Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Wave goodbye, wrinkles. This light moisturizer with retinol smoothes out skin, reduces fine lines and leaves skin looking and acting younger.
Item #: 761
  • Anti-Aging, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Retinol makes skin look younger
  • Antioxidants stimulate collagen production

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 308 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 13 Next »
  1. Heather P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Wonderful!
    • I have used this product for about 2 years and it has never failed me. I have aging skin that is blemish prone, this moisturizer calms my skin. I would do without it!!

  2. Cristina Z. (Montreal)
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I am 29, first wrinkles, combination skin, with all the package (dry, red patches, blackhead) and this product was amazing. In one week the dry obvious wrinkles are gone, the face is luminous, hydrated, healthy. I can tell the cream IS tacking care of my skin. I am applying it for the night and the effect is obvious, I look my self in the mirror from hour to hour, because I can't believe that this is true - I have a healthy perfect skin in one week!

  3. GG
    Reviewed on Monday, August 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Really like this, but it doesn't go very far
    • While I really like this, it doesn't go very far. I feel like I am always running out, and now I am looking for a PM moisturizer to supplement and stretch my dollars. I use RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment 5% AHA every night, which is also 1.7 oz, and that seems to last much longer than this when I get both at the same time. I either need this to be twice as much for about the same price or I need to find something else to alternate with it (like Skin Recovery moisturizer or Moisture Boost).

  4. SHERRI H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Product
    • This night cream is by far among the best on the market. Don't let the affordable price fool you, this is truly top of the line. It is increadibly smooth and you only need a small amount to go a long way. I was really pleasently surprised!!

  5. Jenn B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very Good Even For Oily Skin!
    • I have oily skin prone to breakouts and this retinol formulation works great on my skin. Not to heavy or oily. I have tried the Resist Retinol Serum and it's just too greasy. The Barrier Repair just sinks into my skin without me waking up with greasy skin. It works better for me in the fall/winter/spring then I switch to Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol. I like that neither of them have niacinimide in them because it causes horrible flushing of my skin.

  6. Monica S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another HOME RUN!
    • I can't say enough about this! I have just received my OODLES of samples, and my head is spinning. I can not believe how fantastic each of these products are. I have my new skin care regimen for life - Paula's Choice. So many fantastic products - thank you all, customers, for your reviews which helped me choose my products (samples for now). Thanks to PC Customer Service too for their exceptional advice, quick and accurate! I trust them hands down.

  7. MELISSA N.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lovely stuff
    • I mix about five pumps of this with a few drops of the light antioxidant serum, and it's enough to cover my face and neck as well as a bit on the backs of my hands. I love how well my skin looks feels afterwards. It's even gentle enough to work on my eyelids.

  8. catherine t.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    amazing
    • This is a amazing moisturizer that goes on fairly thin not like heavy creams but amazingly does the job. My face is sooooooo soft in the morning and its been years since I thought that. I have never had problems using retinoids of any kind so this seems gentle. Just a truly amazing line of skin care that is reasonable in price and does what it says it does!!!!!

  9. LF
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Beautiful, light weight texture
    • I’m on my 4th bottle. My skin can tolerate the small amount of retinol, with no irritation. It’s lovely and creamy in texture and absorbs completely. It leaves a nice silky feeling on my skin. I've tried so many moisturizers over the years, but I’m sticking with this one.

  10. Adrienne J.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally, retinol products I can use!
    • I've wanted to use retinols for years because in spite of religious sunscreen use since my 30s, there was plenty of damage done before that and it shows. I tried many products but they all burned and irritated my skin far too much. But this! This is light, smooth, and very gentle. I use it over a serum since it's too light on its own for my very dry skin, but in combination with RESIST Super Antioxidant Serum every night, it's perfect, and my skin has never looked better.

  11. CHRISTINA W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT
    • I've only used this once, fifteen minutes ago...but I LOVE it! It soaked in fast, but not so fast you can't distribute it. No irritation, no foul smell, no 'residue' feeling, no shine created. Soaked in well while still leaving my skin soft and happy :-)

  12. Nikolai K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great! silky smooth!!!
    • I have typical combination skin! Which is very sensitive! With a very dry eye area. Lovely moisturiser just the right level of moisture for my entire face area except around my eyes!so just need to layer something a little more on top! Doesn't feel to oily for my t-zone area! Loving waking up to healthy looking skin every morning after i use this along with many other of Paula's products! Thank you Paula and your entire team for changing my skin for the better forever!!!!

  13. CAROL M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice around the eyes
    • While this is geared to dry skin and mine is oily, I use it around my eyes. This product does not have any of the three ingredients, Cyclopentasiloxane, Niacinamide and sorbic acid, to which my skin reacts. I like this a lot!

  14. Minh N
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic even on COMBO/oily skin
    • I have Combo/Oily Dehydrated skin (wonderful right?) & this product is AH-MAZING. I've had flaky skin ever since this past "winter" in H-town & spent no less than $400 on SKII, Bobbi Brown, and Caudalie products in VAIN to re-balance my skin. I started using this moisturizer along with the Skin Balancing line & FLAKES ARE GONE. THANK YOU GO--- I mean THANK YOU, PAULA ;). I highly recommend the tinted moisturizer for those of you suffering the same as I did & couldn't wear their usual foundation.

  15. Sally G.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 29, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Burning red cheeks
    • I had spoken to a representative with regards to my skin type (combination, sensitive skin) but i needed something a little richer for night moisturizing as the Skin Balancing Night Gel was a little lighter than i wanted; as i am 40 and want to prevent any further aging (one can hope?!). Thankfully i had only ordered samples as i had an instant bad reaction to the product. My cheeks went bright red and had a burning sensation on the cheekbones. I don't know if it is the retinol.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! It's tricky to know what the cause may have been; however, it sounds like the combination of treatments was too potent for your skin type. Please contact our Customer Care Department and they will be happy to answer your questions and make alternate product recommendations.
    —Admin
  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • I have oily, dehydrated skin and the Barrier Repair hydrates without adding to the greasy. Noticed a difference from first application. Well worth the money!

  17. Mariah M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Resist Barrier Repair
    • Great product! Goes on smooth and absorbs quickly. I have sensitive skin and have had absolutely no problems with acne or oil skin after use. It's a perfect blend and very light. I've had great results and am very happy with the project. I just ordered two more RESIST products as I've been so happy. Thanks!

  18. Gayle
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • I always used this product before trying the new Resist Retinol Serum. I founds that new serum was too strong so am going back to Barrier Repair. It's gentle enough to use it under my eyes and to alternate with a prescription retinol (Triluma).

  19. Mia
    Reviewed on Monday, February 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great!
    • I was looking for a good retinol product with good other ingredients and this one is it. I used to only use natural stuff until I did realized that is not all about that if I wanted really good skin, a little science is good. I still read ingredients lists and I expect to find only the necessary on the products I pick, I was very pleased to see that amount of natural extracts on a product not labeled as natural. This is great, many beneficial ingredients, little syntethic ones + my skin loves it

  20. Jan C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!
    • I can almost hear my skin say, "Ahhhh!" I'm 41 with the beginnings of age-related dryness and unevenness and ... ahem ... some fine wrinkles. I'm now two weeks into using this moisturizer in combination with the Resist cleanser, toner and Skin Balancing line's 2% BHA liquid. Absolutely luxurious slip that penetrates quickly while leaving my skin soft and radiant. No breakouts. I am so grateful for a moisturizer that delivers and doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

  21. MOLLY R.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    GOOD BUT....
    • I got a sample and really liked the feel of this so I ordered the full size. I usually put the skin recovery moisturizer around my eyes and face at night along with the anti-oxidant serum. After a couple nights with this resist, my face was fine, but my eyes are burning and stinging. I can't use this around my eyes at all. This is the only Paula's Choice product that has bothered my skin in anyway. I guess I will have to stick with the skin recovery.

  22. Tabi
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it of course
    • I love this of course. Like all of Paulas products, it feels wonderful. Hard to pin point which item of the Resist Line is the one who is making my face look and feel amazing! The cleanser?, The Toner?, The AHA Exfoliant System?, Concentrate serum? or The Barrier Repair Moisturizer?. Honestly, I do not know. Maybe one helps another one work or they all work together. Who knows, who cares... What I do know is, by using the entire Resist System, I get compliments from others and I can actually see a difference myself. So, why mess up a good thing? Well worth the money to buy the system! What price can you put on looking and feeling pretty? :) Thanks Paula!

  23. ELIZABETH
    Reviewed on Friday, February 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Light and moisturizing
    • Paired with the Skin Lightening Lotion, my dark spots have faded and my 40s skin looks much more even. This moisturizer is light and sinks in well without stickiness and a little goes a long way. I use it nightly, and it banishes flakiness and smooths out tiny lines. The level of retinol is just enough to make a difference without causing irritation. I've been very pleased with the Resist line and will repurchase.

  24. MARY M.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I started to use this once a week a few months ago, and I definitely notice a difference in my skin. It tingles a little but my skin does seem brighter and smoother since I've started -- and it is mid winter, a time when my skin is usually flaky and dry. Used in combination with other Paula's Choice products, my skin couldn't be happier!

  25. MARY M.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I love this!
    • I used to use Neutrogena Healthy Skin, but have been wanting to switch to good products that are not tested on Animals across the board. Paula's Choice seemed to fit the bill -- and how happy I am to have found this product! I use it faithfully ever night after cleansing, and I am thrilled with the results. It goes on smoothly, and absorbs quickly. This is one item that will be staying in my regimen for years to come!

« Prev Page of 13 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains a unique complex of ingredients proven to remodel your skin by building and preserving collagen, firming skin and protecting against moisture loss. The feather-light, silky texture provides substantial hydration. The active ingredients in the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer are proven to make a visible difference in the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, skin tone, and skin firmness.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is best for those with normal to dry skin. However, because the lightweight, cream texture sets to a satiny finish that won't make skin look or feel greasy, it is also an option for slightly oily or combination skin. All skin types will benefit from the key ingredients that help skin to look its best while Resisting signs of aging.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; and Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Biochemical Pharmacology, December 2008, pages 1,590-1,611 and February 2008, pages 787-809; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Archives of Dermatology, May 2008, pages 666-672; Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, 2007, pages 343-357;Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, February 2005, pages 287–295; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; Cosmetics & Toiletries, March 2003, pages 43–52; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73; Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2001, pages 37–40; and The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, March 2000, pages 480-486.

Key Ingredients: licorice extract, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, palmitoyl oligopeptide, vitamin E, Glycine soja seed extract, Punica granatum extract, chamomile, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, antioxidant, skin-repairing ingredients, soy oil, retinol, Camellia oleifera, cell-communicating ingredients, adenosine , pomegranate extract, ceramide 3, licorice root, squalane, glycerin, green tea, Glycine soja oil, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, soy extract, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, shea butter

Product Ingredients:

Water, Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Ethylhexyl Stearate (thickener), Cocoglycerides (emollient), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (antioxidant emollient), Squalane (emollient), Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming agent), Lecithin, Adenosine, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredients), Ceramide 3 (skin-identical ingredient), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tocopheryl Acetate (antioxidants), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Oil (antioxidants), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, (film-forming agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer should be used as part of your daily skincare routine including cleansing, toning, using an AHA or BHA exfoliant, and Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. During the daytime, be sure to follow with a foundation rated with an SPF 15 or greater or follow with a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater. Works beautifully as your eye or neck cream.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How is the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer different from the other Paula's Choice facial moisturizers?

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is a state-of-the-art formula specifically designed to address the advanced needs of those concerned with wrinkles and signs of aging. Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer has more antioxidants, a greater range of emollients (including several ingredients that mimic the structure and function of healthy skin) and higher levels of proven cell-communicating ingredients that work to boost collagen production. Its silky texture provides the moisture normal to dry skin needs without feeling thick, heavy, or occlusive. Despite the advanced nature of this formula, it bears the formulary hallmarks of every Paula's Choice facial moisturizer. All of them are designed to supply skin with what it needs to look and feel its best.

My skin is dry. Which moisturizer do you recommend?

Several Paula's Choice moisturizers would work well for you. Choosing the perfect moisturizer has a lot to do with personal preference and trying a product to determine which one works best on your skin. A good place to start, especially if signs of aging are a concern, is with our Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer. If you want a richer texture, try our Moisture Boost Hydrating Treatment Cream or Skin Recovery Moisturizer. It is also helpful to use our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum or Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum in combination with (on top of or underneath) any moisturizer you apply. You may also wish to treat your dry skin to frequent applications of our Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask.

Do I need to use a serum with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Ideally, yes. Although Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains an excellent blend of antioxidants, it is a good idea to pair it with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum for enhanced results. When it comes to antioxidant and topical application to skin, more is generally better! By combining Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum, you're treating skin to an even more extraordinary combination of ingredients that help you look younger and Resist signs of aging.

Which Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for use with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Generally, we recommend pairing Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. However, our Skin Recovery or Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrates are also options. Those with normal to very dry skin may want to consider our Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. If you have normal to oily/combination skin, consider our Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate Serum. All skin types can use Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. This serum is the one to choose if you only want one of your antiaging skincare products to supply retinol (Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum does not contain retinol). It is also an option to use one Antioxidant Concentrate as part of your morning routine and another version for evening. Samples are available so you can experiment and see which formula works best with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer and your skin.

Is Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this moisturizer will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.330
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.