Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Wave goodbye, wrinkles. This light moisturizer with retinol smooths out skin, reduces fine lines and leaves skin looking and acting younger.
Item #: 761
  • Anti-Aging, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Retinol makes skin look younger
  • Antioxidants stimulate collagen production

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 319 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 13 Next »
  1. Sally G.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 29, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Burning red cheeks
    • I had spoken to a representative with regards to my skin type (combination, sensitive skin) but i needed something a little richer for night moisturizing as the Skin Balancing Night Gel was a little lighter than i wanted; as i am 40 and want to prevent any further aging (one can hope?!). Thankfully i had only ordered samples as i had an instant bad reaction to the product. My cheeks went bright red and had a burning sensation on the cheekbones. I don't know if it is the retinol.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! It's tricky to know what the cause may have been; however, it sounds like the combination of treatments was too potent for your skin type. Please contact our Customer Care Department and they will be happy to answer your questions and make alternate product recommendations.
    —Admin
  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • I have oily, dehydrated skin and the Barrier Repair hydrates without adding to the greasy. Noticed a difference from first application. Well worth the money!

  3. Mariah M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Resist Barrier Repair
    • Great product! Goes on smooth and absorbs quickly. I have sensitive skin and have had absolutely no problems with acne or oil skin after use. It's a perfect blend and very light. I've had great results and am very happy with the project. I just ordered two more RESIST products as I've been so happy. Thanks!

  4. Gayle
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • I always used this product before trying the new Resist Retinol Serum. I founds that new serum was too strong so am going back to Barrier Repair. It's gentle enough to use it under my eyes and to alternate with a prescription retinol (Triluma).

  5. Mia
    Reviewed on Monday, February 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great!
    • I was looking for a good retinol product with good other ingredients and this one is it. I used to only use natural stuff until I did realized that is not all about that if I wanted really good skin, a little science is good. I still read ingredients lists and I expect to find only the necessary on the products I pick, I was very pleased to see that amount of natural extracts on a product not labeled as natural. This is great, many beneficial ingredients, little syntethic ones + my skin loves it

  6. Jan C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!
    • I can almost hear my skin say, "Ahhhh!" I'm 41 with the beginnings of age-related dryness and unevenness and ... ahem ... some fine wrinkles. I'm now two weeks into using this moisturizer in combination with the Resist cleanser, toner and Skin Balancing line's 2% BHA liquid. Absolutely luxurious slip that penetrates quickly while leaving my skin soft and radiant. No breakouts. I am so grateful for a moisturizer that delivers and doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

  7. MOLLY R.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    GOOD BUT....
    • I got a sample and really liked the feel of this so I ordered the full size. I usually put the skin recovery moisturizer around my eyes and face at night along with the anti-oxidant serum. After a couple nights with this resist, my face was fine, but my eyes are burning and stinging. I can't use this around my eyes at all. This is the only Paula's Choice product that has bothered my skin in anyway. I guess I will have to stick with the skin recovery.

  8. Tabi
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it of course
    • I love this of course. Like all of Paulas products, it feels wonderful. Hard to pin point which item of the Resist Line is the one who is making my face look and feel amazing! The cleanser?, The Toner?, The AHA Exfoliant System?, Concentrate serum? or The Barrier Repair Moisturizer?. Honestly, I do not know. Maybe one helps another one work or they all work together. Who knows, who cares... What I do know is, by using the entire Resist System, I get compliments from others and I can actually see a difference myself. So, why mess up a good thing? Well worth the money to buy the system! What price can you put on looking and feeling pretty? :) Thanks Paula!

  9. ELIZABETH
    Reviewed on Friday, February 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Light and moisturizing
    • Paired with the Skin Lightening Lotion, my dark spots have faded and my 40s skin looks much more even. This moisturizer is light and sinks in well without stickiness and a little goes a long way. I use it nightly, and it banishes flakiness and smooths out tiny lines. The level of retinol is just enough to make a difference without causing irritation. I've been very pleased with the Resist line and will repurchase.

  10. MARY M.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I started to use this once a week a few months ago, and I definitely notice a difference in my skin. It tingles a little but my skin does seem brighter and smoother since I've started -- and it is mid winter, a time when my skin is usually flaky and dry. Used in combination with other Paula's Choice products, my skin couldn't be happier!

  11. MARY M.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I love this!
    • I used to use Neutrogena Healthy Skin, but have been wanting to switch to good products that are not tested on Animals across the board. Paula's Choice seemed to fit the bill -- and how happy I am to have found this product! I use it faithfully ever night after cleansing, and I am thrilled with the results. It goes on smoothly, and absorbs quickly. This is one item that will be staying in my regimen for years to come!

  12. L
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    woo-hoo! :D
    • 'Listened to Paula's advice since before she had her own line. I thought I was going to be one of those who just had bad skin throughout my life - one who had blemishes, pink areas, etc. I always felt I had to have makeup on to look okay, feel good about myself. Turns out all I needed was an exfolliant & to clean my skin differently. Years ago, I used an OTC cream she recommended (which since has been discontinued). I thought I was too young or didn't need that. So wrong. That fixed my problem skin. 'Been using this for years now & I'm not about to stop. :) Genes for sure help, but often people think I'm ten to fifteen years younger than I am. Nice! For the record, I like that it isn't a gel. I put a little in the palm of one hand & use fingertips to apply. It is thin, but it doesn't "fall off" your fingertips. You have more control using fingertips & it goes further; & dries faster, too - or so I would think. :) No changes, please. :)

  13. Yingfu T.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best moisturizer ever
    • I quit using other moisturizer after I use this one. This is the BEST. I've already used 3 bottles. I love its texture, not too oily. I can see my pores are smaller. I used to have uneven complexion. My cheeks were whiter than the skin around my mouse and my nose. After 2 bottles, my complexion is more even. Thank you!

  14. Morgan
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING Night Moisturizer
    • I'm a huge fan of using this moisturizer at night to finish off my skincare routine. The pump bottle is perfect for giving me JUST the right amount of lotion and I love the way the product feels on my face. Seriously - my skin feels like silk! One 1.7 oz bottle has lasted me months. It's honestly my favorite nighttime moisturizer and though I've tried others, I keep coming back. I'll definitely be buying this one again and again.

  15. Michigan belle
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love Resist
    • I love this product! Even though I've been using Paula's Choice for years, my skin looks even better with Resist moisturizer. Highly recommend, especially for older skin.

  16. BigA
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointing
    • As I've been using Paula's Choice products for nearly 13 years, I had high expectations of this cream. However, upon applying it, I found myself breaking out on my forehead and other locations where I generally don't get spots. I then took a break from the cream, only to resume using it and finding a breakout again. I followed this pattern about three times before I decided it was the product causing the problem (it was the only new part of my beauty regime). Unfortunately, I hastily ordered TWO bottles, you know, fully expecting to be wowed and able to write a glowing review... Sadly, that wasn't the case. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. Please contact customer care so that we may offer you an in house credit for the product and make suggestions on another option to try.

  17. R
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Mass not for me
    • I have been using Paula's Choice for years...at least 15 if not more I think, and I really wanted to like this moisturizer. For some reason, it always stings. I've tried it multiple times, with different combinations of PC products, and even started fresh bottles, but it is the same every time. I switched to the Anti-aging Clear Skin Hydrator and I love it.

  18. Amanda
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Face Saver!!!
    • I've been using this moisturizer since it first came out and have always wanted to write a review.... I never used to get compliments on my skin until I starting using this product! A few months ago I ran out and was unable to purchase more. GASP! My skin starting looking HORRIBLE- dull, lizard-like, dry and even breakouts!! I finally got my face back after just using it for one day!! It still has some healing to do after all those months, but I noticed a huge difference overnight! I'm never going even a day without this ever again!

  19. Mai
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Nice and light
    • When I woke up the morning after using it for the first time, I immediately saw a difference. My skin felt smoother and softer. This moisturizer feels really light and hydrating. I have combination skin and usually nighttime moisturizer feel very heavy on my skin. I also love that it's gentle enough to use around the eyes. Great product!

  20. Shawndra
    Reviewed on Monday, October 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The moisturizer for me!
    • I used to think that moisturizing = increased oil and pore clogging - that was generally my experience until I found Paula's Choice moisturizers. I tried several good Paula's Choice moisturizers - but when her RESIST line came out I ordered this one. My skin is combination - I have always struggled with oily cheeks and forehead and a very dry chin. This moisturizer (and the other amazing products from Paula's Choice) keep my skin balanced and moisturized. My skin is softer and younger looking. I love the pump dispenser and the fact that I was able to order several samples before settling on the right moisturizer for my skin - this one! I highly recommend this moisturizer!

  21. Stephanie
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    I wanted to like it!
    • I wanted to like this. I got a sample and liked it, but when I ordered the full size bottle, it started breaking me out after about a week. The bottle has gone unused.On a happier note, I love the redness relief and the acne line. Perfect! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care so that we may suggest the best routine of products for you based on your skin type and concerns.

  22. Kathy
    Reviewed on Friday, September 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is the Best!!!!!!!
    • I cannot begin to express my delight with this product. I am now on my 3rd bottle and my skin has never looked better. Everyone I meet is amazed at how great my skin looks. I am in my 40's and there are no visible signs of wrinkles and the discoloration I had due to the occasional pimple is no more. Thank you Paula; I just wish your products were readily available in the Caribbean...hint, hint! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will certainly pass along your comments and feedback to Paula! Please contact customer care with any questions.

  23. Quynh
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 09, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not moisturizing
    • I really wanted to like this product but it's not moisturizing enough for my dry skin. My skin still felt dry after I put it on. I bought this as a part of the Resist set. I will not be buying another bottle. I'm going to try the skin recovery night time moisturizer instead. Hopefully that will work better. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear this product was not moisturizing enough for you. The Skin Recovery products are great for dry to very dry skin. In addition to a moisturizer you also want to be sure and use a well formulated gentle leave on exfoliant to allow your products to absorb better and your skin to hold on to its own moisture. Please contact customer care so that we may discuss your skin care routine and arrange for samples to be sent.

  24. Sheila
    Reviewed on Friday, September 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    like this
    • Really like this moisturizer. It's made a difference in my skin. It looks so much smoother and I even put this on top of the bp and the combo keeps my skin clear. They changed the 1% BHA lotion which made the biggest difference to my skin but now I at least have this and it's working really well. Please don't change the formula!

  25. Maria
    Reviewed on Friday, August 24, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome dry weather retinol moisturizer!
    • I use this most of the year at night. . . not so much this August. This moisturizer is not greasy and great to use around the eyes (doesn't burn). I'll probably order some more this winter. Only need RESIST toner & the RESIST retinol serum in the summer. I have extremely sensitive reactive skin (Hispanic & white) and none of the RESIST retinol products bother me.

« Prev Page of 13 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains a unique complex of ingredients proven to remodel your skin by building and preserving collagen, firming skin and protecting against moisture loss. The feather-light, silky texture provides substantial hydration. The active ingredients in the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer are proven to make a visible difference in the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, skin tone, and skin firmness.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is best for those with normal to dry skin. However, because the lightweight, cream texture sets to a satiny finish that won't make skin look or feel greasy, it is also an option for slightly oily or combination skin. All skin types will benefit from the key ingredients that help skin to look its best while Resisting signs of aging.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; and Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Biochemical Pharmacology, December 2008, pages 1,590-1,611 and February 2008, pages 787-809; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Archives of Dermatology, May 2008, pages 666-672; Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, 2007, pages 343-357;Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, February 2005, pages 287–295; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; Cosmetics & Toiletries, March 2003, pages 43–52; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73; Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2001, pages 37–40; and The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, March 2000, pages 480-486.

Key Ingredients: licorice extract, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, palmitoyl oligopeptide, vitamin E, Glycine soja seed extract, Punica granatum extract, chamomile, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, antioxidant, skin-repairing ingredients, soy oil, retinol, Camellia oleifera, cell-communicating ingredients, adenosine , pomegranate extract, ceramide 3, licorice root, squalane, glycerin, green tea, Glycine soja oil, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, soy extract, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, shea butter

Product Ingredients:

Water, Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Ethylhexyl Stearate (thickener), Cocoglycerides (emollient), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (antioxidant emollient), Squalane (emollient), Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming agent), Lecithin, Adenosine, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredients), Ceramide 3 (skin-identical ingredient), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tocopheryl Acetate (antioxidants), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Oil (antioxidants), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, (film-forming agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer should be used as part of your daily skincare routine including cleansing, toning, using an AHA or BHA exfoliant, and Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. During the daytime, be sure to follow with a foundation rated with an SPF 15 or greater or follow with a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater. Works beautifully as your eye or neck cream.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How is the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer different from the other retinol products Paula's Choice offers?

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is a light cream designed for those concerned with wrinkles and signs of aging. Combining retinol, peptides, ceramides, and antioxidants, this moisturizer is perfect for normal to dry skin types (or even those with combination skin that leans a bit toward dry).

The percentage of retinol needed for efficacy is generally between 0.01% and 1%, which is quite a range, but further proof of just how powerful retinol is! For more on percentages of retinol in Paula’s Choice products, see our article Which Strength of Retinol Do I Need?

All of these products may be used with Resist Barrier Repair or on their own, as each treats skin to a beneficial range of anti-aging ingredients.

My skin is dry. Which moisturizer do you recommend?

Several Paula's Choice moisturizers would work well for you. Choosing the perfect moisturizer has a lot to do with personal preference and trying a product to determine which one works best on your skin. A good place to start, especially if signs of aging are a concern, is with our Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer. If you want a richer texture, try our Moisture Boost Hydrating Treatment Cream or Skin Recovery Moisturizer. It is also helpful to use our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum or Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum in combination with (on top of or underneath) any moisturizer you apply. You may also wish to treat your dry skin to frequent applications of our Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask.

Do I need to use a serum with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Ideally, yes. Although Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains an excellent blend of antioxidants, it is a good idea to pair it with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum for enhanced results. When it comes to antioxidant and topical application to skin, more is generally better! By combining Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum, you're treating skin to an even more extraordinary combination of ingredients that help you look younger and Resist signs of aging.

Which Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for use with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Generally, we recommend pairing Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. However, our Skin Recovery or Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrates are also options. Those with normal to very dry skin may want to consider our Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. If you have normal to oily/combination skin, consider our Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate Serum. All skin types can use Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. This serum is the one to choose if you only want one of your anti-aging skincare products to supply retinol (Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum does not contain retinol). It is also an option to use one Antioxidant Concentrate as part of your morning routine and another version for evening. Samples are available so you can experiment and see which formula works best with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer and your skin.

Is Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this moisturizer will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 4:51:28 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.