pages 152–165; Molecules, January 2009, pages 540–554; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, October 2008, pages 339–345; Annals of Internal Medicine, September 2006, pages 333–341; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, June 2005, pages 1049–1059; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, Volume , Volume 4, 2003, pages 771–788; Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, October 2003, pages 2,368–2,373; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May–June 2002, pages 175–183; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: tocopherol, shea butter, Avena sativa, avocado oil, squalane, jojoba butter, beta-sitosterol, Glycine soja oil, glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, hydrogenated vegetable glycerides citrate, Mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, rice bran oil, ascorbyl palmitate, coconut oil, panthenol, Olea europaea fruit oil

Product Ingredients:

Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) (emollient/antioxidant), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient/skin-repairing ingredient), Glyceryl Stearate SE (thickener/emulsifier), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (antioxidant), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate (thickeners), Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter (emollient/antioxidant), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Butter, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils and skin-repairing ingredients), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Squalane, Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredients), Beta-Sitosterol (plant fatty acid/skin-repairing ingredient), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Hydrogenated Vegetable Glycerides Citrate (emulsifier), Propylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Massage over dry areas (elbows, heels, knees, and anywhere you want to seal in moisture to soften skin) as often as needed. Excellent when used after applying an AHA or BHA exfoliant to enhance softness and healing.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter differ from the Paula's Choice facial moisturizers?

Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is our thickest, richest, most emollient moisturizer. It has a very different texture from any of our facial moisturizers for dry skin. It is meant to provide utmost protection and smoothing of dry to very dry skin on areas such as hands, feet, elbows, and knees.

What is the difference between Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter and the Lip & Body Treatment Balm?

In a word, texture. Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter has a soft, buttery cream texture while the Lip & Body Treatment Balm has a thicker texture and more lubricating feel.

Another difference is that Clinical Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is a water-based cream whereas the Lip & Body Treatment Balm is plant oil–based and does not contain water, which gives it a more viscous texture and slightly glossy finish. Both products are excellent for addressing the needs of dry to very dry skin, though Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter's texture is preferred for use over larger areas.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.344 10/21/2014 12:34:16 AM
Skip to Top of Page

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.