Items you may also like

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Turn down the shine. A pea-sized amount of this oil control primer gives you a silky, powder-like finish that lasts 6 hours. It controls oil, minimizes pores.
Item #: 360
  • Enlarged Pores
  • Combination , Oily Skin
  • Unique MICROSPONGE® Technology controls shine

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with MICROSPONGE® Technology

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

85 out of 100
(Based on 280 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 12 Next »
  1. Tina
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Always In My Purse!
    • As someone with very oily skin, I make it a habit to always have this in my purse. During the day, I blot first and follow up with this shine stopper and finalize with a pressed powder. Controls the oil for sure!

  2. Christina
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Didn't work for me
    • I use a lot of Paula's Choice products and I really wanted something like this, but it just didn't do anything for me. It feels great when you first put it on, but my skin is oily very soon after application. I tried putting it on before and after my make-up. I brought it to work to apply after my commute in case my time outside was just too much for the product. But sadly, my face still got oily in my air conditioned office. It became a waste of time trying to make it work.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, July 02, 2014

    Hi Christina! We're sorry to hear the Shine Stopper didn't work out for you! However, we can help with a refund or exchange. Please contact our Customer Care Team and they will help.

    —Admin
  3. Lillian S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow!
    • This stuff really works! My forehead and nose are prone to getting greasy by the afternoon usually and this has kept my face totally matte. If you follow the instructions (dab some on after applying makeup), it absorbs right in and stays grease-free! I love it!

  4. T
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It WORKS!!!
    • I only need this for my t-zone. Like other have said, you kind of pat it on. It is weightless. I use it under my makeup. It keeps me shine free all day - even in humidity. My makeup also lasts longer. No break-outs. I like how it feels like nothing - some primers feel so heavy. This one is great and it WORKS. Price point is good on this too!

  5. Mini
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I thought this would be a gimmick for sure, so I only bought a sample of this. I have yet to find a primer or setting spray which can keep the mid-day greasies at bay. The application seems a bit weird - you have to pat it on your face AFTER putting on all your makeup. And lo and behold - no need for blotting papers!!! It even kept my makeup looking decent in crazy heat and humidity. Needless to say, I re-ordered a full size!

  6. Whitney M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My must-have!
    • Of all my Paula's Choice products, this is the one that surprised me the most. I was looking for an oil controlling base/primer for my wedding, and now I can't live without it! The trick is to pat the product into skin, not rub or smooth as you would a usual lotion. I use this on my oily t-zone and it leaves me matte all day, even in the hot and humid summer months. I even use this on my eyelids (very carefully) as an eye primer. I will definitely continue to repurchase!

  7. Robyn T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works incredibly well!
    • This product is amazing, and works wonders. I have oily-combination, blackhead and acne-prone skin, and I live in a hot, humid climate. It really soaks up the oil, no doubt! It leaves my nose so matte, I just can't believe it. The results are truly incredible.

  8. Jassica S.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 06, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Does not work for me (Humid country)
    • I bought Clear Regular Strength Acne, Earth Sourced Toner, Resist C15, Redness Relief, Hydralight lotion, Hydralight Shine-Free SPF30, Shine Stopper together. Maybe because my country is really really humid and hot, this product does not work for me at all. My face becomes oily very quickly and especially around the T-zones even with this product on.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Remarkable Product
    • I just love this product and now that I've found it I won't ever be without it; thanks so much Paula for making this remarkable product!!! At first I used it as the last step in my skincare routine by itself, but now that summer is here and I am very fair skinned I wanted a little glow so I don't look so pale! I mix a couple of drops of the NEW Sun 365 Self-tanning concentrate and in a couple of hours or in the morning if I apply at night, I have a nice glow with a matte finish! LOVE IT!

  10. Kate
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works like a charm!
    • I LOVE this product... It really does work like magic! I have an oily T zone and I used to have to dab my face a few times a day at least due to the shiny, oily look. Since using this product, I haven't had to dab my face at all! It lasts ALL day... the only thing i'd say is follow the instructions - don't rub on face, gently dab. Rubbing makes the product go flaky. Thank you for the wonderful product, Paula!!

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • This product does exactly what it says! It is lightweight and keeps my normally excessively oily T-zone looking matte all day!

  12. Lisa
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really Works!
    • I'm 49 and still suffer from breakouts and nasty oily skin!I have tried many products like these and they never work.Viola!This stuff does work really well for me!You need just a tiny bit and it lasts for most of the day!Thank you Paula!!!

  13. H T
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not good enough
    • I used this products for about 2 weeks, it worked amazingly at fist week in controlling my shine, however my face got oilier than before at around the 2nd week of application. Also, after using this products, my skin started to have acne bumps (those without heads)and I figured it was this product that's causing it, I stopped using.

  14. Allison B.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I was skeptical if this would work on me, but I tried it anyways. I patted it into my oily areas, let it set completely and then applied my foundation (and set it with powder). Usually, about two hours after application I'm pretty oily and have to blot. I was so happy to see that with this product after two hours I'm not oily at all! I even blotted to double check and there was no oil residue! I find that it lasts about 6-8 hours on me, which is just what I need. Thanks Paula's Choice!

  15. STEFANIE L.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Doesn't work on me for long
    • I found this product to only be effective on me for about an hour. I tried it alone and under powder foundation, both with the same disappointing result.

  16. Tracy M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works, once you learn how to work it.
    • I'm on my third bottle of this. Directions say to apply over make-up. However, it will break-up and smear foundation. What works for me is to moisturize and apply powder to my T-zone. Then, apply this. Then, apply one more layer of powder, as this will dry with a white, cakey finish. Using this method, this product has changed my life. I can wear bangs on hot days.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!!!
    • Makes make-up last longer. Feels weightless. I have combo skin and put this just in my t-zone. Works so well!!! I tried samples first then bought full-size. Love it!!

  18. SJR
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Controls Surface Oil
    • Despite taking Aldactone (Spironolactone) to reduce the amount of oil that my androgen glands produce, they still seem to work overtime. This product does keep my skin fairly matte for the first 2-3 hours after applying; 6 hours is unrealistic for my skin. To prevent the appearance of a white film, I dab tiny amounts on my T-Zone areas, & if I do see a small white spot, I wipe it off with a q-tip. It is a fantastic product, but if you have extremely oily skin, keep your expectations realistic.

  19. Ally L
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    wow!
    • I was scared to try this because I hate heavy things on my face, but I was sick of getting oily shine in between my eyebrows and the cheek areas closest to my nose. It doesn't feel heavy and lasts for more than 8 hours for me. Every time I go to the washroom to check, I'm always surprised that I'm not a greasy mess. Feels a bit gluey after coming out of the tube and applying it, but dries quickly and don't really notice it after. Works great for me so far :P

  20. CARI S.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Years later, still works!
    • I have been using this since it was first introduced. It works really well. It's something I would greatly miss if it were not available. Tube lasts a very long time even with daily use. This is a daily treatment that produces visible results even over years, with no fluctuation in efficacy. Paula and Co. have my everlasting gratitude for this magical potion!

  21. Becky
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Bye Bye Shine!
    • I have an extremely oily T-zone, and although the PC products I've started to use over the last few weeks have helped reduce the shine, it's still noticeable after my skincare routine. Tried all sorts of products over the years to no avail, but still decided to give this a try. Put it on the other day without makeup and 8+ hours later, still no shine. Doesn't seem to be as effective on my nose for some reason or when I wear makeup, but that could be my foundation. Regardless, love this product!

  22. SUSAN M.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect Makeup for 16 Hours
    • This product keeps my makeup perfect for 16 hours (or more?). If I don't use it , the oil in my skin leaves a shine and causes my makeup to fall into my lines. I would not want to be without this.

  23. Michelle Y.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Only Thing That Has Ever Worked
    • I have always had very oily skin and have tried every product under the sun. This product is the only product that I have used that has lasted for over 6 hrs! I don't need to blot at all. It has transformed my skin from slick to perfectly matte. Hands down, the best thing that has ever happened to me!

  24. monica m.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!!!!!
    • This is great. Dab a little on and you're set for the whole day! I get shiny on my T-zone and this eliminates that problem completely!

  25. TRACIE C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great!
    • I've tried several matte primers and this one is the best one I have tried! Caution to those slathering it on and not having the great results I have had: read the instructions. You need to DAB. DAB DAB DAB. If you wear foundation you will also have have to dab it on as well. I noticed a huge difference in my oil production by just changing to dabbing. At the end of the day I've only had to blot once (as opposed to 2-3 times previously) and I no long look like vaseline girl! Thanks PC!

« Prev Page of 12 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is clinically proven to keep skin perfectly matte for at least 6 hours. Its unique MICROSPONGE® Technology works invisibly to keep oily shine in check while minimizing the appearance of pores. The luxurious formula dries to a silky-soft, powder-like finish that smoothes out minor skin imperfections—your makeup will look better and last longer than ever!

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Anyone with oily skin (or oily areas) who wants to maintain a fresh, matte complexion. Shine Stopper is perfect for blackhead- and blemish-prone skin; ideal for combination skin with an oily t-zone (forehead, nose, chin).

Sources to support the claims made for Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish with Microsponge® Technology

International Journal of Cosmetic Science, Epublication, July 2010; Molecular Pharmaceutics, September–October 2009, pages 1,441–1,448; British Journal of Dermatology, November 2006, pages 890–894; and www.microsponge.com.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, silicone

Product Ingredients:

Water, Methyl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent/absorbent polymer), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (thickener), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-100 Stearate (thickener), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate (absorbent), Glyceryl Stearate, Myristyl Myristate, Ceteareth-20, Xanthan Gum (thickeners), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Dispense a pea-sized amount and using clean fingers or a foundation sponge, dab (do not rub) lightly over oily areas as the last step of your skincare routine or over your foundation. If you wish to apply powder or blush over Shine Stopper, let Shine Stopper set completely first. Reapply as needed.

Additional Application Options and Tips

  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish works best when used with a lightweight liquid or powder foundation that also has a matte finish.
  • Those with oily skin should use a mattifying daytime moisturizer with SPF or a foundation with sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater.
  • Don't wear makeup? No problem! If you have oily skin or oily areas, Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish may be used alone. The finish is invisible.
  • Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish is excellent for men struggling with shiny areas, including on the scalp.
  • For best results, wait for your exfoliant and/or toner to set/absorb before applying Shine Stopper.
  • If using with one of Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrates, apply Shine Stopper after the serum.

Is Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish a primer?

Yes, in the sense that it helps those with oily skin maintain control over excess surface oil while smoothing skin's texture. These features help enhance makeup application and wear, so you'll see longer-lasting results and won't have to touch up frequently. For best results, make sure your foundation has a matte finish.

What exactly is Microsponge® Technology?

This proprietary technology works instantly and over time to help absorb and trap excess oil as it reaches your skin's surface. Much like a sponge absorbs moisture, Microsponge uses special porous polymers that not only absorb excess oil but also leave your skin feeling powdery smooth and fresh. Think of this technology as millions of spherical sponges working to keep your oily skin looking beautifully refined and perfectly matte without dryness or dullness.

Where does all of the excess oil go?

Once absorbed via the Microsponge® Technology, the excess oil remains trapped inside the unique polymers until they've reached their capacity to trap oil. Once this happens, you'll begin seeing excess shine on your skin; however, most will find that the technology built into Shine Stopper Instant Matte Finish keeps excess oil (shine) in check for several hours. When you cleanse your face, the polymers holding the excess oil are simply washed away!

Does Microsponge® Technology involve the use of nanoparticles?

No, this technology was made possible without the use of nanoparticles.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.358 12/18/2014 10:01:51 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.