RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment 4% BHA

You may not outgrow breakout-prone skin, but you can outsmart it. This lightweight foam unclogs your pores and reveals younger-looking skin.
Item #: 779
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Redness, Wrinkles
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Reduces red marks and brown spots, evens out skin tone
  • Powerful time-release salicylic acid for maximum impact

PLEASE NOTE: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment 4% BHA

Enter your email address below and we will notify you when this product is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

91 out of 100
(Based on 89 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. Angelina F.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Worth every penny!
    • I could tell a difference the next day..its like my nose pores vanished. My skin looked and felt so smooth! Love love love!!

  2. Cara D.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works!
    • I had a visible, raised bump on my cheekbone that came up out of nowhere and has been stubborn for months. Nothing was working, so I thought I might have to go to a dermatologist or just live with it. After purchasing the foaming treatment, I have used it twice and the problem spot is almost gone! The look of my pores also seems to be improving. I am very happy with this product!

  3. Mollie B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for sensitive skin with blemishes
    • Great product! I have dry and very sensitive skin that is also blemish prone. I get a lot of hard, subsurface bumps all over my cheeks. I was experiencing a pretty bad breakout when I get this product. I used a healthy amount of this product before bed followed by PC serum and moisturizer, and woke up and my skin was CLEAR, with about 80% of my blemishes gone with no irritation! I have spend $100s on products that are nowhere near as effective. So happy I purchased!

  4. DIANE T.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Best
    • I have occasional adult acne and this product has done wonders. My skin is very use to exfoliation and I'm able to use it twice a day. I'm sure not everyone could do this. My skin is super soft and even better acne free!

  5. C.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 14, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Effective booster treatment
    • I recently received this product and was excited to try it. After only one use, I am happy to report the blackheads on my nose are almost completely gone. This product really works! My skin also felt very smooth after only one use. When first applied, I did experience a very slight stinging sensation but this subsided quickly enough. Overall, I'm glad I purchased this product and will continue to use it as a weekly treatment to boost the results of my daily BHA routine.

  6. JENNIFER W.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Strong weekly treament
    • I have been using Paula's various exfoliants for a few years, some more successful than others. When I saw this new stronger formula for weekly treatments, I was very excited! I have used it three times. I used it 2 days before a special night out and my skin was radiant! The third time I used I did experience some light flaking the next day, but it cleared up by the 2nd day. I feel that it lives up to the label of "resurfacing". Used carefully, I will get the exfoliating boost I need.

  7. MELISSA B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I can't live without this!
    • Thank you Paulas choice for this new product. For years I have been using the BHA in the liquid maximum strength formula. It kept my acne away, but my pores still seemed large and I would have blackheads. My skin is "thick" and "tough". I use this daily at night without any problems. For those of you with thin, and or sensitive skin, once a week would probably be plenty. After I apply at night, I also use the RESIST retinol serum mixed with the Vitamin C serum. My skin has NEVER looked better.

  8. Kris M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally help with acne
    • I have been using this foam for about 4 weeks and just love how it helping transform my acne prone skin to a clearer face. It seems to spread easily and even though my skin is fairly sensitive, if i use this just a couple times a week or as a spot treatment, it is fine. I will continue to purchase this because i am loving the results. If you use every day, it may be too harsh so just follow tje directions and if you have acne prone skin, you MUST try this one!

  9. ANN L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My new favorite KP treatment
    • I have lifelong reddened keratosis pilaris on both upper arms and my cheeks. I had been using RESIST Weekly Resurfacing with 10% AHA; it cleared my cheeks and had (I thought) good results on my arms, but when I switched to this stuff, BOOM: practically clear after three weeks. The redness is visibly faded, and NO other product has ever done that! The texture is weirdly soapy, but it absorbs fast. The benefits persist even few days with no treatment. Winner!

  10. Jennifer W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Strong! And Great!
    • This is really strong for me. Every time I use it I have about 3 days of dry and flaky skin. Then after the third day my skin looks amazing (smooth, smaller pores, soft, old acne scars even shallow indentations are reduced). It's a great product, I just need to use it when I have a few days when flaky skin is okay.

  11. Anne C
    Reviewed on Monday, March 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow. Just wow.
    • I've been using Paula's products for more than a year and really do love them all! I've never been disappointed with any purchase I've made.. But this product outshines them all! I have T-zone oily, large pores, and slight Rosacea on my dry cheeks. All these have greatly improved through use of the Hydralight system. But just one use of this and my skin was glowing the next day! I am using it every three days. Definite repurchase... for as long as I live!

  12. Justine
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent addition to skin care routine
    • This foam spreads lightly and easily over the PC Earths Choice toner I use at night, and disappears with an invisible finish. I like that I can't see it or feel it after application. It is gentle but effective as a boost twice weekly to my regular 2% BHA liquid, which I omit on the nights I use this 4% foam. In the morning I wake up and am thrilled to touch my face. My skin feels so smooth! What a treat.

  13. Belinda C.
    Reviewed on Friday, February 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally found a BHA I can use!
    • I love this BHA! For some reason, I haven't been able to use any of the 1% or 2% BHAs without terrible flaky skin. I've tried them all multiple times, and every single time, after only one use, my skin gets too flaky and never gets used to it. I've been able to use this every few days for the past couple of weeks with not a single instance of flakes, just incredibly beautiful skin! My skin had improved greatly since using all PC products, and now it's gone to the next level. I'm thrilled!

  14. Jax
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    No More Foundation!
    • I love PC products, but this product is on a whole other level, at least for my skin. I've used it twice, two weeks apart. This morning, as I was getting ready for work, I went to put on my foundation and then all of a sudden, I stopped. My skin looked great already! Even toned and smooth. I'm 42 years old and have consistently used foundation since I was in my teens. Now if only PC could come up with a cure for dark circles so I can stop using concealer!

  15. JB
    Reviewed on Monday, February 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very effective
    • This product is extremely effective. I have oily, resistant skin, and have used PC's 2% BHA for years. I needed more exfoliation and had to rely on a very strong 17% glycolic product from glytone, but while it was effective, was irritating. This is even more effective for clearing pores, and much gentler. I find I can use it every other day without irritation. The texture is extremely light and unique, and very easy to spread.

  16. Jackie L
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I have been using the 2% BHA gel and liquid exfoliant and they worked great for me. I thought this once a week product would boost the effect of the others but it only caused me to have dry skin. I love all the other products I have from PC but this one is just not for me. Less is more works for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 24, 2014

    Hi Jackie! Thank you for sharing your experience, and it's unfortunate that the RESIST 4% Foam wasn't a fit for you; not everyone will be able to tolerate potent treatments like this, but Customer Care will be happy to help with a refund or exchange. Please email them at custserv@paulaschoice.com!

    —Admin
  17. Cindy B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Miracle for me!
    • This product has helped the texture of my skin like nothing else. I'm 63 with combo skin and sebaceous hyperplasia. My chin and area from my nose to chin is where the sebaceous hyperplasia is the most pronounced. I had great results using the Resist Intensive wrinkle repair retinol serum, Resist BHA 9, and skin Balancing pore reducing toner. When this product came out I had to try it and I'm so glad I did. It has taken my skin to the next level!! Just wonderful!!

  18. Zoe M
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love as much as the 10% AHA!
    • I noticed the difference within a few hours of applying this - my skin became quite smooth and I could see it working in my pores! I'm pleased that it didn't irritate my sensitive skin, and that it does a similar thing as my beloved Resist Resurfacing 10%, i.e., it gives immediate benefits in smoothing, clearing and making my skin appear radiant. The foam texture is excellent for oil-prone skin. I'm loving all of my PC products and would not part with my skin-care routine for anything!!

  19. Lisa N
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • Love it! Even though my skin is somewhat dry, I am able to use it every other night. It's fantastic and a little goes a long way. I gave a bottle to my son for his acne-prone skin and he loves it too. I want to order a bottle for me and one for each of my kids!!

  20. Gina H.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow...Just Wow!
    • After just one use I woke up to dramatically improved skin. Red acne marks gone. Blemishes gone. Wrinkles less visible. My is soft, smooth, and even-colored. I have oily, blemish prone skin. At night I use Clear acne cleanser, 4% BHA, and Resist C15 mixed with Resist Retinol Serum. I alternate 4% BHA with Resist Weekly Resurfacing 10% AHA. Friends have noticed a difference in my skin and want to know what I'm doing differently. I referred them to Paula's Choice. Thank you Paula!!!

  21. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Felt like a sunburn
    • I was excited to try this product for my Keratosis Pilaris issues. I have been using 1 & 2% BHA PC products for several years with some definite improvement, but not complete resolution. Sadly, I tried the 4% BHA on my arms & chest and it left me feeling like I had a sunburn. It would have been very helpful to have a trial size, rather than spend so much money on a product I cannot use. I gave it 3 stars because I liked the consistency and it had no smell.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 14, 2014

    We're sorry to learn of your experience with the RESIST 4% BHA Foam! While this isn't typical for most, there is always a chance of such a reaction when dealing with more potent exfoliants and treatments. As this is a foam, a sample size isn't possible, however, you're never "stuck" with a product that didn't work out for you!  You may certainly contact Customer Care for a refund or exchange. They will be happy to help!

    —Admin
  22. Morgan B
    Reviewed on Monday, February 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • I feel sort of guilty for giving my impressions on this product after using it only once, but I must say that once was enough to convince me. While I am hesitant to give into the hype for products that claim to give you an "instant glow" or make you look "dramatically younger" this product lived up to its claims. If only for the fact that it removed the stubborn milia I've had under my eye area for as long as I can remember, which in itself is miraculous in my book. Highly recommended product.

  23. CP
    Reviewed on Monday, February 10, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Wanted to love this
    • I thought this would be perfect for me. The skin on my face is not sensitive at all. I have an oilier nose with larger pores and there are always blackheads. Based on the reviews, I thought this was the answer. Not so. I ended up breaking out - small red spots. Boo. I'm thrilled others are having such good luck with it and I really like most PC products. Sad this isn't the one for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, February 11, 2014

    Hi Christine! We're sorry this wasn't a perfect match for you! It is true that not everyone will be able to tolerate more potent treatments like the RESIST 4% Foam.  However, we would encourage you to contact Customer Care as they will be happy to assist in a refund/exchange. 

    —Admin
  24. Ari B
    Reviewed on Monday, February 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this
    • Absolutely love this product! I have oily skin with a few acne scars and some blackheads on my nose. After using this product only a couple times so far, I can see a noticeable improvement in my skin already. It's much more even and clear, as well as incredibly smooth and soft. I've never used a product that impressed me more. My only suggestion would be to layer a hydrating night cream over the retexturizing foam in order to avoid any dryness. I will definitely be repurchasing!

  25. Marie M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic results
    • Phenomenal product - this is the first time I write a review, the product is so good, I wanted to spread the word. I've been using salicylic based products for year, this is hands down the best I've used. Keep blemishes at bay, my skin hasn't looked this clear or soft in a long time. I use it everyday / every other day.

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foam is an innovative treatment that delivers smoother, younger-looking skin overnight. Specialized technology encapsulates anti-aging superstar salicylic acid for time-released delivery—so you get dramatic results without flaking or signs of irritation.

The unique liquid-to-foam texture feels water-light yet is packed with soothing ingredients that reduce redness, calm inflammation, unclog pores, and reduce symptoms of rosacea. Plant-based antioxidants work with the exfoliating, pore-penetrating action of salicylic acid to stimulate collagen production for firmer, smoother, more radiant skin.

This weekly skin saver not only reduces multiple signs of aging, but also fades red marks from breakouts; plus, it's a potent option for banishing stubborn "chicken skin" (keratosis pilaris) on arms or legs. This product has a pH of 3.6.

Who is this product for?
RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foam is for anyone concerned with signs of aging, enlarged pores, and breakouts. Also excellent for those with rosacea or for treating "chicken skin" (keratosis pilaris). The formula is suitable for all skin types, but best for combination to oily or breakout-prone skin.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

SOURCES TO SUPPORT THE CLAIMS MADE FOR RESIST WEEKLY RETEXTURIZING FOAM WITH 4% BHA

Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, March 2013, pages S38-S41; Skin Research and Technology, May 2013, pages 125–130; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, June 2012, pages 141–152; Journal of Chromatorgraphy, April 2010, pages 2,441-2,4446; Cosmetic Dermatology, October 2010, pages 446-449; Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Skin Research and Technology, August 2009, pages 338–345; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,057–1,065 and April 2000, pages 333–337; Experimental Dermatology, June 2009, pages 522–526; Food and Chemical Toxicology, April 2008, pages 1,298–1,307; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Archives of Dermatology, November 2000, pages 1390–1395; Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82.

Key Ingredients: safflower seed oil, adenosine , burdock root, slippery elm bark, Salix nigra (willow) bark extract, allantoin, grape seed extract, borage seed extract, matricaria flower extract, glycerin, Boerhavia diffusa root extract, salicylic acid, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, green tea, olive oil/olive fruit oil, licorice extract, white nettle, sodium ascorbyl phosphate

Product Ingredients:

Water, Butylene Glycol (slip agent/penetration enhancer), Dimethyl Isosorbide (solvent), Cocamidopropyl Dimethylamine (antistatic agent), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid exfoliant), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Uralensis (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate (anti-irritant), Adenosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidant), Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Salix Nigra (Willow) Bark Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritants), Borage Officinalis (Borage) Extract (antioxidant), Ulmus Fulva (Slippery Elm) Bark Extract, Lamium Album (White Nettle) Flower Extract, Arctium Major (Burdock) Root Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (anti-irritants), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil (non-fragrant plant oils/antioxidants), Polysorbate 80 (emulsifier), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Propylene Glycol (slip agent), Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Use at least once weekly, at night. After cleansing and toning, dispense one pump and smooth treatment over face, neck, and chest. Do not rinse. Follow with the rest of your evening skin-care routine.

May be used once a week or daily depending on your skin's response and your concerns. It can be applied at the same time as your regular BHA exfoliant, but pay attention to how your skin responds and adjust usage accordingly. Do not apply to lips or eyelids.

Precautions:

  • Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin
  • If you experience irritation, rinse from skin and discontinue use
  • Avoid direct contact with eyes
  • Protect skin with sunscreen daily
  • Ask your doctor before using on children
  • Keep out of reach of children
  • If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your doctor before use

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

Can I use RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment with my regular BHA exfoliant? What about combining it with RESIST BHA 9?

Yes, but this isn't necessary to get great results. However, depending on the amount of sun damage you have or if you have stubborn breakouts and clogged pores adding this treatment to your regular BHA exfoliant can enhance the results.

If you'd like to use two BHAs at the same time, pay attention to how your skin responds and adjust frequency of usage accordingly. When using Weekly Retexturizing Foam with one of our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants, apply the Skin Perfecting exfoliant after RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment. If using with RESIST BHA 9, apply that spot treatment before or after applying RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Treatment.

How frequently can I use RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment? Is using it every day too much?

Most people concerned with signs of aging plus clogged pores/breakouts and oily skin will find that using this treatment 1-3 times per week is perfect. However, you may apply it more often if desired, based on how your skin responds. For some skin types and skin problems it can be helpful to use this treatment up to 5 times per week. For example, those with very oily skin, stubborn clogged pores, or a rough, bumpy skin texture may find more frequent use is preferred. Applying every night is an option, too, but most will find this is overdoing it, especially if you are also using other exfoliants.

If you are struggling with very stubborn acne or other types of breakouts, you may find nightly usage works beautifully for a brief period of time. Once the breakouts are under control, you can reduce frequency of application or begin using one of our other, lower-strength BHA exfoliants daily to maintain the results.

There are so many different BHA exfoliants! How do I choose the best one for me?

Choose the best BHA for you based on your skin type, concerns, and texture preferences. Liquids and gels are great for oily or combination skin; lotions are ideal for normal to dry skin or combination skin with drier areas.

RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment is ideal for normal to oily or combination skin struggling with wrinkles, enlarged pores, breakouts, and rough, uneven skin. Pair this with any of our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants to see a significant improvement in all of those concerns, or it may be used alone as your sole BHA exfoliant.

Can I use RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment as my only exfoliant?

Yes, though if you opt to use this as your daily exfoliant, monitor how your skin responds. If you see signs of irritation or flaking, reduce frequency of usage (perhaps to every other night or every couple of nights) or alternate this with one of our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants.

What’s the difference between RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment and RESIST BHA 9?

Both exfoliants have time-released delivery systems to ensure great results without irritation and both contain salicylic acid, though in different amounts (4% for the Weekly Treatment and 9% for BHA 9). Beyond the percentage of salicylic acid, the other differences are texture, with the Weekly Retexturizing Treatment being liquid-to-foam and BHA 9 being a serum-like fluid.
Finally, RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment is designed for using all over the face, neck, and chest while RESIST BHA 9 is meant to be a spot treatment for stubborn imperfections, not an all-over exfoliant. Both work to address multiple concerns, including signs of aging, and both may be used as needed to solve such issues as clogged pores, blackheads, white bumps, and for smoothing the appearance of wrinkles.

Can RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment be used on the body, such as for dry, cracked heels?

Yes! This treatment may be used on areas of thickened, built-up skin on knees, feet, elbows, etc. At night, apply a thin layer and follow with an emollient moisturizer. The next morning you’ll wake up to dramatically softer, smoother skin!

I have KP (keratosis pilaris) and products with 2% salicylic acid haven’t helped. Will this work?

Quite possibly, yes! It’s worth a try because this is a stronger BHA exfoliant formulated in a unique delivery system to ensure dramatic results without irritation. Every Paula's Choice product is sold with a 100% money-back guarantee, so you have nothing to lose!

Can RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment be used with skin-lightening products?

Yes. Whether the skin-lightening product contains hydroquinone or other lightening ingredients, it will help to enhance the effectiveness of your skin-lightening product. At night, apply the Weekly Retexturizing Treatment first, and then follow with your skin lightener, serum (if used), and your moisturizer.

Will RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Foaming Treatment cause my skin to dry out?

Although it's possible that some who use this product too frequently or combined with other exfoliants may notice some flaking or sensation of dryness, when used as directed RESIST Weekly Retexturizing Treatment won’t leave skin feeling dry or looking flaky. It contains several ingredients that help skin retain moisture—you’ll be surprised at how unbelievably smooth this treatment makes your skin after just one night’s use! If you remain concerned about dryness, follow application with a moisturizer suitable for your skin type.

432586-PCWEB-WW v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.