Items you may also like

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Turn down sensitive, reddened skin and signs of rosacea with this milky liquid. Makes other products work even better.
Item #: 125
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Immediately hydrates dry skin
  • Great to use around your eyes

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 133 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Patricia
    Reviewed on Friday, March 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skin Recovery Toner
    • This is a remarkable lotion so gentle and soothing after washing it calms my sensitive skin. Love this product Don't change the formula. I love Paula's products . Patricia G.

  2. ninjaGlamour Beauty
    Reviewed on Monday, March 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I use this twice or more daily on my dry sensitive skin and love it
    • I have very dry, sensitive, rosacea-prone skin and I use this toner after cleansing, before makeup, and anytime I feel like I want to freshen up and hydrate my skin. I poured some out from the bottle into a little spray bottle and use that to spritz. Makes my skin feel moist and silky and best of all - DOESN'T STING! (This is only one of two toner brands I've EVER tried that I can say that about)

  3. Mary L.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not at all calming for this rosacean
    • My skin must be very sensitive, because this is not at all calming for my skin. I tried it once (not the same day I tried the 1% BHA Lotion: I always try new things solo several days apart.) and it irritated my skin immediately. I have found that certain combinations of mild cleanser and a little moisturizer keep my skin pretty pale and happy, but many other products irritate it. I really regret buying this.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 29, 2013
    Hello there! Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to learn the Skin Recovery Toner wasn't a fit for you. It's tricky to know the cause of your skin's response, sometimes such a result may be due to a combination of products or environmental factors. Either way, no one is ever stuck with a PC product that isn't working for them, just contact our Customer Care Department and they can assist with a credit or exchange!
    —Admin
  4. HOWARD D.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Unimpressive
    • First off, I am a big Paula's Choice fan, and I have read her books since 1994. I like a few of her skin care products, and I always research her site before purchasing anything in a department store or elsewhere. She is very critical of the toners on the market, and rightly so, most of them are full of alcohol and irritating or contain nothing impressive. This one was not moisturizing, as claimed, and I feel Paula needs to put more work into her toners as well. All of them have been lacking

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We're sorry the Skin Recovery Toner didn't meet your expectations, and it seems your skin may need more than a toner alone. For those with very dry skin types, using a system approach is often the best course (pairing a rich toner with super-emollient creams, and an AHA exfoliant). Please contact our Customer Care and they will be happy to assist with a credit, exchange or additional recommendations.
    —Admin
  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    This stung and made me red
    • I am a huge fan of PC products and wanted to like this one. I wanted a toner to get off the last bit of junk that is always there, not matter what I use to clean. This irritates badly if I do that. In some ways, PC toner's are more like Japanese's lotions (toners), in that they are less for wiping and are more about adding the first layer of moisturizing ingredients and have a milky or watery texture. This is a GOOD thing. I now understand this concept better of PC's toners and think there is a lot to be said about putting some stuff under you moisturizer/sunscreen. However, this just makes me red alas. Not sure why and kept it a long time hoping that would change.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 18, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry the Skin Recovery Toner didn't work for you! How we respond to skin-care products has much to do with whether the product was the right fit for our needs, as well other environmental factors. Please contact our Customer Care team, we would love to help you with a credit and samples of our other toner formulas to find the right match for your needs.
    —Admin
  6. Joan
    Reviewed on Monday, January 28, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Does not work for me...
    • This is the first product I've tried from Paula's choice after reading through the reviews. I want a more moisturizing toner in the winter time so I selected skin recovery toner. However, it caused my face to breakout after only a few uses. Not sure whether it's because of the thickness of this toner or my skin is sensitive to some of the ingredients.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    Thank you for your feedback. It is hard to know exactly which ingredient, combination of ingredients, or outside factors contributed to your skin responding negatively to this product. It can be difficult to identify which ingredient in any formula, even a well-formulated one, which could be causing some type of reaction. We encourage you to contact customer care so that we may discuss your skin type and how the product were being used. We are happy to make suggestions and arrange for samples to be sent out.
    —-Customer Care
  7. SandraKat
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    SUPER Hydrating!
    • This toner is all about hydration and balancing PH after cleansing, and it does a great job! I have sensitive, redness-prone skin that doesn't do well with most toners, but this freshening toner is perfect. The milky texture is immediately hydrating and soothing, and I love that it has such functional ingredients such as evening primrose oil (great for rosacea and sensitive skin repair) and Sodium Hyaluronate (a super-hydrator). I chose this skincare line because I need a lot of hydration for my skin and help with barrier repair - I have combination skin with slight oiliness, but I am sensitive and prone to dehydration. I have found that if I allow a few minutes for each product to "sink in" I have better results, and that is certainly true of this toner. I use this only at night, after cleansing and before any serums or moisturizer. I am enjoying the extra boost of cleansing and moisture that it gives my skin!

  8. Kat
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Not sorry I finally tried this!
    • For a long time, I considered toners unnecessary. After all, most I had used were either irritating or useless. At 56 years old, I have issues with breaking out (which has flared up with menopause), extreme sensitivity, flaky skin, eczema--and redness, although not diagnosed rosacea. I have been a beauty products junkie since my teens, mostly searching for skin care that actually works and makeup I can use without breaking out or irritation. I found Paula's products several years ago, and have gradually replaced my other products with hers. As a person who prefers natural products but is sensitive to essential oils--it's hard to find "natural" products that don't incorporate them--I at first found her "non"-natural approach off-putting, but hey, it works! More than I can say for the vast majority of other products I've used. For my most recent Paula's order, the reviews here convinced me to try this toner. I have been amazed! As I said above, menopause has caused my poor chin to flare up, basically looking like raw meat. This stuff is SO soothing--wish I could bathe in it! Combined with judicious use of the BHA 9, my chin once again is skin-colored. I will never be without this again. Thank you, Paula and team! We appreciate your dedication to effective skin care.

  9. JENNIFER C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another hit!
    • I love this toner. It's so hydrating and leaves my skin feeling ultra soft. I recently switched to the resist toner as I heard it was a "super-charged" version of this one. While I don't dislike the resist toner, I find it a bit more irritating on my skin (I do have rosacea) - thus I'll be switching back to this toner when my bottle is done.

  10. Megan
    Reviewed on Friday, November 23, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great but packaging is flawed
    • I've been using this product a while and I love it, but the new packaging is leaky... When I shake it and then open the lid, it leaks everywhere, like the lid doesn't fit tightly enough and liquid gets into a space in the top, only to drip out everywhere when you open it. Otherwise it's a great product... Leaves my skin silky smooth and less red. I've been buying it for a while now and not been disappointed until now. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will certainly pass along your comments and feedback about the packaging to Paula! We are currently improving all our packaging and trying to make the bottles/tubes easier to use. In the meantime we will send you a replacement tube to try and hope it works better for you. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  11. Erina
    Reviewed on Monday, November 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • Just like the skin recovery cream cleanser, I really love this calming toner. It lightly moisturizes my skin for the BHA lotion I uses right after. I used to use Origins toner but totally notice the improvement after starting to use Paula's Choice. Highly recommended!

  12. Jenny
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 01, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Finally a great toner
    • This toner is a-ma-zing. A lot of the drug store toners I've used in the past either make my skin warm, sting, or cause a lot of redness. This toner does none of that it feels calming and hydrating. I have dry skin, so a toner that actually hydrates my skin is incredible. My only qualm is that the bottle is only 190 ml. It would be lovely if you could sell a larger volume of product like you do with the skin recovery cleanser. Overall a wonderful product, this is my second go round with it and there will be plenty more to come.

  13. Lindsay
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 28, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Stung my face & made it pink!
    • This is the first Paula's Choice toner I've tried and I had such high hopes. But it did the opposite of what it claims: It stung my face and made it bright pink, then dry & tight-feeling after every use!! I've had very few reactions like this. I had to throw it out. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish you could have seen better results with this product. The Skin Recovery Toner is a very gentle formula and typically works very well for very sensitive skin. We would like to have you contact customer care to discuss your routine and skin type, we are happy to make suggestions and send samples for you to try. We have issued you an in-house credit for the toner because it did not work for you. You can use your credit by calling to place your next phone order with us.

  14. Bridgett
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not as good as I expected
    • This toner was kind of disappointing. I have rosacea and I hoped this toner would calm redness but still provide the effects of a toner (remove cleanser residue), but it left my skin feeling slightly greasy and doesn't seem to ever sink in, even if I only use a tiny amount. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do wish this toner could have worked better for you! The Skin Recovery line is great for sensitive skin that is normal to dry or very dry. The toner has a milky consistency and provides calming and anti-aging benefits. We are happy to issue an in-house credit for the toner because it did not work for you, and encourage you to contact customer care to discuss your skin type as well as make recommendations for some other toner options. If you have any questions please contact us anytime, we are always happy to help.

  15. Logan
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing. Honestly I see a difference!
    • I've never used a toner before, but I decided to give this a try. Simply amazing!!! My skin has never looked better.

  16. linda
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Toner to Moisturize!!
    • I have tried all of her toners, and this one has me falling in love!!! It moisturizes my dry spots and even sops up my oily nose. It makes my face feels refreshed after I wash it. I will always come back to this one.

  17. G.S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 06, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Found My Perfect Toner
    • I love this toner! It is perfect for my sensitive, normal-to-dry, mild rosacea skin. I have never experienced any redness with it and it helps keep my skin soft. Plus, it feels good to know I am putting so many healthy ingredients on my skin!

  18. Karen
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Toner Packaging Even Better
    • I was very glad to see the new top design on this great toner! I don't have to worry about too much toner coming out now. Thanks for reading my mind and making it better. The product is wonderful, as always.

  19. Jordan
    Reviewed on Monday, July 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The only of Paulas toners so far I can tolerate!
    • I have eczema on the majority of my face, so was skeptical with this toner, as the others of Paulas i have tried made my eczema get a lot redder! (Earth sourced, Hydralight)... so I put this on and waited about 5 minutes to see if it turned it red. It didn't! Very happy with this... definitely worth considering but get it as a sample first just in case!

  20. christine
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another Paula's Choice product I am THRILLED with!
    • Wow, I really love this toner! After it dries, my skin is so soft and it rids of the slight redness I usually have on my cheeks. The bottle top design is perfect too; toner doesn't pour excessively. My many thanks to the Paula's Choice team. As I am growing my collection of PC products, I actually tried another PC toner. Unfortunately, it wasn't what was best for my skin. They kindly exchanged the toner for me. No hassles...just love that! The Customer Service is always excellent; all the more reason why I don't hesitate to try new PC product!

  21. Sarah
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 30, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great after laser treatment
    • I had a Total FX laser treatment on my face and the post-procedure skin care routine was to use CeraVe cleanser and Aquaphor moisturizer. After about 10 days, my skin was breaking out terribly so I got my doctor's permission to go back to my Skin Recovery cleanser and moisturizer, to which I added the Skin Recovery Toner as a new product. What a difference! The toner kept my face moisturized, so important while it continues to recover, but it also really calmed the redness. I am very happy with this product!

  22. Nathan R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 28, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Rave!!
    • It's high time that I rave about this majestic toner! I have used this toner on and off (more on) since about 2008. Sometimes, when new products come out, I get distracted thinking that they will be better than this beautiful product. I am always wrong. I have normal to dry, sensitive skin, and I have used the Skin Balancing and RESIST toners. While they are both great products, NOTHING compares to what the Skin Recovery toner does to my skin. It protects my skin, and makes it so unbelievably soft!! It's also perfect immediately post-shave. Love it!

  23. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this Toner!
    • I've been using this toner for almost a year now. It removes any make up that doesn't come off when washing my face. It also leaves my face feeling refreshed and smooth. This is a must have product!

  24. Julie
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 31, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A must have toner!
    • I have rosacea and have always had a hard time finding products that work for me. I thought I had to live with itchy blotchy skin until my sister recommend Paula's Choice. This toner calms my itchy skin and leaves it feeling soft. I had no idea toner was so important but it has really made a difference in my skin care system.

  25. Summer
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good Stuff
    • I am loving this toner. My skin is dry and blemish prone. This cleans off any remaining residue (which after using PC Moisture Boost cleanser is usually none)and leaves skin lightly moisturized ready for the exfoliation. It goes on like silk.Reduces pore size and causes no irritation at all. I have tried to use it only at night to save $, but find I need it to help with moisturizing in preparation for the BHA. I just wish it was a slightly lower price point and lasted a little longer. It doesn't seem to go as far as some of PC other products and don't really like the way it dribbles out of the bottle and hard to measure how much you are getting out. A spray application would be really nice.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer consistency than any other toner you may have tried (save for Paula's Choice RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner). Its milky texture is loaded with skin-protecting antioxidants, essential lipids, cell-communicating ingredients and restorative skin-identical ingredients to leave your skin feeling silky-smooth and better able to recover from damage. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner delivers key ingredients which are vital to reviving skin's intercellular matrix to help eliminate dry, flaky skin as it soothes redness and sensitivity. When used after cleansing, it helps skin restore and repair itself so it can look and act younger. It also works to remove last traces of makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner is best for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun-damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery ENRICHED CALMING Toner

FEBS Letters, December 2009, Epbulication; Dermato-Endocrinology, March 2009, pages 72–76; International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Archives of Pharmacal Research, December 2002, pages 747–758; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73Skin Research and Technology, November 2001, pages 227–237; and Contact Dermatitis, November 1998, pages 231–239; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: borage seed oil, ascorbyl palmitate, vitamin E, vitamin C, allantoin, evening primrose oil, tocopherol, niacinamide, sodium hyaluronate, hydrogenated lecithin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Glycereth-26 (glycerin- and glycol-based water-binding agent), Dimethiconol (silicone slip agent), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Borago Officinalis (Borage) Seed Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Hydrogenated Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (emollient), Linoleamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate (stabilizer), Laureth-4, Laureth-23 (emulsifiers), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, and Sorbic Acid (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Shake well. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients.

What are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

Every Paula's Choice toner repairs skin, provides antioxidants, delivers anti-aging ingredients, and helps remove last traces of makeup. They do not contain alcohol, fragrance, or unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. Below you'll find a brief description for each distinct toner.

RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains a broad range of ingredients that aid skin's barrier repair process so those with normal to dry skin will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or treatment product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage, redness, or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a rich, milky liquid texture and contains more plant oils and other emollients for intense hydration. Excellent for rosacea!

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent to help normalize skin and reduce signs of extreme combination skin (oily and dry areas). Its cell-communicating ingredients help balance skin and reduce enlarged pores.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.