Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser

Clean. Not dry. That's how your face will feel when you use this non-lathering, anti-aging cleansing lotion to remove dirt and makeup.
Item #: 760
  • Anti-Aging, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Boosts the power of other Resist products

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

81 out of 100
(Based on 150 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Kelly T
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect
    • I've NEVER used a cleanser before. I didn't think I needed it with daily showering - most cleansers leave my skin feeling tight/dry. However, this cleanser is easy and leaves my skin feeling great. I use it along with a toner, 2% BHA liquid, and RESIST Barrier Repair Moisturizer. I tried skipping the cleanser and realized that when I wiped my skin with the toner I was getting these black dirty spots even though I'd just showered. This cleanser was getting rid of all that. Highly Recommended!

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, May 09, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Devout Paula fan
    • I have NEVER reviewed an online purchase, but this is a must for Paulas FANTASTIC skin line. I am using the hydrolight and ant-aging products. I was hesitant to buy the anti-aging cleanser, as I thought my current one was sufficient. Well... So glad I did! I I'll never use anything else. It gently and completely removes all makeup, as well as being a luxurious, milky cleanser. DEFINETY WORTH purchasing!

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Perfect
    • I absolutely adore this cleanser. It feels great on the skin and leaves it feeling moisturized and not tight. I haven't had any problems with makeup removal, especially when used in tandem with the Clarisonic. My only complaint is I wish there was a bigger size!

  4. C.A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Nice, gentle cleanser
    • I have been using this cleanser for a month now, and I love it. I have extremely dry, sensitive skin and I wear contact lenses. I have always struggled with a burning sensation when any type of cleansing product gets near my eyes (even after rinsing excessively) and my skin has always felt dry after cleansing with other products. This cleanser has no drying effects and it easily removes my eye makeup without any burning. I do not wear foundation or mascara, so I only need one pump.

  5. ELIZABETH J.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Paula makes the BEST cleansers
    • This is the best cleanser for my skin in Paula's lineup right now. It has a nice consistency and a small amount cleans my 50 year old skin without any drying or irritation. It also takes off all of my makeup except for traces of mascara. Her fantastic makeup remover takes care of that. I love reading Paula's reviews of other products but when it comes to skin care products, she has the best. Please know Paula Begoun that you are appreciated!! A happy customer for decades and counting...

  6. RICHARD F.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    SMOOTH OPERATOR
    • WHO WOULD THINK THAT A CLEANSER WOULD VISIBLY HELP TO SMOOTH YOUR SKIN, BUT THIS CREAM CLEANSER CERTAINLY DOES! I HAVE BEEN USING THIS RESIST CLEANSER FOR 2 WEEKS AND I CAN'T BELIEVE AS I LOOK INTO THE MIRROR HOW SMOOTH MY SKIN LOOKS. ALL YOU NEED IS ONE OR TWO PUMPS TO CLEAN YOUR ENTIRE FACE AND NECK. IT'S MY NEW FAVORITE CLEANSER.

  7. Northstar5
    Reviewed on Friday, January 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    perfect in the morning
    • An unbeatable cleanser in the morning for my sensitive, aging, breakout prone combo skin. It is not great alone as a makeup remover/cleanser, but it is perfect in the morning or if you are not wearing much makeup. The texture is fantastic and it does clean well, and does not leave behind any kind of film, nor any kind of dryness. A wonderful addition to the line. Question: Why don't ALL the cleansers have this pump?? Please add pumps! I use Moisture Boost at night and so wish there was a pump.

  8. K F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Great on days I'm not wearing makeup
    • I'd have rated 4 stars except it doesn't remove my makeup. I purchased samples of this and a couple times, I cleansed 3 times in a row and still had traces of my bb cream come off on a cotton ball with my toner. It doesn't remove my mascara or liner very well (non-waterproof), either. I still would recommend if you don't mind having an extra step in there. -1 star because I am not confident that it's cleaning as deep as it should. That said, no breakouts and less irritation so it's not all bad!

  9. Shannon M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It's Fine
    • I think evaluating a cleanser is tough, because you use it under/before other products. I buy it, because it's part of the product line & assume it works as part of that line. Caution: Don't assume the bottle is empty, when the pump no longer expels product. I get at least 10 more applications by tilting the bottle overnight & later opening the bottle & scooping out product with my finger.

  10. Amy
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not so great - love the other cleansers
    • I've used this since shortly before it came out, but I didn't realize just how short it fell in cleaning my face until i switched to a different Paula's Choice cleanser (Moisturizing flavor). My skin isn't overly dry, but I decided to make the change after I got tired of this cleanser not removing all my makeup. I realized just HOW much was left behind after I started using the Moisturizing Cleanser by PC. Very sorry I stuck with it for so long.

  11. Joshua
    Reviewed on Monday, December 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This + Clarisonic = LOVE
    • This is the best cleanser I have ever used! It is moisturizing and it works amazingly with my Clarisonic because it doesn't lather. I recommend this cleanser to everybody, regardless of skin type.

  12. DEANNA
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skin has stopped peeling and flaking
    • I have breakout-if-the-wind-blows-the-wrong-way skin. Using various PC products kept the breakouts under control but my chin and jaw always tended to be red, peeling and flakey. I switched to the Resist toner and this cleanser and the problem has disappeared. I am still using my other PC cleansers at night as they do remove makeup more quickly, and I need to use them up. However I *love* this cleanser in the morning--the texture is lovely and it leaves my skin feeling clean but not dry.

  13. Kit E.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Best!
    • I've tried lots of different cleansers from PC and this is the one that I love best. I have super-sensitive "older" skin and this cleanser is great for leaving it feeling clean, calm and soft. Ideal for the 50+ crowd that still suffers from breakouts.

  14. Kelly
    Reviewed on Monday, October 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very nice gentle cleanser
    • This cleanser is not suppose to lather. That was actually the deciding factor for me when weighing in this one vs the Moisture Boost cleanser. The ingredients that cause lathering (even in super small amounts) can be irritating for some people with extra sensitive or extra dry skin. I use prescription differin and aczone, so my skin is in a constant state of irritation/dryness. This gentle cleanser is perfect so far for my sensitive, dry, acne prone skin.

  15. Stacy t
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Special Request
    • I really wish this cleanser came in a JUMBO size. I've lost count of how many times I've repurchased it. Yeah. It's that good. My skin just isn't as calm and collected without it.

  16. Heather P.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite Cleanser
    • I've been using this for over a year now and am unlikely to bother looking elsewhere any time soon. Thoroughly removes makeup and superficial oil without leaving my ultra-sensitive skin the slightest bit dry or irritated. Plus it's luxuriously silky feeling, and so a pleasure to use. Price a little high, but still reasonable.

  17. Lexi C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Favorite Cleanser
    • Never dries my skin. Doesn't burn my eyes. Rinses easily. Removes my basic makeup. Love that PC doesn't add fragrance. Pump dispenser! What else can I say about or want from a cleanser?

  18. Heather P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite Paula's choice cleanser!
    • I love , love, love is cleanser. I have aging blemish prone skin and this cleanser is just perfect. My skin is clean but not dry, I just cannot explain how my skin looks.....this is a MUST try product

  19. Keith C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not bad , but cleansing enough?? Not so sure.
    • I gave this three stars as it did not irritate my sensitive skin and the texture of it was nice to work with. I do feel that it did not give me a solid, clean feeling. though.

  20. Shelley W
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love, love, love it!!!
    • I didn't really believe a cleanser and toner could make this much of a difference in my skin, but it has! I have aging oily skin, prone to breakouts and after the first use (I cannot believe I am actually saying this), but after one use, my skin looked radiant. My skin has become much less prone to eruptions. This combined with the BHA products has given me gorgeous skin. I am so happy.

  21. HEATHER d.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Lovely cleanser, will continue to purchase
    • This is a really nice cleanser. It is gentle and it does not leave my skin feeling tight and dry, which is something I can say for very few products that I have tried. The only reason that I did not give it 5 stars is that it is not great at removing makeup. I use a different product to remove my eye makeup first, and give my face a once-over with a microfiber face cloth I have, and then this cleanser. A bottle lasted me about 2.5 months, which I think it pretty good value.

  22. The Other Paula
    Reviewed on Monday, June 17, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Nice and gentle...but too gentle
    • This is a good cleanser. My skin feels great afterwards. Unfortunately, it doesn't work to get my make-up off when I wear any type of PC sunscreen. I have big raccoon eyes that won't disappear until I wipe them off. I am going to try more PC cleanser samples to see if I can find one that is still gentle enough for my skin, but tough enough to cut through that sunscreen!

  23. catherine t.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    nice cleanser
    • I love this cleanser because it takes all my makeup off, leaving my face feeling clean however not tight. I have normal skin and many cleansers in the past have made my skin dry after or feel tight like a smile might crack it! This is a very nice texture, creamy white which is effective without stripping. My mother and sister in-law also love it and they have oilier skin types.

  24. ELIZABETH
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product! Happy I found it.
    • It gets rid of my makeup really well. I love it alot. I was looking for a product similar to Philosophy's Purity that didn't contain all of the irritating ingredients! I've found what I was looking for with this product. I have already ordered a backup of it so I don't run out. Give this product a chance if you haven't already, especially if you were makeup!

  25. Ann M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Hooray!!
    • After trying countless cleansers from the most expensive to the least including all of the other Paula's Choice cleansers I have finally found the perfect one for my skin type. Hooray!! My skin is clean and soft with absolutely no tightness or flakiness afterwards. I have oily/combination skin and use a prescribed retin-A product and avoiding flakiness coupled with shine has been a big issue for me. None of the other products were bad, per se, just not appropriate for my skin type. YAY!!

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser is our silkiest, most luxurious cleanser. Its smooth lotion texture softens and replenishes skin yet rinses without a residue. This exceptionally gentle cleanser quickly removes makeup and helps fights the signs of aging by soothing, preserving, and reinforcing skin's natural barrier during the cleansing process. It is specifically formulated for use with Paula's Choice Resist anti-aging line and is the first Paula's Choice cleanser to have a built-in, lockable pump.

This product is safe for use around the eyes and is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser is formulated for anyone with normal to very dry skin concerned with reducing the signs of aging.

Sources to support the claims made for Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser

The Ceylon Medical Journal, December 2007, pages 125–129; Cutis, March 2005, pages 17-21; March 2004, pages 183–187; and December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, 2004; 17 Supplemental 1, pages 26-34; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; International Journal of Cosmetic Science, October 2000, pages 371–383; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: green tea, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, Camellia oleifera, chamomile, caprylic/capric triglyceride, glycerin, skin-repairing ingredients, antioxidant

Product Ingredients:

Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient thickener), Decyl Glucoside (cleansing agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), PEG-20 Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (cleansing agent/emulsifier), PPG-20 Methyl Glucose Ether, Methyl Gluceth-20 (skin-conditioning agents),Glyceryl Stearate, Stearyl Alcohol (thickeners), Polyacrylamide (binding agent), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (soothing agent), Sapindus Mukurossi (Soapberry) Peel Extract (foaming agent), Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate (cleansing agent), C13-14 Isoparaffin (thickener), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Wet face and apply a small amount of cleanser (1-2 pumps) to your face and eye area with vigorous, yet gentle, circular motions. Rinse well. To remove heavy makeup, repeat or use with a clean, wet washcloth.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

How does Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser differ from Skin Recovery Cleanser?

Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser features a completely different texture than Skin Recovery Cleanser. Although both are water soluble cleansing lotions, Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser has a lighter, silkier feel designed to work better for dry, sun damaged skin. What's more, it also serves as the perfect first step in your Resist skincare routine, setting you up for younger-looking, healthier skin.

How is Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser "anti-aging"?

The gentle formula cleanses skin by not disrupting its barrier. As a result, with each use you're not rinsing key elements skin needs to look younger and healthier down the drain. By keeping your skin's barrier more intact during the cleansing process, your skin is able to hold on to the naturally-occurring elements it needs to strengthen and repair itself. When your skincare routine respects skin's barrier integrity and replenishes it with the ingredients it needs to look and act younger, you will see more youthful skin!

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.358 12/21/2014 12:02:25 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.