Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Wave goodbye, wrinkles. This light moisturizer with retinol smooths out skin, reduces fine lines and leaves skin looking and acting younger.
Item #: 761
  • Anti-Aging, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Retinol makes skin look younger
  • Antioxidants stimulate collagen production

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 319 Reviews)
Page of 13 Next »
  1. Jamie F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect-but not for me
    • This is an outstanding product, no question. I was using it for the general purpose as an eye cream at night. I used it faithfully for 1 week, and yes my eyes looked brighter and very important no skin reaction! But, sadly it is not moisturizing enough for me. It felt almost like a film and very tight after application. BUT- I ordered the new Resist Intensive Repair Cream and I could tell the moment I put on around my eyes I was sold. Great product, but not for my skin type. Super Dry and Cranky

  2. Karen M
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Have to have this moisturizer
    • have combination skin. This product works great for my skin, not greasy. The only thing for me , I put it on in the AM because if I put it on at night my face itches. It doesn't itch during the day. Not sure why, maybe I'll ask the expert on chat. Possibly a serum with it would help.

  3. Donna E.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Gentle Moisturizer with Retinol!
    • I love the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer! I have sensitive skin, so cannot tolerate many retinol products. This moisturizer did not cause any irritation and absorbed into my skin quickly and easily. It does not provide enough moisture for around my eyes, so I use the Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum for that area.

  4. Kelly N
    Reviewed on Friday, October 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product
    • I started using Paula's Choice products in September. My mom whom I have not seen since August just commented that my skin looked 'perfect, like porcelain.' I saw a dramatic difference with this product within the first week. My skin looks healthier, clearer and more even. Thank you Paula!

  5. jee young p.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 06, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good
    • Good retinol product, doesn't feel too greasy nor dry. I have combination/dry skin. For me the oily/combination products were too dry, while dry/very dry products were too oily/pore clogging, so this is perfect. Feel a little dry in the morning, but Soothing on the irritated skin after retinol treatment.

  6. Julia B.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This works!
    • My eyelids were getting creepy and wrinkly around eyes. Thought I would try this as a sample and quickly purchased it in a full bottle. My skin drinks it right up. I am on my second bottle now. I have to agree with Dianne F. The bottle is most annoying. You can't get all the last remnants of lotion out of the bottle unless you want to be drastic like me--and literally cut through it. This is how much I like it. Please Paula, put this in a screw top or a pump you can unscrew.

  7. HL
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 28, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Why is Men's Cheeper?
    • There is a men's version that is exactly the same, but cost a bit less. OK the mens's doesn't have a pump. Women always get charged then man, but Paula's Choice should know better. At least make it clear there is a cheaper version in the FAQ. Otherwise it's a great light moisturizer with s bit of retinol. Doesn't break me out and never irritate my skin, which Retinol products tend to. Not super moisturizing though. Can be used like a serum. It's quite calming.

  8. Gabrielle G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 25, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not good for oily skin
    • This product just didn't work for me. When used as a follow-up to the BHA 2% toner, the product goes on nice and creamy with no irritation. However, a few hours later, my skin had an extremely greasy texture that caused my makeup to break down quickly. If used at night, the next morning my skin would feel again greasy, requiring a full-on cleanse. Over time, I didn't feel that the product improved my skin enough to put up with the hassle; and am using another PC product without retinol.

  9. RHONDA H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Unbelievable what it did for eczema!
    • I am so impressed!!! I had a horrible case of eczema, worst ever, due to a medication reaction. Nothing that usually helped was doing any good at all! After 2 weeks, my skin hurt to touch! I heard Paula say on a Podcast how retinol works on damaged skin cells, and thought it might help. I had this moisturizer, saving it for winter because it was a bit much for summer, and in one night I saw incredible improvement. After four days of am + pm use, my eczema is completely gone!!!!

  10. Dianne F.
    Reviewed on Friday, September 12, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love the product, Hate the bottle
    • I love this product. It has truly made a huge difference in the texture of my skin and the overall redness. But I'm not a fan of the bottle. I know it's probably sealed to preserve freshness, etc., but I can't tell when it's getting low (ran out and had to order ASAP to get more) and I can't get the very last drop of product out of the container.

  11. Leanne S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Didn't soak in, too greasy
    • This was my last hope for a Paula's Choice night moisturizer. I've tried all of the others aimed towards oily/combination skin and none of them worked. This one stated that it was for dry skin but could also be used for oily, so I thought I'd give it a shot. I use RESIST SuperLight Daily Defense SPF in the morning and it works PERFECTLY, eliminating the oily skin I used to have. After using this moisturizer before bed, I am left greasy in the morning even after using my normal moisturizer.

  12. Caitlin A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Bummed I only got the sample!
    • I only got a sample and I miss it already! I like to put on a more moisturizing cream at night since my skin is combo so it keeps dry spots at bay. I felt like this did the job. It was very very light but it felt as moisturizing as the moisture boost cream I have bought - just not as thick! I can tell it will probably work in the harsh winter too as dry spot treatment with my SPF moisturizer. This will probably be my next night time moisturizer.

  13. theyhaveways
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Convenient Multi-Tasking Moisturizer
    • I purchased this when it was sold as trial size, which was perfect because I was going on a trip and I adored how ideal the trial size was for traveling. The product team should consider offering a trial size for every product. But now getting to the actually moisturizer... it's very thick and creamy in consistency. I consider it a multi-tasker since it also contains retinol, so I like the idea of skipping a serum. It's a very nice convenient nighttime moisturizer because of that.

  14. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, August 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product!
    • This is a great retinol product as much as for what is not included as what is. I really appreciate the effective level of retinol and other wonderful antioxidants that this contains and I love the fact that there are no alpha hydroxy acids, or vitamin C which my sensitive skin cannot tolerate. Previously I was using Avene's Retrinal .01 based on the fact that it was recommended for sensitive skin, but I like this a lot better. I will be ordering this in the future and will never be without it!

  15. Emily B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 07, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great nighttime moisture
    • I used to think more was more, until trying this moisturizer. At the end of the day my skin can look tired. My lines and pores are more visible, I have circles under my eyes. However I put this moisturizer on before bed and, though light and not greasy, I wake up looking refreshed, supple and energized. This fantastic moisturizer leaves no overnight residue and perfectly hydrates. I'm addicted!

  16. Evie
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Absorbs quickly, improves skin tone
    • This moisturizer absorbs quickly and does not leave a greasy or sticky film. After using it for five days, my skin looks much better: smoother, brighter, even tone. I have normal to oily skin and this moisturizer does not make my skin oilier. The packaging is perfect for travel, too.

  17. Anna B
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great moisturizer for oily skin too!
    • I got same samples of this just to try as it has retinol and is a moisturizer, wasn't sure how it would go with my oily skin but I find that it actually helps it not be as oily though the day & into evening, I love that,I find it better than the s.b. serum with retinol as thats fine at first but hours later my skin is left very oily looking, not good if u have problem skin I think it's all the silicone in it but Im not sure. This one also helps calm my skin and look fresh, I use with r. r serum.

  18. Dianne F.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 26, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Surprised How Much I Like It
    • Had redness on my cheeks and around my nose. And at 47, was getting a few bumps of unknown origin. Not acne. Just white bumps that have been there for a couple of years. Also had a recent scar that was on the bridge of my nose. Bought this product after chatting with one of the reps on the phone and was not really sure what to expect. It has been a huge surprise. The redness has decreased, the bumps more minimal, and the new scar gone.

  19. GZ
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    like it
    • I've only been using a sample....little pump bottle sample. I'm amazed how long the sample has lasted ( I usually put it on at night every couple of days instead of retinol antioxidant). It provides such nice moisturization, it's not greasy, absorbs well.....I'm very tempted to buy the big bottle. I love that it has retinol in it.

  20. Julie C
    Reviewed on Friday, July 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Not for Oily Skin, but great otherwise
    • This is a great product, if you have normal/dry skin. I dont recommend this product if you have oily skin. I gave this away and the person i gave it too loves it (hence the five starts) but I think that the description "for all skin types" should have a warning for oily/acne prone.

  21. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with retinol
    • I do like this moisturizer very much. However, I wonder what is more expensive: the content or the beautiful container? Is it possible to design a good, more inexpensive packaging so the cost of product would be more affordable? Thanks, ML

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, July 02, 2014

    Thanks for your review! The formula itself is much more expensive than the component, as the aim with all of our anti-aging products is to ensure they work as claimed and contain efficacious levels of key ingredients, a tactic that doesn't come cheaply yet it still allows us to be among the most fairly priced anti-aging lines on the market.

    —Admin
  22. LINDSAY B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    One of the best moisturizers on the market!
    • Of the numerous skincare products I've tried the past decade, this moisturizer is an all-time favorite! My sensitive/sensitized skin becomes red and itchy easily, so I was nervous about the retinol this contains. But in addition to NOT irritating my skin at all, my face is even smoother and more even-toned than before. I like that this is one of Paula's more natural moisturizers, packed with both botanicals and proven actives like retinol, ceramides and peptides.

  23. Benjamin D.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • One of my all time favourite moisturisers, this light-textured lotion is absorbed within moments, leaving my combination/oily skin beautifully hydrated but not oily.

  24. LLyman
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I Seriously Love This Product~
    • Paula's Choice was so smart to offer this product free in a promotion, on my recent reorder of my other Paula "fav's", because.........that meant I found my next "Paula Fav". This product makes my skin look fantastic, and I am nearing 53. I'm compiling my list of things to order right now and this is on it. Thanks so much, Paula's Choice! I can only offer constructive criticism with regard to the packaging on the products, as you cannot tell how much product you have left in the container..

  25. Ann O.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 09, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Breaks me out bad!
    • Within the first couple of days of using this moisturizer, sudden breakouts on my chin, cheeks, and forehead. I do not break out - I have very dry skin however. This didn't do much for my dry skin PLUS made me break out. To make matters worse, my husband also tried it for few days and he broke out bad as well. Previously before this I used the PC serum and it worked so wonderfully for me...but not thi

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, June 09, 2014

    Hi Ann! We're sorry the RESIST Barrier Repair wasn't a fit for you! Please contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
Page of 13 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains a unique complex of ingredients proven to remodel your skin by building and preserving collagen, firming skin and protecting against moisture loss. The feather-light, silky texture provides substantial hydration. The active ingredients in the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer are proven to make a visible difference in the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, skin tone, and skin firmness.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is best for those with normal to dry skin. However, because the lightweight, cream texture sets to a satiny finish that won't make skin look or feel greasy, it is also an option for slightly oily or combination skin. All skin types will benefit from the key ingredients that help skin to look its best while Resisting signs of aging.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; and Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Biochemical Pharmacology, December 2008, pages 1,590-1,611 and February 2008, pages 787-809; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Archives of Dermatology, May 2008, pages 666-672; Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, 2007, pages 343-357;Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, February 2005, pages 287–295; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; Cosmetics & Toiletries, March 2003, pages 43–52; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73; Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2001, pages 37–40; and The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, March 2000, pages 480-486.

Key Ingredients: licorice extract, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, palmitoyl oligopeptide, vitamin E, Glycine soja seed extract, Punica granatum extract, chamomile, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, antioxidant, skin-repairing ingredients, soy oil, retinol, Camellia oleifera, cell-communicating ingredients, adenosine , pomegranate extract, ceramide 3, licorice root, squalane, glycerin, green tea, Glycine soja oil, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, soy extract, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, shea butter

Product Ingredients:

Water, Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Ethylhexyl Stearate (thickener), Cocoglycerides (emollient), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (antioxidant emollient), Squalane (emollient), Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming agent), Lecithin, Adenosine, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredients), Ceramide 3 (skin-identical ingredient), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tocopheryl Acetate (antioxidants), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Oil (antioxidants), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, (film-forming agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer should be used as part of your daily skincare routine including cleansing, toning, using an AHA or BHA exfoliant, and Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. During the daytime, be sure to follow with a foundation rated with an SPF 15 or greater or follow with a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater. Works beautifully as your eye or neck cream.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How is the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer different from the other retinol products Paula's Choice offers?

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is a light cream designed for those concerned with wrinkles and signs of aging. Combining retinol, peptides, ceramides, and antioxidants, this moisturizer is perfect for normal to dry skin types (or even those with combination skin that leans a bit toward dry).

The percentage of retinol needed for efficacy is generally between 0.01% and 1%, which is quite a range, but further proof of just how powerful retinol is! For more on percentages of retinol in Paula’s Choice products, see our article Which Strength of Retinol Do I Need?

All of these products may be used with Resist Barrier Repair or on their own, as each treats skin to a beneficial range of anti-aging ingredients.

My skin is dry. Which moisturizer do you recommend?

Several Paula's Choice moisturizers would work well for you. Choosing the perfect moisturizer has a lot to do with personal preference and trying a product to determine which one works best on your skin. A good place to start, especially if signs of aging are a concern, is with our Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer. If you want a richer texture, try our Moisture Boost Hydrating Treatment Cream or Skin Recovery Moisturizer. It is also helpful to use our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum or Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum in combination with (on top of or underneath) any moisturizer you apply. You may also wish to treat your dry skin to frequent applications of our Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask.

Do I need to use a serum with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Ideally, yes. Although Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains an excellent blend of antioxidants, it is a good idea to pair it with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum for enhanced results. When it comes to antioxidant and topical application to skin, more is generally better! By combining Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum, you're treating skin to an even more extraordinary combination of ingredients that help you look younger and Resist signs of aging.

Which Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for use with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Generally, we recommend pairing Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. However, our Skin Recovery or Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrates are also options. Those with normal to very dry skin may want to consider our Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. If you have normal to oily/combination skin, consider our Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate Serum. All skin types can use Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. This serum is the one to choose if you only want one of your anti-aging skincare products to supply retinol (Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum does not contain retinol). It is also an option to use one Antioxidant Concentrate as part of your morning routine and another version for evening. Samples are available so you can experiment and see which formula works best with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer and your skin.

Is Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this moisturizer will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.355 11/26/2014 9:07:07 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off + FREE Shipping on Everything   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.