Items you may also like

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Turn down sensitive, reddened skin and signs of rosacea with this milky liquid. Makes other products work even better.
Item #: 125
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Immediately hydrates dry skin
  • Great to use around your eyes

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

87 out of 100
(Based on 133 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Cat
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Silk Water
    • This is hands-down THE BEST toner for sensitive/dry skin. Dry patches, flakey skin, irritation all soothed by this toner. Feels and looks really milky, strangely feels like oil but fades to a silky texture (if that makes any sense). Sometimes I lightly pat it over my foundation when I feel lk my foundation is accidentally too overapplied/dry.

  2. Amy
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    I wanted to like it
    • I really liked how this was unscented and the texture seemed nice. It felt fine when I put it on but after a couple of days my skin broke out in lots of small red bumps, so I had to stop using it. After a few days the bumps went away. Looks like this one is not for me. Customer Care Response: Thank you for sharing your experience, Amy! We are sorry the Skin Recovery Toner wasn't right for you, but would like to process a refund (or send you samples of alternatives to consider!) Just contact us at custserv@paulaschoice.com and we will make the arrangements.

  3. Jessica
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent!
    • This is an excellent toner that was my favorite until the Earth Sourced one came out. Thank you to Paula's excellent customer service reps! They were friendly and professional when I called them after I realized they accidentally sent me the wrong toner on my first order. They shipped the correct one via Express mail and I had it the very next day!This toner has a wonderful, milky texture that I really love. It feels so good going on my skin and makes it look amazing.This would be good for anyone with dry, sensitive, or combination skin.

  4. Kel
    Reviewed on Friday, May 11, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Caused me irritation and burning
    • While i absolutely adore Paula's products, this one immediately makes my skin irritated and my skin burns and actually feels hot. i was quite disappointed as i have very dry skin and need the extra moisture. I guess I will check Beautipedia for other options. Customer Care Response: Thank you for sharing your experience, Kel! We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you, and while it is tricky to pinpoint what may have been the issue for you (or if other factors played a role) we are confident that you can find an alternative with our RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner, or the recommendations in Beautypedia.com! Contact us at custserv@paulachoice.com to set up a refund, exchange or samples with which to experiment!

  5. Helane
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I Love this Toner
    • I never understood the purpose of a toner and therefore never used them. that is until I tried this one. I love the silky feel of it and it dries very quickly. I also followed the advise of pouring a little in the plam of my hand after shaking and applying with my clean fingers. My skin feels smooth and the texture seems to have improved.

  6. Maddy
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I'm now a toner convert
    • I never used toners or understood their purpose until I discovered Paula's Choice. Even then, I didn't think they were necessary until I tried the Clear line toner. I liked the toner as part of my morning routine. When I noticed that it seemed like my skin was over-exfoliated (due to user error of products) I went into repair mode! I ordered a couple of samples of this toner. I firstly have to say that the sample amounts from PC are amazing! They provide plenty for several uses and free shipping on those sizes. I ran out and decided I HAD(!) to have this toner in my life and purchased it asap. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and just pour a small amount and apply it to my face with my fingers. Since there are no exfoliating actives, you don't have to be precise about application. I use it after the Skin Recovery cream cleanser and I just feel so pampered! A trick that I read is to apply moisturizer while the toner is still wet, to lock in the moisture and ingredients. I think it's been helping and my skin is looking renewed. I highly recommend this for all skin types (they all need pampering sometimes) because I don't find it to be heavy.

  7. Rachel
    Reviewed on Monday, May 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great Product!!
    • I was diagnosed with rosacea two years ago and have had a really hard time getting it under control. At my last dermatologist appointment, the nurse recommended I try the Paula's Choice products for rosacea, as she also had rosacea and had found relief with the toner. So, after a few weeks of itching and burning from the new medication, I decided to Order the Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner. I had some doubts that this would really have any affect on my skin but, after my very first use, I felt such a difference. Not only did it actually calm my itching and burning, it make my skin feel really soft. I have been using it in conjunction with normal routine (CeraVe cleanser and moisturizers) and plan on trying other Paula's Choice products. They are the best kept secret out there!!

  8. John
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wow!
    • This product is amazing after a shave! Soothing and revitalizing; it totally eliminates any redness.

  9. Cheri
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Calm, soothing, hydrating toner
    • Paula's Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner is effective in removing the last traces of makeup while instantly soothing and hydrating my dry skin. This toner, unlike many other toners I've tried, does not leave my skin tight and dry - feeling stripped of its moisture. It gently removes makeup and leaves skin clean and hydrated. Highly recommend to those who are searching for a toner that is made ideally to combat issues of dry to very dry skin. Thanks Paula for creating such a great toner that provides the TLC that dry skin needs.-Cheri

  10. J
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 25, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    A Must-Have for Parched Skin Days
    • I wish I had waited for the new and improved packaging for this toner! I've lost a lot of product due to old toner's clear filter becoming stuck to the top of cap. A third of the bottle had to be wiped up from my carpet. This isn't the first time I've had a problem with the older packaging of Paula's Choice toners, so I'm very happy to see the re-vamped packaging. I will look forward to purchasing the new version, since the product itself is absolutely fantastic. Even though I have oily skin, there are days when my skin needs an extra boost of moisture and calming ingredients. The Skin Recovery Toner performs exactly as Paula describes. After using this toner, my skin immediately feels nourished and more healthy. I can definitely see this product becoming a must-have in my skincare routine. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We do note any inconsistencies with products and packaging so your concerns will definitely be passed along to Paula and her Product Development Manager. In the meantime we will send you a replacement for the product with the updated packaging. Please contact customer care with any questions or packaging concerns and we will be happy to assist you.

  11. Y
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful
    • I have tried many toners, and this is definitely one of my favorites. I have combination skin that is very oily during the summer and dry, at times, during the winter. This toner has been awesome in all types of weather. It's milky enough to be moisturizing and soothing, yet does not make my skin more oily. It seems to be a perfect balance between the RESIST toner and the Skin Balancing toner. Thank you for this!

  12. Chloe
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Has done wonders for my skin!
    • I've tried a few different PC toners, but this is the one I've been looking for! I didn't think I had extremely dry skin or irritated skin, but this toner has done wonders for my skin. The moisture boost toner didn't hydrate my skin and it would irritate it. Every time I use this (every morning and night), my skin is well moisturized, and calmed. My skin tone is looking more even every day!

  13. Emily
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 17, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    good product but not for me
    • I like the way the toner feels, unfortunately one of the ingredients is causing my skin to become red and irritated... I sometimes have to rinse it off when the stinging becomes too much, even though this is supposed to be for sensitive skin. Am going to try the new Earth sourced toner to see if it is more gentle. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We will send samples of our other toners to try and see how they work for you and credit you for this product in the meantime. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  14. Robyn
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 14, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Made my skin red and itchy
    • I have bought a lot of Paula's products and let me just say, they are amazing, but, this toner irritates my skin. I do have very dry, sensitive skin, and a heat allergy. So for anyone with normal skin this toner will work great! Is there any other toner of Paula's that would be better? Customer Care Response: Thank you for taking the time to review this product. We are sorry to hear the product did not respond well with your skin. We understand that each person will respond differently to products and ingredients. Regarding your purchase with us, we will be sure to credit your account for the purchase price of the product. We suggest trying the RESIST Toner to see how your skin respnds to it, we will send samples to try. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  15. Daniel
    Reviewed on Friday, April 13, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Favorite product ever
    • This is not only the best toner I've ever used, this is hands down the best skincare product I've ever used -- it soothes my sensitive, dry, slightly acne-prone skin like nothing else. I use it morning and night after cleansing, and sometimes once more right after applying a chemical exfoliant if my skin is feeling tight. Again, this is my favorite skincare product ever.

  16. Nicole
    Reviewed on Friday, March 23, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    gentle moisturizing toner
    • I am very pleased with this toner. It provides gentle moisture and antioxidants prior to applying my other skincare. I was never a believer in toner, mainly becuase of all the alcohol in most toners, but I will plan to keep this one in my skincare routine.

  17. Rachel
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Soothing and Hydrating
    • I never thought toners were really necessary until I tried Paula's Choice. This toner is so soothing, it calms my red bumps within minutes. My skin is so soft and feels and looks so healthy just by cleansing and toning alone! Thank you Paula!

  18. Chris
    Reviewed on Friday, March 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love This So Much
    • I just wanted to call Paula's attention to something. I am nuts about this toner and have been using for several months. I can't tell you how wonderful it is. However, a few times when I opened it to use, the inside top stayed in the bottle and when I turned it over, I lost quite a bit down the sink. This happened to me a few times. Now I'm careful. However, I have my mom using it now. She loves it too. But she mentioned to me that she lost a lot of it when the top stayed in the cap. The same thing happened to her. Paula - please work on fixing this.As for my mother (80+) and me (60), it is like magic in a bottle!!! I can't live without it.I use nothing but Paula's Choice now and in my 60 years - my skin has never, ever looked so gorgeous!!!! (if I do say so myself)!!!Thanks Paula!!! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear about your trouble with our Skin Recovery Toner. Occasionally, the opening in the bottle that receives the orifice reducer (clear plastic insert with the hole in the middle) may not fit perfectly and that is why it will fall out during opening the bottle. We are happy to announce that this product will be available in improved packaging this spring. In the meantime we are happy to send a complimentary replacement to you. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  19. Sharon
    Reviewed on Monday, February 27, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Saved my skin
    • While on vacation in the tropics I sadly ended up with a bad sunburn on my upper chest. I typically don't venture into the sun without sunscreen, but this day, in my excitement to walk along the beach I forgot to apply it and came back to the condo with very painful, red angry sunburned skin. It seemed to happen so fast. As I always take my PC stash with me on vacation I continued to use this toner on my sunburned skin twice a day and was amazed at how it immediately calmed and relieved it, and I never did peel! My husband's burn was just as bad but he went with an alternative product and ended up peeling. The reason that I rated this toner as a '4' though is that one time the top part popped out when I went to use it and I lost much of it all over the counter. That piece also gets stuck inside of the lid each time I open it so has become quite a nuisance. Nevertheless, this was my skin saviour and for that I thank you! Your products are primo and a constant in my skin care regime. I now have my sister hooked too. We are both in our 50s and we aim to grow old gracefully, with your help. Thanks Paula! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear about your trouble with our Skin Recovery Toner. Occasionally, the opening in the bottle that receives the orifice reducer (clear plastic insert with the hole in the middle) may not fit perfectly and that is why it will fall out during opening the bottle. We are happy to announce that this product will be available in improved packaging this spring. In the meantime we are happy to send a complimentary replacement to you. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  20. Leah
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this toner but no the bottle!
    • Makes my skin so soft and calm...love it, but more than once I've lost half a bottle when the stopper comes out of the top. It happened again tonight with a full bottle :( Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will certainly replace your toner for yout. The orifice reducer in the toner bottles can sometimes pop off if the bottle is squeezed. We do track all problems with packaging and this has been looked into by our Product Development Manager. Once all the toners are re-packaged the bottles will not be so flexible in order to not allow squeezing so this should no longer be a problem. We also suggest using a cotton pad or ball and covering the toner opening with your fingers and then turning it upside down to dispense it directly onto the cotton pad. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  21. Elizabeth
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My Favorite Toner
    • This is my favorite Toner from Paula's line. I'm pretty sure I've tried them all by now. Before I found Paula's products I tested out so many toners from drugstore to department store lines. What I love about Paula's toners is that there is no alcohol or anything bad for the skin in her products. This is my favorite toner because it feels so soothing on my skin, it gives a little bit of moisture back, and it's loaded with antioxidants. It feels just as nice as the Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner but you get more product for less money with this one. Seems like a way better value to me. I will keep buying this toner as long as she keeps making it.

  22. SALI
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love it but...
    • I love this toner and have used it for quite some time; however, with the last two bottles (arriving in the same shipment), the inner stopper popped out when I tilted the bottle to dispense the toner. I lost a large amount of toner from each bottle. This never happened before, so I'm wondering if there was a manufacturing glitch. In any case, I advise checking before you try to dispense. Customer Care Response: We understand your frustration with this happening to your toner bottle. We will pass it along to Paula and her Packaging Team for review. In the meantime we will place a replacement order for you. Please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  23. Leslie
    Reviewed on Friday, January 20, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great toner!
    • I just recently discovered Paula's products and purchased several products to be my new skin care routine for day and night. I'm 29 and recently my skin has started breaking out like crazy. I thought this toner would be able to help with redness and irritation and it definitely has. I love the milky consistency and it does not dry out my skin. The only problem I've had so far is the cap that controls how much liquid comes out of the bottle. In just two days of using this product, that particular cap detached somehow and will not come out of the lid! Not sure if this is a defect in the packaging or in just this bottle itself, but thought I'd let you guys know. However, I still love the toner and I just have to be extra careful when pouring the toner onto a cotton pad. Customer Care Response: We understand your frustration with this happening to your toner bottle. We will pass it along to Paula and her packaging team for review. In the meantime we will place a replacement order for you. Please contact customer care with any questions or concerns.

  24. Emily
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 08, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Absolutely incredible!
    • Like many others, Paula's Choice products have completely revolutionized my skin. I am no longer embarrassed by red, irritated, and inflamed skin, thanks to Paula's skin recovery products! This toner is wonderful - soothing and cleansing, removes last traces of makeup, and really nourishes my skin. I definitely notice a difference with this product!

  25. Becky
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 05, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great
    • Makes my dry/eczema prone skin feel great removes any excess makeup the cleanser missed(I use revlons colorstay which really stays) doesn't dry me out, very calming!

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer consistency than any other toner you may have tried (save for Paula's Choice RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner). Its milky texture is loaded with skin-protecting antioxidants, essential lipids, cell-communicating ingredients and restorative skin-identical ingredients to leave your skin feeling silky-smooth and better able to recover from damage. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner delivers key ingredients which are vital to reviving skin's intercellular matrix to help eliminate dry, flaky skin as it soothes redness and sensitivity. When used after cleansing, it helps skin restore and repair itself so it can look and act younger. It also works to remove last traces of makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner is best for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun-damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery ENRICHED CALMING Toner

FEBS Letters, December 2009, Epbulication; Dermato-Endocrinology, March 2009, pages 72–76; International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Archives of Pharmacal Research, December 2002, pages 747–758; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73Skin Research and Technology, November 2001, pages 227–237; and Contact Dermatitis, November 1998, pages 231–239; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: borage seed oil, ascorbyl palmitate, vitamin E, vitamin C, allantoin, evening primrose oil, tocopherol, niacinamide, sodium hyaluronate, hydrogenated lecithin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Glycereth-26 (glycerin- and glycol-based water-binding agent), Dimethiconol (silicone slip agent), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Borago Officinalis (Borage) Seed Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Hydrogenated Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (emollient), Linoleamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate (stabilizer), Laureth-4, Laureth-23 (emulsifiers), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, and Sorbic Acid (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Shake well. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skin-Care Routine article.

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients.

What are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

Every Paula's Choice toner repairs skin, provides antioxidants, delivers anti-aging ingredients, and helps remove last traces of makeup. They do not contain alcohol, fragrance, or unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. Below you'll find a brief description for each distinct toner.

RESIST Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains a broad range of ingredients that aid skin's barrier repair process so those with normal to dry skin will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or treatment product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage, redness, or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a rich, milky liquid texture and contains more plant oils and other emollients for intense hydration. Excellent for rosacea!

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent to help normalize skin and reduce signs of extreme combination skin (oily and dry areas). Its cell-communicating ingredients help balance skin and reduce enlarged pores.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.