Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Wave goodbye, wrinkles. This light moisturizer with retinol smooths out skin, reduces fine lines and leaves skin looking and acting younger.
Item #: 761
  • Anti-Aging, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Retinol makes skin look younger
  • Antioxidants stimulate collagen production

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 320 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 13 Next »
  1. Ann O.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 09, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Breaks me out bad!
    • Within the first couple of days of using this moisturizer, sudden breakouts on my chin, cheeks, and forehead. I do not break out - I have very dry skin however. This didn't do much for my dry skin PLUS made me break out. To make matters worse, my husband also tried it for few days and he broke out bad as well. Previously before this I used the PC serum and it worked so wonderfully for me...but not thi

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, June 09, 2014

    Hi Ann! We're sorry the RESIST Barrier Repair wasn't a fit for you! Please contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  2. Marissa C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    believer!
    • I first tried this when oaualss was offering free trial sizes a while back. Because the idea of retinol made me uneasy due to skin sensitivity etc It sat it the cabinet until I was low on moisturiser. Tried it before bed and woke up to a whole new face. Less reddness, less wrinkles and one really satisfied customer. Will probably continue to use just at night due to price but so glad I found this!

  3. Kelly T
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Noticed difference after one day
    • I tried this product at night and was pretty surprised to feel like it made a difference by the next day. The texture of my skin felt great, and I've been getting lots of unsolicited compliments on my skin. It goes on easy and isn't too greasy. Moisturizes well enough to last through the day. I feel like my skin just soaks it up. I use it with a cleanser, toner, and 2% BHA liquid. I've ordered my second bottle of this, and my partner has started using it too after seeing my results.

  4. Lauren C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Total Holy Grail product!
    • I have very dry, very sensitive skin and eczema. I use the Skin Recovery cleanser and toner, but wasn't wowed by the moisturizer. Then I tried my mom's Barrier Repair and loved it so much she gave me her bottle. It made my skin look better from the first application. It evens tone like Estée Lauder's Idealist, a benefit I hadn't expected. And it doesn't irritate my skin! My skin so improved that I can wear foundation for the first time in years.

  5. Alotta Pitts
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Solid product but I prefer another Paula item.
    • I like this but it isn't anywhere near my favorite Paula item nor is it my favorite in the anti-wrinkle area. I like the Resist anti-aging clear skin hydrator product much more. This just didn't feel as nice to me and felt a little oily. Can't have that. Due to the cost of Paula's product, I suggest you try the samples to find the magic combination of products for your skin. Happy I only ordered a sample of this.

  6. P G.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic product
    • Well worth the money on this & a great cream. I love this at night, as it hydrates my skin & I feel plumped in the morning. I truly have noticed my fine lines diminishing & overall my skin is looking nicer, calmer, more nourished but is not making my oily areas any oilier. I love P.C products. Great cream for my age group of 30s, those looking for something balanced & effective!

  7. lois p.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome!
    • My daughter had a lot of redness and scarring from acne breakouts. One of your representatives recommended this product and since I was using it we decided to give it a try. At first we were a bit unsure because this product is a part of my anti- ageing program and she is only 20 years old. But we were amazed. The redness is almost gone! She smiles now when she looks in the mirror. All I can say is THANK YOU!

  8. WENDY C.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE IT!
    • best ever! I love this, goes on beautifully, great under make-up. My favourite for my 40 year old skin. Wish it came in a bigger size!!

  9. KELLEY A.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful!
    • This is a fabulous product and I love how it makes my skin look and feel. Well formulated and packed with excellent ingredients, I will continue to purchase this one!

  10. Paula W.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I am so happy I found this product
    • I started using this moisturizer about 3.5 weeks ago. I am so impressed with the results. I have never been able to tolerate retinol products. This one is the exception. My skin is softer, smoother, firmer. I am noticing that some of my fine lines have all but disappeared. I can even use this around my eyes with no problem. That has been unheard of for me. I am a newcomer to Paula's Choice products. Love the fact that I could get samples. That's how I found I could tolerate this. Thanks!

  11. Constance P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow. Just ... wow, part deux
    • Fast forward to a month ago: after getting a sample of PC RESIST moisturizer, I was HOOKED. I'd pooh-poohed her products for so long, believing that a line so inexpensive and not hawked by celebs had to be crap. I sincerely wish that I could reverse time and use Paula's amazing ~ and backed by REAL SCIENCE ~ products all along. In only a week or so, my skin is brighter, more toned, MUCH less "wrinkly" and HEALTHY. I look at LEAST 10 years younger. Paula, you ROCK. I am a covert! {heart}

  12. Constance P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow. Just ... wow
    • I'm 46, a former smoker, former sun worshiper (what's sunscreen?!) and have only been giving a damn about my skin for about a year. I woke up one day, after a long, stressful, arduous year of being dx'd with MS to find that my skin MORE than showed it. In utter panic (and depression) I tried super expensive products to try to regain my youth. I'd easily blow $200 a shopping trip ~ and my bank accounts showed it.

  13. Caitlin A.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product for my combo skin!
    • Been using as part of my nighttime routine and love it! I have severe combo skin and my chin was a red, itchy, blotchy, dry mess from winter. Putting this on at night and in the morning with my day time moisturizer helped clear it up within a week! My only issue with the product so far has been the pump. It has been tending to get clogged and customer service helped get it working, but it still tends to clog.

  14. MEREDITH A.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    OMG!
    • I just got this product the other day, and used it for the first time last night. When I went in the bathroom this morning, I glanced in the mirror to see how my face looked. OMG! It looked so much better! I couldn't believe it. I have been feeling sad about getting crow's feet , and they have practically disappeared . My skin also looks smoother and more radiant, too! Thank you, Paula!

  15. Hadassah G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Worth a try, even for sensitive skin
    • I was really worried my skin would react badly to the retinol in this. I have sensitive skin with rosacea. However,y skin looks and feels great after using this for a few weeks. I can even use it over my 8?AHA gel, which sometimes leaves me a bit red.

  16. Jennifer B.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 14, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not for everyone
    • The texture and slip of this product is wonderful! That being said, I believe I have come to the conclusion that retinol, no matter how "gentle" the formula is claimed, is just simply not for everyone. I apply it in the evening, immediately turn red and a bit itchy exactly where applied and wake with tightness/itchiness no moisturizer relieves. Back to my CeraVe and BHA9 for the time being I guess!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 14, 2014

    Hi Jennifer! We're sorry the RESIST Barrier Repair wasn't a fit for you! It is true that no product will work for everyone, but we're glad you have an alternative that you're happy with.  Please contact Customer Care for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  17. Mindy
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome product!
    • The RESIST Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol is absolutely awesome! I had been using the RESIST anti-oxidant serum faithfully and decided to see if I could kick it up a notch. This product did not disappoint. Here's the key: use it consistently twice a day. Once you've used it for a couple of weeks, you'll truly see the results and be hooked!

  18. Stephanie
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Retinol Product
    • Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is a very smooth, silky feeling creamy/lotion. It is scentless and glides on with good coverage, then penetrates into skin leaving a moist but not greasy finish on your face. The retinol does not sting my skin and I definitely notice that my skin is more smooth and clear in the morning. Overall the best retinol product I have used so far.

  19. LESLIE
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Sticking With It
    • While the retinol in this product initially irritated the more sensitive areas around my eyes, I decided to stick with it and am glad I did. My skin is adjusting, and benefitting. I have rosacea, and tend to break out on my chin and cheeks, and get in-grown hairs on my cheeks (ahhh: the joys of aging..), but this product seems to be helping. My skin tone looks more even, and firm. I use this with a hydrating toner, which helped with the initial irritation.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 07, 2014

    Hi there! We're glad that the RESIST Barrier Repair is working well for you! However, be sure to monitor your skin's response, and let us know if we may be of assistance (just email our Customer Care Team with any questions). 

    —Admin
  20. ELIZABETH T.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    A rare PC product that didn't work for me
    • I LOVE Paula Choice products and have never, until now, run across one that didn't agree with me. However, after using this moisturizer for just 2-3 days my face became very red and itchy. I'm sure it's a great product. It just didn't work for me. Paula's Choice customer service was great and immediately send me the Skin Recovery Moisturizer that I typically use (and love) at no charge. I'm a lifelong Paula's Choice fan!

  21. Gen
    Reviewed on Monday, January 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I've finally found the perfect moisturiser
    • I have tried many, many moisturisers in my 40 years and this is by far the best I've ever used. It glides on easily and absorbs beautifully, leaving my skin feeling so soft and smooth. It seems to really suit my combo skin and provides the right amount of hydration - no dry patches and no breakouts! It even performs better than the really expensive, quality brands that I've tried. Fantastic product and great value for money.

  22. PEGGY W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    New pump- yay!!!
    • Thanks you, thank you, thank you for changing the pump on this one!!! Ive been using this moisturizer for years and I love it but didn't love the old pump. Keep up the good work PC!!!

  23. Habiba
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Yes!
    • At 57, this is one of the rare products resulting in change so positive that people have commented on my beautiful skin. I've a lifetime of combination skin with large pores, a tendency to redness and irritation, and seasonal dryness resulting in flaking. Finally, its all under control! A few people have even accused me of having had a surgery or 'something done'. I use the Resist line with Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid and an occasional Skin Recovery Hydrating Mask. Thank you!

  24. Margaret S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Early Review
    • I have been using this moisturizer for 2 weeks now. So far, it is doing a great job. It is moisturizing without being greasy. The pump does not seem to be an issue so far as others have mentioned but this is my early stage review. Its hard to say if this is making a big difference but I believe it is supporting the research in my opinion based on the combined usage of the other PC products I have been using for much longer. This includes the Retinol Serum and Vitamin C booster.

  25. Victoria G
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Product
    • This product gives me very noticeable results. Others have noticed the difference in my skin as well. Finally, skin care products that live up to the claims!

« Prev Page of 13 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains a unique complex of ingredients proven to remodel your skin by building and preserving collagen, firming skin and protecting against moisture loss. The feather-light, silky texture provides substantial hydration. The active ingredients in the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer are proven to make a visible difference in the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, skin tone, and skin firmness.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is best for those with normal to dry skin. However, because the lightweight, cream texture sets to a satiny finish that won't make skin look or feel greasy, it is also an option for slightly oily or combination skin. All skin types will benefit from the key ingredients that help skin to look its best while Resisting signs of aging.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; and Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Biochemical Pharmacology, December 2008, pages 1,590-1,611 and February 2008, pages 787-809; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Archives of Dermatology, May 2008, pages 666-672; Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology, 2007, pages 343-357;Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, February 2005, pages 287–295; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; Cosmetics & Toiletries, March 2003, pages 43–52; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73; Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2001, pages 37–40; and The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, March 2000, pages 480-486.

Key Ingredients: licorice extract, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, palmitoyl oligopeptide, vitamin E, Glycine soja seed extract, Punica granatum extract, chamomile, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, antioxidant, skin-repairing ingredients, soy oil, retinol, Camellia oleifera, cell-communicating ingredients, adenosine , pomegranate extract, ceramide 3, licorice root, squalane, glycerin, green tea, Glycine soja oil, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, soy extract, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, shea butter

Product Ingredients:

Water, Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Ethylhexyl Stearate (thickener), Cocoglycerides (emollient), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (antioxidant emollient), Squalane (emollient), Sodium Polyacrylate (film-forming agent), Lecithin, Adenosine, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredients), Ceramide 3 (skin-identical ingredient), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tocopheryl Acetate (antioxidants), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Oil (antioxidants), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, (film-forming agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer should be used as part of your daily skincare routine including cleansing, toning, using an AHA or BHA exfoliant, and Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. During the daytime, be sure to follow with a foundation rated with an SPF 15 or greater or follow with a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater. Works beautifully as your eye or neck cream.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How is the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer different from the other retinol products Paula's Choice offers?

Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer is a light cream designed for those concerned with wrinkles and signs of aging. Combining retinol, peptides, ceramides, and antioxidants, this moisturizer is perfect for normal to dry skin types (or even those with combination skin that leans a bit toward dry).

The percentage of retinol needed for efficacy is generally between 0.01% and 1%, which is quite a range, but further proof of just how powerful retinol is! For more on percentages of retinol in Paula’s Choice products, see our article Which Strength of Retinol Do I Need?

All of these products may be used with Resist Barrier Repair or on their own, as each treats skin to a beneficial range of anti-aging ingredients.

My skin is dry. Which moisturizer do you recommend?

Several Paula's Choice moisturizers would work well for you. Choosing the perfect moisturizer has a lot to do with personal preference and trying a product to determine which one works best on your skin. A good place to start, especially if signs of aging are a concern, is with our Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer. If you want a richer texture, try our Moisture Boost Hydrating Treatment Cream or Skin Recovery Moisturizer. It is also helpful to use our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum or Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum in combination with (on top of or underneath) any moisturizer you apply. You may also wish to treat your dry skin to frequent applications of our Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask.

Do I need to use a serum with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Ideally, yes. Although Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer contains an excellent blend of antioxidants, it is a good idea to pair it with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum for enhanced results. When it comes to antioxidant and topical application to skin, more is generally better! By combining Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with our Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum, you're treating skin to an even more extraordinary combination of ingredients that help you look younger and Resist signs of aging.

Which Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for use with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer?

Generally, we recommend pairing Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. However, our Skin Recovery or Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrates are also options. Those with normal to very dry skin may want to consider our Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. If you have normal to oily/combination skin, consider our Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate Serum. All skin types can use Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. This serum is the one to choose if you only want one of your anti-aging skincare products to supply retinol (Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum does not contain retinol). It is also an option to use one Antioxidant Concentrate as part of your morning routine and another version for evening. Samples are available so you can experiment and see which formula works best with Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer and your skin.

Is Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this moisturizer will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.358 12/20/2014 3:00:51 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.