Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Back off sunshine, I’ve got back-up. Protect your skin from the #1 cause of wrinkles and brown spots, and hydrate while you’re at it.
Item #: 172
  • Acne Breakouts, Brown Spots, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea

Expiration Date 1/2016

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight Shine-Free Mineral Complex SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 186 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 8 Next »
  1. Angela
    Reviewed on Friday, July 04, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Oily finish
    • No matter how much or little I put on, there is always this oily and shiny finish :( Plus, it leaves a white cast on my face. Has tried it for weeks and never once has it been shine-free for me.

  2. Stan
    Reviewed on Friday, June 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Reordering this for the rest of my life
    • This is my most favorite mineral sunscreen of all time. It's hydrating and no matter how much I pile on, there's no white cast at all and dries to a natural finish. Super hydrating soothing on my break outs. No complaints at all.

  3. TRACY
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pat it on
    • I didn't like this at first because it looked white and balled up when I rubbed it on. I used Resist mineral sunscreen instead. The I read on a blog you're supposed to warm up mineral sunscreen between your hands then PAT it on not rub. Now I love it. I use this method for all my mineral sunscreens, tinted moisturizers, etc. no balls, no white cast. Since using PC skin care and only mineral sunscreens my rosacea is gone.

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • I love this product. There aren't enough words for how much I love it. When my skin starts acting weird, gets extra sensitive and my eczema flairs up, it doesn't sting or irritate it more. It also doesn't break me out or make my face extra oily through out the day, which is a huge plus. I use it everyday and think it's one of the best sunscreens I have ever used.

  5. Daniela C.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Thank You So Much!
    • I am so grateful for this sunscreen. Mineral sunscreen actives only, no greesy feeling, no white cast, no breakouts, no stinging in the eyes, no funny smell, no tint (I don't like tinted creams), protects well, hydrates well. I love it and will reorder again and again. Thank you, Mrs. Paula and the Team!

  6. Mini
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I've never had a moisturizer that I've loved. Anything I've tried has left my skin feeling greasy or broke me out. I LOVE this moisturizer. It doesn't feel greasy, hasn't made my skin break out, and has built-in sun protection. I've since re-ordered it!

  7. Andrew L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great stuff
    • I ordered this and tried it out, seems to be quite amazing. It doesnt burn my eye area or freshly shaven face, and dried to a nice finish. The finish isnt completely matte, but it looks perfectly fine to me. I liked the Skin Balancing SS too, but my skin is a bit sensitive to chemical actives. Sometimes people complain about a white cast with mineral sunscreens, but i found with this one its good to apply generously, gently work it in, let it sit and soak it for a bit, then work it in more.

  8. Vikky
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best. Ever.
    • Perfect product for me. Pretty matte, doesn't burn my extra sensitive eyes unless I accidentaly get lotion on my eye. It's lightweight and I can wear a mineral-based SPF foundation or a water based foundation with this pretty seamlessly. I'm not sure how it would work with an oil based foundation. It does have a bit of a white cast due to it's mineral sunscreen, so darker skin tones might not like that. You can off set this with a bit of foundation. BEST SUNSCRREN EVER!

  9. AMANDA
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best sunscreen for frequent use on hands.
    • This hydralight moisturizing sunscreen has been perfect for me to apply to my hands frequently during the day. It does not stay greasy and is not shiny on my hands. This product has been working really great!

  10. Carla R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A larger size, please
    • I use this on my body rather than my face. (I switched to the Resist Light sunscreen for my face.) I much prefer physical sunscreens so I only choose those. I also have acne and oily skin, so this is ideal except for one thing: I want it in a larger size! I go through this way too fast.

  11. RD
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good sunscreen
    • I have acne prone combination skin. When I apply this sunscreen, it feels lightweight and hasn't caused any breakouts. Great on eyelids, too. But there's only one problem. When you apply it liberally, it sometimes leaves a slight subtle white cast on random areas, and it won't always be apparent under any light. I'm surprised that not a lot of people have pointed this out in their reviews, so I'm not even sure if I received a faulty one. I have not yet found the perfect sunscreen for my skin.

  12. Jasmine
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 08, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product but tricky to work with
    • As a sunscreen this is my all time fave. It leaves my combination/oily skin with a smooth, truly 'soft matte' finish (I don't like to be 100% matte). I am dark skinned so it does leave a violet/white cast. My solution: apply and let set 5-10 mins then really work it into skin and the white cast goes away. The con is that I can't just slap it on and go but I'm willing to sacrifice the extra time for superior protection. Another con is the price and small amount in the tube

  13. Linda F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome stuff!
    • I used this on my kids and I while on a Spring Break trip to AZ. NONE of us burned, tanned, or showed any sign of sun exposure! The best thing is that there's no smell. We now use it as our #1 sunscreen. We don't limit its use to our faces — this is our all over sunscreen. It doesn't aggravate my teenage son's acne at all. I'm back to order more! As with many of PC's products, we wish it were in a bigger bottle.

  14. Marissa C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    almost shine free
    • I've learned you can't be too picky about non-chemical sunscreens You're either white, shiny or both. This is a really fantastic product. Doesn't leave a white cast and is even a bit moisturising so with really oily skin you could maybe skip moisturiser. It's not entirely shine free but I had some samples of the skin balancing gel and tried that in my t-zone which helped. There's always Paula's shine stopper as a finishing step. I only wish it came in a bigger bottle!

  15. Julia E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Spoke too soon
    • I loved this for a whole week...longer than I've loved most sunscreens. It was mostly matte, physical, and hydrating at the same time. My skin is very reactive these days, and after a week of adding this into my routine I got 1 giant zit and 4-5 smaller inflamed pimples on my forehead, cheeks, and chin. Not the usually time of month for such a breakout and this is the only thing I changed. Luckily, I have PC BHA and BP, so the zits are disappearing fairly quickly, but sad.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 29, 2014

    Hi Julia! We're sorry to hear the Hydralight SPF 30 wasn't a fit for you! Please contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  16. Vanessa P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    love it!!
    • It is very gentle with my skin which tends to be very sensitive to most products. It is white when applied but the white color disappears. It says shine free which is true but my nose is this shiny because it can be very oily (but not as much).

  17. J E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Physical sunscreen without greasy white cast
    • I've been using CeraVe AM for a few months, and while it's ok in winter, it gets a little heavy/greasy in summer. This is not nearly as heavy, and barely any shine at all. Matte-ish, powdery finish. Makes my skin feel soft but not oily. Can't tell I'm wearing it at all. I wear with PC concealer and Healthy a finish powder for a natural look. I really liked Skin Balancing, but it burned my eyes. If this had tint, or was cheaper, would give a 5!

  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, May 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fabulous
    • Oooh...this stuff is the bomb. I don't like to wear makeup because foundation settles into fine lines and I like my natural skin to show :) But I also want sun protection! This is what I use. I have tried many sunscreens and they always leave my skin greasy, shiny and irritated. This stuff leaves a matte, dewy finish, evens out my skin slightly and lets my natural glow show. And so far my skin hasn't been irritated by it at all. I absolutely adore it.

  19. LB
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best sunscreen out there!
    • I received this as a sample with my last order and absolutely love it. This sunscreen is perfect for oily/combination skin and dries to an almost matte finish. I'm going to stock up on this stuff!!!

  20. John G
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Ever!
    • This is the perfect moisturizer for me. It absorbs quickly and it never, ever feels or looks like I have anything on my face. Also, my skin never gets shiny, even after a long day. Since I've been using this product, I've also noticed a more even skin tone and fewer blackheads and blemishes. Best of all, it is 100% fragrance and cruelty free... two things I never thought I would find in quality skin care. I could not be happier. Please don't ever stop making this!

  21. Tina S.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Less breakouts and oil
    • My skin is a hot mess - combination/oily skin and T-zone acne breakouts (a medication side effect). I've had to change everything that touches my face again and again because everything made the acne and oil worse; However, this is the first moisturizer that I've found that actually helped. The acne and oil didn't get worse and when I do have breakouts, they're smaller and more manageable. My only criticisms are that I wish there was more per bottle and some slight dry skin near my mouth.

  22. Colin B
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Need more!!
    • This is one of my favourite moisturizers because it it doesn't make my skin shiny and oily. I really like this because it has sun protection which is super important!! There are a couple things that I don't like though. I find that it doesn't hydrate my skin completely and sometimes i have to use a bit extra on some spots. I also find that there is not enough. I bought this about two weeks ago and I'm 3/4 done. I'm still going to reorder it, but I think 24$ is way too expensive for what you get.

  23. Juliana L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great SPF product
    • I had tried the Skin balancing SPF previously and it made me skin angry and red since it was a chemical sunscreen. I have been using the Hydralight for a while now and it's wonderful. It might not be moisturizing enough for the New England winters here but it is perfect for Spring and Summer. Very happy with this product.

  24. Carrie M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 20, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    CalifMom
    • I am pretty fair (MAC Makeup NC 20-25, Bobbi Brown SAND foundation color) Each morning, I mix this in my palm with an equal part of the RESIST Super-Light Daily Defense SPF 30. It's really perfect! Try this if the RESIST is a bit too drying on your fair skin, or if you feel this makes you too "ghost like". LOVE PC products, please keep up the good work. My skin has never looked better. I am 43 and people think I am in my early 30's :)

  25. TW
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    For all skin types IMHO (except VERY dry)
    • I recently switch from PC Skin Recovery (which I used for years) to this Hydralight. It isn't quite as moisturizing which is fine. My skin has been more combo than dry lately. Also it is MUCH more matte. Skin Recovery is SHINY!!! I can always add a little moisturizer underneath if I have a particularly dry area. Also feels much more lightweight than Skin Recovery. Sinks in well. Really really like this!!! I really think any type of skin could use this other than very very dry types.

« Prev Page of 8 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex with SPF 30 with Antioxidants provides gentle, broad-spectrum mineral-based sun protection in a lightweight lotion that leaves a soft, powder-like, practically imperceptible finish. Its smooth texture applies easily and works beautifully around the eyes and under makeup. Soothing anti-irritants and antioxidants work to repair and strengthen skin so it looks and acts younger. With daily use, skin will resist and repair multiple signs of aging, while maintaining a shine-free appearance.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex is ideal for those with normal to oily or combination skin, who want light hydration with a soft matte finish and gentle, but extremely effective, broad-spectrum sun protection. Also excellent for those with oily yet sensitive skin and those struggling with rosacea or reactive skin.

Sources to Support the Claims Made for Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30

Experimental Dermatology, June 2011, pages 477–482; Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, March 2011, pages 178–187; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, August 2009, pages 56–59; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23–34; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2008, pages S139–S148; Acta-Dermatovenereologica Croatia, Volume 15, Issue 2, 2007, pages 92-95; and Volume 11, Issue 3, 2003, pages 158–162; and Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2007, pages 1–4.

Key Ingredients: dimethicone, zinc oxide, glycerin, panthenol, titanium dioxide, Camellia sinensis, cyclomethicone, Glycyrrhiza glabra, algae extract, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, allantoin

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 6%; Titanium Dioxide 2.32% (sunscreens).

Other Ingredients: Water, Ethylhexyl Palmitate (thickener),Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents and skin protectants), Polysorbate 80 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Methicone (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (emollient thickeners), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (emollient), Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (film-forming agent), Isohexadecane (dry-finish solvent), Cetyl Alcohol (emollient), Propylene Glycol (moisture-binding agent), Polyglyceryl-6 Isostearate (emollient), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant),Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (antioxidant), Algae Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agents), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin, Panthenol (skin-repairing ingredients), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Alumina, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone (skin-conditioning agent), Diethylhexyl Carbonate (emollient), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone slip agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally before sun exposure and after using Paula's Choice Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser and Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner. May be applied over any Paula's Choice exfoliant or serum. Reapply as needed after swimming, toweling off, or excessive perspiration.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 differ from Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30?

These two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen have different active ingredients. Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 contains titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, while Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30 contains a blend of avobenzone with other non-mineral sunscreen actives. The Hydralight SPF 30 is a light cream with sheer moisture, whereas the Skin Balancing SPF 30 is more like a liquid/fluid lotion. BOTH of these daytime moisturizers provide excellent broad-spectrum sun protection and treat skin to the beneficial antioxidants it needs to look and act younger. Also, both formulas were designed to work well under makeup (they won’t cause it to slip off or make oily areas look shiny).

Should I reapply Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, this daytime moisturizer with sunscreen should be reapplied. You also have the option of touching up with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater, such as Healthy Finish Pressed Powder SPF 15.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.