Items you may also like

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask

Bye, bye problem skin. This mask absorbs oil, uproots blackheads, and reduces irritation. Smooth, clear skin becomes you.
Item #: 275
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores
  • Combination , Oily Skin
  • Smooths rough, uneven skin
  • Shrinks enlarged pores, reveals younger looking skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 47 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 2
  1. LEAH S.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for combo skin
    • While it was on, this mask made my skin feel very tight. But after I rinsed if off my skin feels amazingly soft and is glowing! Highly recommend for getting that glowy look prior to a night out.

  2. Paula S
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 31, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    My face loved it BUT my neck didn't...
    • Tried a sample and my face felt and looked great afterwards. My neck broke out, though! I am thinking I need acne skin care routine for my neck and back, and leave my usual skin balancing/hydralight routine for my face alone. I am also not sure about the benefits of an occasional mask, but it can't hurt. I'd say buy a bunch of samples and try them once a week for a couple of months to see if you notice anything. I have a few more to try, but will stick to my face going forward...

  3. Nina
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Both Masks Give You Amazing Results
    • Not sure what Paula would say about this, but I use both masks once each week. I first cleanse my face & neck area, then use the mask for oily skin. I leave it on for 15 minutes, then rinse off completely. Next, I use the one for dry skin in the same way. If it's evening, I leave on overnight. If day, I follow with Skin Recovery routine. This has been a weekly routine for several years. My dermatologist says my skin is amazing for 64. He says more like 44. Good enough for me. I love the feel!

  4. William
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Nice Product
    • I never tried the old formulation as I was scared off by the reviews of a few who said it burned and caused redness. I am happy to say that this formulation caused none of that for me. In fact, it is incredibly soothing and leaves my skin less red and more smooth than prior to using it. It has a very classic clay mask feel but the fragrance free formula and addition of soothing ingredients makes this very different from old school masks I tried years ago. Well done!

  5. SARA
    Reviewed on Friday, May 31, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Effective, esp around nose.
    • I have really enjoyed this mask. I have normal/ slightly oily skin, and I bought it primarily for smoothing/extra blackhead help. It definitely leaves my skin noticeably smoother (even consider my retinue of PC products!). However, the biggest difference I notice is in the creases of my nose. When I use this, they look noticeably less red, and the blackheads are slowly diminishing. It seems to be more effective than even the BHA9, which is weird, I know. But hey, whatever works!

  6. ROBERT F.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Mask
    • This mask is very effective in leaving your skin very tight and also removes any oily residue. It removes easily with a wash cloth. Very nice product.

  7. Joseph C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Impressed
    • I have used dozens of different clay masks that all claim to do the same thing as this one. This is by far the best mask I have ever used. It has a nice light feeling when applied to the skin, yes it is a thicker clay, but it does not feel very heavy like most of the others I have tried. It also has just a very faint tingling sensation when first applied that quickly goes away and is not uncomfortable. Very easy to wash off, and my skin looked smooth and did not feel tight after use.

  8. Joseph C
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Impressed
    • I have used dozens of different clay masks that all claim to do the same thing as this one. This is by far the best mask I have ever used. It has a nice light feeling when applied to the skin, yes it is a thicker clay, but it does not feel very heavy like most of the others I have tried. It also has just a very faint tingling sensation when first applied that quickly goes away and is not uncomfortable. Very easy to wash off, and my skin looked smooth and did not feel tight after use.

  9. ALEFIYA H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It's Ok...
    • I would call this a feel-good mask at best... On my skin, it does sting on contact, but I've been using it for nearly two months now, at least once or twice a week, sometimes daily, hoping for it to make any impact at all on my large pores, and I'm so sad to say that it didn't. I did not notice any reduction in my blackheads either, and I've been using the Skin Balancing toner, 1% BHA gel and 8% AHA gel for over a year now as well. I guess my pores just must be extremely stubborn!

  10. TINA Y.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I love this mask. I have normal to dry skin but I can use this once a week without drying out my skin. As long as I use a moisturizer afterwards my skin is great. This is the only mask I've ever used that noticeably shrank my pores AND removed some of my blackheads. It doesn't rid my blackheads in one try but every time I use it I see them fading more and more. I'm also using the 1% BHA Gel but this mask reduced them even quicker!

  11. AliceinJapanaland
    Reviewed on Friday, March 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Clay mask I've ever used
    • Some clay masks that I've used leave my skin noticeably clean, but also tight and dry. This one is incredibly lightweight, rinses off easily, leaves skin soft and feeling moisturized instead of dry. Pores are left noticeably clear. I use it as a weekly treat for my skin but I could probably use it more often. LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

  12. Allie A.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • This mask does everything that it describes leaving my skin feeling soft and clean. I use this only once a week but love it and will continue to use it!

  13. ROSANNA K.
    Reviewed on Friday, December 07, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Better!!
    • Really like the new formula, the old formula worked as well but I did not like the black color which dis colored my face towel. Love the new formula, better color and it dries much faster. For me, I only need to leave it on for 10 minutes and its does go on smoother and rinse easier. Good job!! Thank Yu for really listening to us!

  14. Michele
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 29, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love the improved formula
    • I was satisfied (not thrilled) with the old formula mask, but am loving the updated version. No stinging, applies smoothly thanks to a creamy texture, and rinses easily. Recommended!

  15. Elizabeth
    Reviewed on Monday, November 26, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great improvement!
    • This is a great mask. My skin emmediately felt the difference. No stinging with this one. It went on smooth and silky. It actually looked like it had removed clogged pores and my skin looked smooth and soft. This is definitely a keeper.

  16. Chastity
    Reviewed on Monday, November 26, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    New vs. Old
    • I tried this mask last night. I still had a little stinging on my t-zone area and a overly dry feeling but it wasn't as bad as the older version. It was easier to wash off too. The one thing that I really liked was I noticed less blackheads on areas that I have had a hard time getting rid of. In my opinion this mask an improvement over the older version.

  17. A
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 21, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Still Stings
    • The old formula made my face burn, but I saw reviews saying that people who had the same issue with the old formula didn't have any stinging with the new version. I requested some samples and gave it a try, but immediately after applying I experienced intense stinging. I guess whatever ingredient bothered my skin is still included in this new formula . I wouldn't recommend this product for those with sensitive skin. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce favorable results for you. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. Feel free to check out other options at www.beautypedia.com and please contact customer care with any questions.

  18. Erik
    Reviewed on Monday, November 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great new formula!
    • This new formula is great,no stinging like the last and leaves the skin polished and matte!

  19. Katie
    Reviewed on Friday, November 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful
    • I am in love with this reformulation. It is amazing in so many ways. First, there is no stinging, it feels creamy and pleasant to apply, and it works. My skin feels soft, smooth and clean after I use this! I love Paula's products. They are so much better than the rest!!!

  20. Tim
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Impressive reformulation
    • Companies often reformulate their products, sometimes due to legitimate customer feedback and sometimes, I suspect just to be able to slap NEW IMPROVED FORMULA on the front. With the old Skin Balancing Mask there were enough customers experiencing stinging to warrant a complete reformulation. I used the old formula occasionally and was appreciative of its oil absorbing, pore refining effect, but the stinging was enough to put me off regular use. In comparison, I am tempted to use this new formula every day! While I found the old formula difficult to apply evenly, this glides on effortlessly. It seems to dry quicker, and I can see a dark spots where the oil has been leeched from the pores in my T-zone. I have not experienced any stinging at all, and after rinsing my complexion is calmed and radiant, with noticeably shrunk pores. When used in the morning, my skin requires less blotting during the day. There are so few absorbent masks on the market that are not full of irritating ingredients - the new Skin Balancing Mask is now head-and-shoulders above the rest!

  21. Sandy
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 04, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great reformulation
    • I used to use the charcoal mask, and although it didn't irritate my skin, I was not crazy about the texture (kind of slimey) . But this new reformulation, however, is great! The ingredient list is loaded with antioxidants. The texture is richer and thicker and I feel I can use less but still apply a nice layer to my face. There is no fragrance. It goes on smooth and feels refreshing and no stinging whatsoever. It goes on white and then dries to a grey color. It rinses off easily and my face and doesn't leave my face dry or irritated at all. My face just feels clean and smooth. Will definitely repurchase!

  22. Y.K
    Reviewed on Friday, October 26, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great product
    • I cannot live without a deep cleansing mask. This new formula is much better than the old one. This formula is now a lot less stingy - it is still stingy but very mild. It also spread more easily on skin. Its colour will change when it is dried up. I see oil being drawn out from my pore. Furthermore, just look at the anti-oxidants loaded in this mask. I looks refreshed and younger after just one application!

« Prev Page of 2

What makes this product unique?
This mask's unique formula beautifully balances skin by absorbing excess oil without over-drying or making it feel tight. It also doesn't include irritating, skin-damaging ingredients such as menthol, peppermint, or alcohol. The clay’s drawing action helps dislodge blackheads and cellular debris, while the soothing blend of anti-inflammatory agents reduce redness and irritation. The product rinses away completely leaving skin remarkably soft, matte, and beautifully smooth.

This product is 100% fragrance-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask is recommended for those with normal to oily/combination skin. Excellent for breakout- and blackhead-prone skin, too.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Mask

British Journal of Dermatology, August 2007, pages 295–300; Clinical Experiments in Dermatology, January 2007, pages 88-90; Journal of Agricultural Food Chemistry, February 2002, pages 840–845; Journal of Cosmetic Science, January-February 2002, pages 1–9; Journal of Natural Products, January 2001, pages 100–102; and Life Sciences, May 22, 1998, pages 401–407.

Key Ingredients: sea whip extract, phospholipid, ascorbyl palmitate, kaolin, Salix alba extract, bentonite, bisabolol, glycerin, colloidal oatmeal

Product Ingredients:

Water, Kaolin (clay/absorbent), Bentonite (white clay/absorbent), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract (anti-inflammatory), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder (water-binding/soothing agent), Sea Whip Extract (anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial agent), Colloidal Oatmeal, Bisabolol (anti-irritants), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Phospholipids (skin-repairing ingredient), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin A/antioxidant), Stearic Acid, Steareth-2 (thickeners), Caprylyl Glycol (preservative), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use on cleansed skin. Apply a thin layer all over the face and (if needed) neck and let dry for 10–15 minutes. Rinse thoroughly with tepid to warm water. Follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant, Clear Acne-Fighting Treatment, moisturizer, and/or specialty product. May be used as often as needed. Those with oily to very oily skin can use this mask several times per week, while those with normal to slightly oily skin can use it less frequently (once or twice per week, for example).

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

I thought Paula didn't like clay masks or, at best, finds them unnecessary skincare products. Did she change her mind?

Paula is not a big fan of most masks and she doesn't believe most facial masks are an essential step in a person's skincare routine. However, for women who want to incorporate them into their routines Paula developed masks that meet her standard of excellence. Many of our customers report excellent results form regular use of Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask.

Is Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask OK for those with rosacea and oily skin?

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask should be effective and suitable for someone with rosacea. However, those with rosacea always need to be careful about any skincare product they use because even the gentlest formulas may cause a reaction. Paula's Choice products are guaranteed to be effective or we will refund your money.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.355 11/26/2014 10:32:57 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off + FREE Shipping on Everything   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.