Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser

No more letting oily and dry areas duke it out. This foaming cleanser removes dirt and oil without stripping skin or leaving a hint of residue.
Item #: 115
  • Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Wrinkles
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Calms and soothes sensitive skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 269 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 11 Next »
  1. Linda L.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Works Great!!
    • I love this cleanser it is very gentle and helps reduce my oily T-zone, but doesn't dry my skin. Does what it promises!!!! Thank you

  2. Bianca N.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    BEST cleanser I have ever used!
    • I have tried countless cleansers in my life, from gentle to harsh. Nothing has worked. THIS product works. I love the lather, it doesn't make my skin feel tight or oily afterwards, and it comes in a perfect size. If you have oily skin I would give this product a try!

  3. THC.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love the Skin Balancing
    • I love this line along with the Anti-Aging line which I alternate with. While the Anti-Aging has more steps which can be a bit tedious for the night routine, both are working. Yesterday, I was told that I look great and that my skin has a wonderful tone! I am a dude who loves Paula's Choice!

  4. Mae
    Reviewed on Friday, August 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing
    • This cleanser completely changed my skin. It truly does what it says it does and has evened out the dry and oily parts of my face for a more even complexion! It doesn't dry out my skin either which is amazing. I have been searching a long time for a cleanser like this!

  5. Janet R.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I am impressed!!!
    • I have acne prone skin and I always thought I had to use a cleanser that had harsh ingredients to help with my acne. Well this cleanser leaves my skin feeling super super soft and clean. No other cleanser had given me this results b/f. I was about to buy a make up remover but with this cleanser I don't have to is a 2in 1 product. I absolutely love it. It has helped my acne too because it removes all my make up. I just love it and its so affordable compare to what I used before. Great job Paula!!

  6. helen
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    ok
    • It works to remove makeup and helped with my acne! Thank you!

  7. Virginia
    Reviewed on Monday, July 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing for my confused skin
    • This cleanser is so amazing! I have very sensitive eyes but combination/oily skin, so I've always been afraid to use products that were specifically for combination/oily skin because my eyes are so easily irritated. This cleanser gets rid of my acne breakouts and blackheads while also being gentle enough to not irritate my eyes. I didn't think it was possible to get something that was both gentle AND oil-controlling, but this cleanser does what I thought I'd never find in a cleanser. SO worth it

  8. Jackie G.
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I waited too long...
    • ...to try this cleanser!!! I have been using a few different PC products and love them but kept using a high priced cleanser I had because I felt I need to get my money's worth. Now I wish I had started using the Skin Balancing Cleanser from the get-go. I just turned 49, have pretty oily skin, but am starting to deal with hormonal changes in my skin. This cleanser is not drying me out at all while providing good oil control and just feels and looks more even toned and healthy. I LOVE PC!

  9. NW
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great cleanser!
    • If I had not tried a sample first, I would have thought this was overpriced, but it really works well. Only need a small amount, so this lasts a long time. Nice texture and pleasant to use. Gets off all my makeup (even waterproof mascara, if I rub well, like the other reviewer said -- seems to emulsify the makeup) and does not dry out skin. I like this better than gel cleansers I have tried, even the ones rated best on Beautypedia. I look forward to washing my face now!

  10. Rose A
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    My favorite Cleanser
    • I have used this cleanser for years and it is and has always been my favorite. The only problem was that the wonderfully silky texture became gritty. Still, the pros outweighed this one con. My last bottle was the "new formula." Well, it too became gritty but, and this is a very big but, after just a couple of seconds of rubbing on my face it returned to the wonderful silky texture. It was as if the little gritty parts just dissolved. Now I am back to loving the feel and the lovely lather.

  11. ALEFIYA H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Loved the squeaky clean feeling!
    • I tried a sample of this cleanser and fell in love with it right away! I've never experienced such squeaky clean skin (literally) with any other cleanser i've used, and it didn't even overdry my skin! I can't wait to use it again... if only it wasn't so expensive!

  12. DIANA V.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Cleanser
    • Works well and delivers what it claims. A+

  13. cheryl z.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Updated Review 6/1/14
    • I gave this a fairly good review, but after switching to another cleanser I realized how good this one is. . A big thing I did add with the advice of my estetician was taking my make up off with a washing cloth. The clarisonic was not helping my cystic acne, but since using the cloths with this cleanser it has made a huge difference. What I love most about this cleanser is that it does not dry me out, it's gentle and m skin feels good. I will def be repurchasing this.

  14. FREDERIK T.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best I've ever tried
    • This is hands down the best cleanser I have ever used. All others I have tried, even more expensive ones, have left a slight tight feeling on my face. This doesn't dry and tighten my skin at all and it leaves my skin with a very clean feel. It has a really great texture that lathers up nicely and you don't get a heavy fragrance attack, as it's fragrance free. On top of this, it's a good value. You only need a small amount to lather the whole face and neck. Can't live without this product!

  15. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great cleanser, good lather
    • After using a whole bottle of the CLEAR cleanser, I tried a sample of this and liked it so much better! This one does a better job of removing makeup, dirt, and oil, required less product, and produced a nice lather.

  16. Sarah
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Cleanser!
    • I love this cleanser. It has a silky, creamy texture that suds just enough to cut through makeup and oils from the day. I also love that I can use it with my clarisonic a few days a week without it transferring the cleanser to my eyes. This does a great job of cleansing mascara off and since a little goes a long way with this one, I cleanse twice at night to make sure all my makeup is completely off. It is definitely not needed but it gives me peace of mind! It also leaves a nice fresh feeling.

  17. Minh N
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Better than everything else I've every used
    • I've probably used every cleanser brands offered at Sephora and this one leaves them all in the dust. Removes make up like a charm and I leave it on and massage it a little more around the eyes to remove WATERPROOF mascaras. If anyone uses waterproof mascaras like me, he/she'd know how stubborn they are, but they're no match for this wonderful and gentle cleanser. Leaves my face CLEAN and soft... no tightness. (Combo/Oily)

  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for confused skin
    • I have searched high and low for a good cleanser for my easily confused skin: it never knows whether it's dry or oily, plus it's sensitive and definitely breakout prone. With the 2% BHA liquid I have kept breakouts at bay for many years and my skin looks great, but I was beginning to flake and get dry spots. I've used so many cleansers and I always end up either dry or oily. This is a really perfect cleanser and I think it would be excellent for all but the driest or oiliest of skins.

  19. Megan
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    I really wanted to like this!
    • I have combination/ oily/ acne/ sensitive skin. I have been looking for something gentle to help control oil/acne and I thought this would be it. It did make pores smaller but after a couple of days I noticed lots of small red bumps on my forehead (an area that had been pristine before!). Initially I thought it was the BHA gel I had started using but when I stopped that they continued to get worse still. It also made my whole face dry and flaky. Wish it was for me. Definitely buy samples first!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 14, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry this cleanser wasn't a fit for you. It sounds like you need a little more hydration and we have a couple of different cleansers that might suit your needs better. Please contact our Customer Care Department and they will be happy to assist you with selecting a different cleanser that will better suit your needs.
    —Admin
  20. cheryl z.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice Cleanser nothing special
    • I've been using this since January and it is very mild nice cleanser. I have cystic acne and was switching products to see what was making it worst and I have to say this did help as I just switched to another cleanser with an AHA and I have some flare ups. This cleanser does remove eye makeup and there is not tightness after using. I do need to use makeup pads to get all my makeup off. It seems like it's close to Cetaphil which is 1/2 the price.

  21. Pamela
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very Good Cleanser
    • I have tried so many cleansers in the past, and they either dried my skin out, or make it feel greasy, and not clean. This cleanser is perfect for my combination/dehydrated skin. It has a light lather, removes my makeup thoroughly, and leaves my skin perfectly balanced! Thanks, Paula & team :)

  22. Liz M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Actually amazing. HG
    • I never leave reviews but I'm actually amazed, as my title would suggest, that this one lives all up to everything I wanted in a cleanser: removes all makeup AND sunscreen in one wash, leaves my skin soft not tight, paraben and propylene glycol-free, and most importantly -- pH balanced!! You'd be surprised at how hard its been to find something that passes this checklist..

  23. Laura
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Nice but too drying for me.
    • I really like the consistency of this cleanser and the fact that it is non-irritating and you get a large amount for the price, but sadly it was too drying for my skin. I found that after use my combination/dehydrated skin would feel quite dry/tight and I also experienced some flaking. I may reconsider using this again if I ever get my dehydration issues under control, but for now I am going to see if one of the PC cleansers for dry skin might be a better fit for me.

  24. Amy H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great makeup remover I've ever had
    • This is the very first paula's choice product I get. I fell in love with this product right after I tried it at my friend's place. It doesn't make your skin tense but feel very fresh. When I have light makeup, It is clean enough to just use this product without using a soap or facial cleanser afterwards. My face texture become smoother and don't have any breakout after using it for 6 months. Highly recommend!!

  25. XIN LEI L.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Favourite cleanser ever
    • This is by far the best cleanser I have ever used. I bought this along with my repurchase of the Hydralight cleanser also from Paula's Choice which used to be my favourite. Now this has taken its place as my top cleanser. It feels so silky and smooth and leaves my skin without any tightness or dryness. It removes daily impurities from pollution and such very well that there is usually no residue left on my cotton pad when I use my toner.

« Prev Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
If you love a creamy yet non-greasy cleanser that produces soft lather, Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser is the perfect solution. This cleanser is formulated for oily/combination skin and works perfectly to remove excess oil and all makeup without stripping skin. Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser has a pearlescent texture and cushiony foam that treats your skin gently while offering thorough cleansing.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser is formulated for normal to oily/combination skin and those prone to blemishes.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing OIL-REDUCING Cleanser

Biochemistry and Pharmacology, June 2007, pages 1,786-1,795; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2007, pages 124-135; Contact Dermatitis, June 2006, pages 303-312; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Cutis, December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: sunflower seed oil, Aloe barbadensis, sodium cocoyl isethionate

Product Ingredients:

Water, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (gentle cleansing agents), Stearic Acid (fatty acid thickener), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Glycol Distearate (skin-conditioning/opacifying agent), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (non-fragrant plant oil), Acrylates Copolymer (film-forming agent), Cetearyl Alcohol (thickener), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide (stabilizer and pH-adjusting agents), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous yet gentle circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup. Follow with the appropriate Paula’s Choice toner to give your skin a generous amount of potent antioxidants and skin-renewing ingredients. Next, apply your Paula's Choice exfoliant, serum, and/or moisturizer.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

How is Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser different from the One Step Face Cleansers?

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser cleanses skin every bit as well as both Hydralight and Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleansers, but uses a different ingredient composition to do so. The One Step cleansers do not foam or lather, but Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser does, albeit mildly. Many customers prefer this type of lathering cleanser, even though the lather itself has no effect on cleansing ability.

I have oily skin. Which cleanser should I use?

Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser would be great, or, if you prefer a gel texture, Hydralight One Step Face Cleanser is the way to go. If you have oily skin and breakouts, go for CLEAR Pore Normalzing Cleanser.

Will Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser leave my skin feeling dry & taut?

No. Skin Balancing Oil-Reducing Cleanser was carefully formulated to cleanse the skin thoroughly and remove makeup plus excess oil without stripping or drying the skin.

Do I still need to use an eye makeup remover?

Only if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or long-wearing lip color or stains. Otherwise, this cleanser is effective at gently removing all other types of face and eye makeup.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.