Items you may also like

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner

My thirsty skin wants in. This silky hydrating toner soothes and renews skin as it reduces redness and irritation.
Item #: 121
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Antioxidants protect skin and stimulate collagen production

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

73 out of 100
(Based on 72 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 3 Next »
  1. TRACEY B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    On the fence
    • Tried the Hydralight first and returned it, then re-ordered this one. Am finding them both drying to my skin. Like the idea of a toner but don't care for the tight feeling this prompts. May contact a beauty expert again.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 22, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry that this wasn't a fit for you! While none of our toners contains ingredients which can dry skin, it may be that the formulas you've tried are not moisturizing enough for you. We would recommend our RESIST or Skin Recovery Toners--if you contact our Customer Care Department we would be happy to send you samples to try and assist with an exchange or credit!
    —Admin
  2. Valerie V.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Clears and Calms Skin
    • I use the Moisture Boost cleanser and highly recommend the use of this toner after cleansing. I found that with the toner, my "face" (complexion, makeup, etc) lasts all day and feels refreshed with the next cleansing- never oily, dry, or red. I think this is an integral step in a skin care regime.

  3. Krista
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Relief!
    • The onset of cooler weather automatically makes every square inch of skin on my body dry and uncomfortable. Now that I'm 42, the skin on my face has decided to follow suit. I know Paula recommends the Skin Recovery line for dry skin with rosacea but having already tried it I knew it was just a bit too much for my combo skin. Also, I noticed this toner has Willow Herb in it which has always been really helpful for my rosacea. I have to say that although I do miss the lovely cucumber smell of my beloved Hydralight Toner, it's wonderful! It soaks right in and leaves my skin hydrated, but not oily in the least. Great stuff!

  4. Jordan
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Moisture Boost Hydrating Toner
    • Honestly this toner may seem like an unnecessary add on, but what it can do for dry skin makes it a must have. Nothing cures my sensitive, flaky skin like this potion. I experienced it's only downfall today though: the container. The nozzle had stuck to the lid and needless to say when I turned the bottle over, all of the toner and my money went down the drain. This stuff will certainly cure any dry skin you may have just be wary of the packaging. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. Occasionally, the opening in the bottle that receives the orifice reducer (clear plastic insert with the hole in the middle) may not fit perfectly and that is why it will fall out during opening the bottle. We are happy to announce that this product is available in improved packaging. We are happy to send a complimentary replacement of the toner in the new packaging. please contact customer care with any questions, we are more than happy to help you!

  5. Ashley
    Reviewed on Friday, August 31, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Terrible Toner
    • I bought this toner thinking it would work for my skin type. Well was I so wrong. Its burns my skin. Makes it red and leaves a film on my skin.I will be going back to the skin recovery toner. I will not repurchase this one again. Disapointed :( Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product which may be used on a future phone order. We are happy to hear the Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner works better for you! Please contact customer care with any questions.

  6. Andrea
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My face has never felt so happy!
    • I've read everyone else's comments and agree - this stuff burns. But the burning lasts about anywhere from 5-10 seconds, then fades. After that, my skin feels soft and supple, and completely hydrated. Generally I hate toners, because they leave that gross tacky kind of feel on the skin. This stuff I can throw on after washing my face, and if the weather isn't dry as all get out, I don't even need moisturizer! If you can handle a few seconds of burning, I think it's 100% worth it. I've suffered from cystic acne for years, and using this in combination with face wash, and it's almost all gone! :)

  7. Lindsay
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 21, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Unpleasant scent
    • I didn't really notice the scent when I sampled this toner, but once I received the full-sized product, I noticed an unpleasant odor. I know that fragrance-free products are better for my skin, but I can see why fragrances are added to products now. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments, we will be sure to share your experience with the product to Paula and her Product Development Manager. We will send samples of another toner to try. We will leave an in house credit for this product on your account in the meantime and please contact customer care with any questions.

  8. Linda
    Reviewed on Friday, March 30, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • After having used the Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner,I do not like this toner at all!! Don't like the feel of this toner on my skin and do not like the smell. Going back to my original toner. Very disappointed after having read the reviews. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with this product. We will note your feedback with Paula and in the meantime credit you for the product but are having trouble locating it on your account. Please contact customer care so that we may credit you. Also, we have made arrangements to send you an Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner, which is an excellent alternative to the Moisture Boost Toner! Please contact customer care with any questions.

  9. Amanda
    Reviewed on Monday, March 05, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Burns my sensitive skin
    • I was looking for a replacement for Paula's skin balancing toner (a great lightweight toner, btw) for the winter months, as my skin has gotten drier. Unfortunately, this one burned terribly upon application, and turned my rosacea-prone nose bright red for hours! I tried a sample of Paula's skin recovery toner and liked it much better - will have to order it next time. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. We are sending you an Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner to try, which is a wonderful alternative to the Moisture Boost Toner. We will leave an in house credit for the product on your account which you may use towards a future phone order by calling: 1-800-831-4088. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  10. Brianna
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Yummy!
    • The first few times I used this it was a little bit tingly and prickly, but not so much that I threw in the towel. I'm so glad I kept using it because this has become one of my favorite steps in my skincare routine. It feels so soothing and luxurious. I use my hands to splash it on my face, neck and chest, and a bottle lasts me about 3 months. I love how lightweight and fresh it feels and it's a great way to add more antioxidants and a hint of moisture to my regimen without feeling like I've got too many products on my skin. Because this spreads so easily and lasts so long, I don't hesitate to use it on my neck and chest. It's lovely!

  11. Cindy
    Reviewed on Monday, February 13, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Burns!
    • I have been a happy user of the whole line for a long time, and I really wish my review could be different, but I tried this toner a while ago and would not recommend it. It stings! I do not have sensitive skin, but there's gotta be something in the formula that does not agree with my skin. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. For that reason, we have located your account but cannot find the product on your account. Also, we have made arrangements to send you an Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner, which is an excellent alternative to the Moisture Boost Toner! Please contact customer care so that we may locate the product on your account and offer you a credit for it.

  12. lara
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great toner!
    • This is a great, light toner for my normal/dry skin however I'll probably always still need to use a moisturizer with it even in Tokyo's hot, humid summer. My skin is slightly sensitive and prone to redness but I had no problems with this. I noticed a big reduction in fine lines around my eyes after only 2-3 weeks of use. My other makeup goes on much nicer after using this.

  13. Sue
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Toner!
    • This toner is gentle and mildly moisturizing. It doesn't sting and makes my skin feel soft. I highly recommend

  14. Catherine
    Reviewed on Friday, January 06, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Stings!
    • I use to use the Final Touch toner years ago. Got a sample of the Moisture Boost toner recently and tried it. I was very surprised by the stinging it caused. What's different about it? Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, there are many variables that can affect how skin responds to ingredients and formulas. However, we have made arrangements to send you a bottle of our new Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner, which is an very good alternative to the Moisture Boost Toner! Please contact customer care with any questions via live chat or email, we are happy to help.

  15. Callee
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 24, 2011
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It is ok
    • This is just an ok toner. Similar to the Skin Recovery toner(although Recovery feels slightly more moisturizing). Didn't make my face breakout. Doesn't feel too moisturizing for combination skin. It has an unpleasant smell though.

  16. Kimberly
    Reviewed on Friday, September 23, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    highly reccomended
    • I have been using this for myself and my clients (I am a makeup artist specializing in wedding makeup) and have only had 1 client give potentially negative feedback in 3+ years. I have combo skin and this really works well to remove the last traces of makeup and residue from the day leaving my skin super clean but never dry. You will need to give it about 1 minute to dry/penetrate your skin before applying other product. In general, Paula's products are stellar and I would definitely repurchase with confidence.

  17. Lisa
    Reviewed on Friday, September 09, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great moisturizer for oily skin
    • I have an oily skin and I this is my moisturizer on hot humid days. Light as water, very soothing and gentle enough to be used around eyes.

  18. Howard
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 24, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Cannot live without it!
    • I LOVE this toner! I go through a bottle a month (I WISH you would make a larger size available). For me, the moisturizer and all the other products just do not work properly without this step. Also, toner removes flakiness around the nose better than any other product, especially in the winter. I totally saturate my face with the toner. I don't want just a dampening with it, I want my face soaked. Great stuff!!!!!!!

  19. Anthony P.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 23, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Multiple purpose is what makes PC great.
    • I have oily facial skin but a dry flaky scalp. How terrible, right? Well, i decided to put a pump spray on this toner and every night i spray into my hair and scalp. In the morning I wash it out with my fragrance and color free shampoo/conditioner and the end result is incredibly improved scalp condition, hair texture, and hair growth with strength. I noticed the improved scalp condition after 1 week and the hair condition after 2 weeks.

  20. Sally
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 06, 2011
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Soothing
    • I've never liked toners so was afraid to try this. I'm glad I did. Very soothing and calming to my dry, rosacea-affected skin.

  21. Lisa
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 25, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skin really loves this
    • I love this stuff - and I recently used this on a terrible burn after falling on hot coals. No scars at all and quick healing. I am convinced the great ingredients helped my skin recover faster and better

  22. Paul
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 09, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Softening skin
    • This is moisturising enough to use alone in the day so a moisturiser is not needed. I didnt notice any burning at all like others have said.

  23. Erica
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 20, 2010
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Moisture Boost Toner
    • This toner burns my face just a little bit. It isn't as bad as some other toners I have tried, but it did have a slight burning sensation. I just got the skin recovery toner and I really like that one much better. It feels soft and cushiony when you are applying it and it does not burn my face in the least.Customer Care Response: We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Moisture Boost Toner but are glad to hear that the Skin Recovery Toner is working well. Please contact Customer Service for information on processing a return.

  24. Cristina
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 25, 2010
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I love Paula's products but this one didn't work for me. It made my rosacea-ridden skin blotchy and red, and later it was flaking. This may work well for someone with not so sensitive skin though.Customer Care Response: We are sorry to hear about your experience with this item. Please contact our Customer Service Team for further assistance selecting an alternate product, or returning the Moisture Boost Toner.

  25. S
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 11, 2010
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love this toner!
    • i really love this toner--skin recovery toner is too heavy for me and the others are too light in their moisturizing properties. i use this after the 2% liquid bha and it keeps my skin from flaking and i don't even need a moisturizer!

« Prev Page of 3 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner takes the concept of toner to a whole new, skin-beneficial level. When used after cleansing it helps skin restore and repair itself. It works immediately to soothe and supply skin with a wide complement of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients it needs to look and feel its young, healthy best. Of course, Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner removes last traces of makeup as most toners do, but unlike toners most other cosmetic companies sell, this alcohol-free formula reduces inflammation and helps reinforce a healthy barrier function. From the first use, skin is beautifully soft and refined.

This toner is 100% fragrance- and colorant free.

Who is this product for?
This product has been specially formulated for normal to dry skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Moisture Boost ESSENTIAL Hydrating Toner

Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; FEBS Letters, December 2009, Epbulication; Acta-Dermatovenereologica Croatia, Volume 17, 2009, pages 25–39; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Dermato-Endocrinology, March 2009, pages 72–76; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; and Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2002, pages 618–625; Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology B, October 2001, pages 61–69; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: lecithin, glycerin, creatine, linoleic acid, grape seed extract, phospholipid, vitamin C, willow herb, vitamin E, sodium PCA, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, superoxide dismutase, allantoin, green tea, tocopheryl acetate

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants), Epilobium Angustifolium (Willow Herb) Extract (anti-irritant), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidant), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Creatine, Lecithin, Phospholipids, Linoleic Acid (cell-communicating ingredients), Sodium PEG-7 Olive Oil Carboxylate (surfactant/emulsifier), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Panthenol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Polysorbate-20 (emulsifier), PEG-4, Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickeners), Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner should be used morning and evening. After cleansing, soak a large cotton ball or pad with Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner and gently stroke over face. Do not rinse off. Follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and moisturizer (during the day make sure you rmoisutrizer provides sun protection or follow with a foundation rated SPF 15 or greater).

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

What do toners “tone”? I thought Paula didn’t recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you’ve removed all of your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and add hydrating ingredients to make skin softer, not to mention they’re another leave-on source for antioxidants and other ingredients that improve skin’s healthy functioning.

How do I know which toner is right for me? Besides skin type, what are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

All of our toners restore skin, help remove last traces of makeup, are alcohol- and fragrance-free, and contain no unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. They are great as an adjunct to a more thorough cleansing routine, especially post-workout or in hot/humid climates. Even more significantly, they go beyond the basics by offering skin benefits you can see and feel.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to dry aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Resist Weightless Advanced Repairing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to oily or breakout-prone aging skin with a broad range of targeted ingredients to help improve signs of aging plus reduce enlarged pores and reduce dry, flaky, uneven skin texture. It is ideal for those struggling with oily skin, wrinkles, and large pores.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is an excellent choice for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer texture than any of our other toners and contains more plant oils and other emollients than our Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner. This is a great option for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea accompanied by dry skin.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains ingredients that help soothe and restore normal to dry skin, plus it includes a greater amount of glycerin, a key ingredient to make dry skin look and feel better. It also contains a broad range of ingredients that aid the barrier repair process so those with dry skin (or normal skin with occasional dry patches) will receive even more benefit from their Paula’s Choice moisturizer and/or specialty product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, yet still provides an array of antioxidants, anti-irritants, and skin-protecting ingredients. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to dry skin, you can use Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner in the morning and Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner in the evening.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent for protecting skin from environmental damage or dryness. In addition, its cell-communicating ingredients can, in theory, help balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen or lead to reddened or blemished skin. Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner uses a more complex formulation than our Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, and helps restore normal cell function.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is a great option for those who want more protection and a soothing, soft, feeling on their skin, particularly those with sensitive skin. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to oily/combination skin, you may want use Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner in the morning and Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner in the evening.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.344 10/24/2014 3:52:43 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.