Items you may also like

Resist BHA 9

Blackheads and bumps, be gone.This concentrated, leave-on acne spot treatment clears up stubborn blemishes and unclogs and shrinks pores.
Item #: 773
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Calms redness and fades marks from past breakouts

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist BHA 9

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

77 out of 100
(Based on 552 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 23 Next »
  1. Nathan T.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Update
    • It's been 4 weeks and things just keep getting better! Little white bumps under my eyes are almost completely gone; pores are smaller; and redness from past breakouts continue to fade. SO IMPRESSED! The only negative is the price. I can only afford to buy samples since $40 is a lot at one time, especially for the size. Maybe the price will come down? Anyway, thrilled with the results!

  2. Pam K
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Results in 2 weeks!
    • I wish I had taken before and after pictures. I had red spots and a few blind pimples and lots of blackheads. I was going to go to a dermatologist and thought I'd give these products a try. I used this product in conjunction with the Resist C15 Super Booster and a few other products that were on the "Best" list of Beautypedia. My skin is mostly clear and smooth now. I love these products!

  3. Nathalie H
    Reviewed on Friday, March 28, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    RESIST BHA 9
    • I used BHA 9 every night for more than week and I didn't notice any result. It didn't help with breakouts, blackheads, enlarged pores, post acne or redness.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 28, 2014

    We're sorry that your experience with BHA9 wasn't what you had hoped (unfortunately, no product will work for everyone).  We would encourage you to contact our Customer Care Team, as they would be happy to assist with a refund/exchange, as well as take a closer look at your routine to determine whether small changes can be made to improve your results.  They may be reached via email at custserv@paulaschoice.com or 1-800-831-4088.

    —Admin
  4. Sarah T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love this!
    • This is my first time using a BHA exfoliant and I love it! I ordered a sample and it's made any acne spots reduce significantly overnight and heal well. If it keeps working, I'll definitely be ordering a full size.

  5. JGM
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Did what it claimed
    • This stuff is really great. I've been breaking out alot around my jawline and purchased this to help remove my red marks. I also use it on any developing acne that I may feel coming. I put it on as a last treatment right before bed and I've seen my red marks diminish along with any developing acne. I have slowly transitioned all my skincare to paulas choice after having great experiences many products.

  6. ALYSSA G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did not work.
    • I had purchased this product a while ago, used the entire bottle and saw no improvements. That really disappointed me considering how expensive it is. My friend recently purchased a sample and, after having great results with the BHA liquid, passed this on to me. I gave this another try still had no luck. I suggest getting a sample before investing in a full size, even if it seems like it will be a slam dunk because of it's strong percentage of BHA .

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, March 24, 2014

    Hi Alyssa! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry to hear your experience didn't match those of others. We would encourage you to contact our Customer Care Team so that they may assist you with a refund or exchange!

    —Admin
  7. Angelina F.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 21, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Ehh...
    • This is one product I didn't like. It wasn't bad ..it wasn't good...it was just kind of nothing. I tried it several times... but nothing seemed to happen. It's really apparent how much it didn't work after using the new 4% BHA foam. NOW that stuff is AMAZING!

  8. Lourdes
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Buying my 3rd tube!
    • The way I use this product has been very effective for my needs. its expensive for my budget, hence the lack of the 5th star. I use it as a very concentrated, SPOT treatment. every drop is gold. I dispense it onto my fingertip with light (& incomplete) taps on the pump. I place each drop directly onto my nose and chin, which are/were my deep, long-term blackhead areas. it only FEELS "oily", therefore spreads easily (no oily residue). I don't think its meant to be spread over the entire face

  9. CK
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed
    • I wasn't sure how to rate this product, as it didn't do anything bad to me, but it didn't do anything good to me either. I finished two bottles of this product with high hopes (I use a lot of other PC products with good results), but didn't see any improvement at all. Given the cost, I am quite disappointed. It seems like other people were having great results, so I guess it just isn't for everyone.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    Hi CK! We're sorry BHA 9 didn't give you the results you had hoped for. It is true that not every product will work for everyone, but we would encourage you to contact our Customer Care Department for advice on why it may not have worked out, as well as help with a refund or exchange. 

    —Admin
  10. Emily S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Revised Review
    • I previously wrote an unfavorable review of BHA 9. But, after receiving a diagnosis from the dermatologist of sebaceous hyperplasia, I remembered the tube and decided to give it another go. Perhapsit is because I am now using Retin A Micro 0.1%, but it is a totally different story now. Within one day the bumps had significantly decreased, and with about a week's use, my skin is starting to look amazing! For results, you may have to combine it with Retin A or retinoid. Worth a try!

  11. Danielle M
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Disappointed
    • I bought the sample size of this with a couple other products but I'm disappointed with the results after reading the reviews and all the things the product is suppose to do. I used it twice and it diminished some of my red scars however after that I seemed to have got a reaction in the form of small raised bumps from the product- and I am not allergic to aspirin.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, March 17, 2014

    Hi Danielle! We're sorry your experience with BHA 9 didn't match that of other customers, and we would encourage you to contact our Customer Care Team for recommendations of alternatives to better address your concerns.

    —Admin
  12. MELISSA B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Just OK
    • I liked this product just ok. For the cost I expected it to do more for my skin. I prefer the new RESIST weekly 4% BHA. I use it daily and it works better for me and is more cost effective because it lasts so much longer.

  13. Anna Z
    Reviewed on Friday, March 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy *&@%! This works
    • I've only used this twice and I'm floored by the results. I have (had) a series of raised post-acne red marks under my jawline from a recent breakout of mini-cysts (ouch!). The acne is long gone, but the marks aren't. I bought a sample size of this to try, not expecting much. I've only used this for the last two nights and the redness is significantly reduced. The residual bumps are almost completely flat. Normally it takes 2-3 months for this to happen with my regular routine. I'm impressed.

  14. SHELLEY E.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow! Really Works
    • I'v been using Resist BHA 9 nightly for a couple of months. My face immediately cleared of "mystery bumps", I've had not one zit and stubborn acne on my forehead is gone. If I stop using BHA 9, it all comes back. Old acne scars have faded and BHA 9 isn't drying. My teenage daughter has had a couple of breakouts and each time I applied the BHA 9 two nights in a row, first day looked better, second day the breakout had vanished. Amazing.

  15. Francie
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    not my fave
    • I've seen pretty astounding results from a few Paula's Choice products (the vitamin C Booster, the 2% BHA, the Clinical Redness relief toner) but this one didn't do much for me. And it was too expensive to just keep trying and trying without particularly impressive results. So I returned it. Also the dispensing mechanism is imprecise.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, March 05, 2014

    Hi Francie! We're sorry the BHA 9 didn't work out for you. We're glad you contacted Customer Care for a refund or exchange, as there is never a need to keep a product that didn't meet your needs!

    —Admin
  16. Charlotte M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    amazing!
    • I use a small pump worth and spread a thin layer over my face when I have a breakout. It works wonders! It clears up any zits or bumps I have on my face. Seriously, I had about 10 small bumps on my chin from a breakout and after two days, they are gone. It hasn't done much to my blackheads, but otherwise my skin has never been so clear.

  17. Dan F.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 03, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Disappointed
    • I think I am the only person on the face of the earth that this product did not work wonders for. I saw no improvement in my skin discolorations (possibly made them worse). I think I will stick with the 2%.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, March 03, 2014

    Hi Dan! What a shame, we're sorry to learn the BHA 9 wasn't a fit for you! Be sure to contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, February 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for red post acne marks
    • I have tried Olay Regenerist Night Resurfacing Elixir (with 8-10% glycolic acid) and Alpha Hydrox Enhanced Lotion (10% glycolic lotion) on my facial post red acne marks for a long time, but had limited success. Of particular irritation is a cluster of a few red little dots all together. It never occurred to me find a BHA treatment for those marks. I hit gold with this product's sample, because my red marks turned visibly pink in 5-10 hours. Now I purchased the full bottle.

  19. Nicole G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Works Great, but too Expensive...
    • I've bought the sample size a couple of times, and I've been putting it on my acne breakouts and scars. It really seems to help make my acne breakouts fade and go away quicker than just using my 2% BHA and Epiduo. I also have a few acne scars right above my jaw on my cheeks, and it seems to help with making them less noticeable and red. I also love how it's not drying, even though it's a strong acne medication. My only complaint is the price. It's a little too expensive for my student budget.

  20. Nathan T.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Smooth, Even, Clear Skin
    • WOW! I ordered the sample along with my shipment just to try it out. I use at night as directed and the very next morning the small white bumps under my eyes were slightly smaller. It also shrunk the pimples along my forehead and calmed the redness from past breakouts. It's been 4 nights and my skin is smoother, even-toned, and clearer. I am majorly impressed!! No other product I've tried has been able to do this for me. The blackheads on my nose are the same, but I'm hopeful they will diminish.

  21. Carroll N
    Reviewed on Friday, February 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful
    • So effective! I could see an improvement the first day. I had a large bump on my face that was healed on the surface, but just not going away. After a couple of days, it is considerably diminished. I am so happy to be getting rid of this ugly spot. The pump likes to dispense more than I want for a spot treatment. Overall, this product was definitely worth the money.

  22. CAROL A.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT!
    • This product is one of my all time favorites! A year after starting it, my skin - at 50 years old and a lifetime of S. Carolina sun - looks beautiful, and people actually comment on it! I no longer have to wear foundation - just my PC moisturizer/sunscreen and a bit of powder for shine. Used sparingly and with other PC products, it works wonders. Thanks, Paula!

  23. Marina D
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Overpriced
    • I regularly use the 2% BHA liquid and it definitely helps decrease the amount of break outs. So I was really excited to try this product.I used it both as a spot treatment and applied it all over the face as well. After using it to the last drop and found it to perform just like the 2% BHA liquid. It's not a bad product, overall, but given the price and the concentration, I was hoping to see an improved performance over standart BHA product.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 14, 2014

    Hi Marina! We're sorry that you didn't experience the same results as others with the RESIST BHA 9.  Please contact Customer Care and they would be happy to assist with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  24. Peter
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    No change after 3 months
    • After 3 months of regular, nightly use, I saw absolutely no improvement in the tiny, sebaceous hyperplasia on the side of my nose. Given the cost, I was very disappointed; however, this product has clearly worked quite well for many people, so maybe it will work for you.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 10, 2014

    Hi Peter! We're sorry that your experience with BHA9 didn't match that of other customers, but we encourage you to contact our Customer Care. They would be happy to assist with a refund/exchange, as well as take a closer look at your routine to determine whether small changes can be made to improve your results.  They may be reached via email at custserv@paulaschoice.com or 1-800-831-4088.

    —Admin
  25. Yanti
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A must have!
    • I have been using PC for the past 6 months and surely it has changed my skin. After consultation with PC's customer service and they advised me to use CLEAR series, my skin has been behaving well. Sometimes when my period is coming i will still get one or two tiny pimples. All i have to do is to apply this on the pimple at night, massage over it for a while and the next morning the pimples subsided and gone within the next 2-3 days. A must have product for those with acne prone skin :)

« Prev Page of 23 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist BHA 9 is a first-of-its-kind spot treatment specially formulated to address your most stubborn skin imperfections. The technology behind BHA 9 is indeed unique, allowing for a controlled, sustained release of salicylic acid without diminishing any of its effectiveness. In fact, you will have enhanced results without dryness or irritation! BHA 9 for Stubborn Imperfections has a pH range of 3.2-3.6.

BHA 9 can do all of the following:
  1. Unclog pores with the first use
  2. Diminish white bumps
  3. Minimize enlarged pores
  4. Refine and smooth skin's texture
  5. Minimize sebaceous hyperplasia
  6. Smooth and soften dry, rough patches
  7. Help balance oily skin
  8. Fade red marks from breakouts
  9. Reduce breakouts

Who is this product for?
Resist BHA 9 is designed for anyone who has struggled with stubborn skin imperfections who wants enhanced results over and above the treatments they've been using.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist BHA 9

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, 2010, page 110; Cosmetic Dermatology, Second Edition, McGraw Hill, Baumann, Leslie, MD, 2009, pages 150–151; Dermatologic Surgery, April 2009, pages 638–644; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology, and Leprology, March-April 2005, pages 87–90; Pharmazie, March 2005, pages 215–220; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November 2004, pages 519–531; and Drugs Under Experimental and Clinical Research, Volume 3, 2003, pages 101–105.

Key Ingredients: Boerhavia diffusa root extract, Avena sativa, glycerin, arginine, sea whip extract, salicylic acid

Product Ingredients:

Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/time-released exfoliant, 9%), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract (soothing plant extract), Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: At night, apply as a leave-on spot treatment for stubborn imperfections. Dispense a very small amount of Resist BHA 9 onto a clean fingertip, and massage a thin layer over affected areas. Suitable for use around the eyes, but avoid contact with eyelids and do not apply along the lower lashline. For best results, use after cleansing and toning, but it can also be used as the last step in your skincare routine. Experiment to see which method works best for your skin concerns. May be applied on its own or over a Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant. May be applied over larger areas if needed. Reduce frequency of usage if irritation or flaking occurs.

PRECAUTIONS:

This product contains 9% salicylic acid. Please note:

  • Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin
  • If you experience irritation, rinse from skin and discontinue use
  • Avoid direct contact with eyes
  • Protect skin with sunscreen daily
  • Ask your doctor before using on children
  • Keep out of reach of children
  • If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your doctor before use

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps even those who cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

Is BHA 9 just a spot treatment or can I use it all over my face?

A thin layer of BHA 9 may be applied all over your face if needed, but you would want to use it first over smaller areas where stubborn imperfections (for example, blackheads that have not responded to a BHA exfoliant with 2% salicylic acid) are an issue to see how your skin responds.

How often can I use BHA 9?

We recommend applying BHA 9 once a day preferably in the evening, after cleansing and toning. Many will find that their imperfections respond favorably with less frequent usage, such as 2-3 times per week. For best results, experiment to determine the frequency of application that works best for you.

Is it OK to use BHA 9 if I am also using a skin lightening product that contains hydroquinone?

Yes. Apply the BHA 9 to affected areas first and follow with the skin lightening product where needed. Finish with your Paula's Choice serum and moisturizer. During the day, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Can BHA 9 be applied at the same time as my retinol or prescription tretinoin product?

Yes, but for use with prescription retinoids, check with your doctor first. If you decide to try the BHA 9 use it as part of your evening skincare routine. Apply a thin layer of BHA 9 first, as either a spot treatment or all over your face and then follow with your retinol or prescription retinoid product, and finish with serum and/or moisturizer. Pay close attention to how your skin responds.

Can I use the BHA 9 at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA or AHA products?

Yes, though for some skin types applying two exfoliants at the same time increases the risk of irritation and that is never the goal. It is also fine to apply any of our BHA or AHA products to areas of your face where you are not applying the BHA 9 exfoliant, or you can alternate by applying your regular exfoliant in the morning and BHA 9 at night. BHA 9 was designed to be a spot treatment though lots of people are having great success using it all over their face and chest.

Is BHA 9 recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply BHA 9 to the eyelid or underbrow area.

Can BHA 9 be used on the body?

Yes. BHA 9 is excellent for treating stubborn imperfections on the body, too, especially white bumps, breakouts, and stubborn blackheads or patches of persistent keratosis pilaris. It is slippery so you would want to be careful what you wore to go to bed.

Will BHA 9 help fade acne scars?

Regular use of BHA 9 will help fade pink, red, or brown marks (known as post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation) from acne breakouts, but will not affect deep or pitted scars such as those that can occur from cystic acne.

I have eczema. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, morning or evening. If applying over patches of eczema, pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue applying BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application. Follow with an emollient moisturizer.

I have rosacea and/or sensitive skin. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, in the evening. Pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue to apply BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application.

Is BHA 9 better than the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant?

Not necessarily better, but it is stronger and designed to be a targeted treatment. BHA 9 is designed for stubborn imperfections (blackheads, white bumps, red marks from acne, sebaceous hyperplasia) that have not responded well (or at all) to one of our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants with 2% salicylic acid. BHA 9 is a potent treatment that for most will work best when applied to problem areas. For routine, daily exfoliation, continue to use one of our other BHA exfoliants on other parts of your face, neck, and chest.

How come BHA 9 is not part of the Clear line of anti-acne products?

Paula feels strongly that the benefits of BHA 9 are great enough to extend it beyond keeping acne breakouts under control. It is an excellent spot treatment for many types of skin issues such as sebaceous hyperplasia which primarily affects women over 40 who have oily skin and that wouldn't fall under the category of acne. Without question, BHA 9 can benefit acne-prone skin and can be used as part of a Clear routine if a stronger exfoliant to treat areas with stubborn imperfections, including Resistant blackheads and white bumps (milia) is needed.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps who even cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

What is the pH of BHA 9?

Resist BHA 9 has a pH range of 3.1-3.6, just like most of our other BHA exfoliants.

What's the difference between BHA 9 and your skin-lightening products?

The salicylic acid in BHA9 fades discoloration by increasing skin cell turnover rate, while key ingredients in Resist Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment and our hydroquinone-based skin lighteners work to interrupt the pathways in skin that melanin (skin pigment) needs to form the discolorations. Used together on dark spots, these products will have a complementary, synergistic effect. And don't forget the sunscreen, a must when figting brown spots and uneven skin tone.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.