Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser

Clean. Not dry. That's how your face will feel when you use this non-lathering, anti-aging cleansing lotion to remove dirt and makeup.
Item #: 760
  • Anti-Aging, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Boosts the power of other Resist products

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

81 out of 100
(Based on 155 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. HEATHER d.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Lovely cleanser, will continue to purchase
    • This is a really nice cleanser. It is gentle and it does not leave my skin feeling tight and dry, which is something I can say for very few products that I have tried. The only reason that I did not give it 5 stars is that it is not great at removing makeup. I use a different product to remove my eye makeup first, and give my face a once-over with a microfiber face cloth I have, and then this cleanser. A bottle lasted me about 2.5 months, which I think it pretty good value.

  2. The Other Paula
    Reviewed on Monday, June 17, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Nice and gentle...but too gentle
    • This is a good cleanser. My skin feels great afterwards. Unfortunately, it doesn't work to get my make-up off when I wear any type of PC sunscreen. I have big raccoon eyes that won't disappear until I wipe them off. I am going to try more PC cleanser samples to see if I can find one that is still gentle enough for my skin, but tough enough to cut through that sunscreen!

  3. catherine t.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    nice cleanser
    • I love this cleanser because it takes all my makeup off, leaving my face feeling clean however not tight. I have normal skin and many cleansers in the past have made my skin dry after or feel tight like a smile might crack it! This is a very nice texture, creamy white which is effective without stripping. My mother and sister in-law also love it and they have oilier skin types.

  4. ELIZABETH
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product! Happy I found it.
    • It gets rid of my makeup really well. I love it alot. I was looking for a product similar to Philosophy's Purity that didn't contain all of the irritating ingredients! I've found what I was looking for with this product. I have already ordered a backup of it so I don't run out. Give this product a chance if you haven't already, especially if you were makeup!

  5. Ann M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Hooray!!
    • After trying countless cleansers from the most expensive to the least including all of the other Paula's Choice cleansers I have finally found the perfect one for my skin type. Hooray!! My skin is clean and soft with absolutely no tightness or flakiness afterwards. I have oily/combination skin and use a prescribed retin-A product and avoiding flakiness coupled with shine has been a big issue for me. None of the other products were bad, per se, just not appropriate for my skin type. YAY!!

  6. M.G.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Silky, gentle and effective
    • This cleanser is everything a cleanser should be. Silky, gentle and gets the job done.

  7. Betsie
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Nice!
    • I love this facial cleanser. The texture is awesome and feels very luxurious! It takes all my make up off too. Makes my skin very soft. I have dry to very dry skin. I recently ran out and decided to try the moisure boost cleanser since it is not as expensive. At first, I thought there is no way! The resist feels so much more like a treat when washing my face! However, after using it for a bit, I do find the moisture boost leaves my dry skin a little more moisturized than the resist.

  8. Jacqui
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Cleanser
    • Excellent facial cleanser and I have tried them all, from drugstore to department store brands and this one is one of the best. It cleans thoroughly, I use with my Clarisonic. If you're cleansing manually, you just have to work it in very well, you cant just do a light cleansing/rinse. If you work it into your skin, you will see the makeup, etc lifting. Bonus, it doesnt dry out my over 40 skin. It is a great cleanser and I will definitely purchase agai

  9. Jennifer P.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 24, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Doesn't Get My Face Clean Enough
    • This cleanser doesn't get my face nearly clean enough. When I use the toner after cleansing my face with this product, there is a ton of dirt on the cotton ball which isn't there with other cleansers. It also doesn't lather at all, so I never feel like I get enough on my face. I will be going back to other Paula's Choice cleansers from now on.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 25, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry the RESIST Cleanser wasn't a fit for your needs. As the RESIST Cleanser is a milder formula, those who wear more resistant makeup or who have oilier skin types may find a makeup remover necessary before their PM routine (or the use of a soft washcloth, not to scrub, but just to facilitate their RESIST Cleanser). We would love to help you find a better alternative or with an exchange/credit, just contact the Customer Care Department for assistance!
    —Admin
  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Super Size Please
    • Love this cleanser. This cleanser leaves my face clean and moist. Finally found a perfect cleanser that does what it says it will do and is kind to my skin. Would love this to be in a super size like the other PC cleansers.

  11. Jan C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great cleanser in a great lineup!
    • I am in love. I have sensitive combo skin with the beginnings of age-related issues (some unevenness from too much sun exposure as a teenager, fine lines and dryness on cheeks). I'm 2 weeks into using this cleanser, the Resist toner, the Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer and the Skin Balancing line's 2% BHA exfoliator. My skin is baby soft, redness has dissipated, and tone is evening every day. No breakouts even during the hormonally charged monthly time, which hit during this timeframe.

  12. JUDITH E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Dissappointed
    • I have been a customer of the extremely expensive DHA Olive Oil Cleanser for years combined with a Clairsonic. I have tried other cleansers. None have worked. i have been so pleased with most of PC products that I decided to try the Resist cleanser. I really, really, wanted this to work but unfortunately, it did not do a good job of cleansing my skin. I found traces of make up left behind on my toner and exfoliant pads. I'm extremely disappointed.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 18, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry the RESIST Cleanser didn't meet your expectations. From your comments, it seems that a formula designed for oily/combination skin may be a better fit. Consider our Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser, or our Earth Sourced Perfectly Natural Cleansing Gel. Please contact our Customer Care team for samples to experiment with and/or additional questions.
    —Admin
  13. Tabi
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Remarkable!
    • I love all of the Resist Line! But, this hydrating cleanser is truly amazing! I have been using the Cerave Hydrating Cleanser, (which is about $11.00) It is a good cleanser for the price, but does not compare to Paula's Optimal Resuslts Hydrating Cleanser. Paula's removes all trace of make-up and washes off clean, the CeraVe leaves a bit of a film, and I usually have to apply twice! The most important effect is how soft your face feels after cleansing! CeraVe doesn't feel this good!! I buy it on sale 25% off, but even at original price it is well worth it! Thank you Paula, for excellent products at affordable prices! 5 stars for your wonderful staff support as well! :)

  14. Kris
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it but a bit pricey
    • The Resist Cleanser is creamy & gentle but is totally effective removing all the make up on my face (cream foundation, blush, etc). I only washed once and then used the Resist Toner. The Resist Cleanser must have removed everything because there was no trace of make up left on the cotton pad. My face felt clean & soft. You can find something cheaper in the drug store that is a Paula's pick but sill I really like the Resist line.

  15. JeanAnnVK
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is great!
    • I love this cleanser! It is gentle and effective. I use it in combination with the toner and it has done wonders for my skin. It looks significantly healthier and fresher...if you know what I mean. I don't have a huge problem with wrinkles, but I'm in my 40's and certainly have lines forming. When my skin is dry, I look about ten years older, so finding a nourishing cleanser is super important. Will definitely repurchase.

  16. Jurgita
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Favourite cleanser!
    • This is my favourite cleanser! I have combination, reactive, sensitive skin. Most cleansers dry out or leave film on my skin, but this cleanser cleanses well and leaves my skin soft and hydrated. Repurchasing again!

  17. Erik's M.
    Reviewed on Friday, December 07, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not a favorite
    • Purchased this to be used by my mother. She was not happy with this cleanser at all. Made her skin actually feel dry and rough. Not really sure what could've done this but She has said no thanks to this one. She'll continue using the skin recovery cleanser. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your mothers experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We are happy to hear she has found another option that works well! We may offer her an in house credit for the product to be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care by chat, email, or over the phone.

  18. Nesh
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 07, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not my favourite
    • Just started using the RESIST range after months of great results using the Clear and Skin balancing range. Am in the unfortunate situation of having acne and wrinkles in my 30's! Upon finishing my Clear cleanser thought I would give the RESIST hydrating cleanser a chance. Unfortunately has left my skin slightly oily with lots of blackheads and open pores on my nose. Skin feels bumpy and rough after months of fabulous smooth skin. Have bought another Skin Balancing cleanser to use instead. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish this product could have worked better for you. The RESIST Cleanser is for all skin types, however typically works best for normal to dry skin and likely was not the right fit for you personally. If you have any questions or concerns please contact customer care and we are happy to help.

  19. Barbara
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 18, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best cleanser - EVER!!
    • This is the first cleanser I've found that cleans effectively, but doesn't leave my skin dry or irritated.

  20. Tabitha
    Reviewed on Monday, October 15, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for oily skin
    • I decided to try this cleanser since I am now in my late 30's and dealing with more wrinkles. But my skin is still oily and this felt like I was slathering lotion on, and my face never felt quite clean. I'm going back to the basic Hydralight cleanser.

  21. Eva
    Reviewed on Monday, October 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic cleaner!
    • This is the first time I ever had a cleanser that doesnt make my skin dry! I wear a lot of make-up and I only need a few drops to cleanse my face. It lasts forever and my skin feels cleaner than with any other product! Its so worth the money :)

  22. Quynh
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • Love this cleanser! I've tried many expensive and inexpensive cleansers and they all left my skin dry and tight feeling. This cleanser doesn't do that! It feels great on and it leaves my skin feeling clean. I use this with my clarisonic everyday. Thanks Paula!

  23. Sara
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 30, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • I have dry acne-prone skin that is sensitive to many of the products typically used to clear acne. I ordered a bunch of sample packets and finally found a regimen that works for me. (Note: I did not find this cleanser effective in removing makeup so I always use a separate makeup remover first). I start by cleansing with the RESIST Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser and toning with the RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner Skin Remodeling Complex. Once the toner dries, I apply 1-2 pumps of the PC Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion Exfoliant. During the day I use the RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer with SPF 25 & Antioxidants and at night I use CeraVe PM Moisturizer. My skin has not been this clear or looked this good in years. Thank you Paula and your excellent customer service team!

  24. Cristina
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Cleansers DO Make a Difference
    • I never thought I would be writing a review about a cleanser. I thought a cleanser is a cleanser so long as I stay away from those with sulfate or fragrance. No matter what, my skin either felt tight with some or felt like there was a film left with others. So, on went serums and moisturisers and more mositurisers etc... I decided to try some PC products (for other reasons) and added the cleansers to round off a regimen. Well... just the cleansers alone made a HUGE difference. I need very little product now - only the essentials. I also gave it the clairsonic test - cleansed without the clairisonic first and then again with and there the brush was clean. NONE of the other products I used left a clean brush even after a second cleansing. Wow!

  25. linda
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Ok
    • This cleanser is very mild. I use it along with my clarisonic, and it does not get soapy or lathery. SO it does make me wonder if it is actually taking off all my residue. However, it does leave my face soft afterwards, but it could be due to my clarisonic too. Not sure if this is my favorite cleanser, but I am happy with her other products. Customer Care Response: We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you; we do have other cleanser options which you may consider. We will leave an in house credit for this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order by calling: 1-800-831-4088. Please contact customer care with any questions.

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser is our silkiest, most luxurious cleanser. Its smooth lotion texture softens and replenishes skin yet rinses without a residue. This exceptionally gentle cleanser quickly removes makeup and helps fights the signs of aging by soothing, preserving, and reinforcing skin's natural barrier during the cleansing process. It is specifically formulated for use with Paula's Choice Resist anti-aging line and is the first Paula's Choice cleanser to have a built-in, lockable pump.

This product is safe for use around the eyes and is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser is formulated for anyone with normal to very dry skin concerned with reducing the signs of aging.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser

The Ceylon Medical Journal, December 2007, pages 125–129; Cutis, March 2005, pages 17-21; March 2004, pages 183–187; and December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, 2004; 17 Supplemental 1, pages 26-34; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, October 2000, pages 371–383; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: green tea, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, Camellia oleifera, chamomile, caprylic/capric triglyceride, glycerin, skin-repairing ingredients, antioxidant

Product Ingredients:

Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient thickener), Decyl Glucoside (cleansing agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-20 Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (cleansing agent/emulsifier), PPG-20 Methyl Glucose Ether, Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agents),Glyceryl Stearate, Stearyl Alcohol (thickeners), Polyacrylamide (binding agent), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (soothing agent), Sapindus Mukurossi (Soapberry) Peel Extract (foaming agent), Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (cleansing agent), C13-14 Isoparaffin (thickener), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Wet face and apply a small amount of cleanser (1-2 pumps) to your face and eye area with vigorous, yet gentle, circular motions. Rinse well. To remove heavy makeup, repeat or use with a clean, wet washcloth.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser differ from Skin Recovery Cleanser?

Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser features a completely different texture than Skin Recovery Cleanser. Although both are water soluble cleansing lotions, Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser has a lighter, silkier feel designed to work better for dry, sun damaged skin. What's more, it also serves as the perfect first step in your Resist skincare routine, setting you up for younger-looking, healthier skin.

How is Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser "anti-aging"?

The gentle formula cleanses skin by not disrupting its barrier. As a result, with each use you're not rinsing key elements skin needs to look younger and healthier down the drain. By keeping your skin's barrier more intact during the cleansing process, your skin is able to hold on to the naturally-occurring elements it needs to strengthen and repair itself. When your skincare routine respects skin's barrier integrity and replenishes it with the ingredients it needs to look and act younger, you will see more youthful skin!

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.376 3/5/2015 8:43:37 AM
Skip to Top of Page

Free Email Sign-Up

- Expert Skin Care & Makeup News & Advice (twice a month)
- New product reviews on Beautypedia (twice a month)

Enter Your Contact Information

Birthday (Optional)

 
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging | FREE Shipping on $50+