Items you may also like

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask

Bye, bye problem skin. This mask absorbs oil, uproots blackheads, and reduces irritation. Smooth, clear skin becomes you.
Item #: 275
  • Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Smooths rough, uneven skin
  • Shrinks enlarged pores, reveals younger looking skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

84 out of 100
(Based on 63 Reviews)
Page of 3 Next »
  1. S.C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 25, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love, Love, Love
    • This makes my oily skin super matte which is nice to see as I am used to shine. I love the new tint to it as opposed to the former green formula. I use this to give my skin a break from all that oil. Wish this was a primer instead of just a mask so I could wear it under my makeup and keep shine free all day. (Shine stopper didn't work as well as I hoped.) One of these lasts me a long time since its a good sized tube.

  2. Elizabeth B.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 16, 2015
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Maybe not amazing, but nevertheless a very good mask!
    • I got a couple samples of this mask and so far it is great. I noticed a few people have had trouble with burning sensations but other then a slight tingling that quickly subsides within a min or two, I have had no irritation whatsoever. In fact, I often leave clay based masks on quite a bit longer then directed with no ill effects this mask included. I have oily skin that can also get flakey, and I find this product absorbs excess oil without causing unwanted flakiness. This is a good mask.

  3. Nikki S
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 05, 2015
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me
    • I purchased this because I have oily skin and I fell in love with the ingredients. However, it irritated my skin to the point where it would be a challenge to leave it on my skin for more than two minutes. I was disappointed because I really wanted to love this product. It's great product - just not for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, March 05, 2015

    Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  4. Tatiana F.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love!
    • This absorbs oil really well without drying your skin out. It feels very refreshing and soothing because of the beneficial ingredients. I just love using this!

  5. Brenda
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product
    • This is a great product but it's just too drying for my face. I don't have dry skin so I don't want to try the other mask. There seems to be no mask options for those in the middle.

  6. Kristen H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great mask for sensitive skin
    • I have the most sensitive skin ever and can never use a mask without breaking out until I found this! I used the sample and have been thrilled with the results. It doesn't burn at all, reduced any redness I had and made my pores appear smaller. I was so worried I'd break out that I tried 3 samples a week apart and my skin continued to better after each one. Needless to say I'll be purchasing the entire bottle now. Thanks Paula for the first mask I've ever been able to use.

  7. chrisy
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 22, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    No burning, lookin' good
    • I bought a few samples of this mask to try out...although I was weary given the many reviews mentioning experiencing a burning sensation, but there was none! I have sensitive, acne-prone, combination skin that has fun bouts of eczema...and I can say this mask does not cause any breakouts or any discomfort. That being said, is this mask groundbreaking? Probably not. Is it a good staple if you're looking for a nice clay mask that has ingredients that aren't overly-irritating? Heck yes.

  8. Brandy B
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 21, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this, best ever!
    • I have a sample, LOVE THIS! Skin is so soft, very nice. Will buy when my samples run out.

  9. Vicky P
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Worth the burn
    • This mask does burn when I put it on my cheeks and nose...buuuut it is not the worst pain. On par with getting your eyebrows waxed. It is tough to know what my skin needs sometimes. Today, the skin on my cheeks was uneven and peeling (dry) and, as usual, my blackheads were noticeable and my forehead was breaking out. I put this mask on and, once rinsed, voila! Every area got what it needed. My face looked even and clear, though slightly pink. An hour later, even the pinkness was gone.

  10. Lisa T.
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 31, 2015
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fantastic Results! Best Mask Ever.
    • I have combinations skin and have used many different brands of masks for more than 20 years. I use a mask once or twice a week. My go-to mask for several years has been Origins Out of Trouble oil-absorbing mask; it worked well for me. But Origins tests on animals and I don't buy products from companies like that anymore. Tried this mask and I LOVE it. Immediate results, better than ANY mask I've ever used. I like the tingling (it's working!) and no mask has ever cleaned out my pores so well.

  11. Maria P.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 04, 2015
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Try a sample first
    • I purchased this mask "blindly" because my skin loves clay and oatmeal masks, and all the other ingredients sounded very soothing. Sadly, it burns when I apply it and leaves my skin very reddened. I have super sensitive skin and love all of my PC products, but the masks just don't agree with my skin (I tried the skin recovery one and it also caused irritation). I see other reviewers had a similar experience so I'd avise to get a few samples and try it before commiting to the full size.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, January 05, 2015

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry this mask didn't work for you, and hope you've contacted our Customer Care team to discuss a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  12. Sarah
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not for me
    • I purchased this not out of necessity but because sometimes its nice to feel pampered. I have sensitive, acne-prone, combination skin and thought this would be perfect. When I first apply it, it has a mild warming sensation that is a tad uncomfortable. Then the next few days I notice I break out more after having used it. I have used this several times and get the same results each time. I use a ton of PC products without any issue so am not sure what ingredient in this one my skin doesn't like.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, December 30, 2014

    Hello, and thanks for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected! Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who might be able to assist you with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  13. Elizabeth B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 28, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Ouch!
    • I received a handful of free samples of this product free with my first PC order. The samples are packaged in little foil, single-use envelopes. This stung my skin SO MUCH that I didn't even get it applied all over before I had to rinse it off. Even warm water stung and I had to use cold to get it off of my face. The areas I had applied it to (nose, cheeks, chin) are swollen and bright red! I didn't even have it on for 30 seconds! My skin is hot to the touch and it looks like I have hives!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, December 29, 2014

    We're sorry your skin didn't respond well to a sample of this mask. Without knowing what else you were using or typically use on your skin, it's hard to pinpoint what may have spurred the reaction. It could simply be something in the mask itself, though it does not contain a single ingredient known to be irritating.

    —Admin
  14. Dana E
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 23, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Burns me but....
    • Ive used this mask several times now. I can say that it does burn my cheeks and I can hardly keep it on for the full 10 minutes, BUT I can say once the redness goes away my skin feels amazingly smooth and my makeup goes on flawlessly. 4 stars simpy for my personal irritation, but I'd give it 5 stars otherwise.

  15. darin
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 06, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    ???
    • why doesn't it work like the former formula black one? what is the reason behind the change? Cost savings? I am willing to pay more to get the more effective like the old one. Please let me know whether you can coutinue its production.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, December 08, 2014

    Hello, and thanks for your comments - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you! The Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask is a different product from the former mask, instead of a reformulation. We encourage you contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can help you out with a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  16. Laura V.
    Reviewed on Friday, November 28, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    not for me
    • Worked wonders ob my forhead and nose, but stung/burned the heck out of my cheeks, and left them full of red spots. :\

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, December 02, 2014

    Hello, and thank you for sharing your experience with us - we're sorry to hear this didn't work as expected for you. Please contact a member of our Customer Care team, who can provide information about a possible exchange or refund.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  17. Noah R.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    It's a must-have!
    • I love this mask! It is very easy to use, easy to apply, and it has really helped my skin. I've got normal-combination skin that is blemish prone, and can be oily at times, so I've been looking for something to soothe that cycle. Do remember to cleanse your face before you use this! Once it's on, it dries very quickly. I like to use it every 2 to 3 nights, and it's worked wonders on my face, making my face less of a combination type.

  18. Siouxi V.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 22, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Great for Pesky Problems
    • I bought this as part of the Skin Balancing kit and at first I was apathetic towards it because I had severely irritated skin and the last thing I cared about was drying my tender face out. Now that my skins normal, its handy to have around when I'm not able to do my skin routine for a few days (traveling, camping, illness etc..). I can come back home and paint this on my face, wait about 8 minutes and my skin will be back on track. Yet, there are better/equal mud masks out there.

  19. Lindsay S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 09, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very happy with this mask
    • This is an excellent face mask for my combination skin type. Leaves my skin feeling clean and tight (but not dry!) and helps to clear out blocked sebaceous filaments on my nose, forehead and chin. Also helps to gently exfoliate dry areas on my cheeks. Minimal scent, and has a slight tingly feeling as it dries. I'm working through my second tube, and will continue to purchase this great product.

  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, October 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Not intended to be a cure but helps
    • I HAD normal, clear skin but my face has since become oily with constant onslaught of deep painful acne. Having never dealt with this problem, and at my wit's end, I added this mask to my routine. 2 weeks' of nightly use later, it's served its purpose and absorbed oil with no discomfort. I don't expect it'd reduce overall oil output but it might have dislodged some cloggings before they rage into angry zits. Hope it'd slow down the assault so my skin can have reprieves and recover from scars etc

  21. ROBIN H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Immediate results
    • The previous oil-absorbing mask stung my skin, and I didn't realize there was a new one out until recently. This one is really wonderful on my combination skin. Whenever my skin looks oily, dehydrated or inflamed (or all the above), this mask never fails to make me feel pretty again. I don't understand it, but it's true.

  22. Bev S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very Happy
    • I purchased this after reading notes from a radio blog that Brian and Nathan recommended this in conjunction with your BHA. I am very happy with this mask after the first use. It leaves my skin smoother, less red and shrinks the pores in my T-zone. Really helps diminish black heads and zits. In fact a co worker commented today that my skin looks smooth. I use it once to twice a week. I accidentally left it on for an hour while I was reading and suffered no ill consequences.

  23. Van D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Pleasant to use
    • To be honest, this mask does not shrink my pores instantly as much as the Queens Helene Mint Julep mask, that's 1 star off. But I love that it is much gentler, can be used as often as I want, and the texture is not as hard as the mint julep mask. On top of that, it does not contain mint, to which my lips is seriously allergic to, and not something I'd like to use in long run. It is the only oil absorbing mask without leave your skin dry. And I like the way it looks mostly colorless when it's dry.

  24. RICHARD F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    REFINED MY PORES
    • Being from Philadelphia, I spent most of my summer youth at the jersey shore. so i have some freckles and uneven skin tone from the sun. I've been good in my adult years avoiding direct sun as much as possible. This mask helps to refine my pores, smooth my skin and makes my skin tone look so much better. I use this mask once a week for 10 minutes. some people have said it was too drying, but I leave it on for 10 minutes and it feels like it is drawing out the impurities. I love this mask.

  25. Chantal S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    not for me
    • i always hear that some products "purge" ur skin to reveal a more healthy, and clear complexion. and i know this mask has clearing and detoxing ingredients, but let me tell you that this just was not my case. it brought acne that the clear line had gotten rid of. it was so devastating to me to see the skin the clear line took away and for one product to bring it back. it did nothing for my blackheads which i hoped for or my pores. just broken me out. not for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, July 02, 2014

    Thanks for your review! It seems you've had difficulties with many of our products, and perhaps Paula's Choice isn't the right line for you. That's why our team continued to review products from over 300 other brands, so our customers always have alternatives also worth buying. Please contact us for assistance with returning any of the items you've been displeased with.

    —Admin
Page of 3 Next »

What makes this product unique?
This mask's unique formula beautifully balances skin by absorbing excess oil without over-drying or making it feel tight. It also doesn't include irritating, skin-damaging ingredients such as menthol, peppermint, or alcohol. The clay’s drawing action helps dislodge blackheads and cellular debris, while the soothing blend of anti-inflammatory agents reduce redness and irritation. The product rinses away completely leaving skin remarkably soft, matte, and beautifully smooth.

This product is 100% fragrance-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask is recommended for those with normal to oily/combination skin. Excellent for breakout- and blackhead-prone skin, too.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Mask

British Journal of Dermatology, August 2007, pages 295–300; Clinical Experiments in Dermatology, January 2007, pages 88-90; Journal of Agricultural Food Chemistry, February 2002, pages 840–845; Journal of Cosmetic Science, January-February 2002, pages 1–9; Journal of Natural Products, January 2001, pages 100–102; and Life Sciences, May 22, 1998, pages 401–407.

Key Ingredients: sea whip extract, phospholipid, ascorbyl palmitate, kaolin, Salix alba extract, bentonite, bisabolol, glycerin, colloidal oatmeal

Product Ingredients:

Water, Kaolin (clay/absorbent), Bentonite (white clay/absorbent), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract (anti-inflammatory), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder (water-binding/soothing agent), Sea Whip Extract (anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial agent), Colloidal Oatmeal, Bisabolol (anti-irritants), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Phospholipids (skin-repairing ingredient), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Retinyl Palmitate (vitamin A/antioxidant), Stearic Acid, Steareth-2 (thickeners), Caprylyl Glycol (preservative), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use on clean skin. Apply a generous layer all over the face and neck (if needed). Let dry for 10-15 minutes. Rinse thoroughly with tepid-to-warm water. May be used as often as needed. Those with oily to very oily skin can use this mask several times per week, while those with normal to slightly oily skin can use it less frequently (once or twice per week, for example).

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

I thought Paula didn't like clay masks or, at best, finds them unnecessary skincare products. Did she change her mind?

Paula is not a big fan of most masks and she doesn't believe most facial masks are an essential step in a person's skincare routine. However, for women who want to incorporate them into their routines Paula developed masks that meet her standard of excellence. Many of our customers report excellent results form regular use of Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask.

Is Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask OK for those with rosacea and oily skin?

Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask should be effective and suitable for someone with rosacea. However, those with rosacea always need to be careful about any skincare product they use because even the gentlest formulas may cause a reaction. Paula's Choice products are guaranteed to be effective or we will refund your money.

1 https://autodelivery.services.paulaschoice.com/api/autodelivery/ False M/d/yyyy
585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.389 4/17/2015 10:40:58 PM
Skip to Top of Page

Free Email Sign-Up

- Expert Skin Care & Makeup News & Advice (twice a month)
- New product reviews on Beautypedia (twice a month)

Birthday (Optional)

 
[AutoDeliveryDescription goes here]
FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Resist 25% Vitamin C Spot Treatment Trial Size on $50+