Items you may also like

Skin Balancing Super Kit

Just looking for some balance, here. Even out skin that's oily here, dry there with a complete skincare routine that comes in one handy kit.
Item #: 460
  • Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Wrinkles
  • Combination , Oily Skin
  • 7 products: cleanser, toner, exfoliant, day moisturizer with SPF, night moisturizer, treatment, treatment mask

Please Note: Do not use the 2% BHA Liquid if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Super Kit

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 112 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. Eric
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic!
    • I've had bad skin since my teens. I'm 53, don't look my age, but other cosmetic lines with their harsh Ingredients, worthless moisturizers and serums have caused more trouble than help. Paula's products have healed and transformed my skin by giving it what skin need to be healthy.. I'm a customer for life.

  2. Ania K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This stuff is amazing, I use it everyday twice a day. It leaves my skin so soft and hydrated. I use the mask once a week and it is wonderful. I am def going to purchase more of the cleanser, toner, and exfoliant. Since I still have a lot of lotions, mask, and serum left. A little goes a very long way. I haven't had any breakouts since I start using skin balancing system. I can see my pores def got smaller. I don't need to use foundation anymore, tinted moisturizer from PC is enough! I Love it!!

  3. Sarah
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Incredible!
    • I am 38 and I have been fighting with acne over the last several years. I used aveda products for years, but have always suffered with large pores, black heads, and slight acne. I started using this product a week ago and my skin has NEVER looked this great! My pores are significantly smaller and my blackheads are almost nonexistent now! I do not look over 30! All I can say is thank you! I love this product and I'm so happy I found it!

  4. Suzanne Y.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing Product
    • My facialist recommended that I purchased a Clarisonic Pro. I use this twice-daily with the Paula's Choice for oily skin. My skin has transformed. It has never looked better. I will be turning 40 this year and I don't look any older than 30/31. I've been fighting with adult onset acne since I turn 30, including a cyst on my left cheek that literally was there for three years. The dermatologist injected it with medication and on more than one occasion but this private actually made it go away.

  5. Britney T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Hopeful turned disappointed
    • I truly was excited to try these products. I am 23 and Black. I have struggled with slight to moderate acne recently. I've tried drugstore, department store and have been to a dermatologist. I heard of paula's choice through a friend. So far I've been using it for three months and nothing has helped. Now I have small pimples all over my forehead and LARGE ones on my cheeks, nose, and chin. This has never been this bad. I will not buy again. Textures feel great but does not work

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 15, 2013
    Thank you for your review. We're sorry the Skin Balancing System didn't work out for you! While we can't say for certain why your experience wasn't the same as others, we can certainly make sure you aren't stuck with products that don't work for you. Please contact our Customer Care and they will be happy to discuss alternatives, or arrange for a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  6. Pam L
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Never been more happy with a product!
    • I was skeptical because nothing worked for me. I have a problem with pores that had become extremely enlarged with build up that I could not get out. Cosmetologist could not get the pores cleaned out. I tried several products and nothing worked until I found Paula's products, wow! I was amazed!! I started out by ordering the samples. I found myself wanting more. Within 2 weeks using the skin balancing collection the dirt and build up was easily removed and the pores are shrinking. TRUST ME!

  7. KP
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm a believer
    • In my mid-40s with oily skin but now dry on the very surface and with large pores, I have searched for ANYTHING that could help my skin look/act younger without having to slather on thick creams that only make me break out. It's such a balancing act to provide moisture to an aging oil-slick but this system, in just a few weeks, has changed the way my skin behaves. I've never been happier with my skin. Smaller pores, less oil but never feels dry - amazing. Please never discontinue this line!

  8. andrea e.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not impressed yet
    • It has been 6 weeks since I started using the Skin Balancing System, and I must say I am not impressed. My pores are larger and more clogged than ever, and I have started getting small pimples here and there. I started using the system because someone recommended it. I was using a couple of prescription creams that, although worked, were harsh on my skin. I will finish the last half of the system to see if it gets better, but as of now will not repurchase.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 15, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry the Skin Balancing System isn't working out for you. There are a variety of factors that may be to blame, and we would suggest contacting our Customer Care team for advice, or assistance with an exchange or refund.
    —Admin
  9. Anastasiya
    Reviewed on Monday, March 04, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Perfect for someone with oily skin, too drying for normal skin
    • It is a good system and even though I have been using it for only a week or so, pores/blackheads on my nose appear to be much smaller and overall skin appearance has improved. However, I would have to agree with some of the comments below about this system not providing enough moisture for the skin and making it dry and flaky, also my skin feels tight after using it. I think this system will do wonders for somebody with really oily skin, but not for somebody with normal skin, like me.

  10. Amanda R.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I could not be more satisfied with this system! I've only been using it for a week and can already see a noticeable difference in the texture and feel of my skin. My main issues were fine lines, blackheads and large pores. My skin is smoother than I have ever felt it and my larger pores and finely bed are already starting to diminish. I love that moisturizer and serum can be used around the eye area so I don't have to invest in separate products. Plus it's a complete system. Best investment

  11. Karen F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 17, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Works to clear skin but is Drying
    • I like the softness of my skin and it is taking the redness away, however I can only use this every other day because it causes my skin to become really" flakey" I am not sure it is moisturizing enough or if the Bha is too strong! I really like how it is minimizing my pores and giving my skin a brighter apearance, just wish I would not flake up in patches! and wish I could use everyday as intended.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 18, 2013
    Thank you for your review! It sounds like the Skin Balancing System may not be enough moisture for you (and/or the 2% BHA Liquid too potent). It's tough to know which is the culprit, but our Customer Care Team is happy to help you work it out, whether credit/refund or just exchanging out a product or two. Contact us when time permits!
    —Admin
  12. ashley p.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    I wanted it to work but it didn't
    • I really wanted to like this set. I've used it exclusively for over a month. I know a new skin care routine can cause breakouts, especially one that is cleaning out your pores. While it didn't hurt my face, I noticed no change. I had some minor breakouts but then nothing got better from there. Dissapointed.

  13. Houston
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great stuff
    • I very rarely write reviews for anything so believe me when I say that I have been quite impressed with this line. I'm a middle-aged male who has always had acne/oily skin/large pores but who also tends to get dry/flaky/sensitive skin with many acne products. I have been using a topical retinoid (Differin) since my teens and it helps keep most of the zits at bay but still hasn't done much for my other skin concerns. I tried PC after happening upon the Beautypedia website. Have only been using the system for a couple of weeks now but can tell a HUGE difference already. Pores smaller, skin is seriously softer after just a couple night's use (no lie). I started with the 2% BHA lotion and I'm thinking it may be too strong for me - will probably need to drop down to the 1% but otherwise, nothing but great things to say. Order samples if you're skeptical but I promise you'll end up purchasing the full size soon thereafter! Only caveat I have is that the daytime moisturizer still leaves my skin a bit shiny (I'm a guy and don't wear makeup or powder so would like for it to look like I'm not wearing anything at all). Not sure if much can be done though - maybe try the shine stopper on top of the moisturizer? Or maybe's there's an spf moisturizer from PC that's not as shiny? Great job PC team. I'm not an easily impressed consumer but this stuff works!

  14. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 30, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Heather
    • I have been using this system in bits and peices for a while, so I ordered the whole system. I am in my mid 40's and still suffer from oily/combination skin. Before using the system I was on birth control to stop cystic acne. Since using this I stopped the birth control and the cystic acne is gone. I still have oily skin and have to blot several times a day, but I find that if I am consistent in the product use the acne is under control. My only caveat is for travel; make sure you have the lid tight on the BHA bottle, as I exfoliated the inside of my suitcase this weekend. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass your comments along. We are happy to hear that this system is working so well for you! If you would like to contact customer care, we are more than happy to send you a replacement of the Skin perfecting 2% BHA Liquid. You may contact us by phone at 1.800.831.4088, by e-mail or live chat. We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you further.

  15. CORINNE L.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    always the best
    • I have always had problem skin. Used Proactive for years but specialists warned me of the long-term effects from strong chemicals. I started with Paula's Cosmetic Books for advice. Now, I use only her products and my skin is Finally Incredible.!.!. AND - There's no marketing scheme, her products are PURE that's why they don't have fragrance and you may not like the smell but again, what is more important !? If your skin breaks out at first, it means you are RE-BALANCING the deep layers of your skin. Take this as a good sign.... :) Thank you Paula Corinne

  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 05, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Breaking Out
    • I really wanted this to work, but I've been breaking out since using it. Don't get me wrong - my face is soft after having used this. However, I'm getting painful cystic pimples and maybe it's because I'm purging, but I haven't had cystic acne in a while. After using it, I've had at least two (if not more) cystic pimples on my face consistently. As of right now, I have a lot more and maybe it's because my hormones are acting up because it's that time of month. I've only used this for about 2.5 weeks but will continue to use it until I get the CLEAR system. This might work well for someone whose skin isn't as sensitive as mine. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. The breakouts may coincide with hormonal fluctuations, so it is best to continue to use the products for a few more weeks to see how your skin ultimately responds. If it does not improve it would be best to stop using the products. We do suggest adding in the CLEAR benzoyl peroxide that helps to kill the acne causing bacteria that is applied after the BHA. In the meantime please contact customer care if you would prefer an in house credit for this kit which may be used on a future phone order and so that we may help with your routine.

  17. Bo
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    For OILY skin
    • I bought the whole system and found that its pretty drying to my skin and I have dry skin an I didn't realize,that its for oily/combination skin so this system didn't work for me. But if you have oily skin this would be AMAZING for you!! So I contacted customer service and they suggested the skin recovery system so I decide to go with that an give paulas choice another chance an they actually let me keep the balancing system soo the customer service is outstandingly amazing.. I love most of paulas choice produc!! Highly recommend for people with (oily skin)! I also highly recommend the skin recovery system for those with (dry skin)!!!! Love paulas choice

  18. LaTissia
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love Being in My Skin
    • Like the masses, I have been trying to find a skincare system that works (consistently). After an evening of frantic searching for something new AND effective, I found Beautypedia. After having to accept the sad truth about my then skincare line (which I could confirm with my own experience), I decided to try Paula's Choice. I ordered the sample set for the Skin Balancing System, and I fell in love! It took my skin the normal two days to adjust to the change of products, but once it did the benefits were obvious. The little dry patches on my cheeks disappeared, my skin was smooth and velvety to the touch, and I could tell that the irksome brown spots on face would fade with time. I ordered the full size set immediately. I love the completeness of the system: it addresses a full-spectrum of concerns (aging, oiliness, clogged pores, drabness and scarring/melanin over-production). I love that the products last a long time. I love the ease of the system (it might not seem like it at first, but it is 1-2-3 easy). I absolutely adore the cleanser, antioxidant serum, and moisture gel (PM moisturizer). The other two products are great, but I have yet to find an SPF moisturizer that I just love. This one is a solid good, but it tends to leave my skin with a little shine (although the blotting paper and the PC Shine Stopper are fabulous). And, I am one of the reviewers who find that the BHA can make my skin a little shiny, but it's nothing that I can't handle. My only complaint is that when I ordered my set, the mask was being reformulated, so I have not tried it. I will get it some point.

  19. Michelle
    Reviewed on Monday, October 29, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great products!
    • I switched to the Skin Balancing system after being a long time Clinique custoner. I was no longer seeing the results I wanted and did not want to pay the department store prices any longer. Before I tried this I tried some of the drugstore products that Paula has recommended on her Beautypedia.com website. They were okay. A few of the products I liked were discontinued and when I tried new ones, they made me break out, worse than I had in a really long time.On to the Skin Balancing system I went, and I am very glad I did. It was a little pricey at first but considering you get six full sized products it is well worth the price. I love the texture of my skin and the fact that the oily parts of my skin are not so shiny anymore. I will definitely continue using these products.

  20. Michelle
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow....
    • Due to a medical condition, I have a rash on my face. For many years I suffered with the redness and irritation from it. I started using 4 of the products in this set. (The cleanser, the toner, the BHA, and the moisturizer) My rash has cleared up tremendously to the point where I can actually now DECIDE if I want to go out of the house without makeup, and I no longer have to use tea tree on my breakouts. Since using this system, I've only had 1 breakout. I'm sold for life!

  21. Rudaba
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    My skin breaking out
    • I bought this whole kit but since I am using it my skin breakout more often I don't no why but I still like this product my skin get so soft after each time I use hope it start working for me some time later hopefully. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not noticed better results. The amount of time it will take to see improvement really can vary from person to person and ultimately depends on the extent of the condition or concerns they are trying to address. Some consumers will notice results promptly while others will notice results over a period of time such as months. There are also factors that can keep BHA from improving skin, such as using products not appropriate for your skin type (heavy moisturizers,) or those containing irritating ingredients (bar soaps, fragrances,) or not following a consistent skin care routine. The breakouts also may coincide with hormonal fluctuations; all acne is hormonal so it is best to continue to use the product for a few more weeks to see how your skin ultimately responds. If it does not improve it would be best to stop using the products. We will leave an in house credit for the kit which may be used on a future phone order if you would like to try another routine if this continues to not be working well for you, just contact customer care with help.

  22. Anne
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It's just okay.
    • cleanser - gentle, too watery, doesn't smell that niceBHA - smells very chemical acid-like(not that pleasant), I like this one the best out of all other productsserum - very soft, smells weirdmoisturizing gel - very soft, gentle but doesn't still moisturize my chin(white crust still shows)spf lotion - a bit greasy, okay so farI ordered this product because my best friend is a fan of Paula's Choice and I wanted to try the entire set to see some improvement. This system didn't make me have pimples or any other skin troubles but it didn't make remarkable difference to my skin. I f I use up my set, I will probably buy only BHA again. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with the products. We would like more information regarding your skin type and how the products were being used. We would like to mention we don't use any masking fragrances/perfumes in the products as these are irritating for the skin so what you smell is the natural raw ingredients used in the formulas which can vary in intensity from batch to batch. We would love to help you find a better routine, please contact customer care so that we may discuss this further.

  23. Becky
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    very good for MY skin!
    • I've bought each of these products piecemeal and my skin is happy with each, esp. the 2% BHA liquid, the moisture gel, and the cleanser. I will buy them as a group next time, for the savings.

  24. Lora
    Reviewed on Friday, September 21, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best skin care system I've ever used
    • I'm 46 with fairly complex skin, oily in places, dry in others, blackheads around my nose, big pores and infrequent breakouts. By answering the survey on the homepage, Paula's Choice recommended a system combining items from the Skin Balancing and Resist lines. I've been using this for about two months now and my skin has never looked better. Words cannot express how pleased I am at the results, the great cost and the service Paula's Choice offers. I am beyond satisfied! Although I've always cared for my skin, I've always resisted a multiple-step skin care regimen. It was so easy to adapt, and now that I've seen the results Paula's Choice gave me, I wouldn't think of skipping a step. I could go on and on, but I'll just end with Well done Paula!

  25. Pam
    Reviewed on Monday, September 03, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Ok, I am a believer!!
    • So I have spent 6 months plundering for the skin solution for me. I have been using beautypedia, Paula's is always the best, but hey she owns both sites, so I was skeptical. Well I broke down and asked the Paula's choice folks, how to treat, wrinkles, rosacea (slight), and sensitivity, with slight dryness, that is a bit oily by afternoon. LOL, they gave me a regime, I got samples. Well I never review products, but WOW, this is on point, it is the BEST skin care regime I have used......I love it and will continue to use it, my skin looks great, less red, more balanced and glowy. It feels wonderful. Thank you so much to Paula's choice, and I apologize for doubting!!!!!

« Prev Page of 5 Next »

Products in the Skin Balancing Super Kit Include:
 

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Refresh your normal to oily or combination skin with this light, cushiony cleanser that effectively removes all makeup (including eye makeup).

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Restore skin's healthy balance and reduce enlarged pores with this lightly hydrating, weightless solution.

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
A silky, toner-like consistency enhances penetration to maximize exfoliation.

Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
This weightless combination of potent bioactive ingredients (including retinol) forms a breathable barrier to protect and normalize skin.

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
Rejuvenate your skin and restore healthy cell function with this weightless, mattifying moisturizer.

Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
This weightless gel contains antioxidants and niacinamide, in a shine-free gel that generates healthy, younger skin cells.

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask:
Normal to Oily/Combination Skin
This unique mask absorbs excess oil and help dislodge blackheads.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Experimental  Biology and Medicine, November 2008, pages 1,469–1,477; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9;  International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, volume 124, issue 4, April 2005, pages 756–763; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, March–April 2004, pages 90–96; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; and Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73.

Sources to support the claims made for SKIN PERFECTING 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant

International Immunopharmacology, August 2009, pages 1,126–1,130; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, February 2006, pages 416–421; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November-December 2004, pages 519-531; Archives of Internal Medicine, July 2002, pages 1531–1532; Annals of Dermatology and Venereology, January 2002, pages 137–142; Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology, volume 175, issue 1, pages 76–82; Preservatives for Cosmetics, 2006, by David Steinberg, Allured Publishing, pages 39-40; Pain, January 1996, pages 71–82; and Seminars in Dermatology, December 1990, pages 305–308.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum

Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprolology, January-February 2010, pages 20-26; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Skin Research and Technology, August 2009, pages 338–345; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,057–1,065; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; General Physiology and Biophysics, June 2007, pages 97-103;Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606-612; Cosmetic Dermatology, supplement, Revisiting Retinol, January 2005, pages 1-20; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 799-804; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Experimental Dermatology, September 2005, pages 684-691; International Journal of Biological Macromolecules, July 2005, pages 116-119; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, January-February 2005, pages 20-26; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156-1162; Mechanisms of Ageing Development, July 2004, pages 465-473; and Journal of Dermatology, November 2001, pages 595-598; European Journal of Medical Research, September 2001, pages 391–398; Journal of Controlled Release, January 2000, pages 7–17 and Journal of Investigative Dermatology, September 1997, pages 301–305.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Daily Defense SPF 30

Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, September 2009, pages 299–304; Skin Research and Technology, August 2009, pages 338–345; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,057–1,065; Experimental Dermatology, June 2009, pages 522–526; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Food and Chemical Toxicology, April 2008, pages 1,298–1,307; Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health, Volume 72, pages 796–806; Future Oncology, December 2008, pages 841–856; Journal of Pathology, January 2007, 241–251; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, January 2002, pages 117–125; Clinical Experimental Dermatology, October 2001, pages 573–577; and Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications, September 1999, pages 661–665.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing INVISIBLE FINISH Moisture Gel

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23-34; Journal of Radiation; Journal of Molecular Medicine, February 2008, pages 221-231; British Journal of Dermatology, August 2007, pages 295–300; Experimental Dermatology, July 2005, pages 498–508; International Journal of Dermatology, March 2005, pages 197–202; Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, February 2005, pages 287–295; Journal of Dermatological Science, volume 31, 2003, pages 193–201; and Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2001, pages 37–40.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask

British Journal of Dermatology, August 2007, pages 295–300; Clinical Experiments in Dermatology, January 2007, pages 88-90; Journal of Agricultural Food Chemistry, February 2002, pages 840–845; Journal of Cosmetic Science, January-February 2002, pages 1–9; Journal of Natural Products, January 2001, pages 100–102; and Life Sciences, May 22, 1998, pages 401–407.

Key Ingredients: sodium cocoyl isethionate, skin-repairing ingredients, adenosine triphosphate, grape seed extract, cranberry seed extract, sea whip extract, ceramides, sunflower seed oil, Arctium lappa, Camellia sinensis, sodium PCA, methylpropanediol, panthenol, colloidal oatmeal, tocopherol, avobenzone, retinol, glycerin, vitamin A, phospholipid, salicylic acid, astaxanthin extract, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, homosalate, ascorbyl palmitate, antioxidant, Ginkgo biloba leaf extract, sodium hyaluronate, Laminaria saccharine, BHA (beta hydroxy acid), Salix alba extract, Vitis vinifera, Rubus idaeus, adenosine , cholesterol, bisabolol, Aloe barbadensis, octocrylene, niacinamide, cell-communicating ingredients, superoxide dismutase, licorice extract, bentonite, Boerhavia diffusa root extract, green tea, caprylic/capric triglyceride, vitamin C, kaolin, Glycine soja oil, oxybenzone, silica, vitamin E, chamomile

Product Ingredients:

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser:
Water, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium Lauroamphoacetate (gentle cleansing agent), Stearic Acid (fatty acid thickener), Hexylene Glycol (slip agent), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (non-volatile plant oil), Glycol Stearate (thickener), Sodium Trideceth Sulfate (emulsifier), Acrylates Copolymer (film-forming agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride (stabilizer and Ph-adjusting agent), Potassium Sorbate (stabilizer), Laureth-4 (emulsifier), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative)

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner:
Water, Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communcating ingredient), Adenosine Triphosphate (cell-communicating ingredient/skin conditioning agent), Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Arctium Lappa (Burdock) Root Extract (antioxidant), Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (skin conditioning agents), Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate (skin conditioning agent), Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol (lipid-based skin-repairing ingredients), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Oleth-10, DEA-Oleth-10 Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate (emulsifiers), Polysorbate-20 (skin conditioning agent), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Trisodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant:
Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (anti-irritant/antioxidant), Polysorbate-20 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol:
Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Isododecane (matte finish solvent), Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Dimethicone Crosspolymer (silicone suspending agent), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (non-aqueous thickener), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A/antioxidant), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (thickener), Retinol (antioxidant/cell-communicating ingredient), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Haematococcus Pluvialis (Astaxanthin) Extract (antioxidant pigment), Bisabolol, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidants/anti-irritants), Salix Alba (Willow) Leaf Extract (anti-irritant), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Ginkgo Biloba (Ginkgo) Leaf Extract, Calluna Vulgaris (Heather) Flower Extract, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Fruit Extract, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Betula Alba (White Birch) Bark Extract (antioxidants), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (antioxidant plant oil), Silica (absorbent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30:
Active Ingredients: Oxybenzone 4%; Avobenzone 3%; Homosalate 7%; and Octocrylene 2%; (sunscreen agents).
Other Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Silica (absorbent), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder (water-binding agent), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Phospholipids (cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant enzyme), Adenosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant/anti-irritant plant extract), Colloidal Oatmeal (plant-based anti-irritant), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract (anti-irritant), Cetyl Dimethicone (silicone-based emollient), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (absorbent/thickener), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Titanium Dioxide (opacifying agent), Sorbic Acid (preservative), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Steareth-21, Steareth-2, Polysorbate-20 (emulsifiers), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel:
Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Glycerin, (skin-identical ingredient) Laminaria Saccharina (Seaweed) Extract (water-binding agent), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract (antioxidants), Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil (emollient plant oil/lubricant), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E/antioxidant), Niacinamide (Vitamin B3/cell-communicating ingredient), Phenyl Trimethicone, Dimethicone, Bis-Phenylpropyl Dimethicone (silicones/slip agents), Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate (licorice/anti-irritant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (Vitamin C/antioxidant), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), Phospholipids (cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Isohexadecane (emulsifier), Panthenol (Vitamin B5/water-binding agent), Propylene Glycol (slip agent), Sodium Carbomer (gel-based thickener), Sodium Acrylate/Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (film-forming/water-binding agent), Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer (silicone film-forming agent), Polysorbate 80 (thickener), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives)

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask:
Water, Kaolin (clay/absorbent), Bentonite (white clay/absorbent), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract (anti-inflammatory), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder (water-binding/soothing agent), Sea Whip Extract (anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial agent), Colloidal Oatmeal, Bisabolol (anti-irritants), Phospholipids (skin-repairing ingredient), Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin A/antioxidant), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Stearic Acid (thickener), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser:
DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous yet gentle circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup. Follow with the appropriate Paula’s Choice toner to give your skin a generous amount of potent antioxidants and skin-renewing ingredients. Next, apply your Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and/or moisturizer.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner:
DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant:
DIRECTIONS: Dispense approximately a dime-sized amount onto a cotton ball or pad and stroke over clean skin, including around the eyes (do not apply to eyelids or along the lower lash line). This product may also be applied with your fingers. Do not rinse off. Follow with Paula's Choice Clear Acne Fighting Treatment (if needed), moisturizer, and/or specialty product. For daytime, wear under a product rated SPF 15 or higher.

Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol:
DIRECTIONS: Apply morning and evening after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. Smooth a few drops onto face, neck, and eye area before moisturizing (or use alone). For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater. Works beautifully under makeup (as foundation primer) and is suitable for use around the eyes.

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30:
DIRECTIONS: Apply liberally before sun exposure as the last step in your morning skincare routine. Allow a moment to dry before applying makeup. For extra sun protection and to create a flawless finish, follow with a Paula’s Choice foundation and pressed powder with sunscreen.

Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel:
DIRECTIONS: Apply morning and/or evening after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. Ideal for treating face, neck, and eye area. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask:
DIRECTIONS: Use on cleansed skin. Apply a thin layer all over the face and (if needed) neck and let dry for 10–15 minutes. Rinse thoroughly with tepid to warm water. Follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant, Clear Acne-Fighting Treatment, moisturizer, and/or specialty product. May be used as often as needed. Those with oily to very oily skin can use this mask several times per week, while those with normal to slightly oily skin can use it less frequently (once or twice per week, for example).

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser:

How is Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser different from the One Step Face Cleansers?

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser cleanses skin every bit as well as both Hydralight and Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleansers, but uses a different ingredient composition to do so. The One Step cleansers do not foam or lather, but Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser does, albeit mildly. Many customers prefer this type of lathering cleanser, even though the lather itself has no effect on cleansing ability.

I have oily skin. Which cleanser should I use?

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser would be great, or, if you prefer a gel texture, Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is the way to go. If you have oily skin and breakouts, go for Clear Pore Normalzing Cleanser.

Will Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser leave my skin feeling dry & taut?

No. Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser was carefully formulated to cleanse the skin thoroughly and remove makeup plus excess oil without stripping or drying the skin.

Do I still need to use an eye makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or long-wearing lip color or stains. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of face and eye makeup.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner:

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients.

How do I know which toner is right for me? Besides skin type, what are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

All of our toners restore skin, help remove last traces of makeup, are alcohol- and fragrance-free, and contain no unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. They are great as an adjunct to a more thorough cleansing routine, especially post-workout or in hot/humid climates. Even more significantly, they go beyond the basics by offering skin benefits you can see and feel.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to dry aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Resist Weightless Advanced Repairing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to oily or breakout-prone aging skin with a broad range of targeted ingredients to help improve signs of aging plus reduce enlarged pores and reduce dry, flaky, uneven skin texture. It is ideal for those struggling with oily skin, wrinkles, and large pores.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is an excellent choice for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer texture than any of our other toners and contains more plant oils and other emollients than our Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner. This is a great option for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea accompanied by dry skin.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains ingredients that help soothe and restore normal to dry skin, plus it includes a greater amount of glycerin, a key ingredient to make dry skin look and feel better. It also contains a broad range of ingredients that aid the barrier repair process so those with dry skin (or normal skin with occasional dry patches) will receive even more benefit from their Paula’s Choice moisturizer and/or specialty product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, yet still provides an array of antioxidants, anti-irritants, and skin-protecting ingredients. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to dry skin, you can use Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner in the morning and Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner in the evening.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent for protecting skin from environmental damage or dryness. In addition, its cell-communicating ingredients can, in theory, help balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen or lead to reddened or blemished skin. Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner uses a more complex formulation than our Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, and helps restore normal cell function.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is a great option for those who want more protection and a soothing, soft, feeling on their skin, particularly those with sensitive skin. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to oily/combination skin, you may want use Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner in the morning and Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner in the evening.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant:

What's the difference between AHA and BHA exfoliants? Do I need both?

When properly formulated, both AHAs and BHA are brilliant options for exfoliating the surface of skin. Both AHA and BHA work to reduce wrinkles, stimulate collagen, and firm skin but each has its special qualities you'll want to consider when deciding which one to use:

  • AHAs are preferred for sun-damaged and dry skin because they exfoliate on the surface of skin and have the added benefit of also improving moisture content.
  • BHA is preferred for oily, acne-prone skin and for treating blackheads and white bumps because BHA can get through the oil that's clogging your pores, normalizing the lining of the misshapen pore that contributes to acne.
  • BHA has anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Those are two more reasons to use a BHA exfoliant if you have acne or sensitive, reddened skin.
  • BHA is preferred for those struggling with rosacea. Not everyone with rosacea can tolerate an exfoliant, but it is wise to experiment with a BHA product to see how your rosacea responds.

If your skin is sun-damaged and you're also struggling with acne or clogged pores, add a BHA product to your routine.

If you'd like to use an AHA and BHA at the same time, that is an option, though not really necessary. Some people find they work well when they're applied at the same time, but if you want to give this a try it is best to apply them separately, one during the day and one in the evening.

How do I use an AHA or BHA exfoliant?

  • You can apply an AHA or BHA product once or twice a day.
  • You can also apply either of these around the eye area but not on the eyelid or directly under the eye.
  • Apply the AHA or BHA product after your face is cleansed and after your toner has dried.
  • Once the AHA or BHA has been absorbed, you can apply any other product in your routine, such as moisturizer, serum, eye cream, sunscreen, and/or foundation.
  • If you're using a topical prescription product such as Renova, other retinoids, or any of the topical prescription products for rosacea, apply the BHA or AHA first.

Your AHA (glycolic acid) products have a higher percentage than your BHA (salicylic acid) products. Does this mean AHA is a stronger exfoliant?

AHA products are most effective at a 5% to 10% concentration and BHA at 1% to 2% concentration. Think about it like making bread, the amount of yeast you need is tiny in comparison to the amount of flour you use but equally important to get the results you want. The percentage of effectiveness varies depending on the ingredient. Rest assured that the BHA products are not any less effective due to lower concentrations of the exfoliant.

The Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant feels sticky and kind of greasy on my face! Why is that?

If the BHA is feeling sticky, you are probably using too much product. The average amount necessary for facial application of the 2% BHA is less than the size of a dime. The product is best applied in a thin layer, and has great spreading properties. The "greasy" feel can be attributed to the high levels of glycol in this product (glycol helps the BHA penetrate the surface layers of skin and also works as a water-binding agent). If you live in a humid, moist climate, this effect will be more pronounced and, if too much product is used, can create a "greasy" feel on the skin. Many customers have remarked how silky-soft their skin is as a result of using the 2% BHA Liquid, and that is the result of the humectants working with the BHA to exfoliate and hydrate the skin.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol:

Which Paula’s Choice serum should I use?

All skin types can use any of our serum and each provides multiple anti-aging benefits, but there are some formulary distinctions that make certain Paula’s Choice serums preferred for specific skin types. Here’s how they break down:

  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum can be used by all skin types, including sensitive skin. The Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Serum contains the highest amount of retinol.
  • Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin because it contains plant oils.
  • Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to oily or combination or breakout-prone skin because it has the lightest texture and weightless finish.
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is the only Paula’s Choice serum that does not contain retinol. Therefore, it’s the natural choice for anyone whose skin cannot tolerate this ingredient.

Is the texture of Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate similar to Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel?

No. Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel is a silicone-in-water emulsion and has a light, water-based gel texture while the Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is a non-aqueous serum that has a completely different feel. They're designed to work beautifully together, or you may use the Skin Balancing serum with any of our other moisturizers.

Does Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum decrease the appearance of pores?

The silicone polymers in this product float over skin and minimally "fill in" pores, creating a smoother surface. The effect (as with all such products) is temporary and how long it lasts depends on your pore size and skin's oil output, as well as other products used at the same time. Overall, this product is not capable of reducing pore size, but it's conceivable this effect will be noticed and can be prolonged by pairing it with a matte finish foundation and powder.You can reduce enlarged pores by not using heavy, greasy products and using a well formulated BHA exfoliant along with other key ingredients found in our Skin Balancing line.

I use a prescription product with tretinoin (i.e. Retina-A, Renova, Tazorac). Since Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum contain retinol, is it OK to combine them?

We are not aware of any contraindications surrounding the use of tretinoin and retinol and believe this combination is beneficial to skin. Because this question concerns a prescription drug, we recommend consulting your physician and following his or her advice. Alternately, you can apply the serum in the morning and the prescription retinoid product at night.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my serum again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided and follow those guidelines. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a serum, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your serum again as soon as possible. All of our serums contain skin-repairing, anti-inflammatory, and replenishing ingredients that calm reddened skin and help enhance the healing process. Make sure you're also protecting your "new" skin every day with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30:

Should I reapply Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense during the day?

As with any SPF-rated product, you'll need to reapply every 2 hours if you've been perspiring or have engaged in activities that may cause the sunscreen to become diluted or wear off, such as going for a swim. For casual, limited sun exposure on a daily basis when you're not perspiring, reapplication isn't necessary. For long days outdoors, most experts recommend reapplying at regular intervals, as well as seeking shade, wearing protective clothing, and limiting your time in direct sunlight during peak hours (typically between 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.).

How does Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense SPF 30 differ from your former Skin Balancing Daily Mattifying Lotion SPF 15?

The major difference is the significant increase in SPF ratings. Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense also contains a higher amount of avobenzone and no longer contains octinoxate as an active ingredient, as some people find that sensitizing when used around the eyes, and we wanted to avoid that potential issue.

One other difference is that Skin Balancing Daily Mattifying Lotion SPF 15 contained the cell-communicating ingredient niacinamide, whereas the updated Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense SPF 30 does not. Instead, the current formula contains a different mix of cell-communicating ingredients. Also, the latest version contains a broader range of antioxidants, including stabilized vitamin C and pure vitamin E—both known to boost skin's environmental defenses and help prevent collagen breakdown.

Is Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense SPF 30 suitable for breakout-prone skin?

Yes. Its lightweight, fluid texture and soft matte finish are ideal for breakout-prone skin. This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen also works beautifully under makeup or applied over any Paula's Choice serum.

Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel:

Should I consider this product if I currently use Paula's Choice Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion?

This is a matter of preference. If you prefer your moisturizer to feel weightless while keeping skin smooth and soft, then Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel is for you. Either formula will take care of dry (but not very dry) skin without feeling heavy or occlusive, and both leave skin matte.

Should I consider this moisturizer or Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator if my concerns are wrinkles and breakouts?

Either moisturizer contains anti-aging ingredients that help your skin look and act younger. Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator was specially formulated for those struggling with wrinkles and breakouts, particularly if your breakouts leave red marks that you'd like to fade. If that describes your skin, go for the Resist option. If not, enjoy the weightless smoothing and anti-aging benefits provided by Skin Balancing Invisible Finish Moisture Gel. Or, you can alternate between the two, applying one in the morning (under your SPF-rated product) and the other at night.

My skin is normal, without any really oily or dry areas. Do I need a moisturizer?

Your skin needs the beneficial ingredients found in our formulations. Our state-of-the-art toners can suffice if you don't want to use moisturizer every day. Our Skin Balancing Moisture Gel and Hydralight Moisture-Infusing Lotion are weightless moisturizers that can make you feel like you aren't wearing anything on your face at all, but your skin is improving from the state-of-the-art ingredients these products supply.

I thought Paula didn't like clay masks or, at best, finds them unnecessary skincare products. Did she change her mind?

Paula is not a big fan of most masks and she doesn't believe most facial masks are an essential step in a person's skincare routine. However, for women who want to incorporate them into their routines Paula developed masks that meet her standard of excellence. Many of our customers report excellent results form regular use of Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask.

Is Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask OK for those with rosacea and oily skin?

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask should be effective and suitable for someone with rosacea. However, those with rosacea always need to be careful about any skincare product they use because even the gentlest formulas may cause a reaction. Paula's Choice products are guaranteed to be effective or we will refund your money.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.358 12/18/2014 7:38:11 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.