Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser

Take it easy, I’m sensitive. Quickly and gently wash away dirt and old makeup. This silky, smooth lotion leaves skin feeling fresh, not tight and dry.
Item #: 100
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Safe to use around your eyes

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

92 out of 100
(Based on 142 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. CHERYL M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome cleanser!
    • On a whim I bought a cleanser without checking the reviews on Beautypedia. I later read that the cleanser was rated "Poor" because of the drying properties to the skin. I usually have combination/oily skin, but sure enough, after about a week or so, my face became so dried out, I had flaky skin patches all over my chin, around my nose and even little pimples in the dry areas. It was a mess! I called customer service and they recommended that I try this cleanser and the toner due to the dry patches. I was a little skeptical because I wasn't sure how it would be with having underlying oily skin. I was quite impressed! The cleanser goes on so smooth and it does take off makeup, although I do use her makeup remover to remove eyeliner and mascara first. It is very silky feeling on the skin and after a few days, my skin was so much better, and since using other Paula's Choice products, my skin is looking better than it has in a long time. I am quite happy with all of the products so far and will continue to purchase them.

  2. Krista
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So Soothing!
    • Now that I'm 42, cool weather is wreaking a bit of havok on my skin. My normally oily/combo skin is becoming tight and uncomfortable. I also have rosacea and noticed that Paula recommends the Skin Recovery line, but having used it before I knew it was a bit much for my skin. This cleanser is perfect. I love the tiny bit of cushiony lather it makes, and how it glides on the skin. It's almost luxurious! You can feel that it's a cleanser with moisturizing properties, but it still rinses cleanly. As far as makeup removal is concerned, thanks to Paula's Choice products I dust on some mineral powder foundation and maybe a little concealer for my face. But, I really have to do some sculpting in the lash department (Sparse but long, the ends of my lashes have a habit of curling into my lid...GAH!) I'm not gonna lie. I wear TONS of mascara. I do have to put an extra drop of this cleanser on my fingertips and rub a bit, but it does come off completely.And the best part is I experience no tightness or irritation after using this. Guess I've found my new Winter skincare regimen.

  3. Cintia
    Reviewed on Monday, October 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Smoothing and effective
    • Love it! This was the first product by PC that I used along with the entire Moisture Boost line. It's creamy, gentle, leaves a soft feeling and removes make up well. I've been using for about a year, starting last winter until now. My skin is normal to dry, and I found that it worked better for my skin during spring and summer months. Now, this winter, I am using the Skin Recovery line, which is even more soothing and is helping with some dryness and possible rosacea on my cheeks. :) Love both!

  4. Euni
    Reviewed on Monday, October 08, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    not good
    • I don't like this product. I thought that I would need this cleanser because winter would come. Since I 've used this product, I got acne, which I didn't have during summer time.I love your oil reduce line better. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. We encourage you to contact us to discuss your routine and skin type, so we may determine why the product did not work for you personally. In the meantime we will issue you an in-house credit for this product which you can use on your next phone order with us. We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you further.

  5. Cynthia
    Reviewed on Monday, October 08, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for Me
    • Although it did a good job removing makeup, it seriously dried out my combination skin and produced that shiny look when oil builds on top of dried out skin. I used a moisturizer every morning and night, and it still wasn't enough to combat the dryness. I was really surprised this didn't work for me considering this product was supposed to be for normal to dry skin. Something in both the Skin Balancing Cleanser and this cleanser dries out my skin, which is a shame considering I love all the other PC products I have. I was really disappointed in this one. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. This cleanser works well for most normal to dry skin types, however it sounds like our Skin Recovery Cleanser for dry to very dry skin may be a better option! We encourage you to contact customer care so we can discuss your skin type and send you samples of other cleansers to try.

  6. Crystal
    Reviewed on Friday, October 05, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not for me
    • This product isn't terrible just not compatible for my skin. The texture is creamy like milk and it does decent job of removing makeup considering it is so gentle, a plus in that area. I broke out in small pimples/bumps and can't bare to use. Back to my OCM method. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  7. Elena
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very good cleanser
    • It does a very good job cleansing the face and being very gentle to skin at the same time

  8. Julissa
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love the texture!
    • I absolutely LOVE this cleanser! The texture is so smooth and sillky! I love applying this to my face every night and day and my face doesn't feel dry or too oily. It's just perfect!

  9. Ashley
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 23, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not Working For Me
    • Frustrated! I have dry skin and this cleanser is not helping and nor does the skin recovery cleanser. I'm so tired of trying cleanser after cleanser. Not happy with either one! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce favorable results for you. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. We will leave the purchase price of this product on your account as an in house credit to be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care so that we may discuss your skin type and suggest a routine designed to increase your skins barrier to be able to hold on to its own moisture.

  10. rj
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really love this cleanser
    • This is my second bottle,and it's so nice to my skin. Feels really soft and smooth after,and it really does take of my mascara,so saves me a step. I'll keep ordering this product.

  11. Maddy
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good choice for summer and Retin-A
    • I have been using the Skin Recovery cleanser for years and years now because I thought that I had dry skin. It turns out that I had a mild case of seb derm and once that cleared up, I had normal/combination/oily. Go figure! I am still not giving up my Skin Recovery for winter, but I wanted a slightly lighter version for summer. Since I use retin-a, my skin can lean towards dryness and irritation, so it's important for me to use a very gentle and non-irritating cleanser. Queue the Moisture Boost cleanser. What I do like about it is that it does have a slightly more gel like texture than the SR and it feels like it rinses easier. Because of the very, very slight foaming I tend to use too much pretty often!You really only need a dime sized amount. While it doesn't leave my skin very tight (minorly), it doesn't leave it as moisturized as the SR. But again, that's ok because in the summer I do not need as moisturizing. I can't really atest to it's makeup removal abilities because I don't wear make up very often anymore. I do however wear sunscreen every day, and I haven't noticed any residue left over. If you're looking for a lighter alternative than the SR cleanser but still want something gentle, than this is the one.

  12. Laura
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • I just started trying Paul's products a few weeks back and wish I would have tried sooner.....this cleanser works incredibly well, leaving skin clean but not over dried. This product works just as well if not better than products costing 5 times as much. Thanks Paula!

  13. Veronica
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE THIS CLEANSER
    • After I ran out of this cleanser I made the mistake of buying Origins checks and balances frothy cleanser. I loved how that product got really frothy and foamy when using it and this cleanser didn't. However I started breaking out like crazy. I started using Paula's Choice cleanser again and my pimples are already drying out!! I think I'll stick to what works!

  14. Karlee
    Reviewed on Monday, August 06, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it...but...
    • Let me start by saying I LOVE THIS. However, I have now bought my second bottle and both the first and the second have had the same issue...the top of the lid has snapped off from just the bottle tipping over and falling in the sink. Now this may not seem like a big deal but 1) this bottle lasts forever! (which is awesome) but the spout part gets all goopy and the product does not come out and it starts to change consistency after a few months. And 2) I travel a lot and I can't bring it with me. I just took it in my ( 3 day old!!) car yesterday and it leaked out all over the seat! Even after Saran wrapping and elastic ing it. Needless to say... I'm annoyed! But I do love it.... The packaging just sucks. And has ruined a few bags. And now messed my car :( Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do note any inconsistencies with products and packaging so your concerns will definitely be passed along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. We are happy to announce that we are re-packaging this product along with all of our products and the Moisture Boost line should be available in the new and improved packaging very soon! In the meantime we will send you a replacement for the cleanser. Please contact customer care with any questions. We are always happy to help!

  15. Nicole
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great cleanser
    • This cleanser effectively removes all of my makeup. I purchased it because it was on sale; I had previously been using the Skin Recovery cleansesr. Both are excellent for removing makeup and non-drying. This one is more emollient and spreads over my skin more easily.

  16. RL
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 04, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Wanted to love it but not for me
    • I have dehydrated skin (lack of water) but oily on nose and chin. My skin has always felt parched after washing so when I saw this, I thought this would be fantastic for me. The texture is GREAT, milky, creamy, but not rich. Felt really good on my parched skin. HOWEVER, it does not take off make-up as it claims (I usually do a light layer of mineral foundation). Even after double washing, I have to use my old cleanser (la roche posay deep cleansing foam) to take off all the make up. It also seems to cause tiny little break outs on my chin. I think a foam or gel cleanser is better suited for controlling breakouts. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions and so that we may suggest the best routine of products for you.

  17. Barbara
    Reviewed on Friday, June 29, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Best!!
    • I have used this cleanser exclusively since 1999. There is nothing else on the market like it! It easily takes off all of your your makeup, even heavy eye makeup. Way to go Paula!!

  18. A
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 24, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Keep Using it!
    • I tried all of Paula's cleansers for dry skin. Each did not work perfectly for my dry skin, but the Moisture Boost One was the best of the bunch. Most of my face was not dry except for my chin. After a month of using it, my skin is not dry at all after cleansing. I strongly recommend using this product for a few weeks before deciding that it is too drying. This, combined with 1% BHA lotion and the anti-aging serum, has completely transformed my skin. Paula's Choice products are awesome.

  19. Carrie
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • Great gentle cleanser.Never irritates my eyes and helps get off the residual eye makeup. This is the first cleanser I have ever used year around. It works whether my skin is feeling dry or oily, not sure how but I love it.

  20. Isa
    Reviewed on Monday, June 11, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Too harsh!
    • I initially liked this cleanser, but after 2 weeks of continued use, my skin became flaky and got nasty dry patches. I removed the product from my routine and my skin is back to normal. I ordered this one in replacement of the Skin Balancing cleanser, which I love but gets gritty and becomes too harsh to use on my senstive skin. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. It is hard to know exactly which ingredient, combination of ingredients, or outside factors contributed to your skin responding negatively to this product. It can be difficult to identify which ingredient in any formula, even a well-formulated one, which could be causing redness or irritation. Based on what you have described, it would be best to discontinue use. We will issue you an in house credit for this product because it did not work for you. Please contact customer care to discuss your routine and what other options may work for you.

  21. Nelson
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Gentle Face Cleanser!
    • I can't say enough good thing about this face cleanser. Its so gentle, texture is adorably soft and creamy, it even work as good as shave cream for my face. I wear light foundation from time to time, I didn't believe I could use normal face cleanser to remove them until last night I tried this, it work nicely, surprising! I also like this face cleanser come in such a large bottle, large amount with very reasonable price! Will definitely repurchase.

  22. YB
    Reviewed on Monday, May 28, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Drying for my skin
    • This cleanser is soothing, but leaves drying feeling after use. It didn't work for me as it supposed to be a moisture boosting cleanser but leaving dryness - I'm ordering Skin Recovery cleanser, which I hope will work. Customer Care Response: We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! It sounds like the formula wasn't a fit for your skin type, but our Skin Recovery Collection is ideal for dry to very dry skin types. If you haven't returned your Moisture Boost Cleanser, contact us at custserv@paulaschoice.com, and we can take care of you!

  23. Jackie
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 26, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE
    • This is a nice silky cleanser. It is not drying at all. I has a very slight foam, but not much. It is very soft, but not too heavy or thick like some lotion type cleansers.

  24. Sandra
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!!!
    • I used to go to the drugstore to buy my cleansers -- only ones rated well by Paula and her team, but then I received a sample of this cleanser and tried a few other samples of Paula's cleaners and then tried this cleanser again and I must say, I am so pleased. The texture is lotion like and smooth and just slightly foamy. It doesn't dry out my skin or aggregate my oily cheeks. It takes off my makeup and my face just feels cleansed and soft afterwards. I can see Estee Lauder selling this stuff for $30 or more. Thank you Paula for making such an elegant cleanser at a fair price. Now I have no reason to go to the drugstore or department store for my skin care as I am now using all of your products!!!

  25. Jimmy
    Reviewed on Monday, April 30, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Simple, Wonderful, Perfect!
    • Despite my slight obsession with anything Paula's Choice that makes me want to try all the products, regardless of how well my current one is treating me, I always come back to and use this cleanser as my staple. It just simply does its job- cleanses well, doesn't leave my 30-something combination skin tight or dry or with a greasy film, removes all my (admittedly light) makeup, and as a bonus, only needs a nickel-sized amount to do it. Thanks so much for making at least one skincare choice a no-brainer!

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser offers the ease of a water-soluble cleanser with the texture of a milky cleansing lotion. This lightly lathering formula feels supremely silky and quickly removes all makeup (including eye makeup). It rinses completely, leaving skin beautifully soft without a trace of dryness.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Moisture Boost Cleanser is ideal for those with normal to dry skin. May also be used by those with slightly oily or combination skin that prefer a lotion-like texture.

Sources to support the claims made for Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2005, pages 124-131; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; and Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: sodium hyaluronate, Aloe barbadensis, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, sodium PCA

Product Ingredients:

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate (gentle cleansing agent), Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agent), Glycol Stearate (moisturizing thickener), Glyceryl Stearate (moisturizing thickener), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (soothing agent, anti-inflammatory), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine (very mild cleansing/lather agent), Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate (cleansing agents), Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredients), Hydroxyethylcellulose (thickener), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Propylene Glycol (slip agent), Citric Acid (pH balancer), Phytic Acid (chelating agent to soften hard water), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Moisture Boost Cleanser should be used morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Using your fingers, apply a small amount to your face and eye area using vigorous but gentle circular motions. Rinse well and gently pat face dry with a clean towel. For stubborn makeup, repeat this process or use this cleanser with a soft washcloth.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

It depends on how much eye or face makeup you are using or if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or other hard-to-remove makeup. If that's the case, we recommend using Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover before or after this cleanser. Otherwise, this cleanser effectively removes most types of makeup.

I have normal to oily skin that gets drier in the winter - would Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! It has a lotion-like texture but still rinses and cleans beautifully.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.330
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.