Resist BHA 9

Blackheads and bumps, be gone.This concentrated, leave-on acne spot treatment clears up stubborn blemishes and unclogs and shrinks pores.
Item #: 773
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Calms redness and fades marks from past breakouts

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist BHA 9

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

77 out of 100
(Based on 570 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 23 Next »
  1. ANDREA W.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Changed My Life
    • Have suffered with severe cystic acne my whole life, have done Accutane, always on antibiotics, use Differin; this product, used daily, sometimes twice daily, plus the extra strength Clear 5% Benzoyl Peroxide= clear skin and a new life; thank you Paula and team :) Oh, and, I am 41 and this product is also making my fine lines disapear!

  2. Casey R
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Must Own!
    • Amazing product! Helped my skin so much. I have blackheads and large pores and this helped so much with both.

  3. Sharon
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing product
    • I was skeptical about the effectiveness of the product when I purchased it. The price was also a little high for a small amount of product. This product did not let me down. I have combination skin, and if I don't exfoliate frequently, I get small cystic acne. Twice I felt a bump on my chin and I applied at night. It was almost gone when I woke up! A small amount goes a long way. I also felt a slight sting, but nothing terrible. No redness or flaking. Just great-looking skin!

  4. valerie t.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Shrunk my pores
    • I used for the first time last night and was amazed at how it had shrunkened my pores overnight. I used this on the problematic areas after cleanse , tone with sb toner , followed by c15 . Love this and will continue buying .

  5. Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent for acne spot-treatment
    • Product is excellent. Put some on a budding blemish and it will never come to fruition and will quickly fade in a day or two. It is actually much gentler than my 2% BHA toner. Not a hint of stinging or dryness. I would love to use it more often as a full-face treatment, but with its current price tag, I only use it for spot treatment.

  6. milu r.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 03, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did not see any improvements
    • I purchased this over two months ago, as i was getting white lumps/ white heads below my cheek bones and sore red spots on my chin and cheeks, i used this every night but saw no difference or improvements what so ever. It was a total disappointment.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 06, 2014

    Hi there! We're sorry RESIST BHA 9 didn't work out for you! It's hard to say why your experience wasn't like that of others, but we certainly can help with a refund or exchange. Please contact our Customer Care for assistance.

    —Admin
  7. Tiffany
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I don't believe in panaceas, but...
    • this is pretty close. I use this in tandem with the BHA 2% liquid for problem areas. I have almost entirely replaced my expensive Dr. Dennis Gross two-step peel with these two items. Even my blackhead-studded nose responds to this stuff. It's easier to squeeze out the problem gunk, and not as much accumulates in the first place. It can also dissolve through a stubborn clogged pore like no one's business! It fades any remaining hyperpigmentation quickly and painlessly.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love the product! Hate the package
    • I love the BHA 9! It's my go-to product for breakouts. It works quickly and doesn't make my skin dry and flaky like a lot of other products. But I usually only need a little and with the pump-style packaging, I get way too much....enough for my whole face! I feel like I'm wasting a lot of an expensive product. Maybe a rollerball or eye dropper would be a better applicator?

  9. Heather H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Amazing stuff!
    • This little black tube of miracle goo has been transformative to my blackhead covered, sebaceous hyperplasia dotted, reddened, self-esteem crushing skin! Why only 4 stars? Well, I followed the PC suggestion about combining this with the RESIST anti-wrinkle retinol for sebaceous hyperplasia, and I was not really impressed. However, when I used this product alone (after cleaning and toning of course), the results are magnificent. I've dealt with skin issues for 2/3's of my life. Thank you so much!

  10. Kirsten H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING PRODUCT
    • I use this in combination with the following Paula's Choice products: Acne Clear Wash, I alternate the regular strength and extra strength exfoliant from the Clear system to decrease drying. I LOVE this stuff and I was apprehensive to spend the money on it, but I am So thrilled and shocked with the results. My face is COMPLETELY clear. I don't know what I would do without it now. I will continue to buy this product. I can not thank Paula's Choice enough.

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Decent!
    • I use this primarily on my nose and bit on the rest of my t-zone. I have noticed that the blackheads have been less prominent and that the pore size has been slightly reduced. However, I feel like it has stopped giving results (after a few months of use). It is not a product I can use daily as it causes the side of my nose to peel and getting itchy and irritated. The slight discomfort was worth the results. I wish my results kept improving, but my pores are better than they were.

  12. MARY K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Worth the Price
    • This is a daily staple in my skin care routine. I use every other night. I use one pump and it covers my t zone very well and a bit on my cheeks. I have no adverse reactions. It really helps with the few spots I have of Sebaceous Hyperplasia. It doesn’t remove them completely- but really helps. The only drawback is the price, which is why I gave it four stars.

  13. Shirley A
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • THIS IS AN AMAZING PRODUCT. I have been under the care of a very good dermatologist but nothing he prescribed can compare to this. I have blemishes that have lasted months and nothing would get rid of them - one Rx for $230. and just using this a few days has cleared most of them completely. I am so happy] to have discovered Paula's Choice and her marvelous products!

  14. Wahoonito Z.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail
    • I am blessed to be able to use it. I think this is the 4th order of this. With very sensitive skin, my skin does not react to it at all. I use it once a week, but some times 7 days continuously. I use it as spot treatment, but some times all over cheek. Work like a wonder. You just need to try your luck and see if you can tolerate it. The only thing that you need to be aware of is it is quite greasy, but I only care the performance not the texture. Please carry this product forever.

  15. Yanti
    Reviewed on Friday, April 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Something that I cant live without :)
    • I love this! I use it only at night after cleansing, toning, exfoliating, serum and moisturizer. This is my "on the spot" treatment. When my hormone is raging and i start to feel a tiny bump(s) on my face, i'll use a tiny bit of this and gently massage it on the bump(s) in circular motion. When I wake up in the morning, the bump(s) and redness have gone completely. Thank you, Paula for such a great and gentle product.

  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Your advice for combating sebaceous hyperplasia is excellent!
    • First of all, you are the only skin care company I have found that even addresses this concern. Second, what you recommend works even better than the skin care protocol that my dermatologist suggested. Over the years, I have spent hundreds of dollars on lotions and potions that claim to help improve skin texture and wrinkles.They have all proved disappointing until now. The triple combination of the Resist BHA 9, the Resist Retinol Serum, and the Skin Balancing Pore Reducing Toner is amazing!

  17. Meri
    Reviewed on Monday, April 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product!
    • I have had this product for a while, at least 2 months and I wanted to wait until I had used is regularly and consistently before writing a review. I did see a reduction in redness from previous breakouts and it definitely works amazing as a spot treatment. I can put a dab on at night before bed on a breakout I feel coming and it will be greatly reduced or even gone by morning. I also think that it does reduce pore size. Watch not to use too much, skin can flake but aside from that GREAT!

  18. Amy F
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product
    • I was using this as a "spot treatment" at the end of my skincare routine ever since it came out, and was pleased with the effects. However, I recently moved it to the "exfoliation" step, and wow. Wow. Amazing results, with fine lines greatly diminished and added smoothness/radiance. I was carded on my 34th birthday--what else can I say?!? That alone speaks for itself.

  19. Nathan T.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Update
    • It's been 4 weeks and things just keep getting better! Little white bumps under my eyes are almost completely gone; pores are smaller; and redness from past breakouts continue to fade. SO IMPRESSED! The only negative is the price. I can only afford to buy samples since $40 is a lot at one time, especially for the size. Maybe the price will come down? Anyway, thrilled with the results!

  20. Pam K
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Results in 2 weeks!
    • I wish I had taken before and after pictures. I had red spots and a few blind pimples and lots of blackheads. I was going to go to a dermatologist and thought I'd give these products a try. I used this product in conjunction with the Resist C15 Super Booster and a few other products that were on the "Best" list of Beautypedia. My skin is mostly clear and smooth now. I love these products!

  21. Nathalie H
    Reviewed on Friday, March 28, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    RESIST BHA 9
    • I used BHA 9 every night for more than week and I didn't notice any result. It didn't help with breakouts, blackheads, enlarged pores, post acne or redness.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 28, 2014

    We're sorry that your experience with BHA9 wasn't what you had hoped (unfortunately, no product will work for everyone).  We would encourage you to contact our Customer Care Team, as they would be happy to assist with a refund/exchange, as well as take a closer look at your routine to determine whether small changes can be made to improve your results.  They may be reached via email at custserv@paulaschoice.com or 1-800-831-4088.

    —Admin
  22. Sarah T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love this!
    • This is my first time using a BHA exfoliant and I love it! I ordered a sample and it's made any acne spots reduce significantly overnight and heal well. If it keeps working, I'll definitely be ordering a full size.

  23. JGM
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Did what it claimed
    • This stuff is really great. I've been breaking out alot around my jawline and purchased this to help remove my red marks. I also use it on any developing acne that I may feel coming. I put it on as a last treatment right before bed and I've seen my red marks diminish along with any developing acne. I have slowly transitioned all my skincare to paulas choice after having great experiences many products.

  24. ALYSSA G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did not work.
    • I had purchased this product a while ago, used the entire bottle and saw no improvements. That really disappointed me considering how expensive it is. My friend recently purchased a sample and, after having great results with the BHA liquid, passed this on to me. I gave this another try still had no luck. I suggest getting a sample before investing in a full size, even if it seems like it will be a slam dunk because of it's strong percentage of BHA .

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, March 24, 2014

    Hi Alyssa! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry to hear your experience didn't match those of others. We would encourage you to contact our Customer Care Team so that they may assist you with a refund or exchange!

    —Admin
  25. Angelina F.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 21, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Ehh...
    • This is one product I didn't like. It wasn't bad ..it wasn't good...it was just kind of nothing. I tried it several times... but nothing seemed to happen. It's really apparent how much it didn't work after using the new 4% BHA foam. NOW that stuff is AMAZING!

« Prev Page of 23 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist BHA 9 is a first-of-its-kind spot treatment specially formulated to address your most stubborn skin imperfections. The technology behind BHA 9 is indeed unique, allowing for a controlled, sustained release of salicylic acid without diminishing any of its effectiveness. In fact, you will have enhanced results without dryness or irritation! BHA 9 for Stubborn Imperfections has a pH range of 3.2-3.6.

BHA 9 can do all of the following:
  1. Unclog pores with the first use
  2. Diminish white bumps
  3. Minimize enlarged pores
  4. Refine and smooth skin's texture
  5. Minimize sebaceous hyperplasia
  6. Smooth and soften dry, rough patches
  7. Help balance oily skin
  8. Fade red marks from breakouts
  9. Reduce breakouts

Who is this product for?
Resist BHA 9 is designed for anyone who has struggled with stubborn skin imperfections who wants enhanced results over and above the treatments they've been using.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist BHA 9

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, 2010, page 110; Cosmetic Dermatology, Second Edition, McGraw Hill, Baumann, Leslie, MD, 2009, pages 150–151; Dermatologic Surgery, April 2009, pages 638–644; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology, and Leprology, March-April 2005, pages 87–90; Pharmazie, March 2005, pages 215–220; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November 2004, pages 519–531; and Drugs Under Experimental and Clinical Research, Volume 3, 2003, pages 101–105.

Key Ingredients: Boerhavia diffusa root extract, Avena sativa, glycerin, arginine, sea whip extract, salicylic acid

Product Ingredients:

Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/time-released exfoliant, 9%), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract (soothing plant extract), Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: At night, apply as a leave-on spot treatment for stubborn imperfections. Dispense a very small amount of Resist BHA 9 onto a clean fingertip, and massage a thin layer over affected areas. Suitable for use around the eyes, but avoid contact with eyelids and do not apply along the lower lashline. For best results, use after cleansing and toning, but it can also be used as the last step in your skincare routine. Experiment to see which method works best for your skin concerns. May be applied on its own or over a Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant. May be applied over larger areas if needed. Reduce frequency of usage if irritation or flaking occurs.

PRECAUTIONS:

This product contains 9% salicylic acid. Please note:

  • Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin
  • If you experience irritation, rinse from skin and discontinue use
  • Avoid direct contact with eyes
  • Protect skin with sunscreen daily
  • Ask your doctor before using on children
  • Keep out of reach of children
  • If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your doctor before use

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps even those who cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

Is BHA 9 just a spot treatment or can I use it all over my face?

A thin layer of BHA 9 may be applied all over your face if needed, but you would want to use it first over smaller areas where stubborn imperfections (for example, blackheads that have not responded to a BHA exfoliant with 2% salicylic acid) are an issue to see how your skin responds.

How often can I use BHA 9?

We recommend applying BHA 9 once a day preferably in the evening, after cleansing and toning. Many will find that their imperfections respond favorably with less frequent usage, such as 2-3 times per week. For best results, experiment to determine the frequency of application that works best for you.

Is it OK to use BHA 9 if I am also using a skin lightening product that contains hydroquinone?

Yes. Apply the BHA 9 to affected areas first and follow with the skin lightening product where needed. Finish with your Paula's Choice serum and moisturizer. During the day, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Can BHA 9 be applied at the same time as my retinol or prescription tretinoin product?

Yes, but for use with prescription retinoids, check with your doctor first. If you decide to try the BHA 9 use it as part of your evening skincare routine. Apply a thin layer of BHA 9 first, as either a spot treatment or all over your face and then follow with your retinol or prescription retinoid product, and finish with serum and/or moisturizer. Pay close attention to how your skin responds.

Can I use the BHA 9 at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA or AHA products?

Yes, though for some skin types applying two exfoliants at the same time increases the risk of irritation and that is never the goal. It is also fine to apply any of our BHA or AHA products to areas of your face where you are not applying the BHA 9 exfoliant, or you can alternate by applying your regular exfoliant in the morning and BHA 9 at night. BHA 9 was designed to be a spot treatment though lots of people are having great success using it all over their face and chest.

Is BHA 9 recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply BHA 9 to the eyelid or underbrow area.

Can BHA 9 be used on the body?

Yes. BHA 9 is excellent for treating stubborn imperfections on the body, too, especially white bumps, breakouts, and stubborn blackheads or patches of persistent keratosis pilaris. It is slippery so you would want to be careful what you wore to go to bed.

Will BHA 9 help fade acne scars?

Regular use of BHA 9 will help fade pink, red, or brown marks (known as post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation) from acne breakouts, but will not affect deep or pitted scars such as those that can occur from cystic acne.

I have eczema. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, morning or evening. If applying over patches of eczema, pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue applying BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application. Follow with an emollient moisturizer.

I have rosacea and/or sensitive skin. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, in the evening. Pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue to apply BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application.

Is BHA 9 better than the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant?

Not necessarily better, but it is stronger and designed to be a targeted treatment. BHA 9 is designed for stubborn imperfections (blackheads, white bumps, red marks from acne, sebaceous hyperplasia) that have not responded well (or at all) to one of our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants with 2% salicylic acid. BHA 9 is a potent treatment that for most will work best when applied to problem areas. For routine, daily exfoliation, continue to use one of our other BHA exfoliants on other parts of your face, neck, and chest.

How come BHA 9 is not part of the Clear line of anti-acne products?

Paula feels strongly that the benefits of BHA 9 are great enough to extend it beyond keeping acne breakouts under control. It is an excellent spot treatment for many types of skin issues such as sebaceous hyperplasia which primarily affects women over 40 who have oily skin and that wouldn't fall under the category of acne. Without question, BHA 9 can benefit acne-prone skin and can be used as part of a Clear routine if a stronger exfoliant to treat areas with stubborn imperfections, including Resistant blackheads and white bumps (milia) is needed.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps who even cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

What is the pH of BHA 9?

Resist BHA 9 has a pH range of 3.1-3.6, just like most of our other BHA exfoliants.

What's the difference between BHA 9 and your skin-lightening products?

The salicylic acid in BHA9 fades discoloration by increasing skin cell turnover rate, while key ingredients in Resist Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment and our hydroquinone-based skin lighteners work to interrupt the pathways in skin that melanin (skin pigment) needs to form the discolorations. Used together on dark spots, these products will have a complementary, synergistic effect. And don't forget the sunscreen, a must when figting brown spots and uneven skin tone.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.