Items you may also like

Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

Dull skin, your days are over. Our leave-on exfoliant reveals healthy, new skin as it builds collagen and evens out skin tone.
Item #: 766
  • Anti-Aging, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Evens out skin tone

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 147 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. AM
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing Product
    • I've used Paula's Choice products for several years but this is the first time I've tried the AHA treatment. At 52, my skin lacked the zest that this product provides. It goes on smoothly, absorbs quickly, and help rid my skin of impurities! I would definitely recommend this NON-irritating product! My only complaint is that the pump broke after just one week of gentle use.

  2. HEIDI
    Reviewed on Friday, November 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing for red marks & non-irritating!
    • I never understood people when they said they have a HOLY GRAIL product, but this one is really, truly that for me. I am a 23 year old with acne-prone skin that is pale and holds onto red marks like crazy. I use this AHA every night and then as a red mark spot treatment during the day...my red marks have faded dramatically. I think this AHA may have something to do with the clearing of my acne in general. It has an amazing consistency that's very much like a light lotion-- not drying.

  3. MP
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    the best PC product
    • This is the powerhouse of my Paula's Choice arsenal (and I only use PC-brand products now, so it's a big arsenal!). I used to use it at night, but now I like it in the morning, under my Ultra Light daily sunscreen -- it gives my skin the evenness and slight moisture it needs under a matte sunscreen. I never have problems with irritation, breakouts, or dryness from this product -- it simply works, and is perfect for everyday use.

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    FIrst time AHA user
    • I am impressed and I bought it expecting to be disappointed. I have always exfoliated but never with the results I obtained with this product. My skin is brighter - the crinkly lines on my chest have disappeared and the lines between my eyes are much shallower. So far no change on the brown spots but it has only been 3 weeks! I am 61 with very fair normal to dry skin and have never had breakouts. The product goes on easily and leaves no residue.

  5. NANCY D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for Me
    • I really wanted to like this product. I have used the 8% AHA gel for years, but thought maybe this would be better, since it is in the Resist line that I like so much. I know Paula's products don't have added fragrance, but something in this stuff just smells! Within 3 days I had a patch of red on one cheek. Fortunately BHA9 fixed that (amazing stuff!). I won't use this product again.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, October 10, 2013
    Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! Be sure to contact Customer Care for assistance with a refund or exchange.
    —Admin
  6. andrea h.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Excellent
    • I really like this treatment. I usually use it night. In the morning my skin is so smooth, the whitehead disappear.

  7. MIA D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really Like This
    • I have been using this product for about 15 weeks now. I like the results. It does not sting my sensitive skin and I use a mositurizer on top of it in the evening. I'm not sure I noticed a difference in my dark spots or wrinkles, but I do see a difference in the overall smoothness and appearance of my skin. I will continue to purchase and use this product.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Utterly disappointing
    • I ordered this for my mom since she's preoccupied the effects of aging are weighing down her sensitive skin. She tried this product at night and woke up to find a not-so-wonderful effect on her skin. It seems that overnight some acne pimples were developing and erupted at dawn. Not the uplifting outcome she was looking for. Although it is somewhat true that this product did leave her skin with a smoothing, silky feel to it-she was most disappointed that it caused this reaction. Not a best buy.

  9. Viki M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    fantastic
    • Fantastic cream. I am a makeup artist so skin care is #1 for me. This is my 5th time buying it i would recommend it to everybody all skin types. Great results!

  10. Ruth G
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • Have/had 3 samples of this. I loved it the moment I used it. My skin felt soft and beautiful. I use the resist toner first..then apply. No stinging or burning.

  11. Carole E.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 07, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love it!
    • I love this product! I use it at night after cleansing my face. It stings a little when I first put it on, which is why I gave it four stars, but there is no redness or other irritation. I wake up in the morning and my skin looks refreshed and even toned, my pores look smaller and my skin feels smoother.

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 17, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Irritate my face
    • I have redness without tingling with this product although I use only at night. I will keep trying for another week and plan to return if persist irritative symptoms. Be aware of this redness, tingling if you have sensitive skin like me!

  13. Silvia H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love it
    • I simply love this product!!!! Does not irritate my sensitive rosacea skin and feels great. Never used a AHA exfoliant before and surprised how well this works for me. Also ordered the retinol serum and thinks it a super product too. Glad I found PC.

  14. Monica S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    MY NEW FAVE!
    • OKAY - WHERE IS THE SIXTH STAR?? I am in LOVE with this, and ALL of PC products. If you are reading these for the first time, I'm telling you - try it - they guarantee it - nothing to lose - OMG! It is the most beautiful feeling - silky, yet tingling - it's working girls! I have literally lost 10 years off my face i the past 6 weeks. This is a gorgeous product - I sampled and bought pretty much everything. I can not believe how amazing this is. People see me and say WOW. I swear to God!

  15. Ariel
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    By Far The BEST Exfoliant EVER
    • I have tried so many exfoliants for my combination/oily breakout prone skin, and this is by far the most amazing I have ever tried. I bought the sample packet first and was amazed because literally overnight my skin felt and looked so much smoother. I use it with the Hydralight system in place of the 1% BHA and so far it's working great for me. Love it! and cannot brag enough about PC's great Customer service. I'm sure I will be a constant customer.

  16. The Other Paula
    Reviewed on Monday, June 17, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Seems to work well...
    • I got the sample pack of the Resist collection and it the AHA seems to do the trick and leaves my skin feeling great afterwards. BHA was recommended to me, due to my combination skin, so I'll try that too and see which one I like better.

  17. MELISSA N.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works!
    • This product makes my skin feel baby soft after only a few days.When it first arrived, I didn't know that I had to turn the bottle upside down to prime the pump, and I opened it and exposed it to air thinking my container was broken. The nice folks at PC sent me a new one, and now I use it faithfully twice a day. Wonderful!

  18. Margaret
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pleasantly Impressed
    • Ive been getting regular peels done at the dermatologists office. These have really done an amazing job. But it becomes very clear when I am behind on my schedule to get them. This product has made a big difference in how my skin looks in between. I also have rosacea...no issue with this product. In fact, if anything, I think it has helped. Flare ups so far are non-existent or minimal. I will re-order it and I recommend it as worth a try for sure.

  19. Ellie, H
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 06, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Used to love this
    • I used to swear by this. I used this product for two years and it made my skin incredible. I recently purchased two bottles and noticed initially that the texture was different. I didn't think anything of it but I wish I had because I've watched my perfect skin become patchy, dry and blackhead ridden. Just in time for my sisters wedding I don't know if i got an odd batch or what. Your products are so amazing I just wish they were more consistent.

  20. LF
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 02, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Too irritating for me
    • I have mild Rosacea and have to be careful with irritating products, but found I could use Paula’s Retinol Serum and 8% AHA with no problems. Stupidly on my part, I started using her 5% AHA and assumed I could just lather it on, because to my mind, I was going a step backwards. Unfortunately, I had a horrible reaction. It’s either a rash or hundreds of tiny pimples, but my cheeks are bumpy and sore. It has been 2 weeks since I stopped using this and my skin is just getting back to normal.

  21. Betsie
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • I have been using the 5% AHA for a couple of months now and I love it! I have very fair, dry skin. I also suffer from nasty, large, forever lasting, scarring pimples on my chin. I also have very deep expression lines on my forehead (and I'm only 30). This stuff has turned my skin comletely around! I also use the 9%BHA with it on my stubborn scars, pimples that pop up, and my deep expression lines. The combination of the two has given me skin I never dreamed could be mine! Great return policy!

  22. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another 5 Star Review
    • Information about me: I am 21 years old. I have very oily skin, which I have only found products to control in the past year. I get pimples and they leave little spots which fade but since I am usually getting a few pimples here and there I always have a few spots. I love this product which I've been using with the rest of the resist line. My skin has become much clearer and brighter. And yesterday I even went out with no foundation and just some concealer over a couple scars! Works beautifully

  23. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Big Surprise
    • My skin is not bad, but difficult to treat combo of dry and red areas, with oiler breakout prone patches. Other AHA/BHAs caused flake out/breakout flares. The daily 5%, is gentle enough for daily use to keep the dry dead skin shedding at slow, but steady rate. The redness is very reduced in days!. It's gentle but profound. I love the Weekly option too.. CS was so helpful, as I tested many products to find a mix that did not break me out of dry me out. I use some for 4 lines now.

  24. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Big Surprise
    • My skin is not bad, but difficult to treat combo of dry and red areas, with oiler breakout prone patches. Other AHA/BHAs caused flake out/breakout flares. The daily 5%, is gentle enough for daily use to keep the dry dead skin shedding at slow, but steady rate. The redness is very reduced in days!. It's gentle but profound. I love the Weekly option too.. CS was so helpful, as I tested many products to find a mix that did not break me out of dry me out. I use some for 4 lines now.

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Save your money
    • Save your money and Stick with the 10% weekly Resurfacing treatment. No noticeable difference. Very , very little product for the money.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this didn't work out for you. Just a quick note, you may certainly contact our Customer Care Department for assistance with a refund, credit or samples!
    —Admin
« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid is a must-have exfoliant for those who want their skin to look and act younger. It features an effective concentration of glycolic acid with a boost of pore-penetrating salicylic acid. This anti-aging exfoliant reveals youthfully radiant skin and counteracts sun damage—without redness or irritation! The innovative daily-use formula continually renews your skin's texture, evens skin tone, smooths fine lines, and stimulates healthy collagen production via exfoliation and by delivering a potent blend of antioxidants that help fight free-radical damage.

Fragrance- and colorant-free, this silky treatment doubles as a lightweight moisturizer and is recommended as an integral part of the Paula's Choice Resist line This AHA exfoliant has a pH range of 3.5-3.8.

Who is this product for?
Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid can be used by all skin types and is ideal for anyone concerned with preventing and reducing the signs of aging, including sun damage, fine lines, uneven skin tone, and wrinkles.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, Thornfeldt Carl MD, 2010, pages 180–181; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,109–1,118; Clinical Evidence Online, December 16, 2008; Seminars in Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, September 2008, pages 170–176; Journal of Dermatological Science, December 2005, pages 195–204; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156–1162; Cutis, August 2001, pages 135–142; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001 pages 1–5; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, July 2000, pages 280–284; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, March-April 2000, pages 81–88; Dry Skin and Moisturizers: Chemistry and Function, edited by Marie Loden and Howard Maibach, 2000, page 237; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May-June 1999, pages 111–119; Journal of Cell Physiology, October 1999, pages 14–23; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 1996, pages 867–875.

Key Ingredients: epigallocatechin gallate, cell-communicating ingredients, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Cucumis melo (melon) fruit extract, ceramide 2, antioxidant, palmitoyl oligopeptide, allantoin, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, caffeic acid, AHA, bisabolol, salicylic acid, vitamin E, glycolic acid, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycolic Acid (AHA exfoliant), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent and penetration enhancer), Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredient), Ceramide 2 (skin-identical ingredient), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuoylmethane (anti-irritants/antioxidants derived from curcumin), Epigallocatechin Gallate, Caffeic Acid (antioxidants), Salicylic Acid (BHA exfoliant/anti-irritant), Disodium Lauriminodipropionate Tocopheryl Phosphates (vitamin E-based antioxidant), PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol (fatty acid thickener), Cucumis Melo (Melon) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/texture enhancers), Tribehenin (texture enhancer), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, PPG-14 Butyl Ether, PEG-40 Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate (thickeners), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Polyacrylamide (film-forming agents), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), C13-14 Isoparaffin (solvent), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Caprylyl Glycol (preservative), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Hexylene Glycol (solvent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply daily after cleansing and toning. Dispense 1–2 pumps and smooth over entire face. Follow with Paula's Choice Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and/or Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer or Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator. First-time users should apply once daily, preferably at night. For maximum results, alternate with Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% AHA once per week. Avoid direct contact with eyes.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

Sun Protection Advice When Using Any AHA Exfoliant: This product contains 5% glycolic acid, an ingredient that may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun and the possibility of sunburn. Always apply a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater every day. When outdoors, wear protective clothing whenever possible, seek shade, and avoid prolonged sun exposure.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How should I alternate using Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment?

Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment is recommended for use at night, at least once but up to 4 or 5 times per week depending on how your skin responds. Since we do not advise using other exfoliants at the same time as Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment, you can apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment as part of your morning skincare routine or on night(s) you do not apply the Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment. In the morning, if desired, you can apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment after cleansing and toning or you can limit use of the Daily Smoothing Treatment to nighttime (this is best for first-time users). For daytime, follow with a serum and/or moisturizer or foundation rated SPF 15 or greater.

How does the Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment differ from the Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant?

While both of these products are AHA exfoliants, the texture and overall formulas differ. The Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment is an advanced AHA lotion that contains 5% glycolic acid and numerous antiaging ingredients designed to improve wrinkles. The 8% AHA Gel contains 8% glycolic acid formulated in a silky gel base with soothing agents and antioxidants. Both are excellent products but Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment offers additional benefits that go beyond what our 8% AHA Gel does, especially if wrinkles are a chief concern.

Can I use Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with one of the Resist skin lighteners?

Yes, but not at the same time unless they are applied to separate areas of your face. This is because both of our Resist skin lighteners contain an exfoliant (the Lotion has glycolic acid and the Gel has salicylic acid). If you're using one of our Resist skin lighteners, you may apply it in the morning or on the nights you do not apply the Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment or apply the skin lightener only to discolorations and apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment over the rest of your face.

Can I use Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA products?

Yes, but ultimately it is not necessary to use an AHA and BHA exfoliant at the same time. Exfoliation is a balancing act that requires not tipping the scale so the potential for irritation outweighs the benefits. Using multiple exfoliants at the same time increases the likelihood of irritation and doesn't necessarily provide greater benefits. If you'd like to use a BHA product and Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment, we recommend applying one in the morning and the other in the evening. Which one you apply when is a matter of personal preference.

Is Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment to the eyelid or underbrow area.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my AHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of an AHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to wait until skin has returned to its normal texture and color. This may mean waiting a few days or, depending on the depth of the peel or laser procedure, it may mean waiting several weeks. Both peels and laser procedures can temporarily leave skin extra-sensitive, so if in doubt it's best to wait rather than rush things. Once you begin using your AHA exfoliant again, pay attention to how your skin responds and adjust frequency of use accordingly. Discontinue use if you notice signs of irritation.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.330
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.