Items you may also like

Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol

Wrinkles and dry skin, we're through. Wear this silky moisturizing serum morning and evening for younger looking, radiant skin. Taking charge looks great on you.
Item #: 325
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Protects skin from environmental damage

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 173 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 7 Next »
  1. Sara H
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 08, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Acne breakouts
    • I'm 39 with very dry, acne-prone skin. Had gotten the acne under control when I started with product, and broke out within a week of using it. Stopped using it for a few weeks. My skin cleared up. Gave it a second try, and broke out again. I think perhaps the olive oil is just too heavy. Otherwise, I liked the product. It feels nice going on, and kept my skin from feeling dry in these bitterly cold winter conditions, but it's just not worth the breakouts.

  2. KS
    Reviewed on Friday, December 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great Product
    • I use this gem all year round, even during the summer when my skin isn't as dry. It's an elegant formula; it doesn't aggravate my acne or my dry patches or irritate my sensitive skin. Another great Paula's Choice product!

  3. Silvia H.
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    love it
    • My dried out winter skin drinks this right in. Absorbs quickly and leave my skin feeling moisturized, not dry and tight. This is my new go to serum. Doesnt leave my skin oily looking either. glad i tried this

  4. cindy c.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    thanks to advisors
    • Also thank you advisors for all your help!

  5. cindy c.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 15, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great For Dry Skin
    • This is my first review. Im new to paulas products and have been using this serum along with the bha and moisturizer for a month now. I am 55 with very dry skin, a smoker. It soaks into my skin feels wonderful. Havent noticed difference with llines, wrinkles or spots yet. Reordering today (on sale) along with vitamin C booster.

  6. KathyB
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Loving this!
    • I have been using Paula's Skin Recovery Super antioxidant Concentrate Serum with Retinol and am so happy with the results. I have really crazy mixed up skin which can appear dry but also could experience breakouts. I had just about given up trying to find a product that would solve one problem without creating another. Paula's face serum has been the answer that I have been looking for, keeps my skin soft without aggravating breakouts. Thanks Paula for another great product.

  7. Monica S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 08, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    EXCELLENT AGAIN
    • I have had amazing results!! This is incredible especially when used with the C15 - I just can not say enough great things about any PC product I am not one to give reviews, unless I'm REALLY happy. or REALLY dissatisfied. PC is my skincare for life and would never consider using another serum or skincare product ever again, given the results I have had, as well as compliments received - FINALLY, a product that does what it claims and at a fab price! THANKS Paula (and Deb)!!

  8. Tiffany S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 14, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not good for acne-prone skin
    • I'm 40 and have been struggling with hormonal acne over the last year. I wanted to try this to help with the dryness of my skin and to prevent wrinkles. Unfortunately, this broke my face out all over in places I normally don't get breakouts. Glad I only purchased the sample of this!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, December 05, 2013

    Thanks for your review! We're sorry this product didn't work for you; however, it couldn't have caused the breakouts, unless what you experienced was an irritant dermatitis that resembles acne. Acne breakouts take 4 to 6 weeks to form and show up on skin's surface. Oftentimes, when a new product is used and breakouts occur soon after, the new product is thought to be the culprit, when the breakouts would've occurred anyway, even in places one doesn't normally get breakouts. If you suspect an irritant response that resulted in breakouts, we advise exchanging this serum for a lighter option.

    —Admin
  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Serum ever especially for the Price
    • I have used PC for 3+ yrs. I have used all PC serums & this one is my fav. I have used serums developed by oth companies, spending 2x’s & 3x's the amount spent on PC products., always coming back to PC. I can def see a diff when not used for a wile. I pay close attention to areas around eyes & lips, using a diffrent PC product on oth areas. One thing I love about this product is that it can be used all over which helps when traveling. It’s a great primer under m/up. use day & night. Awesome.

  10. MARCIA D.
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful product
    • I received a sample of this serum last week and cannot say enough good things about it. My skin is sensitive and I loved the moisturizing and brightening effects I experienced from a few uses. Here I am, back to order more.

  11. MARLA B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Lovely texture, glowing outcome
    • I challenge you to find a better retinol serum for the $. Texture thick, less watered down than most! Absorbs quickly (5 min) then wears fine under makeup. Quite moisturizing, 1 drop = whole face. My eyelids don't tolerate it (haven't been able to tolerate any retinol product, regardless of brand) but rest of my face is more radiant. I didn't have a lot of wrinkles & crows feet and 11 lines still here, no miracle wrinkle cure, but worth the $ for better skin tone!!! Will keep purchasing.

  12. Cathy L
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    favorite serum
    • I have extreme combination skin and my cheeks/areas around the mouth get so painfully dry it hurts. My sister bought me this product and immediately my skin became smoother and soooo soft!! I've been using this for about 2 months and it's so lovely under makeup, or on its own. Makes my skin radiant. I love how it just sinks in and disappears without any greasy film, residue or bad smell. I was nervous this might break me out, but thankfully have had zero issues with this product. Thanks Paula!

  13. NELSON L.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Make my skin baby soft in winter time!
    • This is a winter dry skin safer. I live in Canada where winter get very dry and cold. I apply this as my night time serum only during colder season. This make my skin baby soft, very touchable! Among all the retinol serum this one doesn't contain any strong scent, and that's another plus for me! This also doesn't trigger any allergic or irritation. I can't tell the actual anti-aging effect, but I will continue using it during winter for softer skin!

  14. CHERYL T.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!
    • I am 64, live near the shore and have very dry skin. I tried this serum about a month ago and I love it!. It appears to have evened out my skin and help retain more moisture throughout the day. I was using the Resist serum but I wanted to try to add a retinol into my skin routine. I've tried retinol products before but they always caused my skin to redden. So far, this product has not. At present, I use it at night, but I'm going to attempt to include it in my morning routine.

  15. JOAN P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Need a larger size!
    • Love this, but since I'm use it 2'X's a day on face and neck n chest. A 2oz size would be useful. I do order 2 at a time. Love this product. Just got the new C to use with yesterday. Thanks for no animal testing.!

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, October 03, 2013
    Thank you for your review and we will be sure to share your comments with the Product Development Team!
    —Admin
  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Wonderful product
    • This is like liquid gold. All of the Recovery products are like gold to me. They have made such a difference to my skin. Really amazing

  17. ELIZABETH T.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this serum!
    • I've been using this serum for years. I've tried other Paula's Choice serums, but I always come back to this one. It makes my skin feel so soft and moisturized. Couldn't live without it.

  18. Ellie H.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Incredible!!!
    • I use this after I get a bad sunburn, especially on my face. When I get sunburnt I am usually in pain for about a week or more, but after one day of using this my face feels so good I can barely tell I was sunburnt in the first place! It's a miracle in a bottle in my opinion!

  19. Brion B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 25, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    winterboy
    • I really like this product, the results were minimal but effective. I haven't tried it with other products in the same range, perhaps will do so in future. I only apply it where needed eye lines, frown lines and the nose to lip line. First thing I noticed after using this serum was how incredibly soft the skin feels. I did not see a significant reduction in skin redness , however there no new skin sensitivity issues. This product does not replace moisturizer

  20. Maritza O
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 16, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this!
    • The Skin Recovery line of products has been great for my dry skin, but of all, this one is my favorite. Makes my skin feel silky soft. Freckles and age spots haven't diminished, but the remainder of the claims are true.

  21. Nola M.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I never leave the house without it!
    • The best serum I have ever used. It's a great eye/face primer, and I am surprised that I am able to put on my false lashes after applying the serum to my eyelids. I put my lashes on in the morning and it stays put, well into the evening. It absorbs well, but leaves just enough dew to my skin. Absolutely love it!

  22. LEH
    Reviewed on Friday, May 03, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Causes bumps for me too
    • I wanted this to work! I've tried it off and on several times. Usually the first time is okay, then the next usage produces bumps on the forehead and chin. I'm 62, so I don't break out normally. I'll try it elsewhere, i.e. neck, etc. .

  23. Adrianne M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    it's fabulous, but not for sensitive skin
    • I finally used a sample of this I had for quite some time. I previously used the Resist Antioxidant Serum. The sample made my skin feel so much better than the Resist, that I had to get the full sized product. Unfortunately, my skin turns red easily and after a few weeks of using this serum, my cheeks would get red and stay red for quite some time. I guess the retinol is too much for my skin. It is very sad because my skin had never felt so fantastic in my life!!

  24. Shelly W
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    And older formula - but still a wonderful formula
    • One of the original formulas for PC on serums - this remains my favorite serum she has. Still a great blend of antioxidents but very moisturizing - you can use this over the top of one the deep exfoliants - before the Skin Recovery Moisturizer OR underneath the Skin Lightening Lotion...it's a great compliment, day or night. The retinol is not too much - even with my rosacea skin - although when I first started using it years ago - it did tingle. One of the PC products goes everywhere with me

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, April 12, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Wonderful, but not for me alas
    • Lovely, but broke me out, which many things do. There is nothing wrong with the product, but I am the wrong skin type. Too bad. It was lovely to use (honey like texture) and is very moisturizing, where most retinol products are drying. Really helps with fine lines, dry patches and dark spots and brightness and amped up the effects of the Resist AHA combo, which I love. Perfect for those with dry skin that want retinol that won't make them flake.

« Prev Page of 7 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum with retinol is salvation for dry, dehydrated skin. It contains a potent blend of antioxidants, cell-communicating ingredients, plant oils and anti-irritants. Each of these works quickly to revitalize lackluster skin so it can look and act healthier and younger. This elegant formula provides a barrier to help protect skin from everyday environmental damage. Your skin will be looking and feeling more radiant than you ever thought possible!

This serum is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is formulated for normal to very dry/dehydrated skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum

Duodecim, Volume 128, Issue 22, 2012, pages 2,327–2,335; and Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, June 2011, pages 614–620; Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprolology, January-February 2010, pages 20-26; Talanta, December 2009, pages 924-934; Toxicology Mechanisms and Methods, September 2009, pages 447–460; International Journal for Vitamin and Nutrition Research, May 2009, pages 152–165; Journal of Medicinal Food, April 2009, pages 429-434; Archives of Dermatological Research, August 2009, pages 487–495; Cell Biology and Toxicology, March 2009, Epublication; Molecules, January 2009, pages 540–554; Archives of Physiology and Biochemistry, April 2008, pages 127–149; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; General Physiology and Biophysics, June 2007, pages 97-103; Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606-612; International Journal of Toxicology, Volume 24, supplement 2, 2005, pages 51-111; Experimental Dermatology, September 2005, pages 684-691; International Journal of Immunopathology and Pharmacology, July-September 2005, pages 497-502; Dermatologic Surgery, July 2005, pages 799-804; Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 2005, pages 1156-1162; Cosmetic Dermatology, supplement, Revisiting Retinol, January 2005, pages 1-20; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, November-December 2004, pages 298-303; BMC Dermatology, September 2004, page 13; and International Journal of Dermatology, August 2004, pages 604-607.

Key Ingredients: skin-repairing ingredients, tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahydrodemethoxydiferuloylmethane, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, adenosine , tocotrienols, Chamomilla recutita flower extract, bisabolol, vitamin C, vitamin E, tocopherol, soy oil, retinol, Rubus idaeus, tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, curcumin, cell-communicating ingredients, chamomile, olive oil/olive fruit oil, grape seed extract, evening primrose oil, green tea, antioxidant, Arctostaphylos uva ursi leaf

Product Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (plant oil/antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Retinol (antioxidant/cell-communicating ingredient), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Astaxanthin (Haematococcus Pluvialis) Extract, Tocotrienols (antioxidants),  Adenosine(cell-communicating ingredient), Tetrahydromethoxydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrobisdemethoydiferuloylmethane, Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane (curcumin-derived antioxidants), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed  Extract (antioxidants/anti-irritants), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Arctostaphylos Uva-Ursi Leaf Extract (non-volatile plant extract), Stearyl Dimethicone (silicone skin-conditioning agent), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Seed Oil, Vaccinium Myrtillus (Bilberry) Seed Oil, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil (plant oils/antioxidants), SD-Alcohol 40 (solvent). 

DIRECTIONS: Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum can be used once or twice daily, as desired. It functions beautifully as a foundation primer. After cleansing, toning, and exfoliating, smooth a few drops onto face, neck, and eye area before moisturizing (or use alone). For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

Which Paula's Choice serum should I use?

All skin types can use any of our serum and each provides multiple anti-aging benefits, but there are some formulary distinctions that make certain Paula's Choice serums preferred for specific skin types. Here's how they break down:
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Retinol Serum can be used by all skin types, including sensitive skin. The Resist Intensive Wrinkle Repair Serum contains the highest amount of retinol.
  • Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is best for normal to very dry skin because it contains plant oils.
  • Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate is best for normal to oily or combination or breakout-prone skin because it has the lightest texture and weightless finish.
  • Resist Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum is one of two Paula’s Choice serums that does not contain retinol. It’s the natural choice for anyone whose skin cannot tolerate retinol.
  • Resist Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum has the lightest texture of all the Resist serums and is our only water-based (rather than silicone-based) serum. It does not contain retinol, so is recommended for those whose skin cannot tolerate this ingredient (or it may be used with one of our retinol serums).

What does this product do?

The primary purpose of Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate is to supply the skin with a selection of effective and potent antioxidants and anti-irritants. It has a silky silicone base that efficiently delivers the antioxidants into the top layers of skin and helps enhance the product's stability.

I use a prescription product with tretinoin (i.e. Retina-A, Renova, Tazorac). Since Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum and Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Mattifying Concentrate Serum contain retinol, is it OK to combine them?

We are not aware of any contraindications surrounding the use of tretinoin and retinol and believe this combination is beneficial to skin. Because this question concerns a prescription drug, we recommend consulting your physician and following his or her advice.

At what point after my laser and/or peel procedure can I begin using my serum again?

First, we urge you to follow the post-procedure instructions your doctor or nurse provided. If nothing was mentioned about when to resume use of a serum, please contact the doctor's office where you had the procedure done. Otherwise, our general advice is to begin using your serum again as soon as possible. All of our serums contain skin-repairing, anti-inflammatory, and replenishing ingredients that calm reddened skin and help enhance the healing process. Make sure you're also protecting your "new" skin every day with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Is Skin Recovery Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum suitable for those with rosacea?

Yes. Research has shown that retinol can reduce inflammation that leads to symptoms of rosacea. The other antioxidants and soothing agents in this serum will help calm redness and soothe skin as they deliver anti-aging benefits.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.344 10/24/2014 10:09:30 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.