Items you may also like

Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

Dull skin, your days are over. Our leave-on exfoliant reveals healthy, new skin as it builds collagen and evens out skin tone.
Item #: 766
  • Anti-Aging, Wrinkles
  • Best for Dry Skin; Suitable for All Skin Types
  • Evens out skin tone

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 163 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Annette M.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Immediate Results !!!
    • I can be a real snob when it comes to makeup and skin care products. I am really loyal to a few high end brands. I decided to give Paula's Choice brand a try after surfing the site and reading the brand reviews. I tried this product along with a sample of the Resist Retinol serum and work up the next morning with smooth, soft glowing skin. I was blown away by the results. I am looking forward to the results I see over time. I promptly placed another order for the Retinol serum. Amazing!!!!

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, May 05, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Part of my acne-curing regime
    • I use this for my moderate acne, with several other BHA/AHA products. Using the 2% BHA toner 2x daily was too drying and irritating, so I started using this at night instead. I use it 5 nights/week & other 2 days I use 10% AHA or 4% BHA. With all that usage (2 pumps/night), it lasts me about 10 months. I love that it also contains BHA, so I'm not actually skipping it. My skin is now acne-free, glowing, red marks (would result from every blemish, very visible on my very pale skin) are nearly gone

  3. Becca N
    Reviewed on Monday, April 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Reducing hyperpigmentation
    • Though I've never had out of control acne, I had quite dark hyperpigmentation from popping zits over the years. Coupled with the Michael Todd True Organics Dry Skin Kit (I think the Green Algae Toner has been especially helpful), this product has truly been helping to lighten those pesky dark marks. I think this has also been helping with some bumpy textures around the tops of my cheeks. For the first time in months, I'm comfortable without makeup on and am seeing my skin get better and better.

  4. Ann M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    So far so good
    • This product smells a tiny bit sweet. It soaked into my dehydrated skin quickly when I used one full pump, dotted it over my face and upper part of my neck, then "connected the dots". Trying to use prescription tretinoin cream (generic) at 0.025% (Stieva-A) and an exfoliator to reduce acne, acne marks and very fine lines. Price is reasonable which is great.

  5. Carolyn T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Smooth, bright skin!
    • This was one of my first PC purchases, and I am so sold on this brand now! I've been using this regularly and it has tremendously helped with smoothing out my skin tone and texture. I broke out over the summer with tons of tiny clogged pores and this treatment helped so much, especially when I added in a benzoyl peroxide treatment along with it. I wake up every morning to incredibly soft skin and I LOVE it!

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Perfect!
    • I have had such a hard time replacing a DDF glycolic lotion I used in the past and loved but was too heavy for my combo skin, especially in warmer weather- this product if far superior as it does not make my skin greasy or dry- therefore I get to use it in the morning as well as at night which has helped my skin so much! Makeup is actually fun to wear again because it goes on as a compliment to my skin not as a cover. Thank you for making this affordable!

  7. Christine H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Blown Away
    • I NEVER do reviews, but after years of my face feeling like sand paper and my trying to use scrubs to avoid the 'harness' of AHA on my sensitive skin, I tried this. I sound like an infomercial, but I was truly amazed. My skin is soft again! It's glowing! And this is gentle, no harsh reactions to my skin. Seriously, I am in love with this product, I can't stop touching my soft cheeks!

  8. Mario H.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AAARGHH
    • A friend got us a bottle of this a year and a half ago when he was still living in the US. My mom tried it, liked it, and subsequently ordered another one with the weekly AHA from my friend. I can fairly say that this thing, in conjunction with religious use of the weekly 10% AHA stuff effectively ELIMINATED my mom's sun patch on her face after about a year. No more trace of dat. MAD.

  9. Jennifer, M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING!!!!!
    • I absolutely love this stuff!! I have sun damaged, freckled skin & I've only been using this for maybe a month & my skin has improved dramatically. I use PC cleanser, toner, C15 booster, resist ultra light serum, resist anti-aging hydrator & about twice a week the resist resurfacing 10%AHA treatment. During the day I put on Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer daily defense. I found this works for me!

  10. Michelle W
    Reviewed on Friday, February 28, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow!!
    • I'm 42 and have battled with bumpy skin on cheek area for years. In 1 week those bumps are disappearing. Can't believe it really. Skin tone is also evening out. Skin just feels and looks radiant. I'm very happy. Using resist line (aha at night only) and use bha 2% liquid in morning. No discomfort felt whatsoever. Thanks Paula.

  11. DG
    Reviewed on Monday, February 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I love this!
    • This smells wonderful and a little bit goes on a long way. When I first started using the RESIST retinol cream, I had to use this about every 4th night till my skin got used to everything, but now I'm using it every other night and I think it makes my skin extra soft and helps prevent flaky dry patches. I like the consistency- it feels like an oil, but it soaks right in and leaves my skin feeling hydrated.

  12. Yanti
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It's just not for me
    • I've been a PC's user for the past 6 months. I'm using the CLEAR exfoliant (extra strength at night and regular strength in the morning). I tried to use this Daily Smoothing 5% AHA but seems the combination of AHA and BHA at the same time is not suitable for my skin. It irritates my skin and the irritation (red, itchy, blotchy skin) gone after i put PC's Clinical Advanced Redness Relief. So after 2 fail trials i concluded this is just not for me :)

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, February 06, 2014

    Hi there! We're sorry the RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment 5% AHA didn't work out for you. However, it is important to note that we do not recommend using an AHA and BHA at the same time, as not only is this unecessary (AHA and BHA both exfoliate the surface of skin, while BHA has the added benefit of clearing the pore), it can increase the risk of irritation to skin. Please contact our Customer Care Team, they would be happy to assist with an exchange or refund.

    —Admin
  13. sarah
    Reviewed on Monday, February 03, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    really really like
    • Been one week, and i'm giving 5 stars..skin feels soft and even moist. using twice a day..

  14. Anna F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A definite favorite
    • My favorite AHA moisturizer! Smooth gel like consistency, non greasy. Perfection!

  15. Lauren F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice!
    • I really like this product. I have acne and oily skin in the summer, but dry in the winter. This gives me the exfoliation I need while adding some hydration and evening out my skin tone. The only problem I have with this is that when I add my antioxidant serum (from the Skin Balancing line) it seems to pill up under my fingers. I try to not use too much. I think I just have to wait for it to dry more. But other than that I love it!

  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very good product
    • I rely heavily on reviews for purchasing so I hope this helps someone. I am 61 - normal to dry healthy skin, some slight pigmentation starting and of course the fine lines and wrinkles:) I just finished my first bottle of the Resist Daily AHA. I use 2 pumps twice a day for face, throat and decollete and it has lasted just over 3 months. That's pretty good value! My skin loves it - brighter and smoother. It hasn't made much difference in the pigmentation but maybe with more time....?

  17. AM
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing Product
    • I've used Paula's Choice products for several years but this is the first time I've tried the AHA treatment. At 52, my skin lacked the zest that this product provides. It goes on smoothly, absorbs quickly, and help rid my skin of impurities! I would definitely recommend this NON-irritating product! My only complaint is that the pump broke after just one week of gentle use.

  18. HEIDI
    Reviewed on Friday, November 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing for red marks & non-irritating!
    • I never understood people when they said they have a HOLY GRAIL product, but this one is really, truly that for me. I am a 23 year old with acne-prone skin that is pale and holds onto red marks like crazy. I use this AHA every night and then as a red mark spot treatment during the day...my red marks have faded dramatically. I think this AHA may have something to do with the clearing of my acne in general. It has an amazing consistency that's very much like a light lotion-- not drying.

  19. MP
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    the best PC product
    • This is the powerhouse of my Paula's Choice arsenal (and I only use PC-brand products now, so it's a big arsenal!). I used to use it at night, but now I like it in the morning, under my Ultra Light daily sunscreen -- it gives my skin the evenness and slight moisture it needs under a matte sunscreen. I never have problems with irritation, breakouts, or dryness from this product -- it simply works, and is perfect for everyday use.

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    FIrst time AHA user
    • I am impressed and I bought it expecting to be disappointed. I have always exfoliated but never with the results I obtained with this product. My skin is brighter - the crinkly lines on my chest have disappeared and the lines between my eyes are much shallower. So far no change on the brown spots but it has only been 3 weeks! I am 61 with very fair normal to dry skin and have never had breakouts. The product goes on easily and leaves no residue.

  21. NANCY D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for Me
    • I really wanted to like this product. I have used the 8% AHA gel for years, but thought maybe this would be better, since it is in the Resist line that I like so much. I know Paula's products don't have added fragrance, but something in this stuff just smells! Within 3 days I had a patch of red on one cheek. Fortunately BHA9 fixed that (amazing stuff!). I won't use this product again.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, October 10, 2013
    Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! Be sure to contact Customer Care for assistance with a refund or exchange.
    —Admin
  22. andrea h.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Excellent
    • I really like this treatment. I usually use it night. In the morning my skin is so smooth, the whitehead disappear.

  23. MIA D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really Like This
    • I have been using this product for about 15 weeks now. I like the results. It does not sting my sensitive skin and I use a mositurizer on top of it in the evening. I'm not sure I noticed a difference in my dark spots or wrinkles, but I do see a difference in the overall smoothness and appearance of my skin. I will continue to purchase and use this product.

  24. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Utterly disappointing
    • I ordered this for my mom since she's preoccupied the effects of aging are weighing down her sensitive skin. She tried this product at night and woke up to find a not-so-wonderful effect on her skin. It seems that overnight some acne pimples were developing and erupted at dawn. Not the uplifting outcome she was looking for. Although it is somewhat true that this product did leave her skin with a smoothing, silky feel to it-she was most disappointed that it caused this reaction. Not a best buy.

  25. Viki M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    fantastic
    • Fantastic cream. I am a makeup artist so skin care is #1 for me. This is my 5th time buying it i would recommend it to everybody all skin types. Great results!

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid is a must-have exfoliant for those who want their skin to look and act younger. It features 5% glycolic acid with a 0.50% boost of pore-penetrating salicylic acid. This anti-aging exfoliant reveals youthfully radiant skin and counteracts sun damage—without redness or irritation! The innovative daily-use formula continually renews your skin's texture, evens skin tone, smooths fine lines, and stimulates healthy collagen production via exfoliation and by delivering a potent blend of antioxidants that help fight free-radical damage.

Fragrance- and colorant-free, this silky treatment doubles as a lightweight moisturizer and is recommended as an integral part of the Paula's Choice Resist line This AHA exfoliant has a pH range of 3.5-3.8.

Who is this product for?
Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid can be used by all skin types and is ideal for anyone concerned with preventing and reducing the signs of aging, including sun damage, fine lines, uneven skin tone, and wrinkles.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, Thornfeldt Carl MD, 2010, pages 180–181; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,109–1,118; Clinical Evidence Online, December 16, 2008; Seminars in Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, September 2008, pages 170–176; Journal of Dermatological Science, December 2005, pages 195–204; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156–1162; Cutis, August 2001, pages 135–142; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001 pages 1–5; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, July 2000, pages 280–284; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, March-April 2000, pages 81–88; Dry Skin and Moisturizers: Chemistry and Function, edited by Marie Loden and Howard Maibach, 2000, page 237; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May-June 1999, pages 111–119; Journal of Cell Physiology, October 1999, pages 14–23; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 1996, pages 867–875.

Key Ingredients: epigallocatechin gallate, cell-communicating ingredients, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Cucumis melo (melon) fruit extract, ceramide 2, antioxidant, palmitoyl oligopeptide, allantoin, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, caffeic acid, AHA, bisabolol, salicylic acid, vitamin E, glycolic acid, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycolic Acid (AHA exfoliant), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent and penetration enhancer), Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredient), Ceramide 2 (skin-identical ingredient), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuoylmethane (anti-irritants/antioxidants derived from curcumin), Epigallocatechin Gallate, Caffeic Acid (antioxidants), Salicylic Acid (BHA exfoliant/anti-irritant), Disodium Lauriminodipropionate Tocopheryl Phosphates (vitamin E-based antioxidant), PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol (fatty acid thickener), Cucumis Melo (Melon) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/texture enhancers), Tribehenin (texture enhancer), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, PPG-14 Butyl Ether, PEG-40 Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate (thickeners), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Polyacrylamide (film-forming agents), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), C13-14 Isoparaffin (solvent), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Caprylyl Glycol (preservative), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Hexylene Glycol (solvent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply daily after cleansing and toning. Dispense 1–2 pumps and smooth over entire face. Follow with Paula's Choice Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and/or Resist Barrier Repair Moisturizer or Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator. First-time users should apply once daily, preferably at night. For maximum results, alternate with Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% AHA once per week. Avoid direct contact with eyes.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

Sun Protection Advice When Using Any AHA Exfoliant: This product contains 5% glycolic acid, an ingredient that may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun and the possibility of sunburn. Always apply a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater every day. When outdoors, wear protective clothing whenever possible, seek shade, and avoid prolonged sun exposure.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How should I alternate using Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment?

Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment is recommended for use at night, at least once but up to 4 or 5 times per week depending on how your skin responds. Since we do not advise using other exfoliants at the same time as Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment, you can apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment as part of your morning skincare routine or on night(s) you do not apply the Resist Weekly Resurfacing Treatment. In the morning, if desired, you can apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment after cleansing and toning or you can limit use of the Daily Smoothing Treatment to nighttime (this is best for first-time users). For daytime, follow with a serum and/or moisturizer or foundation rated SPF 15 or greater.

How does the Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment differ from the Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant?

While both of these products are AHA exfoliants, the texture and overall formulas differ. The Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment is an advanced AHA lotion that contains 5% glycolic acid and numerous antiaging ingredients designed to improve wrinkles. The 8% AHA Gel contains 8% glycolic acid formulated in a silky gel base with soothing agents and antioxidants. Both are excellent products but Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment offers additional benefits that go beyond what our 8% AHA Gel does, especially if wrinkles are a chief concern.

Can I use Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment with one of the Resist skin lighteners?

Yes, but not at the same time unless they are applied to separate areas of your face. This is because both of our Resist skin lighteners contain an exfoliant (the Lotion has glycolic acid and the Gel has salicylic acid). If you're using one of our Resist skin lighteners, you may apply it in the morning or on the nights you do not apply the Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment or apply the skin lightener only to discolorations and apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment over the rest of your face.

Can I use Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA products?

Yes, but ultimately it is not necessary to use an AHA and BHA exfoliant at the same time. Exfoliation is a balancing act that requires not tipping the scale so the potential for irritation outweighs the benefits. Using multiple exfoliants at the same time increases the likelihood of irritation and doesn't necessarily provide greater benefits. If you'd like to use a BHA product and Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment, we recommend applying one in the morning and the other in the evening. Which one you apply when is a matter of personal preference.

Is Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply Resist Daily Smoothing Treatment to the eyelid or underbrow area.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my AHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of an AHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to wait until skin has returned to its normal texture and color. This may mean waiting a few days or, depending on the depth of the peel or laser procedure, it may mean waiting several weeks. Both peels and laser procedures can temporarily leave skin extra-sensitive, so if in doubt it's best to wait rather than rush things. Once you begin using your AHA exfoliant again, pay attention to how your skin responds and adjust frequency of use accordingly. Discontinue use if you notice signs of irritation.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.355 11/27/2014 3:45:05 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off + FREE Shipping on Everything   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.