Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Smaller pores start here. This lightly hydrating toner restores skin’s balance and minimizes pores. Helps control oily and combination skin, too.
Item #: 135
  • Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Wrinkles
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Reduces redness and eliminates flakey dry skin
  • Eliminates flaky, dehydrated skin

View more product details

Sample size is Out of Stock! – Email me when available
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 296 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 12 Next »
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 27, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Try a sample first!
    • The SB line has transformed my friend's oily, acne-prone skin into gorgeousness, so I wanted to try it as well. However, this toner made different areas of my face start burning warmly (along the cheekbones, periphery of forehead, around the nose) and turn red. It also made my face extremely sensitive throughout the day, but my skin did feel firmer. Definitely try the sample before buying- you never know!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 28, 2014

    Hi there! We're sorry the Skin Balancing Toner wasn't a fit for you! The amount of niacinamide is potent in this formula, which while generally well tolerated, doesn't work for everyone. We would encourage you to contact our Customer Care team for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  2. Max B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 27, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best product in the WORLD
    • I have STUBBORN oily skin and almost nothing yields results for me (fine lines, dark spots, lots of clogs/cystic acne, and MASSIVE PORES) unless it is SUPER strength. I had given up hope and thought that i would always be an oil slick with disgusting skin but this saved me. The formulation is utterly outstanding!!!!! The ingredients tell my skin "shhh... you have everything you need! Take a break oil glands!" My skin has made a 360 in every way and i will always have this FOREVER!!!!!

  3. Juliana L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful toner
    • This is probably the best toner I have ever used. It works beautifully with the rest of PC products and it leaves my face very soft. It's perfect for someone like me with oily skin and enlarged pores. It complements the Clear line very well.

  4. Christine D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Just simply wow!
    • Hi. I rarely write reviews about products because very few surprise me and I'm always changing from one to another. HOWEVER, this is the first time I see results overnight. I started using the BHA 2% liquid and it dried out my skin around my nose so I decided to order the toner to see if it would help. Wow. I used it last night before and woke up today with soft, smooth and moisturized skin around my nose. Wow, simple wow.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Your advice for combating sebaceous hyperplasia is excellent!
    • First of all, you are the only skin care company I have found that even addresses this concern. Second, what you recommend works even better than the skin care protocol that my dermatologist suggested. Over the years, I have spent hundreds of dollars on lotions and potions that claim to help improve skin texture and wrinkles.They have all proved disappointing until now. The triple combination of the Resist BHA 9, the Resist Retinol Serum, and the Skin Balancing Pore Reducing Toner is amazing!

  6. Tanika G.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    All about my face
    • I am a complete skin care freak and have purchased products from Biore to Clinique and while both have worked pretty good for me, Paula's Choice has really catered to my combo skin. I've had phenomenal results in the two weeks I've used these products and my face looks and feels FLAWLESS! I won't be changing up anytime soon.

  7. AimeeT
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Niacinamide is a deal-breaker
    • It took me months of trial and error to realize that the niacinamide in this is causing my face to flush. Too bad, because my hard water leaves a film on my skin, and my face feels stripped without a toner. I feel like Paula is over-loading her products with too many ingredients, making it difficult for those of us with sensitive or breakout-prone skin to use anything without difficulty.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, March 20, 2014

    Hi Aimee! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we will discuss your concerns with the team. We would also encourage you consider our Hydralight or Earth Sourced Toners, neither of which contain niacinamide and are both excellent for those with sensitive and acne-prone skin.  Please contact our Customer Care Department for help with a refund, exchange and samples to experiment with.

    —Admin
  8. Farhan Wahab
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This product changed my view on facial toner
    • I love this product! The fact that it doesn't sting onto my face, unlike Burt Bee's facial toner, is really wonderful! I love how my skin glows after usage, and I could probably use it like a form of 'moisturiser' even though it shouldn't be that way. I live in hot and humid Singapore, therefore this toner works really well for me! Oily T zone, no more!

  9. Nicole D.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 17, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Persist - it's worth it!
    • Ok, this toner did not start out well for me - I broke out in little red lumps all over my face..... then I started peeling! But given I'd accidently ordered two bottles instead of one, and determined for it not to be a total waste - I kept using it. It took nearly a week for the peeling to settle, but now my skin is really smooth and feels fantastic! My advice is to give it at least a week or so before throwing it out!

  10. Kelly C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Greasy roots be gone!
    • I recently ordered the entire Skin Balancing line, and it works really well.Today I used this toner to de-grease the roots of my hair and it worked better than anything I had ever tried.I put some on a cotton pad and just dabbed my roots.PERFECT oil control! My hair feels and looks fresh and clean.

  11. Ariel v.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a product that works
    • This product does what it says it will. I have been using for 5 days and have noticed a marked improvement in my skin texture and clarity. I never would have thought a toner would be the magic ingredient for my skin to finally calm down and look lovely, but it seems to be!

  12. Allison
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Like this toner
    • I use this toner, the resist and the moisture boost. This is my favorite one. I've noticed my skins seems to look the best after using it. The moisture boost irritates my skin for some reason - makes it burn. This is one I'll probably re-order when I'm out.

  13. Katie V.
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    GREAT product
    • This is my favorite product to use - it is awesome! Light and refreshing.

  14. Kimberlee J.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Non-irritated and Silky Smooth Skin!
    • I am really impressed overall with what I have tried from PC. I have sensitive skin, and I want to go on record that this toner did not in the least irritate my skin. I do not have the best skin, and before I used this product (and a few other PC products) today, I was broken out and red. Immediate results after toner: smooth, baby soft skin, not oily, not dry. 12 hours later my skin was clearer, healthier-looking, and calm. Yes, the redness was gone, and my face was the same shade as my neck!

  15. Allen K
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    A miss for me...
    • Tried this toner about a year ago because it was recommended for my skin type (acne prone, combination). Unfortunately, I had a bad reaction; face turned red/warm, experienced typical stinging sensation reported by others, suffered breakouts around my nose/cheeks/forehead (same reaction to the SB moisture gel). After further investigation I discovered that I was having a reaction to the niacinamide (used in both products) & got MUCH better results with the hydralight toner & moisturizer.

  16. Jill M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Better lid
    • This is my first PC toner. I don't notice anything different about my pores, but I do like how this feels on my skin. My only gripe is that I don't like the screw off lid. I wish it had more of a pop-top lid like the CLEAR Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution I have.

  17. JESSICA K.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Please Make A Larger Size Bottle
    • Love the toner. Feels wonderful on your skin. I wish it came in a larger size option like the cleansers do...please consider making a larger sized 16 oz bottle!

  18. JOANNE D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good Toner but...
    • Recently ordered this SB toner after using the Resist Anti-aging toner for quite some time. Liked that the SB toner was less expensive and more product for the buck. BUT, I have resigned myself to the fact that I just do not like this toner as well as I did the Resist toner. I did not see any difference in my pores using the SB toner and I believe I get a little more moisture/hydration from the Resist toner...that I must need. Still a good product, but reordering the Resist toner.

  19. DAWN H.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great Toner
    • I have VERY oily skin, so I have to be very picky about the products I use. Usually in the winter, my skin feels dry and tight after washing (even with a good facial cleanser). I used to use just moisturizer in the morning and would get lots of dry flakiness on my nose. This winter I started using the toner after my shower and WOW what a difference! As soon as I use it, the tightness feeling goes away, and no flakiness at all!

  20. Noor Anggerainie A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    perfect to apply after ablution
    • Excellent toner. I'm a moslem. I have to remove my makeup before perform prayer. After washing my face with Skin Balancing cleanser, I use this toner to tone my skin. I don't have to use a moisturizer. I only use moisturizer during morning and night routine.

  21. Sue M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing Product!
    • Been using this stuff for years. I would bathe in it if I could. My skin is just not right without it.

  22. Hanna L
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    my new skincare line of choice
    • After learning about BHA from my favourite makeup artist vlogger, I ordered a number of PC products to try out. When I started using this toner in combination with the 2% BHA lotion I had a couple of annoying raised spots and the usual scattering of tiny blemishes that come with my monthly visitor. When I woke up the next morning my face was completely clear and my skin was, for lack of a better word, "happy". The combination seemed to do the job, and brilliantly. I could not be happier :)

  23. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, November 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • This is a great toner! I started using some PC products a few months ago, BHA, AHA, cleanser, to help with hormonal breakouts, dark spots and blackheads. I was seeing some results, but it wasnt until I used the samples that I got of this product that I saw a major difference. Within one day, acne that had been lingering for weeks was totally gone, along with blackheads and those terrible post blemish marks that I find so hard to get rid of. It may have just been the right combo, but its great!

  24. DANA B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this toner
    • After 15 years of using the same toner - one day it burned my skin. I ordered the skin balancing toner to try. Loved it. It goes well with the moisture boost cleanser. I just wish it came in the big container like the cleansers. I am hooked on Paula's Choice products.

  25. Maria
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great!
    • Using this toner has definitely improved the size of my pores :) will keep using this.

« Prev Page of 12 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Unlike most other toners on the market, Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner is famous for offering potent antioxidants, anti-irritants and cell-communicating ingredients which help restore normal function to damaged, misbehaving cells. When used after cleansing, it helps skin restore and repair itself. This truly state-of-the-art toner helps balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen. Redness is reduced while slightly dry, flaky areas are made smooth and soft. It also helps to remove last traces of makeup and may be the only "moisturizer" your normal to oily skin needs during summer months or in humid climates.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
This toner has been specially formulated for normal to oily/combination skin. It is also a good option for acne-prone skin. 

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Experimental  Biology and Medicine, November 2008, pages 1,469–1,477; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9;  International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, volume 124, issue 4, April 2005, pages 756–763; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, March–April 2004, pages 90–96; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; and Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73.

Key Ingredients: vitamin C, adenosine triphosphate, glycerin, Arctium lappa, niacinamide, sodium PCA, chamomile, sodium hyaluronate, cholesterol, ceramides

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communcating ingredient), Adenosine Triphosphate (cell-communicating ingredient/skin conditioning agent), Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Arctium Lappa (Burdock) Root Extract (antioxidant), Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (skin conditioning agents), Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate (skin conditioning agent), Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol (lipid-based skin-repairing ingredients), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Oleth-10, DEA-Oleth-10 Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate (emulsifiers), Polysorbate-20 (skin conditioning agent), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Trisodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What do toners “tone”? I thought Paula didn’t recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you’ve removed all of your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and add hydrating ingredients to make skin softer, not to mention they’re another leave-on source for antioxidants and other ingredients that improve skin’s healthy functioning.

How do I know which toner is right for me? Besides skin type, what are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

All of our toners restore skin, help remove last traces of makeup, are alcohol- and fragrance-free, and contain no unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. They are great as an adjunct to a more thorough cleansing routine, especially post-workout or in hot/humid climates. Even more significantly, they go beyond the basics by offering skin benefits you can see and feel.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to dry aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Resist Weightless Advanced Repairing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply normal to oily or breakout-prone aging skin with a broad range of targeted ingredients to help improve signs of aging plus reduce enlarged pores and reduce dry, flaky, uneven skin texture. It is ideal for those struggling with oily skin, wrinkles, and large pores.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is an excellent choice for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer texture than any of our other toners and contains more plant oils and other emollients than our Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner. This is a great option for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea accompanied by dry skin.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains ingredients that help soothe and restore normal to dry skin, plus it includes a greater amount of glycerin, a key ingredient to make dry skin look and feel better. It also contains a broad range of ingredients that aid the barrier repair process so those with dry skin (or normal skin with occasional dry patches) will receive even more benefit from their Paula’s Choice moisturizer and/or specialty product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, yet still provides an array of antioxidants, anti-irritants, and skin-protecting ingredients. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to dry skin, you can use Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner in the morning and Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner in the evening.

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent for protecting skin from environmental damage or dryness. In addition, its cell-communicating ingredients can, in theory, help balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen or lead to reddened or blemished skin. Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner uses a more complex formulation than our Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner, and helps restore normal cell function.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is a great option for those who want more protection and a soothing, soft, feeling on their skin, particularly those with sensitive skin. To get the benefits of both toners for normal to oily/combination skin, you may want use Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner in the morning and Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner in the evening.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.344 10/20/2014 4:47:06 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.