Items you may also like

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser

No more letting oily and dry areas duke it out. This foaming cleanser removes dirt and oil without stripping skin or leaving a hint of residue. And it's a perfect cleanser for combination skin.
Item #: 115
  • Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Wrinkles
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Calms and soothes sensitive skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 297 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 12 Next »
  1. HILARY F.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A true staple
    • I have sensitive, breakout prone skin that gets dry because of my job as a flight attendant. As of recently, I am starting to have to cope with maturing skin as well. I wear makeup when I'm working. This cleanser rids my face of all the dirt and makeup of a long worldwide day, without ever making my skin feel taut. This has been a staple in my beauty-routine for ages... I am talking about years and years and years. Please don't ever change this!

  2. JESSICA K.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful Cleanser!!!
    • This cleanser does exactly what is says it does! My skin feels amazing and super clean afterwards. My ONLY complaint...I wish it had a pump to dispense the cleanser. Please Paula...can you add a pump to all your cleansers?

  3. April G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very happy!
    • Although the consultant I messaged with recommended this cleanser, I ordered samples of several different cleansers to try. This was by far my favorite! I love the creamy consistency, the fact that it dissolves all my makeup without rough scrubbing, that I only have to use a pea-size amount for the whole face, and that it doesn't dry out my skin. I bought the large size bottle, and I think it will last about six months or longer!

  4. Mary G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Cleanser
    • I initially ordered about $20 worth of various samples of cleansers and moisturizers before making a choice on which to use, being new to this brand. This one won, hands down. Some of the others were okay, but this is both gentle and effective, and to me has a light, distantly sweet smell (despite there being no fragrance added). It's lasted me three months just using a pea-sized amount 1-2 times a day. This combined with some of the other PC products has really changed my skin.

  5. Gina P
    Reviewed on Friday, January 10, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best I've Ever Used
    • This cleanser is fantastic! A little goes a long way, it is great at removing all my makeup, and leaves skin feeling fresh and clean. My only complaint is the my complexion is only very mildly oily and it is in the winter so my skin feels a little tight after use until I follow up with the rest of my Paula's skin care routine.

  6. Noor Anggerainie A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    perfect for makeup removal
    • This cleanser is excellent to remove heavy makeup. I don't have to use other makeup remover to remove my waterproof mascara! All in one cleanser.

  7. Naomi P.R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best cleanser yet for major combo skin
    • I tried this vs. Hydralight when I first started using PC products. Love how this creamy cleanser is effective enough to tackle my oil, and juuuust emollient enough to help my dry cheeks. The nice results made me feel confident enough to start trying some PC toners!

  8. Lauren F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Will never change cleansers again!
    • I'll admit, I get lured into other products because of the pretty packaging and the amazing promises for your skin. I used this over the summer, but somehow started using other cleansers. Well, my skin became very oily, but very dry at the same time, with redness and clogged pores. I kept trying different products to solve all my problems, but just left my skin feeling greasy, but somehow still dry. Well, after I switched back, my skin feels SO much better! Will never switch my cleanser again!

  9. GirlieShoppe
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Cleanser!
    • This is a great cleanser! It gently removes dirt, oil, and makeup without leaving a residue or a tight, dry feeling. Wonderful product!

  10. sally m
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My new favorite cleanser
    • Loved and used the Hydralight cleanser for years.It did a great job of removing mascara. the Hydralight cleanser seemed to leave a film, on my face, that I had to remove with toner,Then after reading one of the reviews for Skin Balancing Cleanser ,decided to give it a try.So glad I did.I have oily / dry, aging skin (61 y.o.) and this cleanser is great. Love the way it creates a cushion type lather and takes all makeup off (including mascara), yet does not dry my skin.Try the sample first.

  11. Ashlea C
    Reviewed on Friday, November 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Blackhead Buster!
    • I suffer from hormonal acne and vastly conflicted skin. I have an incredibly oily T zone and I can get dry, scaly/flaky patches on my cheeks and around my mouth. I use this cleanser just on my T zone and the blackheads on my chin and nose have reduced from me being able to squeeze stuff daily from my pores to them being the size of a pin prick with next to nothing in them. I love this cleanser!

  12. Brett
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love <3
    • The best cleanser I've ever used. It lightly foams and is gentle yet effective and removing excess oil. Never leaves my skin feeling stripped or dry.

  13. Andrea M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love-hate relationship
    • It cleanses my skin very well..so well that it kind of dries it out. Sometimes, after I finish washing my face, my skin is red, flaky and feels like it burns. It calms down in about 5 minutes . I like the texture and the ingredients on the label but I am still trying to figure out if I love it or I hate it. Overall, it's a great cleanser. I rarely use make up so my skin is mostly just oily, so when I use step 2 (toner) the cotton pad is always super clean-white.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, October 23, 2013

    Thanks for your review! Although we're thrilled you love how well this cleanses and removes makeup, the reaction you're experiencing, however brief, isn't good. Please contact us for suggestions on an alternative cleanser or other changes to your routine that may make Skin Balancing Cleanser work even better for you!

    —Admin
  14. Bridget M
    Reviewed on Monday, October 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Hands down fave!!
    • Hands down my favorite cleanser of all time. Takes off everything in one shot! Leaves skin balanced and clean, never dry. I'm an esthetician and use PC products in my practice. This is the cleanser I use and sell the most.

  15. Dana T.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Whoa is all I can say!!!
    • I have always used Skinceuticals Clarifying cleanser. However, it makes me dry, tight, and itchy to the point that I have to pile on moisturizer and my skin still feels parched! Might I add that I have pretty oily/breakout prone skin and I still had that feeling. THIS CLEANSER IS THE BOMB DOT COM!!! It cleanses my skin and also leaves my skin feeling so nice that I could totally go without any other products! I am seriously in love with PC products and I've only been using since Wednesday!

  16. MARLA B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    works well with the Mia Sonic!
    • If you want a good lightly foaming cleanser that works with your sonic cleanser, this fits the bill. Works fine with just a wash cloth too, I use the Mia sonic cleanser for exfoliation every other day. This rinses clean & leaves my skin clean but w/out feeling stripped, dry, or tight. Removes most make up, except the water proof stuff (I use olive oil or eye make up remover first if I have stubborn eye make up). I have sensitive (rosacea), combination skin & this cleanses & reduces oil too.

  17. Natalia, D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Formula but Squeeze Tube / Pump Might be Better
    • I like the texture and the feel after wash better than the one step gel cleanser that i tried before. I just think that it might be better if this is packaged in a squeeze tube or lockable pump. With the current packaging, I have to turn it upside down, shake it several times & give a light squeeze until the product comes out. So now I keep it upside down on my bathroom counter, no big deal, but it just doesn't look nice lined up with other PC products (the odd one out of the crowd)!

  18. CARLY G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 05, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not having the best luck with this cleanser!
    • This cleanser does not seem to dry out my skin, but I've had a persistent and atypical breakout of deep, isolated acne. It started the week I began to use this cleanser, and the breakout was not in the usual "hormonal" areas. It seems to be getting better now that I have switched back to my Neutrogena Naturals cleanser. Thankfully, I've been using the BHA 9 which, like a humble superhero, swoops in at night and dries out the new bumps. Guess it's time to give a different PC cleanser a try!

  19. Jeanette
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    THIS IS IT FOR ME!
    • This is my cleanser! Like it over the HydraLight. At night, I follow cleanser with 2% BHA liquid (as my toner) and then Benzoyl Peroxide or once a week with skin resurfacing AHA. In the a.m. cleanser, Benzoyl 2.5 if needed or the 1% BHA as a moisturizer. I use the new Resist SPF30 (iron oxide) before using my Cinema Secrets foundation. I'm 54, normal to slightly oily, hormonal acne. I've done a lot of tweaking. It's this cleanser with no toner! Product redness and irritation are gone.

  20. ANONYMOUS
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    CLEAN, CLEAR GOOD LOOKING SKIN
    • This is wonderful creamy cleanser that produces a luxurious rich lather that just feels so refreshing. Skin is not left feeling tight or dry, just clear, good looking skin. I use it after my cleansing oil which removes make-up, I then follow with this fabulous cleanser. Well Done.

  21. Seth A.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Outstanding
    • I have NEVER in my life found a cleanser that 100% satisfies. I am blown away by this product. It is absolutely without a doubt my favorite cleanser of all time. This cleanser does everything right. The silky texture mainly. I love how the cleanser foams, but does not use sub par products to do so. (Sodium Laureth Sulfate) It fully cleans and satisfies the surface of the skin, without the tight pull other foaming cleaners provide. Its PERFECT! Favorite beauty product out there.

  22. Lauren B.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Cleanser for Combination Skin
    • I love the creamy texture of this cleanser. I tried this one and the Hydralight and found this much more pleasing. That being said, if I use it with the Skin Balancing lotion it's too drying for me. I have true combination skin where I can dry out but I get zits on my t-zone. This cleanser is perfect with a more moisturizing lotion- like the Hydralight one- for me.

  23. joey
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for guys too!
    • I usually have a scruffy beard and have been known to just wash my face with a bar of soap. What I like: - removes grease very well and leaves a smooth lasting finish - leaves my face feeling clean for a surprisingly long time (once a day is sufficient) - skin feels softer after only a couple weeks of regular use - a little goes a very long way MORE GUYS NEED THIS!

  24. Savannah F.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 02, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I like it! But not moisturizing enough with other products!
    • Works fantastic so long as you're not using a product that makes your skin matte. Something about that combination made my skin tight after cleansing and slightly painful, something I didn't experience on other days I had skipped the matte sunscreen. I think I need to bump up my moisture game if I'm going to use the new PC sunscreen and this cleanser - or get used to the tight cheeks. Otherwise, it didn't sting my eyes one bit and I have some sensitive peepers.

  25. Erin F.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Many, many thanks
    • I am so thankful that a friend of mine recommended I try Paula's Choice products back in 2008. I started using this cleanser along with the skin-balancing toner, BHA liquid, and the benzoyl peroxide gel, and I started getting compliments on my skin for the first time in my life. It was such a great feeling not to be self-conscious about my skin the way I had been for 10 years! I still have occasional breakouts of course, but this system has completely changed the health of my skin. Thank you!

« Prev Page of 12 Next »

What makes this product unique?
If you love a creamy yet non-greasy cleanser that produces soft lather, Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser is the perfect solution. This cleanser is formulated for oily/combination skin and works perfectly to remove excess oil and all makeup without stripping skin. Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser has a pearlescent texture and cushiony foam that treats your skin gently while offering thorough cleansing.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser is formulated for normal to oily/combination skin and those prone to blemishes.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing OIL-REDUCING Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: sunflower seed oil, Aloe barbadensis, sodium cocoyl isethionate

Product Ingredients:

Water, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (gentle cleansing agents), Stearic Acid (fatty acid thickener), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Glycol Distearate (skin-conditioning/opacifying agent), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (non-fragrant plant oil), Acrylates Copolymer (film-forming agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide (stabilizer and pH-adjusting agents), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous yet gentle circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup. Follow with the appropriate Paula’s Choice toner to give your skin a generous amount of potent antioxidants and skin-renewing ingredients. Next, apply your Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and/or moisturizer.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How is Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser different from the One Step Face Cleansers?

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser cleanses skin every bit as well as both Hydralight and Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleansers, but uses a different ingredient composition to do so. The One Step cleansers do not foam or lather, but Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser does, albeit mildly. Many customers prefer this type of lathering cleanser, even though the lather itself has no effect on cleansing ability.

I have oily skin. Which cleanser should I use?

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser would be great, or, if you prefer a gel texture, Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is the way to go. If you have oily skin and breakouts, go for Clear Pore Normalzing Cleanser.

Will Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser leave my skin feeling dry & taut?

No. Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser was carefully formulated to cleanse the skin thoroughly and remove makeup plus excess oil without stripping or drying the skin.

Do I still need to use an eye makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or long-wearing lip color or stains. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of face and eye makeup.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.