Items you may also like

Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25

Protect your skin from the telltale signs of sun damage like brown spots and wrinkles. Go ahead, smooth and brighten while you're at it.
Item #: 768
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Ideal for very sensitive or rosacea-affected skin

Expiration Date 3/2016

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

75 out of 100
(Based on 286 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 12 Next »
  1. Christine
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Favorite eye SPF, but not my favorite face SPF
    • Thanks to the reviewer who recommended this as an SPF eye moisturizer. I love it for that! I used to you eye-specific SPF creams from expensive booths at the department store, but I like this way better. It's also a way better value. That said, I don't love it as a whole-face SPF moisturizer. I don't like the white cast it leaves. For my whole face, I love the "Extra Care Non-Greasy SPF 50."

  2. Irene P
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE MOISTURIZER EVER!
    • Everyone has different skin and this product more than works for me & far exceeded my expectations. I have a sensitivity to SPF products so I never expected this to work but it is GREAT! My 57-year old highly sensitive very dry skin looks better than it has in 10 years. My husband said my skin looks "healthy". Red is completely gone, brown spots fading (didn't expect that), texture is better & old acne scars seem less noticable. May not work for others but for me this is a miracle. THANK YOU!!

  3. Dimitri P.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Nice moisturizer but filmy and tacky
    • I used this as part of the RESIST 5-Step system. I like that it is mineral-based and has anti-aging ingredients. I found that it moisturized just fine. It did leave a bit of a white cast but this dissipated within an hour or so. However a major turn-off for me was that it was thick, a bit difficult to spread, and left an unpleasant filmy, tacky sheen to my face and made my combination/dryish skin oily. I'm going to switch to something lighter.

  4. MERIDITH
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 06, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Update to "Great for dry sensitive skin!"
    • I've finished my first tube and am into my 2nd - there's a definite difference in texture! My second tube feels more sunscreen-y and heavy, slower to absorb. The first tube felt more whipped and mousse-like & seemed to absorb faster. Still like it, but liked the lighter-feeling first tube better. Original Review: "I like the texture-not too thick- it applies & absorbs well."

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Sunday, July 07, 2013
    Thank you for your review. We have not reformulated this product so the difference in texture you noted may have more to do with the time of year. Some people definitely feel that they need to switch to something lighter in the hotter, more humid summer months. Please contact our Customer Care team and they would be happy to make an alternate product recommendation!
    —Admin
  5. M. Vos
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 29, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Does not absorb
    • Not what I had hoped for. Lays on top of my face and does not absorb into my skin. My face feels greasy all day long. Also, does not spread out well, white glow on face. Disappointing, I had wanted a moisturizer with SPF for summer use for days when I don't put on my foundation with SPF. Sad this is not working out :(

  6. CHRISTA C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    My Go-To Daily Moisturizer!
    • I love this stuff! It does everything it says it will & feels wonderful on my skin. I have combo skin: dry in spots (forehead) and oily on my cheeks. It's not too greasy for my cheeks & not too drying for my forehead. Plus, it has SPF, so I use it year-round on my face, neck, chest, & around the eyes. I see some people have complained about the packaging--mostly it seems that people don't like the extra bit that comes out when you turn the lid closed. I just use that on my eyes. No waste. :)

  7. Mary Ann
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product
    • I love this product. I have used it everyday since it came out and it is wonderful. It does have a slight whitish tint to it but it makes my skin glow under my makeup. Even without makeup, I get positive comments on my complexion. Thanks again.

  8. Beth V
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    delicious and creamy
    • Loved Paula's earlier pure mineral sunscreen. This feels and acts a lot like it, and I am grateful!

  9. catherine t.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love this
    • Initially upon using it the first time it seemed like it made my face somewhat light almost white however, after a few minutes it absorbs in and makes applying my makeup a breeze!!!! I adore this entire line and it has made such a difference in my skin.

  10. GAIL M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best ever for me !
    • I have worn every facial sun bloc available over the years (many) and this is the very best for my very dry- super sensitive , rosacea prone, older skin. Very gentle and effective-even for golf days! Never stop making this one Paula . Put it on early and wait a bit . Perfection.

  11. Carol B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 11, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed...not what I needed
    • I love Paula's Choice products. Very good quality and quantity and prices. But this moisturizer for some reason disappointed me. I tried it for a month on two diffferent times. Found my way back to my go-to moisturizer. It stayed on my face on the heavy side. Makeup looked heavy over it. Then certain wrinkles came back. I realized it was not absorbing into MY skin. I have very dry skin and live in the northern climate. Maybe another moisturizer will do.

  12. JAIME
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 11, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Feels like a mask
    • I've used Paula's Choice products for many years with great results but this one, unfortantly, is not for me. This product does not sink into my skin (unlike other mineral SPF products from her line) and feels like a heavy layer almost like I've applied a facial mask. I've opted to use it as a hand cream/body SPF and will not be re-ordering.

  13. Y. H.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 10, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I really want to like this product but it just wasn't that good for me. Pros: - SPF. It's always nice to have that in a day cream - moisturize well Cons: - there is this whiteness/shine from the cream that require serious rubbing to get rid of it - feel like something is sitting on my skin and not getting absorbed. Not a comfortable feeling. - not the most practical packaging. I don't like wiping the cap to get all the product I just squeezed out.

  14. RHONDA T.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 10, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Resist Cell Defense Daily Moist SPF25
    • My biggest complaint is the way it dispenses .Unused moisturizer is left on the tube top and mixes in with a new application the next day. Also where the unused portion remains is also the end that sits on the counter. To me it seems very unsanitary. I generally like Paula's products but not this one.

  15. Carol B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 06, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Like using Desitin
    • I have very dry skin . Especially during the winter months I need a good moisturizer. I started with Paula's Resist set in January and love most of it. This moisturizer was wrong for me. It was very heavy. I tried to be sparse with it but I still had a heavy greasy look. I would give it 30 minutes before putting on my makeup and it was still greasy and heavy. After using it for several weeks I noticed no moisturizing benefit. I changed to my previous moisturizer and like the recovery a.m. crem

  16. Lisa D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 04, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    The Good, No Bad, But Kinda Ugly
    • I have dry, sensitive, BROWN rosacea skin. This moisturizes well and doesn't burn or irritate. But that bluish-white chalky cast is terrible. I hope Paula can come out with a finer and more sheer version of this terrific sunscreen someday. In the meantime, the ghost-face effect can be minimized by warming my hands first, then rubbing it in very well, then gently remove excess w/ a cloth. There are certain times when protection is more important than being cute so no flash photography!

  17. TANIA B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Too heavy for combination skin
    • I chose neutral as my rating as I'm wondering if I simply chose the wrong product for my combination skin. I do have combo in the true sense, though perhaps not dry enough. The lotion was VERY moisturizing but too much so for me. It is a very thick lotion, leaving a white cast, and it stayed greasy on my face all day, so makeup was a no-go until the next morning. I've also started breaking out which is not of the norm for my skin.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    Thank you for your review and we are sorry that this product wasn't the best fit for you. This formula was not designed for combination skin and we agree that because of this it is not the best option for you. If you are seeking a moisturizer with SPF that is appropriate for combination skin types we recommend the Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense SPF 30 or the Moisture Boost SPF 30. Another option would be our Hydralight Shine-Free Daily Mineral Complex SPF 30 that will debut on our web site next month!
    —Admin
  18. Sonya S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 23, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • Didn't like it! Left a white mess on my face and felt very greasy on my combination skin. May be good for areas other than the face. Even with my pale skin the white residue was very noticeable.

  19. WILLA
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I received three Resist Moisturizer sample packets today and just tried one..goes on nice and smooth, my face feels supple, so far I love it! I've tried all the other moisturizers with SPF and they were too thick, think I've finally found one for my dry skin.

  20. LORENA R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 18, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Good protection but dewey feeling all day
    • I love Paula's products and I tried this product instead of the +50 SPF sunscreen for face and body (I have dry to sensitive skin). I find it applies very nicely, and it is absorbed into the skin, but the dewey feel doesn't go away. I didn't have the same problem with the sunscreen. I won't use it anymore.

  21. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for neck and chest
    • While this moisturizer/sunscreen turns my face into a white, greasy mess, I love it for my neck and chest!! It gives a nice glow and definitely reduces the look of fine lines and wrinkles. Have bought several!!

  22. Wendy
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great for my mostly dry combination skin!
    • I have sensitive skin that does not react well to any chemical sunscreens, whether on my face or body. I usually purchase children's products as they normally use titanium dioxide vs. chemicals. The Resist product is the first sunscreen I've tried that doesn't burn or cause redness. Yes, it is a little thicker, as most mineral-based suncreens are, but it does absorb quickly. I'm just happy this product exists, because without it I'd be skipping sunscreen on my face as I did for years.

  23. Susie
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Too thick
    • I purchased the Resist Collection and this moisturizer was part of the collection. I love the fact that it contains SPF 25 however this is not lightweight nor does it work great under makeup as noted in the description. It is so thick and white and just sits on top of the skin. It makes my foundation look horrible and I even tried a bit of primer. I can feel the heaviness all day.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, May 13, 2013
    Hi there! We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you!The RESIST SPF 25 was designed for drier skin types, which may have been more than your skin could tolerate. However, aesthetics are tricky (we all have our favorite textures). We would recommend contacting our Customer Care Department, as they can absolutely help with a few alternative suggestions, and a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  24. Kelly M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Did not work for me
    • I found this to be a great moisturizer and with my fair skin I was happy it has sunscreen and was hoping that this moisturizer with sunscreen would not bother me. However, apparently it does not matter which product I use on my face if it has sunscreen in it my eyes water and itch and my skin itches terribly. I guess it just does not agree with me, so unfortunately I could not use it. I did give it a good trial of two weeks before I put it away and just use the Resist Barrier Repair instead.

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, May 03, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Bad, really bad
    • This is the worst product I've used in Paula's Choice. And I've tried a lot. It leaves a white streak on my face, even if I've already applied it really thinly. And then, after a couple of hours, I'd feel as if my face has a thick greasy mask and I would wash it off immediately. This is a really really bad product.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 09, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! Be sure to contact our Customer Care Department via phone or email. They would be happy to assist with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
« Prev Page of 12 Next »

What makes this product unique?
This ultra-gentle yet effective formula has a lightweight, silky-cream texture that hydrates and enhances radiance while providing extremely effective mineral-based, broad-spectrum sun protection. It includes potent antioxidants to defend your skin from environmental stressors, allowing the skin to repair itself on a cellular level, and restoring skin's ability to Resist further signs of aging. Used daily, this moisturizer will help reduce wrinkles and brown spots, while rebuilding collagen and improving skin tone.

Fragrance-free, colorant-free, and formulated to work beautifully under makeup. 100% Guaranteed.

Who is this product for?
Resist Cellular Defense SPF 25 is specially formulated for normal to dry or very dry skin skin. It is a gentle mineral sunscreen that is also excellent for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin. The creamy texture is not ideal for oily or oily areas of combination skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer with SPF 25

Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, January 2011, pages 193–199; Collegium Anthropologicum, September 2010, pages 1,145–1,153; Planta Medica, June 2010, pages 869–875; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, 2009 Supplement, pages 19–24; Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2008, pages S149–S154; Pharmazie, January 2008, pages 58-60; International Journal of Pharmaceutics, August 2010, pages 78–83; and October 2007, pages 181–189; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, November-December 2005, pages 253–262; Cutis, September 2004, pages 32–34; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: tocopheryl acetate, squalane, Leontopodium alpinum extract, soy extract, coenzyme Q10, Buddleja davidii extract, sodium hyaluronate, aloe juice, tocopherol, Aloe barbadensis, Thymus vulgaris, Glycine soja seed extract, titanium dioxide, thyme extract, ubiquinone, vitamin E, antioxidant, glycerin, oryzanol

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 8%; Other Ingredients: Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 8%; Other Ingredients: Water, Tribehenin PEG-20 Esters (skin conditioning agent/thickener), Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate (silicone slip agents), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Caprylyl Methicone (skin conditioning agent), Stearic Acid, Squalane (emollients), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredient), Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ubiquinone, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Oryzanol, Leontopodium Alpinum Flower/Leaf Extract, Buddleja Davidii Extract (antioxidants), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Diisopropyl Dimer Dilinoleate (emollient), Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer (silicone film-forming agent), Cetyl Alcohol, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickeners), Polyacrylamide (film-forming agent), Polyhydroxystearic Acid (thickener), Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate/Triethoxycaprylylsilane Crosspolymer (polymer-based texture enhancer), Triethoxycaprylylsilane Crosspolymer (binding agent), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Thymus Vulgaris Extract (antioxidant), C13-14 Isoparaffin, Alumina (thickeners), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Dehydroacetic Acid, Benzyl Alcohol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally every day before sun exposure as the last step of your morning Resist skincare routine. Do not apply any other skincare product over this sunscreen. Once absorbed, proceed with your normal makeup application.

More detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Should I reapply Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer during the day?

For casual wear, meaning less than four hours total time out in the sun, it is not necessary to reapply this moisturizer with sunscreen as you will be protected all day. If you are perspiring or just spending a longer period of time outdoors, it should be reapplied every few hours to maintain the stated level of protection.

How is Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25 different from Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15?

Although both products provide reliable broad-spectrum sun protection, Resist Cellular Defense SPF 25 offers a greater amount of sun protection. The Resist formula contains titanium dioxide as its active ingredient while Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15 contains a blend of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. Both formulas contain antioxidants to help defend skin against signs of aging, but each has its own blend.

Texture-wise, these two daytime moisturizers with sunscreen are quite similar. Both provide hydration and a silky, radiant finish those with normal to dry skin will appreciate best. Resist Cellular Defense SPF 25 leaves less sheen on skin when compared to Skin Recovery Daily Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15.

Is Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25 the only Paula's Choice moisturizer with sunscreen that provides anti-aging benefits?

Definitely not! Every Paula's Choice daytime moisturizer with sunscreens as well as our "body" sunscreens (which can also be applied to the face) provide broad-spectrum sun protection and contain antioxidants for enhanced defense and antiaging benefits. Resist Cellular Defense SPF 25 contains an antioxidant blend that complements the other Resist products from Paula's Choice, including the Daily Smoothing Treatment and Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum.

I notice I get a white cast after applying Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer. Anything I can do to minimize this?

Some people, typically those with medium to tan or olive skin tones, will notice a bit of a white to pale violet cast after applying Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25. This is due to the amount of mineral active (titanium dioxide) this moisturizer with sunscreen contains. If this happens to you, here's what you can do to eliminate the white cast:

Experiment by applying a drop or two of a sheer bronzing gel (Clinique makes a good one) over Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer. You can also mix a drop or two of the bronzing gel with this daytime moisturizer before applying. The bronze will offset the white cast and should make your skin tone look more natural without losing the anti-aging sun protection this provides. Of course you can also apply a Paula's Choice foundation with sunscreen over Resist Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer, too.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.344 10/23/2014 5:14:54 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.