CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter

This cream is rich in fat, so go ahead and indulge. Antioxidants, shea butter, and plant oils soften and smooth.
Item #: 556
  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin
  • For All Skin Types
  • Spreads easily forming a light, restorative barrier to heal dry skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 47 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 2
  1. Kristina K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really Soothing - Great for KP!
    • I have extremely sensitive skin and bad keratosis pilaris, which means that my skin is either covered in red dots or just fully flushed red in irritation from the exfoliating I need to do. Someone recommended shea butter to calm the red, and it did a fair job, but this lotion is even better! It's thick and moisturizing and soothing, all without being greasy at all. It's pretty much a staple for me every morning and evening now.

  2. Dee
    Reviewed on Friday, November 15, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Its okay
    • I don't have very dry skin, but thought this cream would be good to use for winter on my normal skin. I have been using it for 2 wks, but my skin doesn't feel really hydrated. Ive used shea butter so I thought this would be great minus the smell. I don't know how people with very dry skin would find this moisturizing when on my normal skin it really isn't. I had to resort to putting an oil on top of this cream and only then my skin feels moisturized.

  3. Karolina Q
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I miss the cocoa butter smell
    • I know this is silly but I really miss the coca butter smell the original one had. Other than that, the lotion is great - moisturizes, dye free, fragrance free, no stinging, and no greasiness.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, December 05, 2013

    Thanks for your review! Some of us here miss that cocoa butter smell, too, but many customers really disliked that aspect of the previous version, so we changed it. We're sure you'll find the latest version moisturizes just as well!

    —Admin
  4. CARI S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Magical!
    • Truly amazing. I have tried every lotion, potion, body butter, and hand cream out there, but this one is state of the art. It isn't the least bit greasy; in fact, it seems almost dry. But it certainly does the trick if smooth, soft skin is your goal. Works even the next day. I ordered samples first and now I'm ordering this for Christmas gifts for everyone over 20! Winter hands, begone!

  5. Jill S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Pretty Good, But Didn't Like for Hands
    • I received a sample of this product and thought it was okay. It is a true "buttery" consistency which I liked. I tried it on my hands, which I didn't like the feel of (it felt too greasy on the palms of my hands and didn't sink in very well), but I also tried it on my feet which have rough parts and I liked it a lot on my feet- it made the rough parts quite smooth with just one use. I recently started using a foot-specific cream that I thought worked well, but this works even better on my feet!

  6. Sandra S
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    good under foundation
    • I have a terrible time with PC products and foundation. They usually ball or drag and it drives me crazy......However...I mix this with the C Booster and it works beautifully.

  7. Angela H.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing Stuff
    • Just received a sample and I am amazed. I am constantly putting body butter on my hands as I have to type all day at work and then I knit as a hobby which can also be quite drying to the hands. No matter how emollient the product says is, it would often fade quickly and I would have to reapply. Not this product! It soaked in quickly, is not greasy at all and my hands are soft, moisturized and comfortable. It is spendy but you don't need much per use and it lasts. Will be buying the full size.

  8. John O.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Instantaneous!
    • I seldom write reviews, but I just can't help myself this time. This stuff is amazing! I've had chronically itching skin on my lower legs for almost 30 years, and although I found things that help, nothing has ever taken the itching away. I put this stuff on tonight, and in five minutes, the itching was gone! The skin is always very dry and almost scaly there, and even with exfoliating, this has never gotten any better. Now, I feel like I have new skin on my legs! This does it – I'm sold.

  9. Katherine W.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Five Stars
    • In a word: amazing! I've used pure shea butter before, and this exceeds it. Smoothed on feet and hands before bed, it keeps them moisturized but non-greasy all night.

  10. Judy M
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful hydration
    • I am so glad I bought this. It is everything you say it is. My heels and toes are always dry even though I get pedicures, and this product has made the dryness, and roughness go away, after just one or two applications. I wish I had this during this past summer when I was in sandals. Moisturizes without being greasy and has no scent. Another great product from PC!!

  11. Ann Y.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great, but pricey
    • This is a super emollient body cream and really softens your skin -- but at $19 for just 4 oz., it's just too expensive. I'll just use it sparingly on elbows, knees and feet.

  12. Allison B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I got a sample of this with my last order. I spend a lot of time typing at the computer and have chronic dry hands. In the past I found myself applying lotion every hour and by the end of the day my hands were still dry, but felt sticky in addition. I have been using this for three days now and only need to apply once or twice at most. My hands feel soft and silky and no stickiness! It absorbs into my skin right away. I can't wait for my next order so that I can add this on!

  13. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 20, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    True to its word
    • This product absolutely lasts for 24 hours and really nourishes your skin. In combination with AHA body treatment, this product takes care of my dry, itchy legs. Yes it is hard to spread on, but all good body butters are...that's why they work. I did take 1 star off for the size of the package. While it would be perfect for small areas like hands, feet, and elbows, it's just not enough for those of us with bigger areas of problem skin.

  14. Cristiana H.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A must-buy for dry skin!
    • This body butter is rich and emmoilent. It only requires a pea-sized amount for both hands.It dries pretty quickly with only a slight greasy feel; best used at bed-time. It is unscented. I'm very pleased with this purchase!

  15. Bridget B.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Incredble!
    • For 3 years I've been losing my fight with dishydrotic eczema. Over that time, it spread to six fingers and the palms of both hands; there were big patches of skin that was scaled and cracked to the point of bleeding. Even steroid treatments didn't help. I used this new formula of Body Butter for one week - and made absolutely no other changes in routine or product - and my hands are healing. I am just ecstatic; can't stop looking and marvelling at how much better my hands are every day now!

  16. Kate
    Reviewed on Friday, October 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Outstanding hydrator
    • Fantastic product.

  17. Tim W
    Reviewed on Friday, September 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Impressive successor
    • A creamier, more comforting texture coupled with a more ergonomic tube. A less overt smell. An updated formula with an impressive mix of plant-based emollients. The CLINICAL line continues to flourish! I am lucky not to have to deal with dry skin beyond my hands in winter, but will nevertheless be keeping this by my bed every night.

  18. Dustin R
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Concentrated, rich & effective.
    • This is seriously rich. The first time I used it, I used way too much, and as a result thought the product was terribly greasy and inelegant. However, when this is used sparingly -- say, a pea sized amount of the hands -- it is very moisturizing and helpful for dry skin. I have only used this at night on my hands; it's extremely effective. The price tag is steep, but the amount needed is actually very small. I'm grateful this has no strong fragrance of any kind either. Very well done.

  19. Carrie G.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • This is wonderful. I got a sample of with one of my orders and used it on my feet which really take a beating in the summer. It works better than any foot cream I have ever tried, and I have tried a lot of them. It keeps the skin looking hydrated all day and night and even gives it a nice healthy smooth sheen. I've ordered 2 tubes. Also, it is not at all greasy the way body butters tend to be, its just incredibly rich and soft.

  20. Tilde C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Aaah...
    • This is for dry areas like elbows, heels and knees? Well, that explains why it was so difficult to apply it all over my body. The "Body Butter" in the name made me believe it would be a body cream. My bad. But it was only a sample so my wallet can handle it...

  21. TIMOTHY W.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My winter charm
    • The previous body butter was great but this new one has an even more pleasing texture, and squeezes more easily from the tube. The range of emollients is impressive. The tube itself is taller and thinner which I expect will make squeezing the last few drops out easier (the last tube required a certificate in advanced origami!). I would love a smaller size to be made for travel use. Another winner!

  22. Katie D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Unbelievable!
    • I got a sample of this recently. I applied it to my heels (which are horribly cracked & dry) put on socks, & went about my business. When I took a look at my heels an hour later I could NOT believe my eyes- my heels looked almost completely perfect & soft after ONE application!!! I even went & dug the sample pack out of the trash & ripped it open to get the last little bit out so I could apply more. It's not at all greasy, spreads like a dream, & I LOVE it!! This is a must try!!!

« Prev Page of 2

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is the solution for problem dry skin anywhere on the body. This clinically proven treatment cream immediately softens dry, rough skin and keeps it moisturized for 12 hours. A superior blend of antioxidant-rich plant oils, restorative emollients, soothing anti-irritants, and pure shea butter work together to restore and strengthen skin's protective barrier. Its rich texture is non-greasy and spreads easily helping dry, cracked skin become healthy again, look younger, and feel velvety-smooth.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is recommended for dry to very dry areas of skin from head to toe. Excellent for treating eczema-prone skin and designed to apply easily, even on the driest skin.

SOURCES TO SUPPORT THE CLAIMS MADE FOR CLINICAL ULTRA-RICH SOOTHING BODY BUTTER

Talanta, December 2009, pages 924-934; International Journal for Vitamin and Nutrition Research, May 2009, pages 152–165; Molecules, January 2009, pages 540–554; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, October 2008, pages 339–345; Annals of Internal Medicine, September 2006, pages 333–341; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, June 2005, pages 1049–1059; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, Volume , Volume 4, 2003, pages 771–788; Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, October 2003, pages 2,368–2,373; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May–June 2002, pages 175–183; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: tocopherol, shea butter, Avena sativa, avocado oil, squalane, jojoba butter, beta-sitosterol, Glycine soja oil, glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, hydrogenated vegetable glycerides citrate, Mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, rice bran oil, ascorbyl palmitate, coconut oil, panthenol, Olea europaea fruit oil

Product Ingredients:

Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) (emollient/antioxidant), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient/skin-repairing ingredient), Glyceryl Stearate SE (thickener/emulsifier), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (antioxidant), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate (thickeners), Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter (emollient/antioxidant), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Butter, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils and skin-repairing ingredients), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Squalane, Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredients), Beta-Sitosterol (plant fatty acid/skin-repairing ingredient), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Hydrogenated Vegetable Glycerides Citrate (emulsifier), Propylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Massage over dry areas (elbows, heels, knees, and anywhere you want to seal in moisture to soften skin) as often as needed. Excellent when used after applying an AHA or BHA exfoliant to enhance softness and healing.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

How does CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter differ from the Paula's Choice facial moisturizers?

CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is our thickest, richest, most emollient moisturizer. It has a very different texture from any of our facial moisturizers for dry skin. It is meant to provide utmost protection and smoothing of dry to very dry skin on areas such as hands, feet, elbows, and knees.

What is the difference between CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter and the Lip & Body Treatment Balm?

In a word, texture. CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter has a soft, buttery cream texture while the Lip & Body Treatment Balm has a thicker texture and more lubricating feel.

Another difference is that CLINICAL Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter is a water-based cream whereas the Lip & Body Treatment Balm is plant oil–based and does not contain water, which gives it a more viscous texture and slightly glossy finish. Both products are excellent for addressing the needs of dry to very dry skin, though Ultra-Rich Soothing Body Butter's texture is preferred for use over larger areas.

432586-PCWEB-WW v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.