Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner

Gently hydrates and restores even the most sensitive skin, naturally. Antioxidants build collagen, turn down signs of aging. Now that’s better.
Item #: 851
  • Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin
  • For All Skin Types
  • Great for calming minor irritation of the skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

83 out of 100
(Based on 93 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 4 Next »
  1. Davina
    Reviewed on Monday, January 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great as an antioxidant packed serum!
    • I LOVE this toner. I get the best results from it by using it as a serum in the AM before I apply my sunblock. It has a very lightweight gel consistency and it like smoothing water over the face. My skin looks firmer and has a glow after I use this. I am so happy to have found this product!!!! I have been unable to use any of Paula's other antioxidant concentrate serums because I dislike (and my skin seems to dislike) the feel of silicones. I see this product as a "more natural" alternative to her other serums. I swear the huge amount of antioxidants in this has made my skin look better and offers protection from the sun. PLEASE NEVER STOP MAKING THIS! :) Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback! We are glad this product has worked so well for you! We would like to mention that we have recently launched a New Resist Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. It has a light as water feel to it, which has worked great for those with combination to oily skin types. If you would like to receive samples please contact customer care and we would be happy to send some to you as soon as they are available.

  2. AMY W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE this product!
    • I have combination skin that is breakout-prone and tends towards the dry side in the winter. Since I'm already using the Earth-Sourced cleanser and like it a lot, I thought I'd try this in combination with the 2% BHA lotion. Perfect! My skin is so happy and looks glowing, not oily. I am very picky about the ingredients and effectiveness of my beauty products, and I would definitely recommend this toner.

  3. Lori R.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Dual purpose product!
    • I have mild rosacea and oily skin with the occasional pimple. Previously, I used a serum in my AM routine (wash, serum then spf) but this stuff is amazing in place of a serum!!! I get the anti-oxidant benefits without any added shine to my face which most serums seem to give. This is a thicker liquid but not quite a gel, I love how it calms my skin and makes it softer without feeling greasy at all!! I pour a small amount on face hands and gently massage into face. This also is great as a toner-removes last traces of dirt and even eye makeup. When I use as a toner, I pour some onto a cotton pad. A fantastic value, oily skinned people please consider this as an anti-oxidant serum replacement if serums make you greasy! Great product!!

  4. Jay P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works great as a toner or moisturizer due to thicker consistency
    • This works great as a regular toner. And due to it's slightly gel like consistency, it can also be used as a very lightweight mositruizer. Sometimes in the AM, I pour a little in my hand and apply it like a moisturizer- my skin glows.

  5. NATALIE
    Reviewed on Monday, December 17, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Toner!
    • Excellent toner, and, unfortunately, the only one out of all Paula's Choice toners my very sensitive rosacea skin can tolerate. I use this toner during daytime, while at night I use Resist Retinol Serum which, while dramatically improving my skin's texture, causes a fair amount of flakiness. I found this toner to be extremely helpful in ameliorating flakes that can be caused by using retinol containing products. It leaves my skin silky smooth.

  6. OW
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice Toner
    • Great product. I use this after Earth Sourced cleansing gel. The toner is not too thick but not too light and leaves your skin feel nice.

  7. Daniel
    Reviewed on Monday, December 03, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Does Wonders For My Skin!
    • This calming liquid gel is just what my dry and sensitive skin needed in a toner! It gives me just the right added moisture under the moisturizer in wintertime. My skin has never looked and felt more hydrated and smooth. And I love that its loaded with antioxidants. Never stop making this stuff! Definitely going to repurchase!!

  8. logan
    Reviewed on Friday, November 30, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Meh
    • this toner has a gel consistency to it, which isn't my favorite. I'm sure it is beneficial to skin but the texture makes it so much less refreshing to my skin than the skin recovery toner I previously purchased. I dont think I will purchase this again because it doesn't make my skin feel nice like the other toner i've tried. I am glad I got it on sale, which is the only reason I purchased it in the first place. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish this product could have worked better for you and we will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. In the meantime we have issued you an in-house credit for the product which can be used on your next purchase with us. If you have any questions, or would like other product suggestions please contact customer care and we are more than happy to help!

  9. Magda
    Reviewed on Friday, November 23, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    I'm sure it could work well for nonsensitive skin.
    • I decided to purchase this toner after finishing a bottle of the Skin Balancing Pore Reducing Toner (which I love). I put it on at night and the next day I woke op with a bunch of breakouts. I have very sensitive skin and it's probably not tolerating one or some of the ingredients. I decided to give it another shot a couple weeks later and the same thing happened- I started breaking out again :/ Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We have left the purchase price of this product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions and for help with your routine, we are happy to help.

  10. Meredith
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 10, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not good for me
    • I regret switching from skin balancing toner and ordering this based on good reviews. I should have ordered a sample. It irritates my kin- sometimes natural products do this to my skin. I love all of Paula's products, but not this toner. I don't like the consistency or the feel, but especially do not like the redness. Glad it worked for others. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we will issue you an in-house credit for this product which can be used towards a future phone order with us. Please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  11. Kimberly
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 04, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I have tried some samples and will be ordering the full size immediately. It does have an unusual consistency somewhere between a very thin gel or a viscous liquid. I applied with a cotton ball to my face and neck area. I have very oily skin in my t-zone and dry cheeks. I did not experience any breakouts or exageration of dryness. Even after washing with cleanser I able to pick up residue with this toner.

  12. Gabrielle
    Reviewed on Friday, November 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    GREAT
    • I use this every day, underneath the 2% BHA liquid. I use this around my eyes and jawlline and mouth. It's lightly moisturizing and helps calm my sensitive skin, prepping it for exfoliation. I used to use the Skin Balancing toner, but I love this stuff even more and have recently purchased my second bottle. I dont need or use any heavy moisturizers, and using this near my eyes is really all I need to soothe any puffiness and help put my skin in the right moist condition, for day and night.

  13. Irina
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 18, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Nice, but makes me break out
    • I liked the feel and consistency of this toner. It is hydrating and leaves my skin feeling fresh and clean. I also like the antioxidants and other ingredients in this toner since they help to calm my skin down and give it a little moisture boost. However, this toner makes me break out. After using it for several weeks, I notice little pimples everywhere, including my eyelids! I wish this worked for me, but something in it seems to be clogging me. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We would like to know what else you are using in your routine in order to make the best recommendations, please contact customer care via live chat, phone, or email so that we may offer you a credit and make some suggestions.

  14. Val
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 17, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Feels nice, but makes me break out
    • I really liked the consistency of this toner, it feels hydrating, gentle and refreshing and doesn't irritate my rosacea. However, it seems to cause breakouts. After I use it I find I get whiteheads/pimples on my forehead and nose in my typical oily breakout spots. I wish it worked for me, because I really like the product otherwise. Customer Care Response: Thank you so much for your review, and sharing your experience. While not typical, that truth is that many factors can be the cause for how skin will respond to any product or combination of ingredients. It is exactly why skin care in general can be so tricky. To better assist you and find out what products will suit you best, we would like for you to contact our Customer Care Team via, phone, Live Chat, or email. Via a personal consultation, we may be able to recommend an alternative toner for your skin type and concerns. For now, a credit for this product has been applied to your account, and is available for use on a future phone order. Please contact us with any questions. We are happy to help!

  15. VC
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 03, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    ok but oddly milky
    • This goes on smoothly and feels hydrating, but it's got an odd milky texture. I guess it's all the natural ingredients in there - not my thing, but it's an interesting toner type. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. This toner is a liquid-gel texture which may be dispensed directly into the palm of the hands and applied onto the face and neck areas. We may certainly suggest another toner for you to try based on your skin type and what you were looking for, please contact customer care so that we may help you with this selection.

  16. Sara
    Reviewed on Monday, October 01, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Wanted to love, but not a great fit.
    • I purchased this toner to supply more moisture for my skin, as I combat some seasonal dryness. I am hoping to avoid using heavier moisturizer, because I love the Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator and RESIST Hand Cream w/ SPF, and for fear of breaking out. I have acne-prone, combination skin that generally really likes the Skin Balancing line. I really enjoyed the texture of this, and it felt soothing on my face. Sadly, using it just once a day broke me out on my cheeks. Luckily, my skin does seem to like the RESIST toner for this purpose, so I'll stick with that for now. Paula's products are simply the best - totally life-changing!

  17. Laura
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 30, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Too thick for me
    • I agree with another reviewer - I generally like PC products, but this one was too thick for me. It ran right off the cotton ball and gooped on the floor. It may be a matter of preference; I happen to like my toner more liquid. It didn't seem to cleanse or tone my skin. Not for me at all; I'll be sticking to my Hydralight toner. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. This toner does have a unique gel-liquid consistency and will not absorb into a cotton ball or round the same way our other toners do. However it is very effective and hydrating. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. In the meantime we will issue you an in-house credit for this product. Please contact customer care with any questions or concerns, we are always happy to help!

  18. vdotw
    Reviewed on Friday, September 28, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Surprisingly Pleased
    • My skin is the type that needs only a little bit of moisture, but that clogs at the sight of any lotion, serum, cream, balm, or even gel. I had simply given up looking for a moisturizer with benefits and resigned myself to using the one thing that doesn't cause me clogs or severe acne -- a formula from my pharmacy with dimethicone and petrolatum.I got a sample card with the Earth Sourced set from PC on a recent order and it sat for weeks before I was brave enough to try yet another set of products that I would find don't work for me. To my surprise, this toner is not a runny formula, but a thicker one that isn't oily or greasy. I used the sample for several days without any clogs, and realized that for my skin, this has just the right amount of moisture, plus the added benefits of antioxidants, for my skin. I know this is a toner, but if you have skin that hates traditional moisturizers, this may be the right thing. I have replaced my old moisturizer with a full-sized bottle of this product and am really happy with the results. I no longer have dry, flaky patches, nor does this cause my skin the grief that most products do. A little goes a long way, the size for the price is a really great value.

  19. keri
    Reviewed on Monday, September 10, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Earth Sourced Products
    • I have been using Paula's Choice for several years with great results. I was pleased she added the Earth Sourced line of products and ordered the toner and moisturizer. Unfortunately, they are causing my skin to break out, so I had to discontinue both products. I am ordering the BHA9 today, and hopefully it will help balance my skin. Also, I agree with the other reviews....it is very thick for a toner. On a positive note, I love the Resist line products!Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We understand that each person will potentially respond differently to products and ingredients. It can be difficult to identify which ingredient in any formula, even a well-formulated one, could be causing breakouts. We have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the product which may be used on a future phone order. We do take customer feedback seriously, and we will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager.

  20. Jen
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another winner!
    • This is another Paula product I just had to have after using some samples for a few days. I use this for a slighly different purpose than as a toner. I prefer to use it AFTER I have cleansed and toned and applied my exfoliant, but BEFORE I put on my moisturiser. This way, it adds some moisture and antioxidants that allows my moisturizer to be absorbed better and perform better. I put this in a spray bottle and lightly mist my face and then smooth on the moisturizer. In the mornings, I use this as my only moisturizer after I have applied my BHA gel. It's light and soothing adds some antioxidant protection. Loving this!

  21. Christina
    Reviewed on Friday, September 07, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very happy with this product
    • I find this product great for my combination acne prone skin. After using it my skin feels soft and clean. I was having a problem with another product line to which I think I was allergic because my eyes would get puffy even though I was careful not to use directly on eyelids or near my eyes. When I switched to this Earth Sourced toner the condition improved noticeably.

  22. Betsy
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 04, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I love this toner! My skin is very sensitive, but this works well for me.

  23. jon
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    feels so goood!
    • Face feels amazingly clean and hydrated and refreshed after using! Gentle and calms any inflammation from even hot summer days with mosquitos and bugbites!

  24. K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love It!
    • I love this toner! My skin is quite oily in the T-zone but dry in the cheeks and this toner really helps balance both of these areas and calm my easily flushed, sensitive skin!

  25. nathan
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Toner
    • This is the best toner i have ever tried. It is moisturizing and is not too liquid.

« Prev Page of 4 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner has a distinctive, liqua-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. It instantly replenishes, restores, and soothes your skin leaving it silky-smooth with a healthy, youthful glow.

This formula is based on a specialized, proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature fused with science. Because of this technology, this toner stands alone for repairing and rejuvenating skin. Using this toner drenches your skin with antioxidants, preparing it for the next step in your skin care routine.

Contains no animal-derived ingredients of any kind. Packaging is 100% recyclable.

Who is this product for?
Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner from Paula's Choice works brilliantly for all skin types. It is specially formulated for those who prefer skin-care products made from natural ingredients that are proven safe and effective.

Sources to support the claims made for Earth Sourced Purely Refreshing Natural Toner

Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, September 2011, pages 990–1000; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, April 2011, pages 157–163; Cosmetic Dermatology, October 2010, pages 446-449; Archives of Dermatological Research, March 2010, pages 71–83; British Journal of Dermatology, July 2008, pages 23-34; Journal of Molecular Medicine, February 2008, pages 221-231; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, January 2008, pages 39-45; Clinical Experiments in Dermatology, January 2007, pages 88-90; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, April 2003, pages 771-788; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: Chamomilla recutita flower extract, pomegranate extract, cranberry seed oil, glycerin, vitamin E, dill extract, tocopherol, Avena sativa, hydrogenated lecithin, black elderberry, green tea, sunflower seed oil, Camellia sinensis, Olea europaea fruit oil, sodium hyaluronate, grape seed extract, sodium PCA

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate (natural skin-repairing ingredients), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (natural soothing agent), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (natural antioxidants), Avena Sativa (Oat Bran) Extract (natural soothing agent), Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Sambucus Nigra (Black Elderberry) Fruit Extract, Peucedanum Graveolens (Dill) Extract, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract (natural antioxidants), Hydrogenated Lecithin (natural cell-communicating ingredient), Tocopherol (pure vitamin E/antioxidant), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil (plant-based emollients), Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Vaccinium Myrtillus (Bilberry) Seed Oil (natural antioxidants), Arginine, Glycine, Alanine, Serine, Valine, Proline, Threonine, Isoleucine, Histidine, Phenylalanine, Aspartic Acid (natural amino acids/water-binding agents), Sodium PCA (natural skin-repairing ingredient), Sodium Lactate (natural skin-conditioning agent), PCA (natural skin-repairing ingredient), Xanthan Gum (natural thickener), Leuconostoc/Radish Root Ferment Filtrate (natural preservative), Benzyl Alcohol (solvent), Phenoxyethanol (synthetic preservative).

DIRECTIONS: After cleansing, pour a small amount onto a cotton pad and stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse off. For best results, follow with a Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

How can a toner improve my baby's skin?

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is loaded with soothing agents, gentle hydrating ingredients, and antioxidants designed to smooth and reinforce healthy skin. It can be especially beneficial for babies with eczema or other signs of dryness, redness, or irritation. Ongoing use helps keep baby's skin baby smooth!

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup and to give skin essential skin repairing and healing ingredients in a light liquid base. When properly formulated, toners soothe skin and add hydrating ingredients to make skin softer, not to mention they're another leave-on source for antioxidants and other ingredients that help repair and restore skin.

How do I know which toner is right for me? Besides skin type, what are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

All of our toners restore skin, help emove last traces of makeup, are alcohol- and fragrance-free, and contain no plant-based or synthetic irritants. All our toners are great as an adjunct to any skin-care routine. Even more significantly they go beyond the basics by offering skin benefits you can see and feel.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is a great option for those who want more protection and a soothing, soft, feeling on their skin, particularly those with sensitive skin. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to oily/combination skin, you may want use Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner in the morning and Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner in the evening.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains ingredients that help soothe and restore normal to dry skin, plus it includes a greater amount of glycerin, a key ingredient to make dry skin look and feel better. It also contains a broad range of ingredients that aid the barrier repair process so those with dry skin (or normal skin with occasional dry patches) will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or specialty product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, yet still provides an array of antioxidants, anti-irritants, and skin-protecting ingredients. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to dry skin, you can use Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner in the morning and Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner in the evening.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is an excellent choice for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer texture than any of our other toners and contains more plant oils and other emollients than our Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner. This is a great option for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea accompanied by dry skin.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent for protecting skin from environmental damage or dryness. In addition, its cell-communicating ingredients can, in theory, help balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen or lead to reddened or blemished skin. Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner uses a more complex formulation than our Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, and helps restore normal cell function.

RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Just how natural are the Earth Sourced products?

Earth Sourced products are formulated with 98–99% completely natural ingredients. The natural ingredients we use are guaranteed to be non-irritating, safe, and effective for many different skin types. The ingredients are derived in whole or in part from natural sources with no synthetic compounds. Paula's Choice uses a specialized, proprietary technology to ensure these natural products have elegant textures and function as intended—all without using ingredients known to cause irritation. That's a big difference from what Paula and her team have seen from countless other natural lines, as many of them contain natural ingredients research has shown irritate skin and damage healthy collagen production.

Why aren't all Paula's Choice products "Earth Sourced"?

For many skin-care concerns, putting together a completely effective group of products that will give your skin truly remarkable results when it comes to treating most skin care concerns such as acne or sensitive skin simply can't be done with only natural ingredients. Paula's Choice Earth Sourced products work beautifully when combined with other Paula's Choice products designed for your skin type and concerns. It is the most balanced way for you to take exceptional care of your skin.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.