Items you may also like

Hydralight Super Kit

Turn down the shine. Everything you need to calm redness, prevent signs of aging, and reduce oily shine. Let’s turn the spotlight on healthy skin.
Item #: 420
  • Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • 5 products: Hydralight Cleanser, Hydralight Toner, 1% Beta Hydroxy Acid Lotion*, Hydralight Shine-Free SPF 30, Hydralight Lotion

Please Note: Do not use the 1% Beta Hydroxy Acid Lotion if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight Super Kit

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 40 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 2
  1. Christine
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Exceeded expectatios
    • Simply put: Can't live without.

  2. K. D.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A Miracle for Rosacea!
    • I'm 41 years old and I have moderate Rosacea. I've always used Paula's Choice, I've used both the Resist System and the Skin Balancing system. Both worked much better than anything I'd ever found in drug stores or department stores, but I was still having some problems with redness and bumps due to the rosacea. After doing tons of research, I adopted a less is more approach due to my sensitive skin. I use this system along with the Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair serum (and good old Metrogel!) in the evening. Wow. The effect this system has had on my skin nearly makes me cry tears of joy! It's so wonderful to be able to dust on a little mineral powder (for sunscreen) and just head out the door. In only two weeks, I feel almost like I've gotten brand new skin. Fantastic stuff!

  3. Yenisel
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 08, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    OK, not great for my skin
    • I bought the full size products and noticed my pores getting large and had some unusual breakouts. The Skin perfecting BHA lotion smelled bad. I tried the sample size skin balancing line with the BHA gel and the pores have reduced in size. Get the trial sizes before ordering, one never knows how the skin will react! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not noticed better results. The amount of time it will take to see improvement really can vary from person to person and ultimately depends on the extent of the condition or concern they are trying to address as well has how they are using the products. Some consumers will notice results promptly while others will notice results over the course of a few weeks or months. Ultimately, we would love for you to continue use the products to see how they will work for you but in the meantime will issue you an in-house credit for the products and encourage you to contact customer care so that we may discuss your skin type and what products would work better for you!

  4. Michelle
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm loving it!
    • Originally I was sent samples of the Skin Balancing Line. After an e-mail to customer service, I soon learned that the Hydralight system would be a better choice for my skin. I received them yesterday, and while I'm sampling both lines, I find that these products work better with my skin.... Not only are there fewer products that are used, but the redness on my face has diminished after 2 uses! The cleaner, BHA, and moisturizer are excellent! The toner burned a bit, but I stopped using the samples. Great way to try out the products before purchase. Thank you very much for allowing me to do this, and for the excellent customer service!

  5. Lamar
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 21, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Will Not Use Again!
    • I bought these items separate on because I wanted to see how my skin would react to each one. Horrible! I thought that these products would be good! The cleanser, toner, gel, and AHA was all bad : ( Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the products which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care so that we may help you find a routine based on your skin type and concerns and discuss how the products did not work well for you.

  6. Cherie
    Reviewed on Friday, June 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great products!
    • I am 43 years of age and these are the best products that I have ever used! I have tried everything from Clinique to Chanel and nothing ever seemed to get rid of those pesky blackheads! Luckily, I was always able to cover them up with makeup. But finally, a product that finally delivers! My skin tone is smoother, my blackheads are gone and I never, ever have a breakout! I will use these products as long as they're available! I am now interested in purchasing a kit that does everything the Hydralight System did plus get some anti-aging benefits as well. Suggestions? It's time for me to place an order!

  7. Sarah
    Reviewed on Monday, April 23, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    soft skin, awful smell
    • This is only my first day of using the products but I do like the way they leave my skin feeling baby soft. I wish I could touch my face all day haha. However, the BHA and the face lotion smell like b.o. really bad. It goes away after a while or perhaps it was b/c I used my pressed powder foundation over it but omg it's awful! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. Rest assured that even though the smell of these products are not to your liking, we guarantee it is safe and free of contamination. Paula's Choice goes through significant lengths to ensure that our products are gentle, effective, and stable. One of the challenges of having a fragrance-free line is that we cannot use perfumes to keep consistency in scent from batch to batch. Even though we use identical ingredients in each product formula, the raw materials themselves may vary slightly in odor and color. Sometimes these particularly naturally derived ingredients may be stronger than expected depending on where the crops were harvested. If you prefer we may send samples of our Skin Balancing products to try if you like, just contact customer care if you would like to try other options.

  8. Jamie
    Reviewed on Friday, March 09, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Beautiful Skin
    • I have a tendency towards boredom with beauty products. Years ago I was using Paula's Choice and for no reason at all just switched to a drug store brand. Oh how I wish I had never done that to my skin. Over the past several years my skin was becoming blotchy, acne prone and rather oily. I had these awful blemishes that were very deep, painful, and constantly reoccuring in the same places. I decided to return to Paula's Choice and ordered the Essential Hydralight system. I saw improvement immediately and 2 weeks out I do not see any new blemishes and the old one's are a thing of the past. I love the BHA Lotion and what it has done for my pores. While I am a bit oily I can also be a bit dry - I would consider my skin to be a slightly oily t-zone. The Hydralight moisturizer is nice but sometimes feels like I'm not getting enough moisture. I did purchase the moisturizing anti-oxidant to provide moisture and the combination of these products does not leave me oily but still pretty well moisturized. I am so happy that I returned to Paula's Choice. I can't wait to try the 2% BHA products.

  9. Christine
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 01, 2011
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Amazing
    • Essential Hydralight System is the best skin care range that i ever purchased. i have light atopic and have been using Hydralight System for 2 month. there is no irritation and make my skin healthy.

  10. Lara
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 21, 2011
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Soothes Rosacea
    • I have rosacea and have been using the Hydralight System for the last month or so. There is definitely a reduction in redness, and the itchy flaking I experienced in spots is completely gone. My only suggestion would be for a size between the samples and regular size since I travel regularly for work.

  11. Lori
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 12, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow!
    • I could actually feel & see results after the 1st use! having dealt with sensitive normal/oily combo skin, washing my face was a past nightmare. I actually dreaded it at times. sore, angry & irrated skin. I would skip some morning washes. my skin was crying for help. the Essential Hydralight system is absolutely wonderful. my face feels so much better. I love everything included. thank you Paula! the customer service is outstanding as well. super fast shipping! I'm so thrilled. my only regret is that I didn't purchase sooner.

  12. Stacey
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 10, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    SHOCKING RESULTS
    • For YEARS I've had a red t-zone area, tiny white bumps on my cheeks and middle of my forehead. In ONE WEEK I am bump free and the redness is GONE! I am SHOCKED and thrilled with the miraculous results of this Hydralight System.

  13. Morgan
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 23, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this set!
    • This was one of my first purchases from Paula's Choice. I'm so happy with this set and I'm loving my skin! I had problems with flakey skin on my face & after using Paula's routine my skin is back to normal... except even better than before! (I also use the 2% BHA gel)

  14. Amanda
    Reviewed on Monday, November 08, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I am hooked!
    • I started using this system along with 1% BHA gel about two months ago. I have never been able to find products that do not dry out my very sensitive cheek area due to oily combination skin. This has been really working well for me. My face feels clean and healthy. After using all three products along with the BHA gel my skin is not shiny but healthy looking again. I have not had skin like this since before high school.

  15. Lynette
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 18, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great system!
    • The cleanser takes it all off w/o irritation, the toner is refreshing and the moisture lotion is light,silky, and I love the cucumber scent-excellent kit for normal to oily skin!

« Prev Page of 2

Products in the Hydralight Super Kit Include:
 

Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Experience a fresh, clean sensation every time you wash your face with this clear gel cleanser.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Improve skin function and reduce cellular damage with this unique, antioxidant-rich toner.

Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant:
All Skin Types
Exfoliate, reduce breakouts, and lightly hydrate with this weightless matte finish lotion.

Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
This lightweight daytime moisturizer provides gentle, broad-spectrum sun protection and leaves a soft, powder like matte finish.

Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Experience this innovative, fast-absorbing, ultra-light formula that keeps skin fresh, matte, and looking smooth and healthy.

FREE Pack of Oil-Blotting Papers:
These handy and discrete Oil-Blotting Papers instantly absorb excess surface oil and leave your skin smooth and matte. These tissue-thin papers will not disturb your makeup nor will they add any powder to the skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Sources to support the claims made for Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner

Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; Cancer Prevention Research, February 2010, pages 170–178; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Phytotherapy Research, September 2009, pages 1,197–1,204; Skin Research and Technology, August 2009, pages 338–345; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,057–1,065; Experimental Dermatology, June 2009, pages 522–526; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; and Journal of Agricultural Food Chemistry, October 1999, pages 3,954–3,962.

Sources to support the claims made for SKIN PERFECTING 1% BHA Lotion EXFoliant

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, February 2006, pages 416–421; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Preservatives for Cosmetics, 1996, by David Steinberg, Allured Publishing, pages 39-40; Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; and Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Sources to Support the Claims Made for Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30

Experimental Dermatology, June 2011, pages 477–482; Clinical and Experimental Dermatology, March 2011, pages 178–187; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, August 2009, pages 56–59; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23–34; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2008, pages S139–S148; Acta-Dermatovenereologica Croatia, Volume 15, Issue 2, 2007, pages 92-95; and Volume 11, Issue 3, 2003, pages 158–162; and Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, September 2007, pages 1–4.

Sources to support the claims made for Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion

British Journal of Dermatology, August 2007, pages 295–300; Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, February 2005, pages 287–295; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September–October 2004, pages 207–213; International Journal of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, July 2004, pages 1141–1146; Nature Medicine, February 2003, pages 225–229; Microscopy Research and Technique, January 2003, pages 107–114; Journal of Lipid Research, May 2002, pages 794–804; Free Radical Research, April 2002, pages 471–477; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, March 2002, pages 402–408; Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2001, pages 37–40; and British Journal of Dermatology, November 1995, pages 679–685.

Key Ingredients: vitamin E, sodium PCA, sodium hyaluronate, zinc oxide, vitamin C, caprylic/capric triglyceride, phytosphingosine, algae extract, bisabolol, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, cyclomethicone, green tea, titanium dioxide, superoxide dismutase, cranberry seed extract, dimethicone, willow herb, squalane, salicylic acid, glycerin, Avena sativa, panthenol, pomegranate extract, tocopheryl acetate, allantoin, Glycyrrhiza glabra, Camellia sinensis, grape seed extract, cholesterol

Product Ingredients:

Hydralight One Step Cleanser:
Water, Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Lactate, Glycine, Fructose, Urea, Niacinamide, Inositol (water-binding agents), Sodium Benzoate (preservative), Lactic Acid (water-binding agent), Allantoin (soothing agent), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (thickener), Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate (stabilizer), Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate (gentle cleansing agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Triethanolamine (pH balancer), Carbomer (gel-based thickener), Benzophenone-3 (stabilizer),Methylparaben (preservative), Propylparaben (preservative).

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner:
Water, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Epilobium Angustifolium (Willow Herb) Extract (anti-irritant), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidant), Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin (skin-identical ingredients), Methyl Gluceth-20 (humectant), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Bisabolol, Panthenol (anti-irritants), Polysorbate-20 (emulsifier), PEG-90M (stabilizer), Sodium Chloride, Sodium Citrate, Citric Acid, Potassium Phosphate (pH adjusters), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant:
Water, Cetyl Alcohol (thickener/emollient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PPG-14 Butyl Ether (thickener), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Allantoin, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritants), Alteromonas Ferment Extract (water-binding agent), Dimethicone, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (skin-repairing ingredient/emollient), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), PEG-40 Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate (thickeners), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (skin-conditioning agent), Polyacrylate-13 (film-forming agent), Polyisobutene (thickener), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30:
Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 6%; Titanium Dioxide 2.32% (sunscreens). Other Ingredients: Water, Ethylhexyl Palmitate (thickener),Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents and skin protectants), Polysorbate 80 (emulsifier), Caprylyl Methicone (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (emollient thickeners), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (emollient), Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (film-forming agent), Isohexadecane (dry-finish solvent), Cetyl Alcohol (emollient), Propylene Glycol (moisture-binding agent), Polyglyceryl-6 Isostearate (emollient), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant),Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (antioxidant), Algae Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agents), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin, Panthenol (skin-repairing ingredients), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Alumina, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone (skin-conditioning agent), Diethylhexyl Carbonate (emollient), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone slip agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion:
Water, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (skin-conditioning agent), Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone/skin-conditioning agent), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Dimethicone (silicone/skin-conditioning agent), Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2 (gel-based thickener), Propylene Glycol Isoceteth-3 Acetate (water-binding agent), Squalane (emollient), Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate (thickeners), Potassium Cetyl Phosphate (emulsifier), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (thickener/absorbent), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Cholesterol (skin-identical ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Fruit Extract (antioxidants),Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin (skin-identical ingredients), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Sodium PCA, Phytosphingosine (skin-identical ingredients), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Dimethicone Crosspolymer (suspending agent), Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Laureth-23 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, Sorbic Acid (preservatives).

Hydralight One Step Cleanser:
DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Using your fingers, apply a quarter-sized amount on your face and eyes using vigorous but gentle circular motions. Rinse well and gently pat face dry with a clean towel. For stubborn makeup, repeat this process or use this cleanser with a soft washcloth. Follow with Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, a Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and moisturizer. During the day, be sure to protect your skin with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner:
DIRECTIONS: Apply in the morning and evening, after cleansing. Soak a large cotton ball or pad with Hydralight Toner and gently stroke over face. Do not rinse off. Follow with a Paula's Choice exfoliant and Hydraligiht Moisture-Infusing Lotion. During the day, be sure to protect your skin with a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater.

Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant:
DIRECTIONS: Apply to clean skin. Dispense a dime-sized amount and massage over face, including around the eyes (avoid the lower lash line and eyelids). Do not rinse off. Follow with Paula's Choice CLEAR Acne Fighting Treatment (if needed), moisturizer, and/or specialty product. For daytime, wear under a product rated SPF 15 or higher.

Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30:
DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally before sun exposure and after using Paula's Choice Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser and Hydralight Healthy Ski Refreshing Toner. May be applied over any Paula's Choice exfoliant or serum. Reapply as needed after swimming, toweling off, or excessive perspiration.

Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion:
DIRECTIONS: Apply after cleansing, toning and exfoliating with products from the Hydralight collection or others from Paula's Choice. Works beautifully around the eyes.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Hydralight One Step Cleanser:

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara or waterproof makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of eye makeup. If an eye makeup remover becomes necessary for tenacious makeup, be as gentle as possible and use a mild yet effective product such as Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover, either before or after this cleanser.

I have normal to dry skin that gets oilier in the summer - would Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! The lightweight, refreshing gel texture of Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is ideal for use during the humid summer months if you have normal to dry skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner:

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients to help your skin look and act younger.

What are the main differences between the five Paula's Choice toners?

Every Paula's Choice toner repairs skin, provides antioxidants, delivers anti-aging ingredients, and helps remove last traces of makeup. They do not contain alcohol, fragrance, or unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. Below you'll find a brief description for each distinct toner.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants.

Moisture Boost Hydrating Toner contains a broad range of ingredients that aid skin's barrier repair process so those with normal to dry skin will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or treatment product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage, redness, or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a rich, milky liquid texture and contains more plant oils and other emollients for intense hydration. Excellent for rosacea!

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent to help normalize skin and reduce signs of extreme combination skin (oily and dry areas). Its cell-communicating ingredients help balance skin and reduce enlarged pores.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant:

What's the difference between AHA and BHA exfoliants? Do I need both?

When properly formulated, both AHAs and BHA are brilliant options for exfoliating the surface of skin. Both AHA and BHA work to reduce wrinkles, stimulate collagen, and firm skin but each has its special qualities you'll want to consider when deciding which one to use:

  • AHAs are preferred for sun-damaged and dry skin because they exfoliate on the surface of skin and have the added benefit of also improving moisture content.
  • BHA is preferred for oily, acne-prone skin and for treating blackheads and white bumps because BHA can get through the oil that's clogging your pores, normalizing the lining of the misshapen pore that contributes to acne.
  • BHA has anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Those are two more reasons to use a BHA exfoliant if you have acne or sensitive, reddened skin.
  • BHA is preferred for those struggling with rosacea. Not everyone with rosacea can tolerate an exfoliant, but it is wise to experiment with a BHA product to see how your rosacea responds.

If your skin is sun-damaged and you're also struggling with acne or clogged pores, add a BHA product to your routine.

If you'd like to use an AHA and BHA at the same time, that is an option, though not really necessary. Some people find they work well when they're applied at the same time, but if you want to give this a try it is best to apply them separately, one during the day and one in the evening.

How do I use an AHA or BHA exfoliant?

  • You can apply an AHA or BHA product once or twice a day.
  • You can also apply either of these around the eye area but not on the eyelid or directly under the eye.
  • Apply the AHA or BHA product after your face is cleansed and after your toner has dried.
  • Once the AHA or BHA has been absorbed, you can apply any other product in your routine, such as moisturizer, serum, eye cream, sunscreen, and/or foundation.
  • If you're using a topical prescription product such as Renova, other retinoids, or any of the topical prescription products for rosacea, apply the BHA or AHA first.

Your AHA (glycolic acid) products have a higher percentage than your BHA (salicylic acid) products. Does this mean AHA is a stronger exfoliant?

AHA products are most effective at a 5% to 10% concentration and BHA at 1% to 2% concentration. Think about it like making bread, the amount of yeast you need is tiny in comparison to the amount of flour you use but equally important to get the results you want. The percentage of effectiveness varies depending on the ingredient. Rest assured that the BHA products are not any less effective due to lower concentrations of the exfoliant.

What strength of BHA should I use? Will a higher concentration provide better and faster results?

Which BHA strength you opt to use should be based on your skin type and the stubbornness (or severity) of your acne, white bumps, or blackheads. The 1% BHA strength is a great starting point to see how using a pH-correct BHA can improve the skin's condition. The 2% concentrations can be something you step up to if and when the need arises or if your skin isn't responding well enough to the 1% concentration.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30:

How does Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 differ from Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30?

Other than their slightly different SPF ratings, these two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen have different active ingredients. Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 contains titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, while Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Daily Defense Broad-Spectrum SPF 30 contains a blend of avobenzone with other non-mineral sunscreen actives. BOTH of these daytime moisturizers provide excellent broad-spectrum sun protection and treat skin to the beneficial antioxidants it needs to look and act younger. Also, both formulas were designed to work well under makeup (they won't cause it to slip off or make oily areas look shiny).

Should I reapply Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, this daytime moisturizer with sunscreen should be reapplied. You also have the option of touching up with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater, such as Healthy Finish Pressed Powder SPF 15.

Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion:

I have normal to oily skin with dry patches. Should I use Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion or Skin Balancing Moisture Gel?

Hydralight Lotion leaves a finish that leaves skin feeling more moisturized than Skin Balancing Moisture Gel. Skin Balancing Moisture Gel leaves a silky matte finish on the skin, and is a better choice for oily to very oily skin with surface dryness or those who need light moisturizing but don't want any after-feel. Both moisturizers work well under makeup.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 2:51:50 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.