Items you may also like

Hydralight One Step Cleanser

Back away from the bar of soap. This refreshing gel removes excess oil, rinses away dirt and makeup. Leaves sensitive skin feeling silky, not tight.
Item #: 110
  • Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea
  • No dry, tight feeling after you use it

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight One Step Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 155 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Dianne B
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite
    • Just love the entire Hydralight line and this cleanser is what I use twice daily during our rainy winters on the west coast. The cleanser works beautifully, the gel smells light and fresh, doesn't leave a drying effect, and is a great way to clean the face. Have been using it for a few years and prior to finding Paula's Choice, I used many other quality products. I have combination skin and at age 58, it's my all time favorite product line and cleanser.

  2. Sung Won S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Way to go cleanser for combination to oily skin
    • I've tried different cleansers from lab series, clinique, shiseido and Kiehls. While those cleansers worked ok, i think this cleanser is at the top of the game. This gel cleanser doesn't irritate my skin at all like some of the cleansers that I used did. It leaves my skin hydrated while removing excess oil on my nose. Most importantly (to me at least), it's rinsed off very very easily with water and leaves no soapy feeling. I will definitely recommend this to guys with normal to oily skin.

  3. Lauren A.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 14, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice cleanser!
    • I actually tried the CLEAR cleanser first but that one broke me out so PC issued me a credit. I tried this one instead. Unlike the CLEAR cleanser this one is oil free, which I like. It feels very light and has no scent and it just gives the skin a pure, clean feeling. It's also totally non-irritating. I use this in the morning, in the shower. I actually find that it doesn't really remove eye makeup, so I am using a Neutrogena wash for that. But this one is gentler and leaves skin soft.

  4. Julie R
    Reviewed on Monday, May 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    LIke it
    • This cleanser feels good, works well. It's a nice combination of soft/gentle and yet thoroughly cleansing. I have mild rosacea, very sensitive, combination skin (drier or slightlymore oily with seasons, hormones!), and this is the best cleanser I have found for that balance. I gave it 4stars (nothing's perfect:) also I do have to rinse pretty thoroughly to make sure there is no residue. I'm only using this now and a daily sunblock moisturizer (haven't found one I love yet). Working.

  5. C.M
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    good stuff
    • i like this stuff, but it's different. i'm not used to using a gel. i don't wear makeup usually, but when i have i have no problem getting my makeup off....mascara and all. i may try using something that has suds next time, just because it is a personal preference.

  6. JOSEPH C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    my must have cleanser!
    • by far, this is my most favorite cleanser (unless the PC team rolls out something even better in the near future!). it's so gentle but thorough for cleansing. this is THE FIRST non-creamy cleanser i've ever used that my face never feels dry or tight ! it doesn't lather much, which is fine with me as i can tell it does its job just fine when i rinse and i don't gauge clean by how much lather i get. if you ever have to discontinue this, just rebrand it, it should stay in your lineup!! thanks PC

  7. mary g.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A New Favorite
    • I've been using Philosophy Purity for years which I still love. But I thought I'd give this cleanser a try and I do like it better. It's wonderful for rosacea even if it wasn't necessarily designed for it. It takes makeup off easily and I also have absolutely zero dryness after I wash with this, even when I haven't yet moisturized. It's great!!

  8. mary g.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome!
    • I was surprised that someone with rosacea didn't like this! I have rosacea and found this to be fabulous. But in truth, that seems to be the way rosacea works....different needs. Anyway, thrilled with this product! :)

  9. MICHELLE D.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Spectacular!
    • Until recently I was using the Skin Balancing Line. Due to the weather getting warmer, I needed to switch product lines. This cleanser is absolutely fabulous....in fact, it's all I need on my skin to clean well AND remove makeup--even stubborn eyeliner. I love that it's fragrance free so that it WON'T sting my eyes. All you have to do is leave it to dissolve the makeup on your skin, and you're set.....I'm sold, and I don't ever need anything else!

  10. Kim F
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love it
    • I have been using this cleanser for several years now. It is the best cleanser I have ever tried. I have very sensitive skin with rosacea on my cheeks. Before using this cleanser, every time I washed my face my cheeks would be bright red for hours. This has never happend with Paula's cleanser and I will use it forever! I love the supersize btw! Thank you for a great product!

  11. Geeta,S
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Face Wash
    • Best Face wash that I have used and I have used this wash for at least 3-4 years. The product leaves my skin feeling soft and clean, no residue at all. My makeup is fully removed. A definite must have!!! Thanks again Paula.

  12. Tammy
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for sensitive, acne-prone skin
    • I've struggled with excessively oily and extremely sensitive skin since the age of about 12 (I am now 44). I've spent thousands of dollars over the years trying every brand that promises to effectively clean and reduce oily skin. I've been using Paula's choice one-step cleanser, now called Hydralight, for several years now and continue to marvel at the difference it makes. Whenever I decide to try a new product, I end up with breakouts and tight, irritated, skin and return to this product.

  13. Lauren A.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great, refreshing cleanser
    • I really enjoy this cleanser. I like how it is unscented. It doesn't really foam but leaves my face feeling very clean. I do use the Neutrogena makeup remover wipes in the blue package beforehand, but they don't really get 100% of my eye makeup. This cleanser removes the rest really well. Afterwards my skin feels soft and the oil feels cut down but it doesn't feel tight. It also has not broken me out at all.

  14. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Horrible for Rosacea
    • This is the worst facial cleanser for Rosacea that I have ever used. I tried it for 4 days and my face completely broke out in a rash with red, itchy skin. I am shocked at how angry this cleanser made my skin.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    Thank you for sharing your review, and we're sorry to learn of your experience! While we cannot explain why your skin responded differently than other customers (rosacea is tricky!) we can certainly ensure you aren't stuck with a product that didn't work for you. Please contact our Customer Care and they will be happy to help with a refund or exchange.
    —Admin
  15. LAUREN L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Didn't work for me
    • Probably a good choice for some-just not for me. My skin was tight and dry after use and I wound up with red bumps/zits on several parts of my face. I was hoping to save a little $$ by getting this but I guess I'll go back to the "Clear" cleanser I've used and like for awhile-I just feel it's a bit over priced for the smaller sized bottle it comes in!

  16. Susan
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Cleanser on the Market
    • This is hands down the best cleanser on the market today. I have normal skin but it is sometimes flaky, sometimes slightly oily in the summer but very sensitive. I can use this year round with no problems whatsoever. It removes makeup, even eye makeup, like a dream so there is no need for a separate product. My pre-teen daughter uses it as well. Love the large size with a pump. This is a perfect product!

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great!
    • I really like this cleanser:) I have oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin and this leaves my skin feeling clean but not tight. Love it! Glad I ordered the larger size!

  18. Sue C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for me
    • I received a sample of the Resist cleanser and liked it but wanted something with a lighter texture. So I decided to go for this one, and I love it. It's refreshing and light and leaves my skin clean without any tightness at all. I was so impressed that I ordered the smaller size for the shower. This cleanser is packaged to prevent any water from getting into the bottle. It's that kind of attention to detail that makes PC products such winners.

  19. Karen Joanne
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Cleanser I've Ever Used
    • I have been using this cleanser for quite some time now and finally decided to comment on it. I love it. I have tried so many in the past that were not effective. This one is perfect for my skin - not drying and does not leave any residue on my skin. Now I know I will never have to change cleansers again!

  20. NATALIA
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great cleanser
    • Excellent cleanser, keeps my face clean and doesn't dry it out. Just perfect. Not sure how it removes makeup since I use a separate product for that.

  21. Alicia K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Like it so far...
    • So far this cleanser is working well for me. I like that it is a gel and feels very soothing, it also has a light scent that is not unpleasant. My skin feels clean and fresh after use. I do want to say that for makeup removal you should cleanse twice to remove it completely. On the second wash it even lathers a slight bit, in my experience anyway. Definitely recommend it.

  22. DIANE Z.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great cleanser for combination skin
    • This is a gentle cleanser that easily removes makeup and oil without overdrying my skin. I use it several times a day and it never makes my skin feel tight or irritated. Great product!

  23. Iris
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Take the day off
    • Why did it take me so long to find this cleanser? I've been reading Paula's books for 15 years, and religiously followed her advice on simple skincare (Cetaphil, Almay). I'm now 30 and want to take serious care of my sensitive, acne-prone, ruddy almost-rosacea skin. The Hydralight cleanser takes off all my makeup in a flash (foundation, eyeliner, mascara, eyeshadow), ends the greasy feel I always have by the time I come home from work, but doesn't leave me feeling tight or flaky. I'm grateful that it is fragrance-free. Once I wash up, I feel I'm at a "baseline" - neutral, without stress - and ready to try the serums and lotions.

  24. Samantha P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 09, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did Not Like
    • I really wanted to like this cleanser, but it just fell short. The texture and scent were not appealing to me and I felt like it didn't accomplish anything when it was on my skin. I prefer a cleanser to at least achieve a slight lather, and this did nothing. It didn't remove any of my makeup either. I sent it back for credit but haven't heard anything yet, so hopefully I'll be able to try something else next time. Otherwise I love PC products! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly share your comments with Paula and our Product Development Manager. Once your return has been processed you will receive an e-mail notification. If you have any further questions or would like to discuss your skin type and other cleanser options, please contact customer care. We are happy to help and arrange for samples to be sent.

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Skin doesn't get clean
    • I LOVE Paula's Choice Products but my face does not get clean with this product. I use PC make up remover or toner after I wash my face and the cotton pad is covered in make up ( and I don't wear a lot of it). It is gentle but it doesn't get my face clean. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We would like to have you contact customer care to discuss how you are using the cleanser. We are happy to make some suggestions that may produce better results for you. In the meantime you can try using the make-up remover before cleansing, and using your toner both morning and night after cleansing. We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you further!

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is an easy-to-use gel cleanser for those who desire a fresh, clean sensation without a hint of residue. This gentle, yet effective cleanser removes excess oil and makeup (including eye makeup) without drying or stripping the skin. Even the most sensitive skin can use this cleanser.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Cleanser is ideal for those whose skin has minimal to visibly oily areas anywhere on the face. It is also ideal for those struggling with an oily T-zone (forehead, nose and chin) yet dry skin everywhere else.

Sources to support the claims made for Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: sodium PCA, allantoin, sodium hyaluronate, glycerin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Lactate, Glycine, Fructose, Urea, Niacinamide, Inositol (water-binding agents), Sodium Benzoate (preservative), Lactic Acid (water-binding agent), Allantoin (soothing agent), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (thickener), Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate (stabilizer), Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate (gentle cleansing agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Triethanolamine (pH balancer), Carbomer (gel-based thickener), Benzophenone-3 (stabilizer),Methylparaben (preservative), Propylparaben (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Using your fingers, apply a quarter-sized amount on your face and eyes using vigorous but gentle circular motions. Rinse well and gently pat face dry with a clean towel. For stubborn makeup, repeat this process or use this cleanser with a soft washcloth. Follow with Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, a Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and moisturizer. During the day, be sure to protect your skin with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara or waterproof makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of eye makeup. If an eye makeup remover becomes necessary for tenacious makeup, be as gentle as possible and use a mild yet effective product such as Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover, either before or after this cleanser.

I have normal to dry skin that gets oilier in the summer - would Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! The lightweight, refreshing gel texture of Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is ideal for use during the humid summer months if you have normal to dry skin.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.