Resist BHA 9

Blackheads and bumps, be gone.This concentrated, leave-on acne spot treatment clears up stubborn blemishes and unclogs and shrinks pores.
Item #: 773
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Calms redness and fades marks from past breakouts

Please Note: Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin or its derivatives.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist BHA 9

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

76 out of 100
(Based on 646 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 26 Next »
  1. Jenny
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not effective for me
    • I bought this product to treat blackheads and whiteheads but every time I use it I get new "bumps". I think its because the texture is thick and feels more like I'm putting a emollient on my face rather than a gel. I think if this was changed so that the product would feel like a gel, my skin would better absorb it. Also, when I wake up in the morning my skin is really oily and I believe its from this product because its the only thing I use on my face before I go to bed.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, January 13, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for your comments - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  2. ATHENA M.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 12, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    No improvement
    • I went to use this on my stubborn blackheads around my enlarged pores on my nose as well as on chin and there has been no improvement. I am still on the hunt for some product that works to take this away!!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, January 13, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for your comments - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  3. viv
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!!!!!!!
    • I love this product! I got it for closed comedones and I noticed results the morning after the first use, I've been using it for about a week now and they are practically gone. The only thing I dislike is the pump that it comes in.

  4. Gail W.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 09, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Don't want to be without this
    • This is a great item to have in your beauty arsenal for those periodic breakouts. As soon as I notice something forming, I apply a small drop and within a day-the breakout has subsided. I have also seen improvement on other stubborn spots. The pump is easy to get used to-just depress once about halfway-all you need is a small drop.

  5. nikyla s.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 09, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome product :)
    • Also- the pump does waste a lot of product if you fully press it down but I've had no problems with that. I just slightly press it and a drop comes out. I do that quickly a few times until I have the desired amount. I've been using a couple months and my bottle still looks full and I'm seeing great results. HG product for me :)

  6. Rose
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 08, 2015
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    So far no changes...
    • I got a sample of this to try to get rid of my milia, and I've been applying every night for four nights now and nothing has happened, contrary to what other people have been saying (that they see changes overnight). Anyways, I'm going to continue using up my sample in case it suddenly kicks in, but I have a question. Is it okay to apply this product more than once a day? Would it quicken the process? Thank you!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, January 09, 2015

    Hello, and thanks for your question! You can certainly use this twice a day, depending on how your skin reacts.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  7. Kristian
    Reviewed on Monday, January 05, 2015
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Great product, except it didn't work for me.
    • The pump is fine and easy to use. It isn't as smooth as the 2% bottles, but it if you rapidly and gently tap it it pumps out a small pea size which is MORE than enough. I purchased this bottle back in Oct and its now Jan 2015 and I still have blackheads. I know having oily skin their always going to be there, but this should have gotten rid of a large amount of them on my nose. But hey, I tried it and it didn't work for me. Regardless ill still use Paula's products - just not this one.

  8. Leslie C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 04, 2015
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    I like the product, hate the pump
    • I have to agree with ALEX I. I like the product for the same reasons but the pump dispenser is difficult to control and I have practiced a large number of times. The pumps on the Clinical Scar Reducing Serum and the sample size of Clinical 1% Retinol Treatment are similar and work great (plus because they are wider stand up better). Because of this I've be considering discontinuing it's use because of the expense and waste. Two stars because you can do better.

  9. Inna O.
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 03, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Magic Wand
    • I'm in my 30s, have always been prone to break-outs, but recently started developing cystic acne on my chin. This product is the only thing that saves my sanity and my skin. The result is truly miraculous. It reduces the size, the redness and inflammation overnight. It takes a few more applications after that for complete resolution. Definitely recommend!

  10. ALEX I.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 02, 2015
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good poduct. Bad dispenser.
    • I was quite excited when I bought this because of it's high BHA concentration. I found it to be an effective exfoliant and caused minimal irritation. It also absorbs quickly which is great, and leaves behind little to no sticky residue. The big drawback of this product is the pump dispenser (hence the 3 star rating). It is impossible to dispense anything less than a full pump's worth -which is a lot- especially considering the size of the container and the hefty price tag.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, January 02, 2015

    Keep practicing with the dispenser! It gets easier to control and you'll be able to dispense a smaller amount.

    —Admin
  11. Samantha S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 01, 2015
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Good treatment
    • My favorite thing about this product was that it never stung, and that may be due to the time released aspect that is advertised. I found the other liquid BHAs to work better for me, but this product did help with any inflamed blemishes and bought them down in size. It didn't do anything for helping with Milia but it did great for white heads and cystic acne.

  12. Teresa R.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A must have for managing breakouts
    • I get periodic cystic breakouts - the kind where you can feel the blemish as a sore spot under your skin a couple of days before it surfaces. If I apply the BHA9 as soon as I feel the breakout coming on, it will be gone in two days, sometimes one. I know other reviewers dislike the packaging, but I don't find it to be too difficult to use. It took a couple of tries to get the hang of it. As long as you use light pressure on the pump you can avoid dispensing too much.

  13. ANETA D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Truly makes an immedicate difference
    • Paula's products are great, but this one is simply phenomenal. I apply it all over my face and neck once a week after a warm bath. My skin is unbelievably smooth and even the following morning. I have not been able to obtain results like this from any other product. Yes, it is pricey if you use it over large areas like this, but still not as expensive as pointless facials and spa products that my friends buy every month! Nobody believes that I have not had a facial in years with the skin I have.

  14. matt h.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Favorite
    • I really love this product. I use the 2% BHA which is good for an everyday use, but now that I've started to throw this into my routine, once every other day over the whole face, its done wonders. It's helped improve my complection and really makes a great spot treatment for blemishes. Also, has done more than anything else to improve blackheads and make them fewer inbetween. Def try this out. Well worth the price and one of my favorite prodcuts from Paula's line.

  15. Christina D.
    Reviewed on Monday, December 22, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    A GEM of a product.
    • This product is AMAZING! I wake up to smoother skin, glowing skin. WOW. It is really helping to smooth out my pores. My makeup is even looking better. I do wish however that the packaging was better. It says to use a pea amount but the pump gives out much more, if fact to much. I feel as if I am wasteing product, even though I do put this all over my skin, i still have extra to put else where. But other wise a GEM of a product.

  16. Jeremy S
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    fantastic
    • I deal with redness and this product works wonderfully. I started it as a spot treatment and noticed less breakouts and redness, so I started using it all over my face (minus eye area). After a month, my redness is diminished greatly with less breakouts and smoother texture. My suggestion would be perhaps to have two sizes (1) for treatment as current size, and (2) as "all over" treatment with more product and better packaging. In addition, I use the light antioxidant serum which helps too!

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic! So Long Blackheads!
    • I love PC products, I am a male and have tried many lines to treat my rosacea, PC is the Best! I love this BHA 9, the blackheads on my nose are GONE after one use! Amazing. You don't need much but works Great! And PC Customer service amazing, had issue with pump and they sent me a new one no questions asked! I have spent probably $1000. in the last month but I just love PC products and have been stocking up on sale pricing! Keep up fantastic work PC Customer Service, I appreciate YOU!

  18. Michael T
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really Great!
    • I had started to develop sebaceous hyperplasia in an area on my forehead and after a just over a week of using the Resist BHA 9 it's almost completely vanished. If I could make one recommendation though it would be to change the packaging, it's nice but not very user friendly.

  19. Kimberly W.
    Reviewed on Friday, December 12, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Cystic acne has met its match!
    • I love this stuff! I'll admit I was skeptical it would work better than other acne spot treatments, but it really does work miracles! I get cystic acne, & I can't do anything to get rid of them until now! I got some painful pimples around my mouth & chin just after getting the trial size in the mail, so I gave it a try. Those suckers were cleared up in 2-3 days! I also got a cystic pimple on my jaw & have been putting this on it for 3 nights & it's almost gone! Very pleased with my purchase! :~D

  20. Paul V.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 11, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It's okay
    • Helped with blackheads more than anything ive tried, but it cannot get rid of anymore and so it has plateaued. as for red marks, it didn't help with those significantly. however, it works okay on whiteheads and such.

  21. sara b.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 11, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    amazing stuff
    • This does not cure cystic acne, but it cuts the healing time down. Removed black heads on my nose overnight. With repeated use, gets ride of closed comedones. I will definitely repurchase this.

  22. Paula's girl in Galveston.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Oh, wow. Does this stuff ever work.
    • I no longer have a single blackhead and am down to using it just twice a week.

  23. Enrique M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Must Have
    • Love this product, the only downside is that i wake up extremely oily when i use this. It does cause me some whiteheads but I'm guessing that's normal when you're using something to clean out your pores/breakouts.

  24. Julie T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really works well - get a sample and try it!
    • I ordered a sample earlier this year and just ordered a 2nd sample size. A little goes a long way and thanks to all of my other PC products my skin is practically blemish free anyhow! Whenever I do have a small flare up - be it black heads or cystic -a small dab of this product and within 24-36 hours I see a huge difference in size and redness and then it diminishes entirely. Because it is expensive I ordered the sample 2x now, but honestly it lasts and goes a long way. Best $5 spent!

  25. LH
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best spot treatment for acne I've ever used
    • It's expensive, but it's worth it, one tube lasts me at least 6 - 8 months when using as a spot treatment for zits, clogged pores and trouble spots. I've used ever spot treatment in the market, and this is the only one that can actually stop a zit from forming altogether. At the first time of a zit I apply 2-3 times a day, especially over night, and 95% of the time the zit disappears while I sleep. If you have cystic acne, this is definitely worth a try, it can even help the most stubborn.

« Prev Page of 26 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist BHA 9 is a first-of-its-kind spot treatment specially formulated to address your most stubborn skin imperfections. The technology behind BHA 9 is indeed unique, allowing for a controlled, sustained release of salicylic acid without diminishing any of its effectiveness. In fact, you will have enhanced results without dryness or irritation! BHA 9 for Stubborn Imperfections has a pH range of 3.2-3.6.

BHA 9 can do all of the following:
  1. Unclog pores with the first use
  2. Diminish white bumps
  3. Minimize enlarged pores
  4. Refine and smooth skin's texture
  5. Minimize sebaceous hyperplasia
  6. Smooth and soften dry, rough patches
  7. Help balance oily skin
  8. Fade red marks from breakouts
  9. Reduce breakouts

Who is this product for?
Resist BHA 9 is designed for anyone who has struggled with stubborn skin imperfections who wants enhanced results over and above the treatments they've been using.

NOTE: Those allergic to aspirin (acetylsalicylate) should not use products containing salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid).

Sources to support the claims made for Resist BHA 9

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, 2010, page 110; Cosmetic Dermatology, Second Edition, McGraw Hill, Baumann, Leslie, MD, 2009, pages 150–151; Dermatologic Surgery, April 2009, pages 638–644; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology, and Leprology, March-April 2005, pages 87–90; Pharmazie, March 2005, pages 215–220; Journal of Cosmetic Science, November 2004, pages 519–531; and Drugs Under Experimental and Clinical Research, Volume 3, 2003, pages 101–105.

Key Ingredients: Boerhavia diffusa root extract, Avena sativa, glycerin, arginine, sea whip extract, salicylic acid

Product Ingredients:

Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/time-released exfoliant, 9%), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract (soothing plant extract), Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

DIRECTIONS: At night, apply as a leave-on spot treatment for stubborn imperfections. Dispense a very small amount of Resist BHA 9 onto a clean fingertip, and massage a thin layer over affected areas. Suitable for use around the eyes, but avoid contact with eyelids and do not apply along the lower lashline. For best results, use after cleansing and toning, but it can also be used as the last step in your skincare routine. Experiment to see which method works best for your skin concerns. May be applied on its own or over a Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting exfoliant. May be applied over larger areas if needed. Reduce frequency of usage if irritation or flaking occurs.

PRECAUTIONS:

This product contains 9% salicylic acid. Please note:

  • Do not use if you are allergic to aspirin
  • If you experience irritation, rinse from skin and discontinue use
  • Avoid direct contact with eyes
  • Protect skin with sunscreen daily
  • Ask your doctor before using on children
  • Keep out of reach of children
  • If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your doctor before use

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps even those who cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

Is BHA 9 just a spot treatment or can I use it all over my face?

A thin layer of BHA 9 may be applied all over your face if needed, but you would want to use it first over smaller areas where stubborn imperfections (for example, blackheads that have not responded to a BHA exfoliant with 2% salicylic acid) are an issue to see how your skin responds.

How often can I use BHA 9?

We recommend applying BHA 9 once a day preferably in the evening, after cleansing and toning. Many will find that their imperfections respond favorably with less frequent usage, such as 2-3 times per week. For best results, experiment to determine the frequency of application that works best for you.

Is it OK to use BHA 9 if I am also using a skin lightening product that contains hydroquinone?

Yes. Apply the BHA 9 to affected areas first and follow with the skin lightening product where needed. Finish with your Paula's Choice serum and moisturizer. During the day, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Can BHA 9 be applied at the same time as my retinol or prescription tretinoin product?

Yes, but for use with prescription retinoids, check with your doctor first. If you decide to try the BHA 9 use it as part of your evening skincare routine. Apply a thin layer of BHA 9 first, as either a spot treatment or all over your face and then follow with your retinol or prescription retinoid product, and finish with serum and/or moisturizer. Pay close attention to how your skin responds.

Can I use the BHA 9 at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA or AHA products?

Yes, though for some skin types applying two exfoliants at the same time increases the risk of irritation and that is never the goal. It is also fine to apply any of our BHA or AHA products to areas of your face where you are not applying the BHA 9 exfoliant, or you can alternate by applying your regular exfoliant in the morning and BHA 9 at night. BHA 9 was designed to be a spot treatment though lots of people are having great success using it all over their face and chest.

Is BHA 9 recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply BHA 9 to the eyelid or underbrow area.

Can BHA 9 be used on the body?

Yes. BHA 9 is excellent for treating stubborn imperfections on the body, too, especially white bumps, breakouts, and stubborn blackheads or patches of persistent keratosis pilaris. It is slippery so you would want to be careful what you wore to go to bed.

Will BHA 9 help fade acne scars?

Regular use of BHA 9 will help fade pink, red, or brown marks (known as post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation) from acne breakouts, but will not affect deep or pitted scars such as those that can occur from cystic acne.

I have eczema. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, morning or evening. If applying over patches of eczema, pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue applying BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application. Follow with an emollient moisturizer.

I have rosacea and/or sensitive skin. Can I use BHA 9?

Yes, but to start, apply this treatment to stubborn imperfections only, once daily or a few times per week, in the evening. Pay close attention to how your skin responds. If signs of flaking or dryness occur, do not continue to apply BHA 9 to these areas or reduce frequency of application.

Is BHA 9 better than the Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid exfoliant?

Not necessarily better, but it is stronger and designed to be a targeted treatment. BHA 9 is designed for stubborn imperfections (blackheads, white bumps, red marks from acne, sebaceous hyperplasia) that have not responded well (or at all) to one of our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants with 2% salicylic acid. BHA 9 is a potent treatment that for most will work best when applied to problem areas. For routine, daily exfoliation, continue to use one of our other BHA exfoliants on other parts of your face, neck, and chest.

How come BHA 9 is not part of the Clear line of anti-acne products?

Paula feels strongly that the benefits of BHA 9 are great enough to extend it beyond keeping acne breakouts under control. It is an excellent spot treatment for many types of skin issues such as sebaceous hyperplasia which primarily affects women over 40 who have oily skin and that wouldn't fall under the category of acne. Without question, BHA 9 can benefit acne-prone skin and can be used as part of a Clear routine if a stronger exfoliant to treat areas with stubborn imperfections, including Resistant blackheads and white bumps (milia) is needed.

What is the strength of BHA 9?

BHA 9 contains 9% salicylic acid in a unique formula, time-released to prevent irritation without sacrificing the result of its 9% strength. This allows even those with sensitive skin (perhaps who even cannot tolerate our 2% BHA formulas) to reap the incredible results possible with BHA 9.

What is the pH of BHA 9?

Resist BHA 9 has a pH range of 3.1-3.6, just like most of our other BHA exfoliants.

What's the difference between BHA 9 and your skin-lightening products?

The salicylic acid in BHA9 fades discoloration by increasing skin cell turnover rate, while key ingredients in Resist Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Treatment and our hydroquinone-based skin lighteners work to interrupt the pathways in skin that melanin (skin pigment) needs to form the discolorations. Used together on dark spots, these products will have a complementary, synergistic effect. And don't forget the sunscreen, a must when figting brown spots and uneven skin tone.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my BHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a BHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your BHA again as soon as possible. Or, if your skin seems extra-sensitive, you may want to wait and apply the BHA exfoliant a few days post-procedure. Salicylic acid is an excellent anti-inflammatory ingredient that can enhance skin's natural healing process as it works to reduce post-procedure redness.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.376 3/3/2015 12:49:44 PM
Skip to Top of Page

Free Email Sign-Up

- Expert Skin Care & Makeup News & Advice (twice a month)
- New product reviews on Beautypedia (twice a month)

Enter Your Contact Information

Birthday (Optional)

 
FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Ready For Retinol Trial Set on $65+