Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner

Gently hydrates and restores even the most sensitive skin, naturally. Antioxidants build collagen, turn down signs of aging. Now that’s better.
Item #: 851
  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin
  • For All Skin Types
  • Great for calming minor irritation of the skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 107 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. Cheryl
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good cleanser for combo/sensitive skin
    • I've been using this toner for about 6 months, and I've been pretty happy with it. It does a great job of removing any last traces of product after I wash my face without being drying, especially when I've stepped out of a steamy shower in the morning. To be honest, I'm not 100% sure what this is doing for my skin, but I know that when it is part of my regular skin care routine, my skin looks and feels better than when I skip it.

  2. Janice
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    natural toner that I'm looking for
    • Love it! I alternate between skin balancing pore reducing toner and this one, but like this one better. I have combination skin.

  3. Kathy
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 02, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not for combo or oily skin
    • First let me say I have been using Paula'a products since she started her own skin care line, and they are the best! I have combination skin and just wanted to try something different, but the slightly gel texture leaves a layer on my skin and makes it difficult to apply other products after I use this one. I will stick with the Skin Balancing toner, which absorbs better.

  4. Jessica W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Product!
    • This is a fantastic toner! It is hydrating, but still removes left over makeup that my cleanser doesn't take off. It leaves my skin feeling supple which I love. Also, I have sensitive skin and this doesn't irritate it at all. I would definitely recommend this product. And like many people who use Paula's Choice products, I am a skin care junkie and have tried many different lines.

  5. Dana
    Reviewed on Friday, June 21, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Not bad
    • Love that this is natural (apart from phenoxyethanol) and contains so many goodies. However, this is more of a gel like product rather than a more traditional toner; I was ok with it but would probably prefer something lighter to refresh during the day in aircon rooms.

  6. SARAH B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good for all skin types
    • I have oily breakout-prone skin so I am afraid to use this daily because it has oils in it. However, it is really great for after a peel or to combat Retin-A or Tazorac induced peeling. It soothes my skin instantly. I use the Skin Balancing toner every morning, the Clear BHA toner at night, and this one whenever I need it. I agree that the thicker texture is slightly annoying as it doesn't soak into a cotton pad easily, but I like the idea some reviewers had to use it as a serum!

  7. ROSIE N.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Refreshing and soothing
    • This is, by far, the most gentle, soothing, calming, and refreshing toner I've ever used. I typically use it in the evenings, after cleansing and prior to using the 2% BHA Skin Perfecting Liquid. I lilve in the super-humid, very hot Gulf South region and this feels wonderful at the end of the day. I feel as though I'm truly pampering my skin when I apply this toner. I hope it's never discontinued - I'd be very sad if it were.

  8. Philip H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Disappointed
    • I have been using this toner for about two months and have not noticed any improvements in my skin. I was looking forward to the luminous quality that other reviewers noticed, but my skin tone still looks dull and I think it might have caused some breakouts as well. I do like the consistency, but this is not the toner for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 09, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! There may be a variety of reasons to explain your experience, and our team would be happy to answer any questions or make recommendations. In any event, be sure to contact our Customer Care Department via phone or email. They would be happy to assist with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  9. Bazli
    Reviewed on Friday, April 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    A good alternative
    • As the title says, this product is thicker compared to Skin Balancing or Hydralight. which means its much easier to apply with your fingers. It does not feel tingling compared to the Skin Balancing toner, but soothing like Hydralight. Earth source is the new packaging and like everyone else, I am saddened by the quantity of it. Anyhow thumbs up because its thicker but still feels light

  10. Rebecca
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite ever!
    • Just ordered my second bottle - I LOVE this stuff! By far my favorite of all the Paula's Choice toners. I don't care at all about "natural" ingredients, but I do care about gentle ingredients for my extremely sensitive skin. Honestly the entire Earth-sourced line is great, but this toner in particular helped calm my redness and just makes my skin glow. I don't want to be without it now.

  11. TRACY C.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for slightly dry skin
    • I`m really pleased with this toner. My skin is slightly dry with an oil-prone t-zone. I've tried a few different (very expensive) toners with good Beautypedia reviews, and the Earth toner ended up being exactly what I needed. It provides a slight boost of moisture, so on a hot summer evening I can use it alone after cleansing, and in the winter it adds an extra layer of softness. No irritation, No dryness, and no smelly fragrance!

  12. Karen
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not the absolute best
    • This toner wasn't irritating, but I didn't feel the luminous quality that some of the other Paula's Choice toners have given me in the past. There was almost a matte chalky look to my skin after using this. I think it made me break out a bit as well. I'll stick to the other toners in Paula's line.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 22, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We're sorry the Earth Sourced Toner wasn't right for you; this may be due to the level of moisture (this toner tends to work best for those with combination to slightly dry skin). We'd recommend considering (which you may be using already) the RESIST Toner, or Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner. Be sure to contact Customer Care so that we can help with an exchange or credit!
    —Admin
  13. Nona
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great stuff
    • I never used a toner regularly until I tried this one. I take a few drops in my hands and spread it on my face after washing. It provides weightless moisture and soothes any irritation in my skin. I use it morning and night and add a heavier moisturizer if needed to dry areas. I like that this is fragrance-free, provides a bit of moisture, and doesn't seem to cause acne. My husband has been using it after he shaves and likes it too!

  14. Kris
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great
    • I am 57 and lucky to have great skin. Yes, I have issues at times but when I look around at other women my skin looks better. Maybe it's genetics but maybe it's because I only choose & use products that have been Paula's picks years. I always consulted with her book before I bought something. I like to experiment and try different products but I recently bought both the Earth Sourced Toner & Resist Toner and found them to be equally effective. The Earth Sourced is a bit cheaper & you get a bit more though. They're both gentle and leave your skin soft. You can't go wrong with either one.

  15. Davina
    Reviewed on Monday, January 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great as an antioxidant packed serum!
    • I LOVE this toner. I get the best results from it by using it as a serum in the AM before I apply my sunblock. It has a very lightweight gel consistency and it like smoothing water over the face. My skin looks firmer and has a glow after I use this. I am so happy to have found this product!!!! I have been unable to use any of Paula's other antioxidant concentrate serums because I dislike (and my skin seems to dislike) the feel of silicones. I see this product as a "more natural" alternative to her other serums. I swear the huge amount of antioxidants in this has made my skin look better and offers protection from the sun. PLEASE NEVER STOP MAKING THIS! :) Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback! We are glad this product has worked so well for you! We would like to mention that we have recently launched a New Resist Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. It has a light as water feel to it, which has worked great for those with combination to oily skin types. If you would like to receive samples please contact customer care and we would be happy to send some to you as soon as they are available.

  16. AMY W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE this product!
    • I have combination skin that is breakout-prone and tends towards the dry side in the winter. Since I'm already using the Earth-Sourced cleanser and like it a lot, I thought I'd try this in combination with the 2% BHA lotion. Perfect! My skin is so happy and looks glowing, not oily. I am very picky about the ingredients and effectiveness of my beauty products, and I would definitely recommend this toner.

  17. Lori R.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Dual purpose product!
    • I have mild rosacea and oily skin with the occasional pimple. Previously, I used a serum in my AM routine (wash, serum then spf) but this stuff is amazing in place of a serum!!! I get the anti-oxidant benefits without any added shine to my face which most serums seem to give. This is a thicker liquid but not quite a gel, I love how it calms my skin and makes it softer without feeling greasy at all!! I pour a small amount on face hands and gently massage into face. This also is great as a toner-removes last traces of dirt and even eye makeup. When I use as a toner, I pour some onto a cotton pad. A fantastic value, oily skinned people please consider this as an anti-oxidant serum replacement if serums make you greasy! Great product!!

  18. Jay P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great as a toner or moisturizer due to thicker consistency
    • This works great as a regular toner. And due to it's slightly gel like consistency, it can also be used as a very lightweight mositruizer. Sometimes in the AM, I pour a little in my hand and apply it like a moisturizer- my skin glows.

  19. NATALIE
    Reviewed on Monday, December 17, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Toner!
    • Excellent toner, and, unfortunately, the only one out of all Paula's Choice toners my very sensitive rosacea skin can tolerate. I use this toner during daytime, while at night I use Resist Retinol Serum which, while dramatically improving my skin's texture, causes a fair amount of flakiness. I found this toner to be extremely helpful in ameliorating flakes that can be caused by using retinol containing products. It leaves my skin silky smooth.

  20. OW
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice Toner
    • Great product. I use this after Earth Sourced cleansing gel. The toner is not too thick but not too light and leaves your skin feel nice.

  21. Daniel
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Does Wonders For My Skin!
    • This calming liquid gel is just what my dry and sensitive skin needed in a toner! It gives me just the right added moisture under the moisturizer in wintertime. My skin has never looked and felt more hydrated and smooth. And I love that its loaded with antioxidants. Never stop making this stuff! Definitely going to repurchase!!

  22. logan
    Reviewed on Friday, November 30, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Meh
    • this toner has a gel consistency to it, which isn't my favorite. I'm sure it is beneficial to skin but the texture makes it so much less refreshing to my skin than the skin recovery toner I previously purchased. I dont think I will purchase this again because it doesn't make my skin feel nice like the other toner i've tried. I am glad I got it on sale, which is the only reason I purchased it in the first place. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish this product could have worked better for you and we will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. In the meantime we have issued you an in-house credit for the product which can be used on your next purchase with us. If you have any questions, or would like other product suggestions please contact customer care and we are more than happy to help!

  23. Magda
    Reviewed on Friday, November 23, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    I'm sure it could work well for nonsensitive skin.
    • I decided to purchase this toner after finishing a bottle of the Skin Balancing Pore Reducing Toner (which I love). I put it on at night and the next day I woke op with a bunch of breakouts. I have very sensitive skin and it's probably not tolerating one or some of the ingredients. I decided to give it another shot a couple weeks later and the same thing happened- I started breaking out again :/ Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We have left the purchase price of this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions and for help with your routine, we are happy to help.

  24. Meredith
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 10, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not good for me
    • I regret switching from skin balancing toner and ordering this based on good reviews. I should have ordered a sample. It irritates my kin- sometimes natural products do this to my skin. I love all of Paula's products, but not this toner. I don't like the consistency or the feel, but especially do not like the redness. Glad it worked for others. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we will issue you an in-house credit for this product which can be used towards a future phone order with us. Please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  25. Kimberly
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 04, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I have tried some samples and will be ordering the full size immediately. It does have an unusual consistency somewhere between a very thin gel or a viscous liquid. I applied with a cotton ball to my face and neck area. I have very oily skin in my t-zone and dry cheeks. I did not experience any breakouts or exageration of dryness. Even after washing with cleanser I able to pick up residue with this toner.

« Prev Page of 5 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner has a distinctive, liqua-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. It instantly replenishes, restores, and soothes your skin leaving it silky-smooth with a healthy, youthful glow.

This formula is based on a specialized, proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature fused with science. Because of this technology, this toner stands alone for repairing and rejuvenating skin. Using this toner drenches your skin with antioxidants, preparing it for the next step in your skincare routine.

Contains no animal-derived ingredients of any kind. Packaging is 100% recyclable.

Who is this product for?
Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner from Paula's Choice works brilliantly for all skin types. It is specially formulated for those who prefer skincare products made from natural ingredients that are proven safe and effective.

Sources to support the claims made for Earth Sourced Purely Refreshing Natural Toner

Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, September 2011, pages 990–1000; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, April 2011, pages 157–163; Cosmetic Dermatology, October 2010, pages 446-449; Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23-34; Journal of Molecular Medicine, February 2008, pages 221-231; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, January 2008, pages 39-45; Clinical Experiments in Dermatology, January 2007, pages 88-90; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, April 2003, pages 771-788; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: Chamomilla recutita flower extract, pomegranate extract, cranberry seed oil, glycerin, vitamin E, dill extract, tocopherol, Avena sativa, hydrogenated lecithin, black elderberry, green tea, sunflower seed oil, Camellia sinensis, Olea europaea fruit oil, sodium hyaluronate, grape seed extract, sodium PCA

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate (natural skin-repairing ingredients), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (natural soothing agent), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (natural antioxidants), Avena Sativa (Oat Bran) Extract (natural soothing agent), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Sambucus Nigra (Black Elderberry) Fruit Extract, Peucedanum Graveolens (Dill) Extract, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract (natural antioxidants), Hydrogenated Lecithin (natural cell-communicating ingredient), Tocopherol (pure vitamin E/antioxidant), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil (plant-based emollients), Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Vaccinium Myrtillus (Bilberry) Seed Oil (natural antioxidants), Arginine, Glycine, Alanine, Serine, Valine, Proline, Threonine, Isoleucine, Histidine, Phenylalanine, Aspartic Acid (natural amino acids/water-binding agents), Sodium PCA (natural skin-repairing ingredient), Sodium Lactate (natural skin-conditioning agent), PCA (natural skin-repairing ingredient), Xanthan Gum (natural thickener), Leuconostoc/Radish Root Ferment Filtrate (natural preservative), Benzyl Alcohol (solvent), Phenoxyethanol (synthetic preservative).

DIRECTIONS: After cleansing, pour a small amount onto a cotton pad and stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse off. For best results, follow with a Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How can a toner improve my baby's skin?

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is loaded with soothing agents, gentle hydrating ingredients, and antioxidants designed to smooth and reinforce healthy skin. It can be especially beneficial for babies with eczema or other signs of dryness, redness, or irritation. Ongoing use helps keep baby's skin baby smooth!

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup and to give skin essential skin repairing and healing ingredients in a light liquid base. When properly formulated, toners soothe skin and add hydrating ingredients to make skin softer, not to mention they're another leave-on source for antioxidants and other ingredients that help repair and restore skin.

How do I know which toner is right for me? Besides skin type, what are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

All of our toners restore skin, help emove last traces of makeup, are alcohol- and fragrance-free, and contain no plant-based or synthetic irritants. All our toners are great as an adjunct to any skincare routine. Even more significantly they go beyond the basics by offering skin benefits you can see and feel.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is a great option for those who want more protection and a soothing, soft, feeling on their skin, particularly those with sensitive skin. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to oily/combination skin, you may want use Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner in the morning and Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner in the evening.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains ingredients that help soothe and restore normal to dry skin, plus it includes a greater amount of glycerin, a key ingredient to make dry skin look and feel better. It also contains a broad range of ingredients that aid the barrier repair process so those with dry skin (or normal skin with occasional dry patches) will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or specialty product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, yet still provides an array of antioxidants, anti-irritants, and skin-protecting ingredients. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to dry skin, you can use Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner in the morning and Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner in the evening.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is an excellent choice for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer texture than any of our other toners and contains more plant oils and other emollients than our Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner. This is a great option for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea accompanied by dry skin.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent for protecting skin from environmental damage or dryness. In addition, its cell-communicating ingredients can, in theory, help balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen or lead to reddened or blemished skin. Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner uses a more complex formulation than our Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, and helps restore normal cell function.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Just how natural are the Earth Sourced products?

Earth Sourced products are formulated with 98–99% completely natural ingredients. The natural ingredients we use are guaranteed to be non-irritating, safe, and effective for many different skin types. The ingredients are derived in whole or in part from natural sources with no synthetic compounds. Paula's Choice uses a specialized, proprietary technology to ensure these natural products have elegant textures and function as intended—all without using ingredients known to cause irritation. That's a big difference from what Paula and her team have seen from countless other natural lines, as many of them contain natural ingredients research has shown irritate skin and damage healthy collagen production.

Why aren't all Paula's Choice products "Earth Sourced"?

For many skincare concerns, putting together a completely effective group of products that will give your skin truly remarkable results when it comes to treating most skincare concerns such as acne or sensitive skin simply can't be done with only natural ingredients. Paula's Choice Earth Sourced products work beautifully when combined with other Paula's Choice products designed for your skin type and concerns. It is the most balanced way for you to take exceptional care of your skin.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.