Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Smaller pores start here. This lightly hydrating solution restores skin’s balance and reduces pore size. Helps control oily skin, too.
Item #: 135
  • Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Wrinkles
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Reduces redness and eliminates flakey dry skin
  • Eliminates flaky, dehydrated skin

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

82 out of 100
(Based on 243 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 10 Next »
  1. karlskiah
    Reviewed on Monday, April 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing toner
    • Ever since I started using 1% BHA Lotion a month ago, what I thought was my dry skin has been vanishing to reveal my true, oily-combo skin type again. Now that I have chronic dehydration under control, I am using this with the CLEAR cleanser, Ultra-Light Serum and non-PC moisturizers so far. I am drier at midday and feel grimier at night so will maybe consider using the Moisture Boost toner in the AM. You can feel the ingredients in this stuff. My face is more lit, less dull and has better color

  2. Natalie L.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product!
    • Being a dedicated Paula's Choice customer for almost a year now, I love this product.. It really does minimize pore size and evens skin tone. I used the whole system. Only thing is it did not improve my slight rosacea concerns which is my #1 priority which is why I rated this product a four star. So unfortunately, my search is still on for the perfect Paula's Choice products that are compatible and compliments my unique skin, but I did not lose faith!

  3. Pamela
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Awesome
    • I love this toner! It leaves my skin clean and balanced without feeling stripped. It also looks and feels firmer and pores tighter. Most toners either leave my skin dry and taut, or makes my pores look like saucers. :( I finally found the right one for my combo/dehydrated skin. Thank you Paula & Team for making an awesome product ;)

  4. Kateryna L.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best toner ever
    • I have acne prone, really sensitive skin with large pores. I never was a big fan of a skin toners till I discovered this one. I wasn't using a toners for really long time (I think almost for 2 years) because I never saw a difference that this step made in my skin. But after trying out this toner now I cant live without it. It makes my skin so soft and almost feels like after using this product I don't need a moisturizer.

  5. Joni
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect!
    • Another perfect product from Paula's Choice! Love this toner!

  6. A M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Top Notch Skin Care Product
    • I've used PC skin products for over a decade, maturing from a super-oily 30-something to combination (oily nose, normal cheeks, dry forehead) in early 40's. I'm presenty using some Skin Balancing products and some Resist products, but this toner remains a solid item in my beauty routine. It's incredibly mild, lightly moisturizing, and leaves skin freshened and comfortable. In my "greasy girlfhood" this was all the moisture I needed, now it preps skin for serum and moisture as needed.

  7. Mandy L
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wish I could swim in this!
    • I was never convinced I needed a toner. I have oily skin and toners either burned and dried me out, or made me too slick. This toner feels like heaven going on my skin and leaves it feeling perfectly clean afterwards. My skin doesn't feel tight or oily afterwards. Will continue to buy this and recommend it to everyone!

  8. JENNIFER P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner Normal, Combination, Oily Skin
    • Have been using this line for a month and my skin looks dull and washed out. This toner seems to do nothing at all.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 29, 2013
    Thank you for sharing your review, and we're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! While we can't necessarily explain why your experience didn't match other customers, we can certainly be sure you aren't stuck with a product that didn't work for you. Please contact our Customer Care Team and they will be happy to help arrange a credit or exchange.
    —Admin
  9. Cheryl M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The Only Toner I've Actually Liked
    • I've rarely found toners useful, until now, mainly because I've usually found them to be both irritating and superfluous. This one actually does what it says it will do, thus is very pleasant to use. It does eliminate flakes and soothe my skin. While I am still not sure it's a strict "need" kind of product, because it feels like a nice pampering extra step (that actually does what it says on the tin), I will definitely repurchase.

  10. Tegan M.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Toner!
    • I absolutely love this toner. I use most aspects of the Skin Balancing System and think this toner is the best thing in it. It works great at removing those last traces of makeup occasionally left behind by the cleanser. I find it makes my skin feel refreshed, but not the slightest bit tight or dry. Call me crazy, but I also think it help keeps my makeup in place a lot longer compared to when I don't use it. It doesn't create any issues with my combo/oily prone skin like many toners do.

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, February 22, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not Convinced I need a Toner
    • Received a sample of this toner in the mail. The consistency was a bit too thick for me and left a sticky finish (not ideal for foundation application after). In addition, it burned like crazy and left my cheeks temporarily red for hours afterward. I am not convinced that this is a necessary part of my skin care routine, I feel like one of paulas anti-oxidant loaded moisturizers would be a better idea after cleansing.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 25, 2013
    Thank you for your review! Our toners are potent antioxidant, anti-aging formulas which for some are incredibly beneficial additions. However, some may prefer to keep their routine simpler and if substituting one of our Super Antioxidant Serums is a better fit, that is absolutely an option! This product does contain a potent degree of niacinamide, which for some can be sensitizing. Contact our Customer Care Department for assistance with samples, a return or exchange!
    —Admin
  12. Win LY
    Reviewed on Monday, February 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great toner!
    • This toner is fantastic. It takes away any residual dirt/makeup and leaves my skin feeling fresh, clean, and not greasy! It hasn't caused me to breakout and I have sensitive, oily, acne prone skin. It isn't moisturizing enough to use alone in the winter but I will try it this summer alone.

  13. maria
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Go-To Toner
    • Best toner on the market. I have sensitive combination skin. This toner is gentle and refreshing and leaves your skin so soft. Love using this every day.

  14. Jay
    Reviewed on Monday, February 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So soft skin!
    • Just got my order 3 days ago, and can't believe the difference. Immedialtley after I used it my skin was squeeky clean without feeling tight or dry. Today I can't stop touching my skin, because it feels so smooth and soft. MY makeup and my antioxidants sit so much nicer on my skin now and I'm truly an addict. Will be telling all my friends/family. Thanks Paula and her team:)

  15. Karen Joanne
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect For Me
    • Another great product from PC. I have been using this for quite some time in conjunction with the cleanser and BHA and my skin has never looked better! It is great knowing I do not have to search for yet another skin care product that doesn't work. This stuff is the best!

  16. NICOLE S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A+ For Sensitive Combination Skin
    • I've never been a fan of toners before - in fact I outright despised them! Most of them irritated my sensitive, acne-prone skin and those that didn't simply dried it out. I couldn't understand the point of them. After reading so many reviews from users with similar skin problems (acne AND dry, flaky spots) I decided to give this product a try. This toner really helped even out those dry bits and soothes irritation while providing some balance to my oily t-zone. I haven't seen a huge difference in my pore size, but I have large pores in some areas and cosmetics/ beauty products can only do so much for that, no matter how good they are. I would highly recommend this product!

  17. Lulu
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wouldn't be without it
    • I haven't used a toner in years given conventional wisdom writes toners off as a superfluous step. After reading what Paula said about her formula, I tried it and I'll never go back! I also surprisingly enjoy the extra step in my routine. The result is weightless-there is no film or residue left, which is important for me as I have oily skin prone to congestion. My pores are definitely looking smaller and my skin glows. Thank you Paula.

  18. TANYA
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    works well for my combination skin
    • I have been using the toner for 3 weeks, it has worked well taken off my make-up at night. It does calm and soothe red skin. I have very large pores, they are looking much better. Can be drying so only oily combination skin can use this well, I do extra moisture on my neck because my neck is more dry to normal.Overall better than what I was using, CVS toner, which did little for my skin and was not as well formulated.

  19. Alicia
    Reviewed on Monday, January 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Really like it.
    • I really like this toner. I've been hesitant to use one after experiencing such drying effects of others. But this is very soothing. Even after just one use, my complexion looks smoother and my pores seem less noticeable. My skin is also noticeably less oily which is a huge plus for me. I've been using this for a week and so far I'm really impressed. Definitely recommend it.

  20. MELISSA L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 10, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice, refreshing
    • I use this toner in conjunction with the Skin Balancing Cleanser and the CLEAR 2% BHA Liquid. I am 36 and have oily skin with somewhat oily cheeks and a very oily T-zone. Honestly, I never really noticed my pore size before although I always had blackheads and at least 1 or 2 cystic pimples every few days. Using the three products together has helped solve the acne problem considerably without burning, drying, or irritating my skin, and I have tried several other drugstore products before with no luck. My skin still gets very oily during the day and I still have blackheads but they are fewer and much less noticeable. I like this toner because it's light and refreshing. It doesn't dry out my skin or make it feel too heavy with moisture. As the products are working well together, I am re-ordering.

  21. Sue S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for my skin
    • I have very oily, acne prone skin. I use this instead of a traditional moisturizer after cleansing my skin and it works wonderfully.

  22. Abby
    Reviewed on Friday, December 14, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Just Ok
    • well first I have moderate oily skin. Previously I have tried the hydralight healty toner but that just wasn't for me. It somehow irrated my skin, making me feel burning and my face looked red LOL. Too bother for me to return it so I just order the skin balancing toner. well this one is better, not irrating, but a bit drying and sticky. I think i'll just finish this bottle and then search for others. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we encourage you to contact customer care to discuss your skin type and routine. We are happy to make other product suggestions and arrange for samples to be sent out!

  23. Maria D.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Realiable, mild and non-aggressive
    • Really like this product. Before I was using the 1% Clear toner, but then I though that this could be more indicated to my combination skin, even though I could benefit from more anti breakthrough ingredients. Moving to the second bottle. It is great for flaky areas around lips and on dryer areas like cheeks. I don't think I can move back for not using a toner anymore...as all PC's products, got addicted to it!!

  24. Magda
    Reviewed on Friday, November 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best.
    • This truly is the best toner I have ever used in my life. I have very sensitive combination skin with breakouts on the forehead and chin. While using this toner I had no peeling skin and it reduced my breakouts significantly. I had no redness nor that dry pulling sensation on my skin. I purchased the Earth Sourced toner after using this one and only used it twice because it gave me breakouts instantly. I went back to this toner and will never stop using it. It's perfect!

  25. Michelle
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Smells like peach!
    • I have extremely oily skin with a ton of blackheads, large pores, and mild breakouts. When I first started using this product, I felt that it was irritating and drying. After about 5 days, I started to feel more and more comfortable although I didn't see any results. After about 2 weeks, however, I noticed dramatic reduction in the numbers and size of my blackheads to a point where I never imagined possible. I think that this result was delivered by using a mix of PC products that are ideal for my skin type, including this toner. Although it doesn't make my skin feel dry anymore, it does still have a little bit of 'tingling' sensation which I'm not a huge fan of. Other than that, I am quite pleased. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear this has worked so well for you. We would like to encourage you to contact customer care to discuss your skin care routine, and help determine why you are experiencing the tingling. If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know. We are happy to help.

« Prev Page of 10 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Unlike most other toners on the market, Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner is famous for offering potent antioxidants, anti-irritants and cell-communicating ingredients which help restore normal function to damaged, misbehaving cells. When used after cleansing, it helps skin restore and repair itself. This truly state-of-the-art toner helps balance skin so its oily areas do not worsen. Redness is reduced while slightly dry, flaky areas are made smooth and soft. It also helps to remove last traces of makeup and may be the only "moisturizer" your normal to oily skin needs during summer months or in humid climates.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
This toner has been specially formulated for normal to oily/combination skin. It is also a good option for acne-prone skin. 

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Experimental  Biology and Medicine, November 2008, pages 1,469–1,477; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9;  International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, volume 124, issue 4, April 2005, pages 756–763; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, March–April 2004, pages 90–96; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; and Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73.

Key Ingredients: vitamin C, adenosine triphosphate, glycerin, Arctium lappa, niacinamide, sodium PCA, chamomile, sodium hyaluronate, cholesterol, ceramides

Product Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communcating ingredient), Adenosine Triphosphate (cell-communicating ingredient/skin conditioning agent), Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Arctium Lappa (Burdock) Root Extract (antioxidant), Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (skin conditioning agents), Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate (skin conditioning agent), Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol (lipid-based skin-repairing ingredients), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Oleth-10, DEA-Oleth-10 Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate (emulsifiers), Polysorbate-20 (skin conditioning agent), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Trisodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients.

What are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners and how do I know which one is best for me?

Every Paula's Choice toner repairs skin, provides antioxidants, and anti-aging ingredients plus helps remove last traces of makeup. They do not contain alcohol, fragrance, or unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. Below you'll find a brief description for each distinct toner.

RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains a broad range of ingredients that aid skin's barrier repair process so those with normal to dry skin will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or treatment product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage, redness, or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a rich, milky liquid texture and contains more plant oils and other emollients for intense hydration. Excellent for rosacea!

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent to help normalize skin and reduce signs of extreme combination skin (oily and dry areas). Its cell-communicating ingredients help balance skin and reduce enlarged pores.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.