RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

Dull skin, your days are over. Our leave-on exfoliant reveals healthy, new skin as it builds collagen and evens out skin tone.
Item #: 766
  • Anti-Aging, Wrinkles
  • For All Skin Types
  • Evens out skin tone

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 135 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Silvia H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love it
    • I simply love this product!!!! Does not irritate my sensitive rosacea skin and feels great. Never used a AHA exfoliant before and surprised how well this works for me. Also ordered the retinol serum and thinks it a super product too. Glad I found PC.

  2. Monica S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    MY NEW FAVE!
    • OKAY - WHERE IS THE SIXTH STAR?? I am in LOVE with this, and ALL of PC products. If you are reading these for the first time, I'm telling you - try it - they guarantee it - nothing to lose - OMG! It is the most beautiful feeling - silky, yet tingling - it's working girls! I have literally lost 10 years off my face i the past 6 weeks. This is a gorgeous product - I sampled and bought pretty much everything. I can not believe how amazing this is. People see me and say WOW. I swear to God!

  3. Ariel
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    By Far The BEST Exfoliant EVER
    • I have tried so many exfoliants for my combination/oily breakout prone skin, and this is by far the most amazing I have ever tried. I bought the sample packet first and was amazed because literally overnight my skin felt and looked so much smoother. I use it with the Hydralight system in place of the 1% BHA and so far it's working great for me. Love it! and cannot brag enough about PC's great Customer service. I'm sure I will be a constant customer.

  4. The Other Paula
    Reviewed on Monday, June 17, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Seems to work well...
    • I got the sample pack of the Resist collection and it the AHA seems to do the trick and leaves my skin feeling great afterwards. BHA was recommended to me, due to my combination skin, so I'll try that too and see which one I like better.

  5. MELISSA N.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works!
    • This product makes my skin feel baby soft after only a few days.When it first arrived, I didn't know that I had to turn the bottle upside down to prime the pump, and I opened it and exposed it to air thinking my container was broken. The nice folks at PC sent me a new one, and now I use it faithfully twice a day. Wonderful!

  6. Margaret
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Pleasantly Impressed
    • Ive been getting regular peels done at the dermatologists office. These have really done an amazing job. But it becomes very clear when I am behind on my schedule to get them. This product has made a big difference in how my skin looks in between. I also have rosacea...no issue with this product. In fact, if anything, I think it has helped. Flare ups so far are non-existent or minimal. I will re-order it and I recommend it as worth a try for sure.

  7. Ellie, H
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 06, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Used to love this
    • I used to swear by this. I used this product for two years and it made my skin incredible. I recently purchased two bottles and noticed initially that the texture was different. I didn't think anything of it but I wish I had because I've watched my perfect skin become patchy, dry and blackhead ridden. Just in time for my sisters wedding I don't know if i got an odd batch or what. Your products are so amazing I just wish they were more consistent.

  8. LF
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 02, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Too irritating for me
    • I have mild Rosacea and have to be careful with irritating products, but found I could use Paula’s Retinol Serum and 8% AHA with no problems. Stupidly on my part, I started using her 5% AHA and assumed I could just lather it on, because to my mind, I was going a step backwards. Unfortunately, I had a horrible reaction. It’s either a rash or hundreds of tiny pimples, but my cheeks are bumpy and sore. It has been 2 weeks since I stopped using this and my skin is just getting back to normal.

  9. Betsie
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • I have been using the 5% AHA for a couple of months now and I love it! I have very fair, dry skin. I also suffer from nasty, large, forever lasting, scarring pimples on my chin. I also have very deep expression lines on my forehead (and I'm only 30). This stuff has turned my skin comletely around! I also use the 9%BHA with it on my stubborn scars, pimples that pop up, and my deep expression lines. The combination of the two has given me skin I never dreamed could be mine! Great return policy!

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another 5 Star Review
    • Information about me: I am 21 years old. I have very oily skin, which I have only found products to control in the past year. I get pimples and they leave little spots which fade but since I am usually getting a few pimples here and there I always have a few spots. I love this product which I've been using with the rest of the resist line. My skin has become much clearer and brighter. And yesterday I even went out with no foundation and just some concealer over a couple scars! Works beautifully

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Big Surprise
    • My skin is not bad, but difficult to treat combo of dry and red areas, with oiler breakout prone patches. Other AHA/BHAs caused flake out/breakout flares. The daily 5%, is gentle enough for daily use to keep the dry dead skin shedding at slow, but steady rate. The redness is very reduced in days!. It's gentle but profound. I love the Weekly option too.. CS was so helpful, as I tested many products to find a mix that did not break me out of dry me out. I use some for 4 lines now.

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Big Surprise
    • My skin is not bad, but difficult to treat combo of dry and red areas, with oiler breakout prone patches. Other AHA/BHAs caused flake out/breakout flares. The daily 5%, is gentle enough for daily use to keep the dry dead skin shedding at slow, but steady rate. The redness is very reduced in days!. It's gentle but profound. I love the Weekly option too.. CS was so helpful, as I tested many products to find a mix that did not break me out of dry me out. I use some for 4 lines now.

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Save your money
    • Save your money and Stick with the 10% weekly Resurfacing treatment. No noticeable difference. Very , very little product for the money.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this didn't work out for you. Just a quick note, you may certainly contact our Customer Care Department for assistance with a refund, credit or samples!
    —Admin
  14. JESSICA O.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Nice when my skin is dry
    • I have used a few sample packets of this product and love it when my skin feels too dry to use my usual 2% BHA gel. It moisturizes my skin right away and gives it a lovely, smooth look by morning without overdrying. I will most likely purchase the full size version of this one!

  15. CHRISTEL G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not sure....
    • I'm pretty new to PC products and am loving the 10% weekly resurfacing (which I JUST began), but this 5% lotion I'm not sure about. I'm using the balancing cleanser (which is so nice), the balancing toner, then this 5% lotion before the resist moisturizer. I've broke out in two places on my chin but these are not normal breakouts. They are HUGE bumps that itch like crazy, stay around for more than a week then seem to want to finally start to disappear.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 15, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! There are a few explanations for your experience, incompatibility with your skin type/concerns, or sensitivity to one or more of the ingredients. Either way we would recommend contacting our Customer Care team for help with a refund or exchange!
    —Admin
  16. Tessa
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for me
    • I used this as part of the Resist system bundle as directed and found my skin react with an angry red rash of very dry skin that lasted nearly a week. It was a similar reaction when I over applied acne products, just on a much larger scale. I can't say it's a bad product, the first day results were amazing, but I guess my skin is more sensitive than I thought. I'm going to try a BHA product instead and hopefully the results will be better. Customer Service responded to my concerns very quickly.

  17. LYNETTE
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 24, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Used to love it
    • I used to love this product. I have been using it since it first came out. Now, I use it at night on occasion and the next day my face is beet red, itches and burns. Then 2 days later I break out in little bumps all over that itch and burn. Not sure if there has been a reformulation but it isn't working for me anymore.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 25, 2013
    Thank you for sharing your experience. The RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment has not been reformulated, but there may be a variety of explanations for increased sensitivity (sometimes it is a seasonal thing, other times a combination of environmental factors). Please contact Customer Care for assistance regarding questions, a refund or exchange!
    —Admin
  18. Dawn R
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    For silky-smooth skin...
    • I've struggled with acne and uneven skin tone all my life... until I tried Paula's Choice. This is one of my all-time favorites. I use it every night and my skin has never been smoother. I'm constantly asking my husband to feel my face, LOL. Thanks, Paula!

  19. Krissy
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love This!
    • I love many of Paula's products, but this one may be my all-time favorite. It makes my skin look as close to perfect as it can. I still have minor break-outs so I use some of the Clear line, but this product just makes my skin (and me) happy! I use this every morning and every night. Please don't ever discontinue this!!!

  20. Laura
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Surprised how much I like it!
    • I had tried using the 8% AHA in the past to fade acne scars, but ran out. After liking a sample of this, I ordered a bottle & have been really pleased. I think of my skin as "combination", so thought BHA was the best for me. But I have noticed much smoother skin and fewer breakouts so far with the 5% AHA. Thinking of ordering the Weekly Resurfacing Treatment as well.

  21. rowr
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    AMAZING, CANT LIVE WITHOUT
    • My skin is not "addicted" to this, but really, I cant live without it. Why? Been wearing coverup since I was 16. My acne of decades has CLEARED up to such an extent using this product, that I even feel comfortable without much makeup at all, after decades of skin trouble. Why? The year before I used this, my skin was the worst it has EVER been. It was actually making me severely depressed. I got very self-conscious. I have my confidence back. Why? I couldnt go on a date without applying hours of makeup, and was self-conscious if the poor bloke got it in his head to kiss me. Not kidding - this whole year has been a relentless flow of interested men, waiting in line. I have a new problem - which one to choose, which ones to refuse, poor guys. What will I do if the world ends and I ahve no access to this product (along with the Clear line)? Must remember to stockpile.

  22. Ng77
    Reviewed on Monday, December 17, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not impressed
    • I bought this as a set with the weekly resurfacing treatment. This product made my face very dry, even with a moisturizer. And every time I used it I noticed little bumps the next day. The weekly treatment didn't do this. Honestly, I haven't noticed any improvements in my skin with this stuff, and its been a few weeks now, so I'll probably keep the weekly treatment and try the 2% bha instead. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we encourage you to contact customer care to discuss your skin type and routine. We are happy to make other product suggestions and arrange for samples to be sent out!

  23. Sam W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not successful for me
    • Wanted this product to be the miracle it was for others but wasn't for me. I have used PC products for about 6 months and have made improvements but was disappointed in this purchase. I tried several regimens with the product hoping I could find one that was successful but always ended up regretting I tried it again. I haven't ever had issues with my skin until recently and I am mid 30s! I hate having oily aging skin because under eyes constantly appears dry while rest is oily. This product caused red bumps in a large quantity the morning after I tried it each time. I would wait few days until bumps almost gone and then try it a different way but always ended unsuccessfully for me:- /. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. It would be helpful to know what else you were using in your routine to determine the best recommendations and possible reason as to why this product did not respond well for you. Please contact customer care via telephone, live chat, or email so that we may discuss your routine and offer you an in house credit for this product.

  24. Sam W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Unsuccessful for me
    • Wanted this product to be the miracle it was for others but wasn't for me. I have used PC products for about 6 months and have made improvements but was disappointed in this purchase. I use PC face wash, toner, BHA liquid, serum, and lotions. I tried several regimens with the product hoping I could find one that was successful but always ended up regretting I tried it again. I haven't ever had issues with my skin until recently and I am mid 30s! I hate having oily aging skin because under eyes constantly appears dry while rest is oily. This product caused red bumps in a large quantity the morning after I tried it each time. I would wait few days until bumps almost gone and then try it a different way but always ended unsuccessfully for me:- /. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. It would be helpful to know what else you were using in your routine to determine the best recommendations and possible reason as to why this product did not respond well for you. Please contact customer care via telephone, live chat, or email so that we may discuss your routine and offer you an in house credit for this product.

  25. J
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent but have a question
    • Just started using the 5-step system (cleanser/toner/AHA smoothing/serum/retinol moisturizer) and it's great but was wondering if it matters how soon after I cleanse and tone that I apply the AHA, serum and moisturizer--I'm rubbing them all in, so can I do them all one right after another? Or do they need to absorb and dry before the next step is applied? Is there anything wrong with doing them all at the same time even? I could stretch the serum and lotion coverage if I mix a little of each on my finger and apply, not to mention save a couple minutes at night. thanks! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear the products are working well for you! There is no need in waiting a specific amount of time in between product applications. For more information on this topic please search for the article: "How long do I have to wait between applying skin care products?" in the search box on the web site. Feel free to contact customer care with any questions.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Paula's Choice RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid is a must-have exfoliant for those who want their skin to look and act younger. It features an effective concentration of glycolic acid with a boost of pore-penetrating salicylic acid. This anti-aging exfoliant reveals youthfully radiant skin and counteracts sun damage—without redness or irritation! The innovative daily-use formula continually renews your skin's texture, evens skin tone, smooths fine lines, and stimulates healthy collagen production via exfoliation and by delivering a potent blend of antioxidants that help fight free-radical damage.

Fragrance- and colorant-free, this silky treatment doubles as a lightweight moisturizer and is recommended as an integral part of the Paula's Choice RESIST line This AHA exfoliant has a pH range of 3.5-3.8.

Who is this product for?
RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% Alpha Hydroxy Acid can be used by all skin types and is ideal for anyone concerned with preventing and reducing the signs of aging, including sun damage, fine lines, uneven skin tone, and wrinkles.

Sources to support the claims made for RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA

The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Allured Books, Thornfeldt Carl MD, 2010, pages 180–181; Dermatologic  Surgery, July 2009, pages 1,109–1,118; Clinical Evidence Online, December 16, 2008; Seminars in Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, September 2008, pages 170–176; Journal of Dermatological Science, December 2005, pages 195–204; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156–1162; Cutis, August 2001, pages 135–142; Dermatologic Surgery, May 2001 pages 1–5; Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, July 2000, pages 280–284; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, March-April 2000, pages 81–88; Dry Skin and Moisturizers: Chemistry and Function, edited by Marie Loden and Howard Maibach, 2000, page 237; Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, May-June 1999, pages 111–119; Journal of Cell Physiology, October 1999, pages 14–23; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 1996, pages 867–875.

Key Ingredients: epigallocatechin gallate, cell-communicating ingredients, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Cucumis melo (melon) fruit extract, ceramide 2, antioxidant, palmitoyl oligopeptide, allantoin, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, caffeic acid, AHA, bisabolol, salicylic acid, vitamin E, glycolic acid, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycolic Acid (AHA exfoliant), Cetyl Alcohol (thickener), Butylene Glycol (slip agent and penetration enhancer), Palmitoyl Oligopeptide (cell-communicating ingredient), Ceramide 2 (skin-identical ingredient), Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuoylmethane (anti-irritants/antioxidants derived from curcumin), Epigallocatechin Gallate, Caffeic Acid (antioxidants), Salicylic Acid (BHA exfoliant/anti-irritant), Disodium Lauriminodipropionate Tocopheryl Phosphates (vitamin E-based antioxidant), PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol (fatty acid thickener), Cucumis Melo (Melon) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), Bisabolol, Allantoin (anti-irritants), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/texture enhancers), Tribehenin (texture enhancer), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, PPG-14 Butyl Ether, PEG-40 Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate (thickeners), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Polyacrylamide (film-forming agents), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), C13-14 Isoparaffin (solvent), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Caprylyl Glycol (preservative), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Hexylene Glycol (solvent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Apply daily after cleansing and toning. Dispense 1–2 pumps and smooth over entire face. Follow with Paula's Choice RESIST Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and/or RESIST Barrier Repair Moisturizer or RESIST Anti-Aging Clear Skin Hydrator. First-time users should apply once daily, preferably at night. For maximum results, alternate with RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment with 10% AHA once per week. Avoid direct contact with eyes.

Sun Protection Advice When Using Any AHA Exfoliant: This product contains 5% glycolic acid, an ingredient that may increase your skin's sensitivity to the sun and the possibility of sunburn. Always apply a broad-spectrum sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater every day. When outdoors, wear protective clothing whenever possible, seek shade, and avoid prolonged sun exposure.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

How should I alternate using RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment?

RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment is recommended for use at night, at least once but up to 4 or 5 times per week depending on how your skin responds. Since we do not advise using other exfoliants at the same time as RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment, you can apply RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment as part of your morning skin-care routine or on night(s) you do not apply the RESIST Weekly Resurfacing Treatment. In the morning, if desired, you can apply RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment after cleansing and toning or you can limit use of the Daily Smoothing Treatment to nighttime (this is best for first-time users). For daytime, follow with a serum and/or moisturizer or foundation rated SPF 15 or greater.

How does the RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment differ from the Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel Exfoliant?

While both of these products are AHA exfoliants, the texture and overall formulas differ. The RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment is an advanced AHA lotion that contains 5% glycolic acid and numerous antiaging ingredients designed to improve wrinkles. The 8% AHA Gel contains 8% glycolic acid formulated in a silky gel base with soothing agents and antioxidants. Both are excellent products but RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment offers additional benefits that go beyond what our 8% AHA Gel does, especially if wrinkles are a chief concern.

Can I use RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with one of the RESIST skin lighteners?

Yes, but not at the same time unless they are applied to separate areas of your face. This is because both of our RESIST skin lighteners contain an exfoliant (the Lotion has glycolic acid and the Gel has salicylic acid). If you're using one of our RESIST skin lighteners, you may apply it in the morning or on the nights you do not apply the RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment or apply the skin lightener only to discolorations and apply RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment over the rest of your face.

Can I use RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment at the same time as one of Paula's Choice BHA products?

Yes, but ultimately it is not necessary to use an AHA and BHA exfoliant at the same time. Exfoliation is a balancing act that requires not tipping the scale so the potential for irritation outweighs the benefits. Using multiple exfoliants at the same time increases the likelihood of irritation and doesn't necessarily provide greater benefits. If you'd like to use a BHA product and RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment, we recommend applying one in the morning and the other in the evening. Which one you apply when is a matter of personal preference.

Is RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment recommended for use around the eyes?

Yes, but only up to the orbital bone area (the bony ridge that stops just before the immediate undereye area). Do not apply RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment to the eyelid or underbrow area.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my AHA exfoliant again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of an AHA exfoliant, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to wait until skin has returned to its normal texture and color. This may mean waiting a few days or, depending on the depth of the peel or laser procedure, it may mean waiting several weeks. Both peels and laser procedures can temporarily leave skin extra-sensitive, so if in doubt it's best to wait rather than rush things. Once you begin using your AHA exfoliant again, pay attention to how your skin responds and adjust frequency of use accordingly. Discontinue use if you notice signs of irritation.

I keep depressing the pump, but no product is coming out.

This product is packaged in an airless pump dispenser which utilizes a vacuum system to dispense and keep the contents fresh. Airless packaging helps to keep air and contaminates out of the product, which enhances the formula's stability and effectiveness.

When using your product for the first time, you may need to “prime” the dispenser. To prime, simply pump the dispenser slowly about 10-15 times. If the dispenser stops working at any time, simply repeat the "priming" step. Do not attempt to dismantle the package.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.