Items you may also like

Hydralight One Step Cleanser

Back away from the bar of soap. This refreshing gel removes excess oil, rinses away dirt and makeup. Leaves sensitive skin feeling silky, not tight.
Item #: 110
  • Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Great for sensitive skin and rosacea
  • No dry, tight feeling after you use it

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Hydralight One Step Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 161 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. NATALIA
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great cleanser
    • Excellent cleanser, keeps my face clean and doesn't dry it out. Just perfect. Not sure how it removes makeup since I use a separate product for that.

  2. Alicia K.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Like it so far...
    • So far this cleanser is working well for me. I like that it is a gel and feels very soothing, it also has a light scent that is not unpleasant. My skin feels clean and fresh after use. I do want to say that for makeup removal you should cleanse twice to remove it completely. On the second wash it even lathers a slight bit, in my experience anyway. Definitely recommend it.

  3. DIANE Z.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great cleanser for combination skin
    • This is a gentle cleanser that easily removes makeup and oil without overdrying my skin. I use it several times a day and it never makes my skin feel tight or irritated. Great product!

  4. Iris
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Take the day off
    • Why did it take me so long to find this cleanser? I've been reading Paula's books for 15 years, and religiously followed her advice on simple skincare (Cetaphil, Almay). I'm now 30 and want to take serious care of my sensitive, acne-prone, ruddy almost-rosacea skin. The Hydralight cleanser takes off all my makeup in a flash (foundation, eyeliner, mascara, eyeshadow), ends the greasy feel I always have by the time I come home from work, but doesn't leave me feeling tight or flaky. I'm grateful that it is fragrance-free. Once I wash up, I feel I'm at a "baseline" - neutral, without stress - and ready to try the serums and lotions.

  5. Samantha P.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 09, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did Not Like
    • I really wanted to like this cleanser, but it just fell short. The texture and scent were not appealing to me and I felt like it didn't accomplish anything when it was on my skin. I prefer a cleanser to at least achieve a slight lather, and this did nothing. It didn't remove any of my makeup either. I sent it back for credit but haven't heard anything yet, so hopefully I'll be able to try something else next time. Otherwise I love PC products! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly share your comments with Paula and our Product Development Manager. Once your return has been processed you will receive an e-mail notification. If you have any further questions or would like to discuss your skin type and other cleanser options, please contact customer care. We are happy to help and arrange for samples to be sent.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Skin doesn't get clean
    • I LOVE Paula's Choice Products but my face does not get clean with this product. I use PC make up remover or toner after I wash my face and the cotton pad is covered in make up ( and I don't wear a lot of it). It is gentle but it doesn't get my face clean. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We would like to have you contact customer care to discuss how you are using the cleanser. We are happy to make some suggestions that may produce better results for you. In the meantime you can try using the make-up remover before cleansing, and using your toner both morning and night after cleansing. We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you further!

  7. Kate
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great cleanser
    • I have tried several PC cleansers. Generally they have not worked we'll for me. Hydralight seems to be the line for me. This cleanser works great. It cleans very well but doesn't irritate or dry out my skin. I also use and love the Hydralight lotion.

  8. LESLIE C.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Gentlest cleanser
    • I have extremely oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin but this cleanses it effectively yet gently. This is the easiest cleanser to rinse off because it's just a gel, no foam or cream to rinse out of my bangs. I bought the bigger bottle, and it lasts for months, so the price is actually quite good.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 04, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not For Me
    • I really wanted to like this cleanser. It has nothing to do with the skin type not being appropriate for me, but it's the fact that after two dime-size portions my skin did not get clean. I followed-up with Hydralight Toner and the cotton pad was covered with makeup, both front and back. Same thing with the BHA cotton pad that followed. Since I was only trying the samples I figured I could deal for one night, so I followed with my serum and Paula's Skin Recovery moisturizer which I found delightful. Believe me, I am a devoted Paula fan and visit this website frequently but this cleanser was a real disappointment. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce favorable results for you. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. We suggest trying the Skin Balancing Oil Reducing Cleanser which is a creamy texture that works fast at removing makeup, dirt, and oil. Please contact customer care if you would like to sample this cleanser.

  10. Patrice
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 11, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Still my favorite cleanser!
    • I have been using this cleanser for years and I absolutely love it! I use it with my Clarisonic Mia and it works great! My only problem is the new packaging. I am a flight attendant, and I carry the full size bottle of cleanser. The cap on the bottle leaks very badly, I've lost half the bottle of cleanser inside my toiletry kit. It's a surprise if I don't open my toiletry kit to find my cleanser leaked inside on everything. It really is a shame, now I have to empty the bottle into another bottle I purchased from the container store to make sure I don't lose the entire bottle before I get a chance to use it.The old bottle design worked a lot better!!! Please think about redesigning the dispenser/cap for this product. I'm tired of paying for product that I don't get to use. :(Other than that, I love all of my Paula's Choice products!!! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to pass your comments along about the packaging to Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take all feedback seriously. We are sending you a complimentary bottle of the Hydralight Cleanser. If you have questions or comments please feel free to contact customer care, we are happy to help!

  11. Kate
    Reviewed on Friday, October 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great basic cleanser
    • I have a combination skin which occasionally breaks out and can become sensitive. This cleanser is perfect for it. It doesn't irritate at all while cleansing thoroughly. I also like that it doesn't contain any color or fragrance additives. Smells nice as well. Would highly recommend it.

  12. T.N.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 08, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Disappointed, not for me
    • I still love Paula's Choice products, however, this hydralight one step face cleanser is not good for combination skin at all. I used it less than a month (about 3 weeks) and my skin is really irritated and appeared to have a lot of redness around nose/mouth area. I started to break out badly, which made me finally write this review to share with everyone. Should I try something else which is truly for combination skin? Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback of this cleanser. The Hydralight products do work well for combination to oily skin that is also sensitive. It is hard to know why it did not work for you personally. It can depend on other products you are using, as well as other factors. We would like to encourage you to contact customer care so we may discuss your skin type and send samples of other cleanser options. We look forward to speaking with you and helping you find the best products for your skin!

  13. Bazli
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Like Cetaphil, but less greasy
    • At first I was put off that this gel cleanser did not lather, I used a few samples. Then when there was a sale on cleansers, I decided on Hydralight, because the Skin Balancing stings sometimes. After a while I fell in love with it, it feels cool the skin, although it does not foam, it does take all the greasiness off without stripping my skin. I still prefer a bit of foam so at least I would know where the cleanser is on my face, so only a 4 stars from me

  14. Jessica
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 15, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome Cleanser!!!
    • I have a very oily t-zone and the rest of my face is normal to dry and very sensitive. This cleanser has balanced out my skin and it looks so smooth and healthy now. It has never caused me irritation and I will definatly repurchase when im out. Thanks so much for another awesome product Paula and team!!

  15. Linda
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 15, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    A month of use......
    • After using this cleanser for a month now, I feel cheated. It does not claim what it is supposed to do. It barely washed off my make up and I even use a clarisonic. It does not lather at all. It just feels like antibacterial gel. Will not purchase again. But I do love their wonderful customer service. Always nice and responds to every questions. Thank you!!! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce favorable results for you. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. Please contact customer care so that we may discuss your skin type and suggest the best routine of products to try based on what you are looking to achieve and offer you an in house credit for the product.

  16. Kari
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 09, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Dries Out Skin
    • I have tried this cleanser for about the full 60 days now along with other PC products. My skin is combination only t-zone and semi dry other areas). Initially I thought this cleanser would be great for my skin type since it was light, but unfortunately is hasn't. After washing my face with it my skin feels dry and flaky. Maybe it is removing too much of the natural oils? Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. The dryness you experienced may be from multiple products, or this cleanser simply isn't right for your skin type. We will issue an in house credit for this product which you can use on your next order by calling 1.800.831.4088. We are happy to discuss your skin type as well as send you samples of other cleansers to try. Please contact customer care with any questions or to arrange for samples to be sent.

  17. Brianna
    Reviewed on Friday, July 27, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    not for me
    • I recently ordered this instead of the Moisture Boost cleanser (which I LOVE), thinking it would be nice to use a lighter cleanser in the summer while my skin is a bit oilier. I thought it would be just as good at removing makeup since it is also called One Step like the Moisture Boost, but it's not. I've tried all of PC's cleansers and this one was my least favorite in terms of taking off makeup, texture and feel. Still giving 3 stars because it's still better than so many cleansers out there. I didn't want to bother with going to the post office to send it back so I bought another MB cleanser and maybe I can use this as a hand wash. I LOVE all my PC products, this is one of the RARE things I've tried that didn't work for me. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the product did not produce favorable results for you. The truth is that skin care is tricky. Each person will potentially respond different to products and ingredients. In the meantime we will leave an in house credit for the product on your account which may be used on a future phone order. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  18. Rose
    Reviewed on Monday, July 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Used this product for years!
    • I have used the Hydralight products for years & years. Have mild rosacea & never had a problem. Best simple gel cleanser & moisturizer. Gladly recommend the Hydralight system.

  19. Jordan
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 07, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice Gel Cleanser!
    • I got this as a sample from the lovely customer support team. It had a nice texture/smell and was easy to spread and wash off. After washing it off, it made my redness (from eczema) temporarily go away. A nice gentle cleanser for those who have mild acne.

  20. Christy
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 27, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite cleanser!
    • I have been using this cleanser for approximately 6 months, and this cleanser is excellent! It at removes my makeup very well (I still need to use a make-up remover to remove my long-wear eye-makeup, but that's true of any cleanser I have used). I have normal to oily skin. This cleanser does not dry out my skin, or leave me with a tight feeling, yet it succeeds at thoroughly cleansing my skin. I think this cleanser is far superior to any foaming face wash I have used. It rinses clean, and I feel that it is well-suited to oily, acne-prone skin. Very nice product!

  21. Patty
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 17, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good cleanser.
    • My skin tends to be more combination in the summer time, so I switch cleansers. This cleanser does not remove mascara very well, so I use it in the morning. It's a nice light cleanser and it does not dry skin. I use the Skin Balancing Cleanser at night, and it removes mascara and eye make-up.

  22. Nancy
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 26, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best cleanser for my oily skin
    • I've been using this cleanser for years. I've tried other ones but keep coming back to this one, mostly because it removes all my makeup without burning my eyes. I really like the texture of it for my oiler skin too- it's not milky but clear and leaves a clean but not tight feeling. It's a real staple in my Paula's Choice skin care regime and I won't be without it! Love the 16 oz. size.

  23. Jenn
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 13, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Great makeup remover
    • It's a great cleanser. It removes my makeup, even the long wearing types, with no residue left at all! Also, cleanses eye makeup beautifully without burning or irratation. However, my skin, (oily, clogged pores) needs a cleanser with at least 2% salycilic acid.With the cleanser, my skin began to clog up, and was not getting the exfoliation it needs. I diluted it in a bottle, and use it just as an eye makup remover, or, on the days when my makeup is heavy to remove makeup before cleansing. I know Paulas does not recommed cleansers with SA in it, but it's the only thing that works well for me.If you don't have clogged pores like I do, I think it will be a great cleanser!

  24. Erik
    Reviewed on Friday, May 11, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Hydralight Cleanser
    • Let me start by saying that I do like the ingredient list of this cleanser and the slip of the product while using it, I do find the cleanser a bit drying on my skin. I have beed using this cleanser for a while and alternate between this and the skin balancing cleanser. Skin balancing cleanser for me is a little more soothing and hydrating.

  25. A.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 04, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great cleanser
    • This cleanser leaves my skin feeling soft and lightly moisturized, but doesn't leave any residue behind on my skin. I use it with a washcloth and it removes my makeup (including eye makeup) without irritating my skin or eyes. I love how it is available in the big 16 oz bottle.

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is an easy-to-use gel cleanser for those who desire a fresh, clean sensation without a hint of residue. This gentle, yet effective cleanser removes excess oil and makeup (including eye makeup) without drying or stripping the skin. Even the most sensitive skin can use this cleanser.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Hydralight Cleanser is ideal for those whose skin has minimal to visibly oily areas anywhere on the face. It is also ideal for those struggling with an oily T-zone (forehead, nose and chin) yet dry skin everywhere else.

Sources to support the claims made for Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: sodium PCA, allantoin, sodium hyaluronate, glycerin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (gentle cleansing agent), Sodium PCA (skin-identical ingredient), Sodium Lactate, Glycine, Fructose, Urea, Niacinamide, Inositol (water-binding agents), Sodium Benzoate (preservative), Lactic Acid (water-binding agent), Allantoin (soothing agent), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (thickener), Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate (stabilizer), Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate (gentle cleansing agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Triethanolamine (pH balancer), Carbomer (gel-based thickener), Benzophenone-3 (stabilizer),Methylparaben (preservative), Propylparaben (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Using your fingers, apply a quarter-sized amount on your face and eyes using vigorous but gentle circular motions. Rinse well and gently pat face dry with a clean towel. For stubborn makeup, repeat this process or use this cleanser with a soft washcloth. Follow with Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, a Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and moisturizer. During the day, be sure to protect your skin with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara or waterproof makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of eye makeup. If an eye makeup remover becomes necessary for tenacious makeup, be as gentle as possible and use a mild yet effective product such as Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover, either before or after this cleanser.

I have normal to dry skin that gets oilier in the summer - would Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! The lightweight, refreshing gel texture of Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is ideal for use during the humid summer months if you have normal to dry skin.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 2:55:39 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.