Items you may also like

Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara

I’m shutting my eyes on clumpy lashes. Sweep this smudge proof mascara on with the specially designed rubber brush for long, beautifully separated lashes.
Item #: 905
  • Won't smudge, flake off or clump

View more product details

Price: $12.00
 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara

Enter your email address below and we will notify you when this product is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

75 out of 100
(Based on 103 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 5 Next »
  1. Jennifer B.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great waterproof mascra.
    • This really is waterproof. It stays on even with my oliy skin and tears. However the brush is over full of mascra. To much comes out and is globbed on the back of the brush and on the wand. Maybe my tube is defective there is nothing to pull the excess mascra off the brush/wand.

  2. FRUHD
    Reviewed on Friday, February 15, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    4th times a... nevermind.
    • I read the reviews and gave it a shot... The mascara comes out super clumpy and goopy. I curled my lashes first, but it's so heavy that the lashes got pulled straight. After drying, I was able to curl my lashes again with a regular curler which in turn pulled off most of the mascara, leaving a less spider-leg (tarantula-leg) look, and more eyelash-look, but there are still little clumpy balls at the ends of my lashes, and they do not at all look voluminous.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 18, 2013
    Thank you for your review. We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you! Mascara is one of those products which may take experimentation to find your perfect match. Consider our Great Big Lashes for a more natural finish or those we recommend on Beautypedia. Please contact our Customer Care team with any questions!
    —Admin
  3. Maggie
    Reviewed on Friday, December 07, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I like this!
    • Bought this for my daughter's wedding- it lasted all day, stayed in place, and no racoon eyes through the tears. It went on well, just followed the directions - lovely! I put 3 layers on, and my lashes looked long and well defined. Thank you!

  4. Joanna
    Reviewed on Friday, November 16, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best of Everything
    • I didn't think it was possible to have a mascara that looked good, stayed on all day without flaking, caused no irritation, and came off easily when I washed my face. It took some time to learn how to apply it to get the look I wanted, but it was worth it. I swapped out the brush for a more traditional one from my former fav mascara (after a thorough washing of course).

  5. Robin H.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Adding a star...
    • My previous review was 4 stars. I thought the brush was longer than necessary, and that it was a bit unwieldy. Now after using this for a few months, I've decided the brush isn't really a problem for me anymore. But more importantly, I am simply amazed that after using this tube for months, it still applies like a brand new mascara! Just about every mascara I've ever used dries out fairly quickly just to the point that it no longer applies smoothly. This one performs exactly the same as when I bought it. The formula is fantastic too (big, glossy, flexible lashes) and can be worn on bottom lashes without smudging. I definitely will be repurchasing.

  6. Susan
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love this mascara!
    • I'd tried one of PC's mascaras a few years ago and wasn't impressed but this looked new so I decided to try it. Thanks for making one with the rubber applicator - it is so much more precise than the usual brush. I love the texture as it goes on and it actually seems to curl lashes although I'm not sure that's in the claims. One coat is enough for me and it stays put nicely all day. Thanks for creating this product.

  7. Judy
    Reviewed on Monday, October 22, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent Mascara!
    • This is by far the best mascara I have ever used. I have a huge problem with smudging due to an oily complexion around my eyes, and this stays put all day. I have even forgotten to take it off the odd night and it has hardly smudged by morning, yet it removes easily. I am in love and will stock up. It does go on a bit wet and I recommend letting it completely dry before removing any smudges or your lashes might end up sticking together; however, they can be combed out easily with a lash comb. This pairs beautifully with a little Shine Stopper on the eyelids.

  8. Susan
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 20, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Great mascara!
    • I'm surprised at the negative reviews here. I love Paula's Illicit Lashes mascara: it adds great length to my lashes, goes on easily with a terrific, pointy brush, and doesn't flake or budge all day. I took off one star because it's not terribly volumizing, which my skimpy lashes could use, but for everyday, it's definitely one of the best. It would be great to have a brown/black for those of us with very fair-skin. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will certainly pass along your comments and feedback about the color to Paula! Please contact customer care with any questions.

  9. Tania
    Reviewed on Friday, October 19, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    my lashes approve
    • I had written a review that while I liked the Paula's Choice Big Lash mascara, I found it clumped too much. Well, to my surprise what happened to pop up in the mail but a new tube the Illicit mascara, with a note saying inviting me to try it out and see what I thought of it. Now that's great customer service!!!So far so good. I love the brush, it doesn't clump, my lashes look longer and fuller (though not an extreme amount, just enough for daytime purposes), and so far no flaking. If all goes well, I will be purchasing a new tube once this one runs out. Thanks!!

  10. Susan
    Reviewed on Friday, October 19, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Worst mascara ever
    • This product did not live up to its billing in any way. It did not make my lashes look thicker, longer or curled. The results ranged from severe clumping in one eye and hardly any coverage in the other. The brush was not soft and felt like bristles poked my eyelids. I've only been using it for a little more than a week and find it flakes off midway through the day. It also does not come off easily. Removal takes a lot of work with a good remover and still I wake up with smudges under my eyes in the morning. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear about your experience with the mascara and will be sure to forward your feedback along to our Product Development Team. In the meantime we have credited you for this product which may be used on a future phone order by calling: 1-800-831-4088. Also, feel free to check out: Beautypedia for other mascara options you may try. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help!

  11. Carrie
    Reviewed on Friday, October 12, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love it, Reordering!
    • Doesn't smudge under eyes even with my oily skin. Nice color, lasts all day, yet washes off easily and completely. Also doesn't irritate my eyes. Can't say enough about this! Nice light formula, not heavy or waxy, looks great on lashes. Doesn't dry out and lasts a long time. What's not to love about this product? Prefer it to all my other expensive, smudgy, irritating, quick-to-dry-out, expensive mascaras! Thanks for a fantastic mascara--please never change.so nice to find an effective, affordable product!

  12. Heather
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 29, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Beautiful long lashes!
    • I found Paulas Choice in my quest to go 100% Cruelty Free for skin care, and so far I love everything. I was reluctant to give up my former mascara, but I don't want great lashes at the expense of innocent animals being tortured - now I have great lashes and no furry ones had to suffer!! This mascara makes my lashes long and has almost no clumping!! (The only clumps were very small, and I figured out if I actually looked at the applicator before using I could ensure there was not a clump on it, so that problem has been solved!). LOVE IT!!!

  13. Ali
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not impressed
    • I love and would recommend many of Paula's products, but not one. The mascara did not make my eyelashes look fuller, and the product flaked off in fairly large clumps. I have a lot of trouble with finding a mascara that works for me, unfortunately this one did not work either. Customer Care Response: We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you; you are welcome to check out Paula's suggestions at Beautypedia to see if you find a mascara that works better for you. In the meantime we will leave an in house credit for the product on your account which may be used on a future phone order and pass along your experience with the product to Paula. Please contact customer care with any questions, we are happy to help.

  14. Jenna
    Reviewed on Monday, September 10, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best Mascara Ever!!
    • I'm so glad I gave this mascara a try. A few years ago I bought a Paula's mascara and was not very impressed - especially considering that Paula herself claims to be a mascara junkie, like me! But I was out, and thought I'd give the new one a try to fill out my order for free shipping - and it is AWESOME! The PC team nailed it with this one. I have short, fine lashes and really need a great applicator wand. This is the best applicator wand I have EVER SEEN, it makes it super-easy to get even coverage from base to tip, without clumping. They look thicker, darker, and very natural. Love this mascara. Not going back to Revlon ever again!

  15. Emily M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 06, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Change the brush pretty please!
    • A Great Big Lashes brush would be nice or one with more bristles than that one but not too big and wallah The perfect mascara for all! The formulaa sounds to me like a 5+ star. Change the brush or maybe make one of the same formula with the different brush ad we'll all be fluttering happily! Amen;) Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will certainly pass along your comments and feedback about the brush to Paula! Please contact customer care with any questions.

  16. Laura
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for me..
    • I am new to Paul's Choice products and LOVE everthing that I have tried with the exception of this mascara. This mascara goes on VERY CLUMPY....serious tarantula lashes! Not sure how product passed QA. Customer Care Response: We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you, but you may consider checking Beautypedia for other mascara options. We have left the purchase price of this product on your account which you may use on a future phone order. We will note your experience and feedback with the product with our Product Development Manager. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  17. Karen
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 09, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Illicit Lash Mascara is worth buying
    • My last review stated I thought this mascara was better for lower lashes, but after using it and getting used to the wand I really like it for upper lashes also. It seemed sticky at first and the wand is small, but now I will definitely order this again. It gets better with use.

  18. Terri
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 03, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara
    • As much as I wanted to love this mascara, for some reason, it didn't love me. My eyes became red and irritated and I had to discontinue using this product. It's unfortunate because I really liked the consistency and how well this mascara went on. It also added so much length to my lashes that they were hitting up against the inside of my eye wear! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with these products. While this response is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. For that reason, we have located your account information and applied an in house credit for the products which may be used on a future phone order. We suggest checking out Paula's reviews on Beautypedia to see which mascara works better for you. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  19. Carol
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 27, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Disappointing
    • I stopped using Great Big Lashes because the last two times it had clumping problems, so I thought I'd try Illicit Lash. It's even worse. Huge globs of mascara on the brush. Don't buy it. Customer Care Response: We're sorry this wasn't a fit for you, but you may consider checking Beautypedia for other mascara options. We have left the purchase price of this product on your account which you may use on a future phone order. We will note your experience and feedback with the product with our Product Development Manager. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  20. Amber
    Reviewed on Monday, June 18, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Ok mascara
    • This is a good mascara, but it clumps a great deal on my upper lashes. It works great for my lower lashes, though. I like the feel of it once it's on and I've gotten rid of the clumps. I've tried cleaning the brush, but that hasn't gotten rid of the clumps. However, it feels light-weight when it's on, is silky, and doesn't dry out my lashes, so I will keep using it. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we will credit you for this product. If you would like, you may contact customer care to talk about the other Mascara we carry and see if that may work better for you. We do want you to use what works best for you which is why we have our Beautypedia.com site that offers other options as well. We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you further!

  21. Kari
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not so great
    • I find this mascara a little sticky and doesn't go on well, seems to stick lashes together. But on the Pro side I will continue to buy it because of it's thin bristle it really works well on lower lashes. So if you are looking for a mascara for lower lashes this is the one. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We will certainly pass along your comments to Paula and our Product Development Team. We are happy to credit you for this item however do not see an order for this in our system. Please contact our customer care team so we may further assist you.

  22. Nicole
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 09, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Not as good as others I've tried
    • I usually use Cover Girl's Lash Blast mascara and love it, but I wanted to try a different mascara after learning that Cover Girl tests their products on animals. I had high hopes for this mascara, as I am a devoted fan of Paula's skin care products. I found the brush too thin, which made applying the product awkward, and the bristles did not seperate my lashes at all. I found that the mascara itself tended to make my lashes stick together. Unfortunately, this mascara didn't have the maximum impact I was looking for. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her Product Development Manager. They do take customer feedback seriously. In the meantime we will credit you for this product. If you are interested in trying our Great Big Lashes Mascara please let us know, we would be happy to send one out to you as this may be a better option for you. Please contact customer care with any further questions or concerns. We are always happy to help!

  23. Danielle
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    EXCELLENT
    • I'm SUPER picky about mascara ... I have to admit. I have very short, very blond eye lashes that need even awful lot of help so I am constantly trying mascaras to help me get the job done right. I have SO many in my makeup bag that have been used once, I can even count. BUT ... this mascara, is INCREDIBLE. My lashes are super long, separated beautifully, last all day without smudging, and best of all - it is SUPER cheap. It is probably one of the least expensive mascara's I have ever bought. LOVE IT. I should have bought a few extra as gifts. Please don't discontinue this item - EVER. :-)

  24. Robin H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 26, 2012
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very Nice
    • This is a really nice mascara that applies and wears well. A lot of people are complaining about the liquidy feel, but in my opinion that's part of what makes this mascara good. You can't get glossy, smooth lashes with a thick, gunky formula. My only complaint is the brush. Eye contours are curved, so a long, straight brush is pointless and only gets in the way (i.e. you're more likely to bump yourself with the tip and get mascara on your skin or in your eyeball). I think that's part of why people still like Great Lash (Despite Paula's personal opinion, thousands of women and top makeup artists are not crazy for loving this old standard). The original Great Lash has an unusually short brush, so every section of lash can be meticulously groomed. Paula's mascara formula MIGHT be better, but it's hard to tell because of the inferior brush. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your comments! We will be sure to share your experience with the product to Paula and her Product Development Manager. Please contact customer care with any questions.

  25. Cheryl
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 24, 2012
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Love It But It Doesn't Love Me
    • I love all of Paula's products and just recently tried this mascara. Unfortunately, I find that it irritates my eye lids and my eyes. I'd like to try one of the other mascaras but I'm afraid that the formulation may be contain the same irritants. Bummer! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this product. While the response you have indicated is not typical, we do understand that each customer is uniquely different in how they will respond to products or ingredients. This along with everyday environmental factors can sometimes play a part in how someone will ultimately respond to a product or combination of products. We will credit you for this product and please contact customer care with any questions.

« Prev Page of 5 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Get ready for sexy, flutter-worthy lashes! Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara instantly defines, separates, and lengthens your lashes. Its specially designed rubber brush easily reaches every lash for perfect coverage, while dramatically emphasizing the base of your lashes. The lightweight formula contains plant-based conditioning agents that keep lashes soft with a subtle, fringed curl.

This mascara is 100% fragrance-free, and won't smudge, flake, or clump.

Who is this product for?
Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara is for anyone looking for long-wearing mascara that beautifully defines and dramatically lengthens lashes to create a natural, soft curl.

Product Ingredients:

Water, Acrylates Copolymer (film-forming agent), Stearic Acid (thickening agent), Talc (bulking agent), Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Glyceryl Stearate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax (thickeners), Hydrogenated Olive Oil (non-fragrant conditioning plant oil), Glycerin (slip agent), PVP (film-forming agent), Triethanolamine (emulsifier), Beeswax (natural wax thickener) Mineral Oil (conditioning agent), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (non-fragrant conditioning plant oil), Glyceryl Dibehenate (emollient), Synthetic Beeswax, Cetearyl Octanoate (thickeners), Propylene Glycol (wetting agent), Panthenol (conditioning agent), PEG-100 Stearate (thickener), Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone conditioning agents), Tribehenin (conditioning agent), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Unsaponifiables (plant-based conditioning agent), Glyceryl Behenate (emollient), Synthetic Wax, Paraffin (wax-based thickeners), Polyquaternium-10 (film-forming agent), DMDM Hydantoin, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives), Hydroxyethylcellulose (plant-based thickener), PEG-8 (thickener), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Ascorbyl Palmitate, Ascorbic Acid (vitamin C/antioxidants), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Dimethicone (silicone conditioning agent). May Contain: Iron Oxides (natural coloring agent).

DIRECTIONS: Stroke successive coats of mascara on the upper and lower lashes.

For the most dramatic lash look, make sure you place the wand as close to the base (roots) of the upper lashes as possible. Hold the wand there, and carefully wiggle it back and forth to deposit extra mascara at the base prior to brushing the wand through the lashes. Proceed with at least 3 full coats for maximum results. Don't let the mascara dry between coats.

Mascara is typically the last step in makeup application because you do not want any of your powder-based products to cling to wet lashes.

If you opt to use an eyelash curler, use it BEFORE applying mascara. Squeeze gently with even pressure, hold for a few seconds and release slowly as you move from the base of the lashes to the tip.

How is Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara different from Great Big Lashes Mascara?

Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara is designed to lengthen lashes while adding dramatic color, an uplifted curl, and fine separation. It goes on a bit wetter and does not supply as much thickness as Great Big Lashes. Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara is best for those who want a lengthening mascara that perfectly defines every last lash.

Is Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara waterproof?

No; however, like most regular mascaras, Illicit Lash Maximum Impact Mascara is water-resistant. That means a minor splash or getting caught in a light rain won't cause the mascara to break down. Getting drenched or going swimming will have that effect, so for those occasions, waterproof mascara is preferred. Paula recommends several waterproof mascaras in her books and on Beautypedia.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.344 10/23/2014 4:21:38 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.