Items you may also like

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

The best foundation you never see. This light and silky tint evens out your complexion with a hint of color while keeping out the sun’s rays.
Item #: 912
  • Rosacea
  • For All Skin Types
  • Protects from the #1 cause of brown spots and signs of aging

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 257 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 11 Next »
  1. Paula S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Paula
    • I love this stuff-blends beautifully and looks natural! You don't feel like you're wearing anything with sunscreen in it. I like to layer it for extra coverage. I normally use level 1, but thought it was a bit light, so decided to get level 2. Problem is, you've been out of stock of BOTH for AGES! Argh! I ordered level 3 to blend with my remaining level 1. Seemed to work well, but now my level 1 has run out and I am left with level 3 which is too dark. Can't wait to get my hands on MORE!!!

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Oxidation Station
    • I'd try going a shade down. Samples were out of stock when I ordered, so I went ahead and tried the full size of 4. Straight out of the tube, I thought I could hack it fine, by blending down to neck, etc.---wrong! Halfway through my workday I saw my reflection in the bathroom, and I was so embarrassed- I looked like an Oompa Loompah! I think my oily skin paired with a warm day triggered some sort of oxidation, and I haven't been able to wear it confidently since.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, April 08, 2014

    Hi there! Be sure to contact our Customer Care Team for assistance with a refund or exchange.  We're sorry the Barely There SPF 30 wasn't a fit for you!

    —Admin
  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Love This Despite the Stocking Issue
    • I love this product. It has just the right combination of sheer coverage and moisturizer. Not too oily and not too drying. I have rosacea and am sensitive to almost all products, but not this one. The stocking issue is very frustrating. It is often out of sock and take a long time to come back in stock. PLEASE work on rectifying this problem.

  4. Renee D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE this....IF I could only re-order it....
    • I can't tell you how much I love the sheer coverage of the Barely There Tint. It is the best tinted moisturizer I've used. I have skin that tends to be oily-combo, and it works great with my skin. It IS terribly frustrating that it continues to be out of stock every 4-6 months though. I've had to go to one of PC's foundations in the interim and mix with moisturizer for a sheerer look. PLEASE keep in stock!

  5. KANDA H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best, Best, Best!!
    • I can't say enough about how great this product is. I love it. It has replaced my normal moisturizer in the morning unless I am feeling a bit dry then I layer it over some moisturizer. The coverage is perfect for the natural, polished look I like. The colors have been slightly reformulated and now Level 1 is the PERFECT shade for my very fair, rosy skin. It looks lovely all day, doesn't make my skin oily or shiny and comes off easily at night. Great work Paula!

  6. THOMAS W.
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best fit
    • 1) I use medium/tan, usually mixed with resist super-light sunscreen for a very natural, smooth finish look 2) Love the texture of this tinted moisturizer, which gives me enough blending time 3) mix with my MAC select cover concealer to bonus with SPF! (this MAC concealer is somewhat fast-drying, by adding this tinited moisturizer, this can pro-long the blending time under my eyes! perfect combination

  7. Barely There Fan in Upstate NY
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    ABSOLUTELY THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER!!!!!!!!!
    • Paula, THANK YOU for creating what I consider the BEST foundation I have ever used. PLEASE NEVER DISCONTINUE this product. I have spent years searching for a foundation that is natural looking, completely blends into my own skin AND offers a 100% mineral sunscreen for sun protection. (I cannot use any chemical sunscreen around my eyes - yours is completely comfortable around my eyes)! I also use enough all over my face to have complete sun protection and yet my skin looks natural and healthy!

  8. Wahoonito Z.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not Matte
    • I do not dislike this. Pro: (i) It matches your skin and looks natural. (ii) Dewy finish. Con: (i) If you are with oily skin, or combination skin who are looking for truly matte finish product, be aware that this is not. It has satin to natural finish, not matte. Using PC shine control ex-ante and setting it with a press powder ex-post will help it looks matte for about 4 hours at most. The rating is low only due to the misleading claim but not due to the performance.

  9. Maya E.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 08, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Super smooth and nice on the skin!
    • I absolutely love this tint. I wish it had more antioxidants and vitamins because I really want to use this is as moisturizer. The formula is very smooth and it's very easy to put on. Feels light and comfortable on my skin. No wonder it's out of stock. Please restock the samples as I got one that was available but it was too dark (will buy it for the summer though).

  10. Kristen F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Wonderful formula -- would love paler shades!
    • The formula for this is fantastic. It blends without a trace and feels like nothing on the skin. It also doesn't leave my normal to dry skin looking greasy like some lighter coverage tints can. However, level 1 is a wee bit dark for my skin. If this came in a level 0 shade, it'd be holy grail status for me. In short, fabulous product, but I wish it came in a lighter shade!

  11. Karen O.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Almost!
    • At first I loved this product! I got the lightest shade: goes on very sheer with yellow undertones. Very lightweight, not greasy. Provides very little coverage. Fast forward to last week: I glanced in the mirror and the product had oxidized horribly - the line around my jaw and hairline was pink. Could be a reaction with the benzoyl peroxide I use, but regardless I'm disappointed.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, March 04, 2014

    Hi Karen! We're sorry your experience didn't reflect those of others with the Barely There SPF 30; how unfortunate! Be sure to contact our Customer Care Department for assistance with a refund or exchange.

    —Admin
  12. TERA F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 02, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Terrible for My Oily Skin
    • I don't like to wear a lot of makeup every day, so I was on the hunt for a tinted moisturizer with SPF I could just wear instead of foundation with powder. While the coloring blended well, it made my skin very shiny after a few hours, no matter how much powder I applied on top of it. Bummer! What's an oily-skinned girl in search of a daily SPF to do?

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, March 03, 2014

    Hi Tera! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're sorry the Barely There SPF 30 wasn't what you were looking for.  We would recommend trying our RESIST Super-Light Daily Defense SPF 30, which is ultra-matte and perfect for oily skin types. While it's not a tinted moisturizer per se, it does offer a slight tint to neutralize the white cast of mineral sunscreens while giving your skin a "you but better" look. Contact our Customer Care for assistance with a refund or credit, as well as samples to try!

    —Admin
  13. Dany06
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Pretty Good Product
    • I like the sample I purchased of this product in level 4. It gives me a more even complexion while providing sun protection. What I like most is that is looks natural. It doesnt look like Im wearing any type of makeup but gives me better skin. If it came in one or two shades darker, I could use this product year round. Once summer hits, I have to say bye bye because I tan very easily and get pretty dark even with regular use of sunscreen/sunblock.

  14. April
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love This....But wish it was in stock more!!
    • I absolutely love this product! I brush a loose powder over it and my skin looks flawless. The only thing I don't like it Level 2 is out of stock every time I go to buy it. I don't want to stock up because I like fresh product but can you please keep it in stock more? It's too good of a product to run out of!!

  15. Janine
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Needs a lighter shade
    • Would buy this constantly if it came in a true porcelain shade as other than the fact that Level 1 is still too dark for my fair skin, it was perfect in every other way. Please consider making a lighter shade such as the Level 0 in your Resist foundation.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 07, 2014

    Hi there! Thank you for the feedback, and will certainly share it with our team.

    —Admin
  16. Kim W
    Reviewed on Monday, January 20, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    love it, but please make a lighter shade!
    • I would give this product 5 stars if it came in a lighter shade! I love the finish, natural and dewy, but the fair shade is not a good match for my pale skin (Resist Anti-Aging Foundation level 0 porcelain is my perfect match). Otherwise, I adore the product. PLEASE Paula, make a lighter shade for us fair girls!!! :)

  17. De B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product!
    • Wow! This is a great product! Coverage is sheer but feels so good and looks natural. I have never tried a BB but this must be what it is all about. I love that it has high spf that is titanium and zinc oxide NOT avobenzone. The tint takes care of the whiteish cast I usually get with high spf that contains those two sun screens. Thank you for formulating such a superb product!

  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, December 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best One On The Market
    • This is, without a doubt, the best physical tinted sunscreen on the market currently (and I have tried them ALL - from the well-known to the obscure). The tint is sheer, spf adequate, finish not too thick and obvious, an absolute winner!! Please do not ever discontinue it - a truly outstanding product!!!

  19. Corrie
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    NEED BIGGER SIZE !!
    • This is a lovely product but the tube is so tiny that it runs out in weeks if I apply liberally, as Paula always advocates. So why then this tiny tube ??? I tried the RESIST Super Light Daily Wrinkle Defense and love that product (comes in 60ml) but the colour (there is only one) is too pink for me. Hence back to Barely There. I used to have the "Sheer Ivory" colour but now it comes in Levels and I have no idea what Level is the equivalent to the old "Sheer Ivory" colour. Is it Level 1 or 2 ??

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, December 04, 2013

    Sheer Ivory is now Level 2. You can find this info in the FAQs tab on this product's page. As for the size, as this is a makeup product, it's a fairly standard size for this type of product. If you're going to apply this liberally, you'd be better off applying a regular SPF product first, then applying Barely There for extra sun protectoin. However, even with only applying Barely There for sun protection, a tube should last you at least a couple of months. If it's lasting less time than that, most likely you're applying too much product.

    —Admin
  20. L McC
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Favorite for Foundation
    • I love this! On its own, it doesn't cover well enough for me, BUT, layered over RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25, it gives me enough coverage, with a glow. I'm always getting compliments on my SKIN. Who gets compliments on their skin?? I was going through it really fast when I applied with a makeup sponge, but a makeup artist told me to use a stippling brush, which requires a lot less product per application, and gives great coverage. I get a lot more applications/tube now.

  21. A M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great, Versatile, Well-Rounded Product -- PLEASE MAKE IT BIGGER!!!
    • Comfortable, gentle, protective, and wearable. I wear it alone, or mix with Hydralight SPF 30 for sheerer look. Finish is dewy, very pretty, on slightly oily/combination skin. I have no sensitivities to it. Please offer a 2 oz container to prevent excess plastic packaging waste. Yes, I'll keep asking.

  22. Karin
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Rather a BB cream
    • If I were looking for a BB Cream, this would be it. Coverage is very light, a little too light for my liking. However, I have combo skin and Barely There doesn't clogg my pores and my face doesn't shine for hours.

  23. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Yipee, the wait is over!
    • So glad this is back in stock...I purchased two different brands in the mean time and both were a waste of money. Thanks for the notification!

  24. CH
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • Right now, I'm using the little jar sample of Barely There Level 1 fair to light and my skin is fair but with warm undertones. I love the way the foundation spreads. Now all I need to know is the right colour because I don't understand fair/light or light to medium. Also have barely there sheer matte for all skin types. Does that include rosacea as well?? Is there an expiry date to either the 30ml/1 fl.oz or the jar?

  25. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A shade lighter please!
    • I would use this product forever if it came one shade lighter! Please keep us very fair girls in mind when choosing colours - a 0 level would be perfect!

« Prev Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 is an unbelievably light and silky tinted moisturizer that blends effortlessly to even out your complexion while allowing your natural skin tone to show through. You'll get a smooth, satin-matte finish with sheer coverage and a hint of color to enliven skin. All this, plus broad-spectrum sun protection via pure titanium dioxide and zinc oxide make it the perfect beginning to your makeup application!

This product is 100% fragrance-free.

Who is this product for?
Barely There Sheer Matte Tint is recommended for all skin types and may be used by those with rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 136–149; Pharmazie, January 2008, pages 58–60; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; The Lancet, August 2007, pages 528–537; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2005, pages 253–262; http://www.aad.org/public/publications/pamphlets/common_melasma.html; and http://www.emedicine.com/DERM/topic260.htm.

Key Ingredients: sodium hyaluronate, titanium dioxide, vitamin C, vitamin E, zinc oxide

Product Ingredients:

Active: Titanium Dioxide 5%; Zinc Oxide 5% (mineral-based sunscreens); Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Propylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PEG/PPG-18/18-Dimethicone (silicone-based emulsifier), Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate (thickener), Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone slip agents), Talc (absorbent), Phytantriol (water-binding agent), Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (antioxidants vitamin E and C), Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Aluminum Hydroxide, Stearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (slip agent), Boron Nitride (absorbent), Sodium Dehydroacetate (preservative), Palmitic Acid (thickener), Dextrin Palmitate (emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives). May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide (pigments).

DIRECTIONS: Apply after using your usual skin-care routine. You can use this tinted moisturizer with sunscreen over your daytime moisturizer whether it also contains sunscreen or not. It is fine to layer sunscreens. Apply with a makeup sponge, foundation brush, or clean fingertips. Dab the tint over the central part of the face, and blend downward using short, smooth strokes. Layer as needed to build desired coverage and then smooth out any excess product. If desired, follow with a pressed powder.

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 can be layered for additional color and a bit more coverage. Since this is a tint, the level of coverage increases only subtly as you add layers (not substantially as it would with a foundation).

Since the shades are sheer, it is not critical to get an exact match. If you are in-between two shades, we recommend going with the shade that is slightly darker (instead of lighter) than your skin tone. This will add a touch of translucent color to your face, though you will want to make sure the shade matches your neck/jawline as closely as possible (samples of each shade are available).

Do I need to use a separate moisturizer with Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30?

Unless you have dry skin or dry areas, Barely There Sheer Matte Tint can be used comfortably on its own. It is designed for all skin types, but someone with dry to very dry skin may prefer to apply a moisturizer first for additional hydration. Those with normal to oily skin will likely appreciate the light feel and natural matte finish Barely There Sheer Matte Tint provides, though for this skin type a lightweight moisturizer can be applied to dry areas if needed.

Is Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 closer to a tinted moisturizer or a foundation?

It is closer to a tinted moisturizer, but offers more coverage than most tinted moisturizers do. It does not provide coverage on par with liquid foundations, including All Bases Covered Foundation SPF 15 for normal to dry skin) and Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 15 (normal to oily/combination skin).

Is Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 safe for breakout-prone skin?

It is a good choice due to the fact that it isn't heavy, thick or greasy. However, we cannot guarantee it won't cause or worsen blemishes. For some people, this product's active ingredients (the mineral sunscreens titanium dioxide and zinc oxide) can cause clogged pores. The only way to know if any product will cause or worsen breakouts is to try it and see how your skin responds.

How come this foundation's SPF rating increased from SPF 20 to SPF 30? Did the formula change?

Rest assured the formula has not changed. What happened is that we retested Barely There Sheer Matte Tint to comply with the latest FDA regulations. We were thrilled to find out that not only does this sunscreen meet the FDA's new broad-spectrum protection standards, but also that its mineral-based SPF rating is higher than previous testing revealed. It's the same sheer foundation you've been enjoying—only now you're getting a greater amount of critical sun protection!

Help! I'm confused by the new shade names. How do I know which shade to buy now?

Our goal with switching from shade names to shade levels (intensities) was used to make the process easier, but we recognize that fans of this product may be confused as to which level matches their ideal shade. Here's how it breaks down:

Used to use Sheer Fair? The new shade name is Level 1.

Used to use Sheer Ivory? The new shade name is Level 2.

Used to use Sheer Neutral? The new shade name is Level 3.

Used to use Sheer Beige? The new shade name is Level 4.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.