Items you may also like

Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser

Step up to the sink with confidence. We've got a face wash for the most sensitive skin. It calms and soothes skin, reduces redness and irritation.
Item #: 105
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Great for rosacea

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 148 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. RICHARD F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    FAVORITE BODYWASH???
    • I HAVE ALWAYS USED AND LOVED ALL OF PAULA'S CHOICE CLEANSERS, EVEN WHEN I WAS IN MY 'ALL NATURAL' PHASE. THEY SIMPLY ARE THE BEST WITH NO IRRITANTS LIKE LAVENDER AND LEMON. THIS CLEANSER IS SO CREAMY AND SMOOTH, MY PALE SKIN ACTUALLY LOOKS PRETTY! I LIKE IT SO MUCH I USE IT AS MY BODYWASH. IF PAULA EVER MAKES ANOTHER BODYWASH, I HOPE SHE BASIS IT ON THESE INGREDIENTS.

  2. Michele V
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Breaking Out
    • I'm a longtime Paula fan and faithful customer with very sensitive skin. Tried this cleanser and the toner hoping to find a less expensive alternative to the Resist cleanser and toner. Seemed okay for the first day or two but then I started breaking out...and I don't usually break out unless something is irritating my skin. Stopped using for a week then tried again...same issue. Unfortunately, I bought two large bottles of cleanser and a bottle of the toner when it was on sales... :-(

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, December 04, 2013

    We're sorry these products didn't work for you. Please contact us to arrange for a return or exchange.

    —Admin
  3. LIDIANA S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is the very best
    • I have tried other cleansers for my sensitive skin. This one is the one I always come back to. Leaves my face soft but not greasy. It does not leave it dry at all. I tried the gentle touch makeup remover but found it was only good for eyes, Too greasy for rest of face. This is the best for me.

  4. Max B
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Reliable and effective
    • Non-irritating, non drying, non greasy, and cleanses VERY well. Alot of other cleansers for dry skin are like rubbing lotion on your face and dont clean at all. This one actually foams with my clarisonic which I love. This is a great cleanser for dry skin. Experienced no reactions, breakouts or anything of the sort. I have it in the huge size and I love it. Thanks Paula!!

  5. KD
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Cleanses well but drying
    • I have sensitive, dry skin and cleansers often leave my face flakey, tight and dry. The Skin Recovery Cleanser was no exception. The cleanser is milky and opaque in color, while runny and slightly watery in consistency. It is not creamy and is very light, thin and slightly runny. It cleansed well, but left my face feeling too tight, dry and flakey. It did not seem to provide any moisture to my skin at all. This was not the answer for my sensitive, parched skin.

  6. ROSIE N.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great for oily, sensitive skin
    • My skin is oily, I live in a warm, humid climate, and therefore this didn't seem like it would be the cleanser for me, but after trying several samples, this one proved to be just what my skin needed. I'm near 40 and my skin doesn't really break out anymore (thanks to the 2% BHA liquid!), but it has become more sensitive over the past few years. If I use something too stripping, I'll get bumps and general irriation. This cleanser calms my skin like nothing else. It removes ALL of my makeup.

  7. RN
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Like the product very much, hate the delivery system
    • Really miss the pump -- I would wet my face, give one or two pumps. and I had the product I needed. Now I have to pick up the bottle with damp hands, flip the cap -- too many steps and a bit messy. Not user friendly. This is why I gave it three stars, not five. The product itself is very good.

  8. MARLA B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great with Sonic Mia
    • I like this & the skin balancing cleanser esp, for use w/Sonic Mia (or w/washcloth). Rinses oil & make up, leaving my skin clean but not tight, dry or stripped. No foaming action, which is good with the sonic exfoliator. It is creamier than the skin balancing one, so works well in the winter when I'm dryer and need less clarifying action. I have very sensitive (rosacea) skin that is combination type & easily irritated. This is creamier & less foamy than Cetaphil, but comparable. Worth the $

  9. Mary B.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great product
    • I love this product line. I have the kind of Rosacea that not only causes reddness but also full blown acne. I am 63 yrs old and thought i would have outgrown this by now. Tried about every product there is to no avail. This is the first product line that has lessen both by rosacea and acne by at least 80%. I'm not embarrassed to go out in public anymore because of my complexion. I would highly recommend for people with extremely sensitive skin.

  10. Susan C.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 23, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    The scent?
    • I threw this product out after a few uses. I could not stand to wash my face with it because the smell. I found the cleanser itself to remove makeup but it stung my eyes and was not appropriate to remove eye makeup. I was using a cleanser for years that Paula's Choice gave a poor rating to but I found it to be far better in terms of removing makeup and it never irritated my sensitive complexion.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, September 23, 2013
    Hi there! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry the Skin Recovery Cleanser wasn't a fit for you, but recommend contacting our Customer Care for help with a return/exchange. Consider Beautypedia Reviews for recommended alternatives as well!
    —Admin
  11. Nancy
    Reviewed on Monday, September 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful
    • I've been through every cleanser on the market. Never like any of them. All so drying. The cleanser is creamy but doesn't leave any leave a film, I use the moisture toner even though I don't need to because it feels good. This product is also better than most expensive make up removers. I wouldn't know what to do without this product. My skin feels great!! Highly recommend for dry skin.

  12. ELIZABETH T.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My HG cleanser
    • I have been using this stuff for years and it is absolutely the only cleanser I ever want to use. I've tried others, but always come back to this. I like that it's creamy and doesn't lather up, as sudsy cleansers leave my skin feeling stripped and dry. This leaves my skin feeling soft and very clean (even when I've been wearing a lot of makeup). Love, love, love this stuff.

  13. Nicole G.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 28, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Hallejulah!
    • A few months ago I bought a Clarisonic brush and their gel cleanser. After a week my skin looked horrible- it was extremely dry and flaky! I put so much lotion on every morning/night and the flakes came back within an hour. So I searched the internet for something that would help my skin. I found a review about Paula's Choice, so I decided to give it a try, and I've finally found a cleanser (and skincare routine) that I love! I have oily/acne prone skin & this cleanser works great with my brush!

  14. WILLA C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 01, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it!
    • I've had a hard time finding a cleanser that didn't leave my face dry and parched feeling. I've been using the Earth Source Gel which I thought was for normal skin. I've reverted to using coconut oil to cleanse my face which does a good job but not around the eyes to remove mascara because the oil gets into my eyes. Anyway, I ordered a sample of Skin Recovery softening cream cleanser and I've finally found a cleanser that doesn't leave my face dry. Love it!

  15. Caley S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product
    • I really like the consistency of this product, and the fact that it's scentless. It doesn't dry out my skin, but it does clean it really well!

  16. LIDI S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    All time Favorite
    • Gentle, not irritating and still does the job, including eye makeup, I hope Paula has this cleanser for ever!

  17. Sally M.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 22, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good cleanser
    • This is a good cleanser. It cleans my skin, doesn't irritate it and leaves it soft. I prefer the Moisture Boost cleanser because it foams more. If you don't want foam then this one is for you.

  18. Irina M.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    creamy and hydrating
    • I love this! I hate foaming cleansers that strip my skin of all oil and leave it feeling tight and squeaky clean. I wanted something that didn't strip my skin of moisture. This cleaser filled that need perfectly. It's creamy and non-foaming. Simply massage into went skin and rinse off. Face feels ceal and moisturized afterwards. I also love the value!

  19. JAR
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love this cleanser
    • i love this cleanser! it is gentle and takes off all makeup, even mascara!

  20. Regina M
    Reviewed on Friday, April 05, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love product, not packeging
    • I have been using Paula's products for years. I love the cleanser but do not like the new bottle. The old bottle was much better for my arthritic hands, sorry I threw the old bottle out.

  21. Amber W.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    soft skin, but too drying
    • I have rosacea and had great success with several of Paula's products in the skin recovery line. I used this cleanser in the shower. It was very liquidy. Afterwards, my skin felt incredibly soft-- Like a baby's butt, y'all! Unfortunately, it was a little drying to my already super-dry skin. I kept the rest of my skin care routine the same and used this for about 1.5 weeks before I decided this was not for me. I will stick to my other brand of Comforting Cream Cleanser. Thank you.

  22. Andrea M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Elated!!
    • Love it! Great for my sensitive skin. My skin has gone from pink back to white! I would recommend to anyone, regardless of skin type!

  23. Rebecca W.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I like it.
    • I like the mild smell and the gentle cleansing of this product. It doesn't irritate my dry, sensitive skin. I can't say it's made vast improvements in my skin yet but I'll give it time.

  24. LISA M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Amazing!
    • My skin changed when the weather dipped below 20 degrees, and normally I have normal skin and even the most mild cleansers weren't helping. After trying a sample of this, I am amazed how well it takes my makeup off and leaves my skin feeling clean and SOFT! I highly recommend for winter and dryer conditions. I will try the balancing one for summer. Paula - keep up the amazing job! :)

  25. Kate
    Reviewed on Monday, February 25, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for me
    • I am a long time user of Paula's products and am usually very happy with them. This cleanser was a disappointment. It left mascara/eyeliner smeared around my eyes and my skin felt dry after using. A few days after I began using it I developed small pimples all over my face. I am still on the hunt for the right cleanser for my dry, sensitive skin.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is a rich, intensely hydrating cleanser that rinses easily with water. Designed for dry to very dry skin, the creamy lotion texture glides over skin while it cleanses and removes makeup. Works throughout the cleansing process to keep dry skin supple while actually improving skin's softness and adding moisture. This cleanser is also an excellent option for truly sensitive skin, including those with rosacea.

This cleanser is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is formulated for those with normal to very dry or sensitive skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery SOFTENING CREAM Cleanser

Cutis, March 2005, pages 17-21; March 2004, pages 183–187; and December 2001, Supplemental, pages 12–19; Skin Research and Technology, February 2005, pages 53–60; Dermatologic Therapy, 2004; 17 Supplemental 1, pages 26-34;  Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Skin Research and Technology, July 2001, pages 49–55; and Contact Dermatitis, June 1999, pages 310–315.

Key Ingredients: soy oil, glycerin, beta-glucan, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, cocamidopropyl betaine

Product Ingredients:

Water, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate (very mild cleansing agent), Hydrogenated Polydecene (emollient), Acrylates Copolymer (suspending agent), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (plant oil/emollient), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener), Polysorbate-80 (emulsifier), Cocamidopropyl Betaine (lather agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum) (emollient), Beta-Glucan (skin-conditioning agent), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (thickener), Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol (slip agents), Tetrasodium EDTA (chelating agent), Laureth-4 (surfactant), Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin (all preservatives), Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster).

DIRECTIONS: Splash the face and eyes generously with tepid to slightly warm water. Apply a small amount of cleanser to your face and eye area with vigorous yet gentle circular motions. Rinse well. Repeat or use with a clean washcloth to remove heavy makeup. Follow with the appropriate Paula’s Choice toner to give your skin a generous amount of potent antioxidants and skin-renewing ingredients. Next, apply your Paula's Choice exfolaint, serum and/or moisturizer.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Do I still need to use an eye or face makeup remover?

It depends on how much eye or face makeup you are using or if you are wearing waterproof mascara, waterproof makeup, or other hard-to-remove makeup. Otherwise, this cleanser effectively removes most types of makeup. If you feel you need an a separate makeup remover, Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover is ideal.

How does Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser differ from the other Paula's Choice Cleansers-how do I know which one is best for me?

Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser is slightly more emollient than Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleanser for Normal to Dry Skin, which makes it preferred for someone with dry to very dry skin. It is also more emollient than Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser, though both the Resist and Skin Recovery Cleanser are great for dry skin of any age.

I have normal to dry skin on my cheeks but my T-zone is oily - would Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser work for me?

While it is an option, your best bet would be to try Moisture Boost One Step Face Cleansers for Normal to Dry Skin first. If you prefer a gel cleanser, consider Hydralight One Step Cleanser for Normal to Oily/Combination Skin.

I have normal to dry skin that gets noticeably drier in the winter - would Skin Recovery Softening Cream Cleanser be a good seasonal choice?

Yes! This would be a very good choice for normal to dry skin during the winter months.

Will this cleanser make me break out?

This cleanser is extremely unlikely to cause blemishes. However, normal to oily and blemish-prone skins will likely find this cleanser too emollient for their skin type.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.