Items you may also like

Hydralight One Step Cleanser

Back away from the bar of soap. This refreshing gel removes excess oil, rinses away dirt and makeup. Leaves sensitive skin feeling silky, not tight.
Item #: 110
  • Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea
  • No dry, tight feeling after you use it

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight One Step Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 146 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Kari
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 09, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Dries Out Skin
    • I have tried this cleanser for about the full 60 days now along with other PC products. My skin is combination only t-zone and semi dry other areas). Initially I thought this cleanser would be great for my skin type since it was light, but unfortunately is hasn't. After washing my face with it my skin feels dry and flaky. Maybe it is removing too much of the natural oils? Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. The dryness you experienced may be from multiple products, or this cleanser simply isn't right for your skin type. We will issue an in house credit for this product which you can use on your next order by calling 1.800.831.4088. We are happy to discuss your skin type as well as send you samples of other cleansers to try. Please contact customer care with any questions or to arrange for samples to be sent.

  2. Brianna
    Reviewed on Friday, July 27, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    not for me
    • I recently ordered this instead of the Moisture Boost cleanser (which I LOVE), thinking it would be nice to use a lighter cleanser in the summer while my skin is a bit oilier. I thought it would be just as good at removing makeup since it is also called One Step like the Moisture Boost, but it's not. I've tried all of PC's cleansers and this one was my least favorite in terms of taking off makeup, texture and feel. Still giving 3 stars because it's still better than so many cleansers out there. I didn't want to bother with going to the post office to send it back so I bought another MB cleanser and maybe I can use this as a hand wash. I LOVE all my PC products, this is one of the RARE things I've tried that didn't work for me. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce favorable results for you. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. In the meantime we will leave an in house credit for the product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  3. Rose
    Reviewed on Monday, July 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Used this product for years!
    • I have used the Hydralight products for years & years. Have mild rosacea & never had a problem. Best simple gel cleanser & moisturizer. Gladly recommend the Hydralight system.

  4. Jordan
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 07, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice Gel Cleanser!
    • I got this as a sample from the lovely customer support team. It had a nice texture/smell and was easy to spread and wash off. After washing it off, it made my redness (from eczema) temporarily go away. A nice gentle cleanser for those who have mild acne.

  5. Christy
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 27, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite cleanser!
    • I have been using this cleanser for approximately 6 months, and this cleanser is excellent! It at removes my makeup very well (I still need to use a make-up remover to remove my long-wear eye-makeup, but that's true of any cleanser I have used). I have normal to oily skin. This cleanser does not dry out my skin, or leave me with a tight feeling, yet it succeeds at thoroughly cleansing my skin. I think this cleanser is far superior to any foaming face wash I have used. It rinses clean, and I feel that it is well-suited to oily, acne-prone skin. Very nice product!

  6. Patty
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 17, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good cleanser.
    • My skin tends to be more combination in the summer time, so I switch cleansers. This cleanser does not remove mascara very well, so I use it in the morning. It's a nice light cleanser and it does not dry skin. I use the Skin Balancing Cleanser at night, and it removes mascara and eye make-up.

  7. Nancy
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 26, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best cleanser for my oily skin
    • I've been using this cleanser for years. I've tried other ones but keep coming back to this one, mostly because it removes all my makeup without burning my eyes. I really like the texture of it for my oiler skin too- it's not milky but clear and leaves a clean but not tight feeling. It's a real staple in my Paula's Choice skin care regime and I won't be without it! Love the 16 oz. size.

  8. Jenn
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 13, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Great makeup remover
    • It's a great cleanser. It removes my makeup, even the long wearing types, with no residue left at all! Also, cleanses eye makeup beautifully without burning or irratation. However, my skin, (oily, clogged pores) needs a cleanser with at least 2% salycilic acid.With the cleanser, my skin began to clog up, and was not getting the exfoliation it needs. I diluted it in a bottle, and use it just as an eye makup remover, or, on the days when my makeup is heavy to remove makeup before cleansing. I know Paulas does not recommed cleansers with SA in it, but it's the only thing that works well for me.If you don't have clogged pores like I do, I think it will be a great cleanser!

  9. Erik
    Reviewed on Friday, May 11, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Hydralight Cleanser
    • Let me start by saying that I do like the ingredient list of this cleanser and the slip of the product while using it, I do find the cleanser a bit drying on my skin. I have beed using this cleanser for a while and alternate between this and the skin balancing cleanser. Skin balancing cleanser for me is a little more soothing and hydrating.

  10. A.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 04, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great cleanser
    • This cleanser leaves my skin feeling soft and lightly moisturized, but doesn't leave any residue behind on my skin. I use it with a washcloth and it removes my makeup (including eye makeup) without irritating my skin or eyes. I love how it is available in the big 16 oz bottle.

  11. madison
    Reviewed on Friday, May 04, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good basic cleanser
    • I like this cleanser, but I don't love it. The pros are great: it doesn't feel drying on my skin after I'm done. I do wish it would foam a little more, and it doesn't remove my eye makeup. I'm giving this one 4 stars because I prefer the Skin Balancing cleanser a little more. However, this one is great for a basic cleanser, it doesn't break me out, and doesn't dry out my skin. I have a huge bottle of this that will last me a long time (great deal!) I might switch back to the skin balancing one after, and alternate between the two.

  12. Xin
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it
    • I absolutely love this cleanser as it is gentle but completely effective in removing any excess oils on my face. I use this twice daily and my skin is never dried out or tight because of this cleanser. It makes my skin soft and smooth after every use. I can't say much for it being a makeup remover since I don't use it to wash makeup off but it works great as a general cleanser for mornings and nights. The only suggestion I have is towards the packaging and perhaps to include a pump instead of a flip cap. I also like the options for a small or a large bottle, and the large one that I ordered will last me for a long time. When I am done with it, I will definitely repurchase. I highly recommend this product.

  13. Elie
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 28, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Drying
    • I usually like Paula's Choice products, but this one is a complete flop. It's much too drying for skin; every time I wash with this, it feels like my skin is being tugged back. Waiting for my skin to dry doesn't feel any better, either. I also felt occasional stinging, but I'm not sure from what ingredient. I'm very loyal to this skin care line, but this particular cleanser is anything but gentle and beneficial. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  14. Claire
    Reviewed on Friday, April 27, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Yummy!
    • I want to marry this cleanser! I suddenly started having a lot of problems with the Skin Balancing Cleanser when my skin changed from very oily to fairly normal in the past few months. The Skin Balancing line became far too intense for my skin, but I felt that the Resist cleanser might be too moisturizing. This is the perfect mix of thorough make-up removal (including eye make-up) and gentle skin conditioning without the oily after-feel. I would not recommend this for a true oily skin type because it really wouldn't cut the oil or refresh slippery skin. However, normal to slightly dry or slightly combination skin will adore this elegant cleanser! Great job!

  15. Gina
    Reviewed on Monday, April 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Cleanser Ever
    • I have oily acne-prone skin that improved dramatically when I began using this cleanser 15 years ago. I now use it with my Clarisonic Mia. Several of my friends are now using Hydralight Cleanser, too. We all love it. It's gentle yet effective. If I wear long-wearing eye make-up, I run a cotton ball soaked in PC Make-up Remover along my eyelashes to remove any residual makeup.

  16. thelilminime
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 14, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed!
    • Hydralight cleanser is a good cleanser, it doesn't make me feel over dry, which many cleansers for oily/combo skin do. However, I didn't know that this cleanser causes breakout until very recently when I decided to switch to Cetaphil. The pimple like rash on my forehead is getting better after I change my cleanser. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We have located your account information and applied a credit for the product. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  17. Merete
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My all time favourite cleanser
    • This is by far my favourite cleanser ever. I've used it for the past 9 years, only interspersed with the Skin Balancing Cleanser. I find this one a little more gentle and I like the gel consistency. It is very gentle, yet it effectively cleans my combination sensitive skin. I have always used a pump, which I find very convenient.

  18. Kathy
    Reviewed on Friday, April 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Back to Normal
    • I have used Paulas products for many years, then stopped for well over a year because I like trying new (smell good) products. I was having splotchy, rosacia type redness on my face. I recently came back to Paulas Choice begining with a product I had not tried before. The Hyrdalight line. I cant beleive how much my skin has improved within 1 week. No more red splotchs and itchy skin. I am in my fourties so my skin is ever changing. Thanks Paula for helping with my skin issues during the changes of womenhood.

  19. Kelly
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING
    • This cleanser is AMAZING. Perfectly cleanses your skin without making it irritated or dry. I have very sensitive skin, and I have NO trouble with this cleanser. I use it twice a day, and all my little pimples on my forehead are GONE. They were an allergic reaction to another scented, high-end cleanser I was using! Paula's is the GREATEST company, with the BEST customer care. Fantastic product, fantastic brand.

  20. Alicia
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good facewash!
    • I have oily/combination skin and this face wash is gentle yet removes my makeup nicely. Really happy with this product.

  21. Laura
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great gentle facewash
    • This is the first facewash I have used that doesn't dry out my skin! I expected it to foam like all the other facewash I've used but it didn't. It is very light. I use this with a facial sponge and that helps me remove my make up. I really love this product.

  22. Mike
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • I love this cleanser. It gives a good clean feeling without drying or irritating my skin. I tried the skin balancing cleanser first and while I liked it, it caused some irritation. This cleans just as well without the irritation.

  23. Cari
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 17, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for Very Sensitive Skin
    • I love this cleanser. It cleans gently and leaves no residue. It does not cause breakouts or allergic reactions, nor does it over-dry my skin, which most cleansers will do. It is gentle on my highly sensitive fair skin. I am able to use it around my light colored sensitive eyes as well. Typical cleansers sting my eyes when I am trying to remove mascara. I have tried other cleansers even by Paula's Choice, and this is by far my favorite.

  24. Sarah
    Reviewed on Friday, March 16, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Worked Great
    • I love how this cleanser rinses clean and doesn't leave my skin feeling dry or tight. I should have looked more carefully at the bottle sizes when ordering, however. The large bottle is nearly as big as a shampoo bottle - at least it will be a while before I have to reorder!

  25. Christy
    Reviewed on Monday, March 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Christy
    • This product is the one I use in the morning, when my face just needs a light cleaning. I keep it in my shower. It is also such a gentle cleanser that I can use it down there, too. That is saying a lot, since I have a condition known as lichen schlerosus, and soaps, dyes and fragrances are contraindicated. Thanks, Paula, for creating products that stand out above the rest.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is an easy-to-use gel cleanser for those who desire a fresh, clean sensation without a hint of residue. This gentle, yet effective cleanser removes excess oil and makeup (including eye makeup) without drying or stripping the skin. Even the most sensitive skin can use this cleanser.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Cleanser is ideal for those whose skin has minimal to visibly oily areas anywhere on the face. It is also ideal for those struggling with an oily T-zone (forehead, nose and chin) yet dry skin everywhere else.

Sources to support the claims made for Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: sodium PCA, allantoin, sodium hyaluronate, glycerin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Lactate, Glycine, Fructose, Urea, Niacinamide, Inositol (water-binding agents), Sodium Benzoate (preservative), Lactic Acid (water-binding agent), Allantoin (soothing agent), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (thickener), Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate (stabilizer), Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate (gentle cleansing agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Triethanolamine (pH balancer), Carbomer (gel-based thickener), Benzophenone-3 (stabilizer),Methylparaben (preservative), Propylparaben (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Using your fingers, apply a quarter-sized amount on your face and eyes using vigorous but gentle circular motions. Rinse well and gently pat face dry with a clean towel. For stubborn makeup, repeat this process or use this cleanser with a soft washcloth. Follow with Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, a Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and moisturizer. During the day, be sure to protect your skin with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara or waterproof makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of eye makeup. If an eye makeup remover becomes necessary for tenacious makeup, be as gentle as possible and use a mild yet effective product such as Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover, either before or after this cleanser.

I have normal to dry skin that gets oilier in the summer - would Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! The lightweight, refreshing gel texture of Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is ideal for use during the humid summer months if you have normal to dry skin.

PCWEB-WWW4 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.