Resist Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA

Items you may also like

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Time to fade out, brown spots. Lighten discolorations and even out your skin tone with this silky gel. It improves texture and reveals younger-looking, clearer skin.
Item #: 763
  • Anti-Aging, Brown Spots
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Contains the gold standard skin-lightening ingredient, hydroquinone
  • 2% BHA targets blackheads, exfoliates skin’s surface and inside pores

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

71 out of 100
(Based on 201 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. sue m.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    What Age Spots?
    • I have been using this gel just once a day and can truly say it has done wonders for evening my skin tone. It goes on like a dream and I follow with PC sunscreen of course. In four months time age spots are so faint that I no longer need to use a concealer!! This is the first product I have used that has actually worked on my sun/age spots. So happy I found PC products!

  2. tanja s.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Resist Triple Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel
    • Within a couple of months my breakouts have subsided, my pores are clean and clear, my face is dramatically brighter, even toned and smoother in texture and the kicker - all of my pigment is almost gone!!! This stuff works drastically and I cant wait to see the full results. I'll be using this forever - thank you Paula for your skin care range and giving us products that actually work as well as for your eye opening reviews. It's a bit runny and can dispense too much but who cares it works!

  3. BK
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Suggest dispensing fix
    • Love the product! Having read the issues with the amount dispensed I opted to leave the foil seal in place and punctured it with a clean straight pin - it worked perfectly. Now I get a small amount of product without fuss.

  4. Brittany P.
    Reviewed on Friday, September 20, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    One of the very few PC products I've been disappointed with.
    • I love PC, and it's the only skin care I use. I've repurchased this product a few times, but it still hasn't worked for me. I really prefer the liquid form of the 2% BHA, but this is the only option with hydroquinone. The finish feels slightly sticky. The mouth of the tube is too big, and the product globs out. When I remove the cap, product is caked under the lid. I haven't seen a difference in the light freckling under my eyes I was hoping to lighten.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, October 07, 2013

    Thanks for your review! We do sell one other product with hydroquinone, that being our RESIST Triple Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA. You may also want to try our RESIST Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment or our RESIST C15 Super Booster, both of which can work beautifully to lighten dark spots.

    —Admin
  5. Cora S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good product, but not optimal tube
    • I like this product. Consistency is good and my skin reacts nicely on the product. The only thing is the tube versus the type of content. It is is very fluid, and it's as if the tube does not fit the product, as it flows over and the cap get filled. I use the product only in small areas, so do not need a lot of the it, so it's a bit bit annoying that the product flows out. Otherwise I am a very satisfied customer!

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product for acne and brown spots
    • I'm Asian with olive skin and have long had issues with post-acne brown spots. I'm so glad that I discovered this product because it addresses both of these problems. I like the gel consistency and I haven't seen another 2% hydroquinone product WITH salicylic acid for this price. I use it every day, 2x/day, and have seen good results. I only wish it had a flip top with a smaller opening for the gel to come out. It tends to gush out and waste a lot of product.

  7. Katherine V.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lightens acne marks!
    • I have a lot of dark spots on my shoulders and upper arms from past breakouts, so I bought this hoping it would lighten those areas. I've been using it for about three weeks now and I have seen improvements! This product (for me at least) is pulling double duty by lightening the marks AND preventing new breakouts. I use it twice a day, and I'm very happy with the results so far! It doesn't dry out my skin and doesn't feel like I have a heavy cream on like with some other lighteners.

  8. Heather P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Impressive
    • I have used this product only twice and see a significant amount of lightening....I will continue using this product and recommend to others....Nice work and great price!

  9. Betsy S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Great for fading spots, but dries my skin:(
    • I was using this for about two months and was happy when I noticed that some of my post acne dark spots were starting to fade. The more stubborn spots are still there but are gradually fading. With time I'm sure they'll all fade completely. I didn't give a higher rating because I had to stop using this product the past two weeks because it was drying my combination skin out like crazy! All day my cheeks would flake no matter how much I moisturize which sucks because thats where all my marks are.

  10. Denise C
    Reviewed on Monday, August 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Hormonal dark spots vanished!
    • I've struggled w/ a darkening mouth area & cover it up w/ tons of makeup just to brighten my skin. I took the plunge & ordered this product because getting ready in the morning took too much effort just to have normal looking skin around my mouth. This product TRULY DELIVERS! In just 2 weeks of daily use 2X's a day w/ PC Hydralight sunscreen SPF 30 during the day; I've seen a dramatic improvement. I feel confident w/less makeup on. There isn't a PC product I've tried that I don't LOVE. Thank you

  11. Abby
    Reviewed on Friday, August 16, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love this product!
    • I absolutely love this product! I've been using it for about 4-5 months now and it works wonders on my post-acne marks and dark spots. The only thing I must stress is GIVE IT TIME! Just like any product, it doesn't work overnight. Be patient! I've tried multiple dark spot correctors (Garnier, Olay, etc) and this product is by far the best! Thanks Paula

  12. melissa, r
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 08, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    great so far!
    • I have only been using this product for approx 2 weeks. While I havent seen any real changes in my skin tone I do have sun spots & acne scars that Im up against. I love the way my skin feels & after all the reviews I am hopeful. I dont usually write reviews but I will come back with an update.

  13. ELLEN W.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 05, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Can't say it doesn't work...
    • but it doesn't work very well. I switch between the AHA one at night & the BHA one in the daytime under sunblock, and it does fade my spots, but very slowly. If I stop using it, the spots come back just as dark. I probably should've just invested in fraxel lasering, but I only have 4 annoying spots I want to rub out, not a patch of skin. Oh well....I would recommend if you intend to use it for life. It obviously works for some people, and you may be one of them.

  14. Kristi.C
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    great all over exfoliator
    • I keep coming back to this product! I actually use this as my all over facial exfoliant- Even though I have very few freckles, I prefer this texture and feel over Paula's 1% and 2% exfoliant. In fact, I find this one less irritating and just as great for unclogging pores and evening my skin tone. As a side benefit my freckles are gone!

  15. K M
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great For OIly Skin!
    • Have East Indian toned skin (Rekha/Beyoncé skin tone), acne prone, combo oil/dry: I use this on my oily t-zone daily in the evening, and the 7% AHA on my dry areas. after cleansing and toning (Resist) and before the RESIST Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator. Totally fades brown/black acne marks and gets rid of blackheads. My skin is almost mark free! The best! Now, need something to fade these dark elbows and knees!

  16. Karen G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Product for my Skin
    • I have been using the RESIST Triple-Action Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel, nightly for about 2 months. As a result, my sun-spots are fading, my skin-tone is more even, pores are smaller and red blotchiness is reduced. I have never before found a product that addressed and improved my aging, sensitive, combination, sun-damaged skin. Thank-you, Paula!

  17. Gina S.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite Skin Care Item
    • This is the one skin care product that has cleared my acne, even though I'd been trying my whole adult life. I love that it is two products in one, also. Love it!

  18. Brittany P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not sure yet
    • I haven't noticed a huge improvement in freckling yet, but it may need more time. I really like that I can apply two steps with one product. The gel can be sticky, and if I apply a tad too much, it balls up (wish this came in a liquid form). I really do not like the container. I was hoping the new packaging would be better, but it's not. The gel squeezes out way too fast, and some times globs out as soon as I take the lid off. It often makes a sticky mess, and I end up wasting a lot of product.

  19. Mary A
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!
    • This is a great product! I only used it once and i immediately saw results. My skin was not as oily the next day and my skin feels so soft. My acne scars were lighter. I will definitely keep on using

  20. SUE M.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love., Love, Love
    • I have used this product for years. You get both lightening from hydroquinone & exfoliation from BHA. You do not need to use another exfoliant with this product. I have found the AHA exfoliants are to harsh for my sensitive skin. I am 54 & have great skin for my age, which I attribute liberal use of sunscreen & various Paula's Choice products. Someone mentioned a smell, I have used countless tubes & IMHO there is no scent whatsoever. This keeps the dark spots a bay & exfoliates very well.

  21. DENISE B.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    ABSOLUTELY THE BEST - LIFE-CHANGING!
    • Love, love love this product! My fair, dry skin responds extremely well to this BHA GEL. Lightens dark age spots on my face. Also effectively treats areas around my nose and chin to clear up little white bumps ; as well as getting rid of redness and uneven skin tone! Constantly receiving compliments on my beautiful flawless complexion. No one believes me when I tell them that I am 56! Thanks to Paula and her dedicated staff, I no longer have to worry about wearing foundation.

  22. Delisa B.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 10, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Stinky
    • I wanted to like this and I really hoped that it would work for the stubborn acne scars on my extremely pale skin. And it might be an effective product, but the smell of it was so gross that I couldn't keep using it and wait for results.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    Thank you for your review! Since Paula's Choice products are 100% fragrance free, you are probably noticing the smell of one or more of the natural raw materials used to make the product. If you would like samples of an alternative product for consideration, please contact our Customer Care Department and we will make sure that these are sent promptly.
    —Admin
  23. CARLA R.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    2 Steps in 1
    • I love that I can accomplish two steps with one product. I also use the the AHA version of this as well. This product (BHA version) I use for the face and sometimes my back, and the other version for the hands and arms.

  24. Tracy M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    THE BEST
    • I LOOOOOOOOOOOVE This stuff!!!! it's amazing at fading my freckles and balancing out the splotchiness in my skin tone. I use it at night as a night cream/treatment gel. It also tones and tightens my skin. When I get bored with it and decide to try something else I ALWAYS come back to this as my night cream because nothing else compares. AMAZING!!!

  25. Jackie W
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Break out
    • I so wanted this product to work as I have some dark spots that have appeared on both sides of my face. I first tried it and broke out. Thinking it was maybe just hormones I left it for a week and tried again, same thing. I love a bunch of Paula's products but sadly this one is not for me.

« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel is a unique treatment for those struggling with discolorations and breakouts. 2% hydroquinone lightens sun-damaged areas while 2% salicylic acid exfoliates to reduce blemishes. This anti-aging lightener restores an even skin tone by fading skin discolorations caused by the sun or hormones. The silky, breathable gel texture is ideal for normal to oily skin. The formula glides on easily and absorbs without feeling sticky or greasy. Special packaging keeps key sensitive ingredients stable and prevents product discoloration. You'll see improved skin texture and clarity.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free with a pH range of 3.4-3.8.

Who is this product for?
Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel is formulated for anyone struggling with skin discolorations, uneven skin tone from sun damage, and breakouts. It is best suited for normal to oily or combination skin.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel

Cutis, April 2008, pages 356–371 and August 2006, pages S6–S19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, pages S272–S281; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, September–October 2005, pages 592–597; Experimental Dermatology, January 2005, pages 34–40; April 2003, Supplemental, pages 57–63; and January 2003, pages S43–S50; Cancer Letters, December 2002, pages 125–135; Journal of Dermatological Science, August, 2001, Supplemental, pages 68–75; Molecular Carcinogenesis, July 2001, pages 152–160; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001, page 429; and Dermatology, 1999, volume 199, number 1, pages 50–53; and Cosmetic Dermatology Principles and Practice 2nd Edition, McGraw Hill Medical Publishing, Leslie Baumann MD, 2009, pages 150–151 and page 316.

Key Ingredients: Epilobium angustifolium extract, licorice extract, hydroquinone, superoxide dismutase, aloe juice, salicylic acid, Aloe barbadensis, allantoin, glycerin, anti-irritant, BHA (beta hydroxy acid), dipotassium glycyrrhizate

Product Ingredients:

Active Ingredient: Hydroquinone 2% (melanin inhibitor)
Other Ingredients: Water, Ethoxydiglycol (solvent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent/water-binding agent), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate (anti-irritants), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (skin-conditioning agents), Hydroxyethylcellulose (gel-based thickener), Sodium Metabisulfite, Sodium Sulfite (stabilizers), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Polyquaternium-10 (thickener), Phytic Acid (antioxidant), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply once or twice daily to cleansed, toned skin. Spread a thin layer over areas where discolorations and breakouts are a concern. During the day, follow with the appropriate Paula's Choice sunscreen (essential to prevent discolorations from recurring). At night, follow with Resist Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator and/or Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum. Results for discolorations should appear after 8–12 weeks of consistent use.

For best results, do not use hydroquinone (the active ingredient in our Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser Lotion & Gel) and benzoyl peroxide (the active ingredient in our Clear Skin Clearing Treatments) at the same time. A temporary dark staining of the skin may occur. If accidentally used together, wash the skin with soap and water to remove the staining.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the difference between the Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel and Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion?

The main differences are texture (gel vs. lotion) and the type of exfoliant included in the formula. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 2% BHA Gel was designed with normal to oily skin in mind, so it contains salicylic acid (BHA) which is preferred over AHAs for that skin type. Resist Triple-Action Dark Spot Eraser 7% AHA Lotion contains glycolic acid and is ideal for someone with normal to dry skin. Both work to provide smoother, younger-looking skin.

Can I use an AHA or BHA in combination with either one of the skin lighteners?

Using an additional exfoliant may not be necessary with either skin lightening product, because both already contain them. However, if you prefer, you can alternate use of one of our AHA or BHA products with either skin lightener. If you're spot-applying one of our skin lighteners, then you can apply your regular AHA or BHA exfoliant to the rest of your face.

At what point in my routine do I apply the skin-lightening product?

Whether you're using our Resist Triple-Action Lotion or Gel, either product should be applied to dark spots or uneven areas twice daily after cleansing, toning, and exfoliating. In the morning, follow with serum and moisturizer with sunscreen. At night, follow with serum and moisturizer.

If you're using a prescription retinoid product at night, apply that first, then follow with the Dark Spot Eraser.

I have heard/read from sources that hydroquinone is carcinogenic (cancer-causing) and the FDA wants to ban it. What does Paula think of that?

Paula has written about this topic on her Web site and in her books, but the summation is that the negative research about hydroquinone and the frightening assertions being levied in the media are not related to how this effective ingredient is used in skincare products sold in the United States. It has been, and still is, the most effective topical agent for fading and/or eliminating sun- or hormone-induced brown skin discolorations and there is copious research to support this conclusion (Sources: Cutis, August 2006, Supplemental pages 6–19; Journal of Cosmetic Laser Therapy, September 2006, pages 121–127; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, July 2006, pages 223–230; and Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, May 2006, Supplemental, pages 272–281).

PCWEB-WWW4 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.