Items you may also like

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

The best foundation you never see. This light and silky tint evens out your complexion with a hint of color while keeping out the sun’s rays.
Item #: 912
  • Rosacea
  • For All Skin Types
  • Sheer coverage
  • Protects from the #1 cause of brown spots and signs of aging

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 269 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 11 Next »
  1. April
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Love This....But wish it was in stock more!!
    • I absolutely love this product! I brush a loose powder over it and my skin looks flawless. The only thing I don't like it Level 2 is out of stock every time I go to buy it. I don't want to stock up because I like fresh product but can you please keep it in stock more? It's too good of a product to run out of!!

  2. Janine
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Needs a lighter shade
    • Would buy this constantly if it came in a true porcelain shade as other than the fact that Level 1 is still too dark for my fair skin, it was perfect in every other way. Please consider making a lighter shade such as the Level 0 in your Resist foundation.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, February 07, 2014

    Hi there! Thank you for the feedback, and will certainly share it with our team.

    —Admin
  3. Kim W
    Reviewed on Monday, January 20, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    love it, but please make a lighter shade!
    • I would give this product 5 stars if it came in a lighter shade! I love the finish, natural and dewy, but the fair shade is not a good match for my pale skin (Resist Anti-Aging Foundation level 0 porcelain is my perfect match). Otherwise, I adore the product. PLEASE Paula, make a lighter shade for us fair girls!!! :)

  4. De B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great product!
    • Wow! This is a great product! Coverage is sheer but feels so good and looks natural. I have never tried a BB but this must be what it is all about. I love that it has high spf that is titanium and zinc oxide NOT avobenzone. The tint takes care of the whiteish cast I usually get with high spf that contains those two sun screens. Thank you for formulating such a superb product!

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, December 13, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Best One On The Market
    • This is, without a doubt, the best physical tinted sunscreen on the market currently (and I have tried them ALL - from the well-known to the obscure). The tint is sheer, spf adequate, finish not too thick and obvious, an absolute winner!! Please do not ever discontinue it - a truly outstanding product!!!

  6. Corrie
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    NEED BIGGER SIZE !!
    • This is a lovely product but the tube is so tiny that it runs out in weeks if I apply liberally, as Paula always advocates. So why then this tiny tube ??? I tried the RESIST Super Light Daily Wrinkle Defense and love that product (comes in 60ml) but the colour (there is only one) is too pink for me. Hence back to Barely There. I used to have the "Sheer Ivory" colour but now it comes in Levels and I have no idea what Level is the equivalent to the old "Sheer Ivory" colour. Is it Level 1 or 2 ??

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, December 04, 2013

    Sheer Ivory is now Level 2. You can find this info in the FAQs tab on this product's page. As for the size, as this is a makeup product, it's a fairly standard size for this type of product. If you're going to apply this liberally, you'd be better off applying a regular SPF product first, then applying Barely There for extra sun protectoin. However, even with only applying Barely There for sun protection, a tube should last you at least a couple of months. If it's lasting less time than that, most likely you're applying too much product.

    —Admin
  7. L McC
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Favorite for Foundation
    • I love this! On its own, it doesn't cover well enough for me, BUT, layered over RESIST Cellular Defense Daily Moisturizer SPF 25, it gives me enough coverage, with a glow. I'm always getting compliments on my SKIN. Who gets compliments on their skin?? I was going through it really fast when I applied with a makeup sponge, but a makeup artist told me to use a stippling brush, which requires a lot less product per application, and gives great coverage. I get a lot more applications/tube now.

  8. A M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great, Versatile, Well-Rounded Product -- PLEASE MAKE IT BIGGER!!!
    • Comfortable, gentle, protective, and wearable. I wear it alone, or mix with Hydralight SPF 30 for sheerer look. Finish is dewy, very pretty, on slightly oily/combination skin. I have no sensitivities to it. Please offer a 2 oz container to prevent excess plastic packaging waste. Yes, I'll keep asking.

  9. Karin
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Rather a BB cream
    • If I were looking for a BB Cream, this would be it. Coverage is very light, a little too light for my liking. However, I have combo skin and Barely There doesn't clogg my pores and my face doesn't shine for hours.

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Yipee, the wait is over!
    • So glad this is back in stock...I purchased two different brands in the mean time and both were a waste of money. Thanks for the notification!

  11. CH
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • Right now, I'm using the little jar sample of Barely There Level 1 fair to light and my skin is fair but with warm undertones. I love the way the foundation spreads. Now all I need to know is the right colour because I don't understand fair/light or light to medium. Also have barely there sheer matte for all skin types. Does that include rosacea as well?? Is there an expiry date to either the 30ml/1 fl.oz or the jar?

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A shade lighter please!
    • I would use this product forever if it came one shade lighter! Please keep us very fair girls in mind when choosing colours - a 0 level would be perfect!

  13. Carla Lantz
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Barely There is barely there!
    • This is the best. I do not want to use another, but when will it be in stock??

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, October 23, 2013

    Thanks for your review! All shades of Barely There Sheer Matte Tint should be back in stock by late October/early November 2013! We apologize for the extended delay.

    —Admin
  14. Heather, A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE!
    • I love using just a small amount of this on my cheeks to tone down my redness; lasts all day and my sensitive skin has no reaction! Also looks compeletly natural. Another win for PC!

  15. Kris
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fabulous....But Unavailable for Soooo Long!!
    • Five stars for the product but one star for the lack of product availabilty! I received a sample of this product and fell in love with it but I have waited months for it to be back in stock. Please hurry and get more in stock!!

  16. Beebee
    Reviewed on Friday, October 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    almost a dream
    • This is a great tinted moisturizer- it feels wonderful and isn't detectable on the skin while providing nice even coverage. But I'm begging you to make one shade lighter! That would be a dream come true. I have truly fair skin and the level 1 is too beige for us vampires. A Level 0 (like the Resist foundation) would be so much appreciated. I would use it for the rest of my life.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    BARELY THERE
    • This product is excellent for my 62-year old, combination skin; it blends beautifully and gives a soft, dewy, natural look. I have some age (sun) spots, blackheads on nose and whiteheads on forehead. This does not break me out and wears comfortably. I've used medium to heavy coverage in my younger years due to skin imperfections but now that I'm older this tinted moisturizer is much more becoming and never appears "made up". Just a little powder needed for T-zone. Need larger size.

  18. M. Fey
    Reviewed on Friday, October 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Please Bring It Back!!!!
    • I've used a lot of sunscreens, and for me this is the best. I love the level 3 but am almost out!!! I also have 4 that I blend with some 3 for a little darker look. I was thinking of buying some level 2 to blend with the 4 to approximate the 3, but now that's out!!! This product gives my skin a smooth, beautiful glow. I don't go out in the sun much, so it also lasts all day. It looks great on my skin at the end of the day, too. I have fairly olive skin.

  19. ANONYMOUS
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    BARELY THERE!
    • I am a fan of foundations that apply sheer to medium and this is just wonderful. Over my Skin Balancing SPF 30+ this is wonderful and by itself just over my toner it applies wonderfully. You get it?! It's wonderful, very happy with this product the shade 2 works best for me. Compact and travel friendly, I LOVE IT.

  20. Christina S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    A bit greasy
    • I love Paula's products, but I was disappointed in this one. I ordered the ivory and it matched my skin tone well, but it made my skin feel oily. I already have oily skin so perhaps this is better for those with drier skin.

  21. Maggie L.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 30, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Could be perfect
    • I would love this except that level 1 is too light for me and level 2 is too yellow. It's great that such a light shade is available for those who need it, but I hope Paula's Choice adds additional shades or reformulates the level 2. I am pale and I usually use the lightest shade available in other brands. Otherwise, this is an awesome product and it really does give me a satin matte finish. I have combination skin and I haven't found another tinted product that has such a matte finish.

  22. LISA G.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Elegant SPF
    • Super product for my needs. Physical SPF, tinted so no white cast, realistic shade (#4 for NC30/35). I've been going around in circles looking for elegant sun protection and this is it. Sheer enough to layer under foundation, pigmented enough to even things out a bit with a little powder on top. Won't be without it!

  23. Sharon C
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect!
    • I am about to order a full-sized tube of this product (Level 1). I've used up my sample and I'm completely hooked. As others have said, the coverage is light, but I'm a no- or minimal-makeup woman so that's exactly what I was after. Best of all, this stuff feels light and natural on my face--I forget it's there, which is awesome. I like this better than any other tinted moisturizer or BB cream I've tried--including some that are 2X-3X the price.

  24. JENNIFER W.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 19, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for my skin
    • I liked the color of this foundation, but it made me so oily! It didn't have a matte finish and I was disappointed that it melted away after an hour or so. I've tried other PC foundations and they are either too sheer or make my skin too oily.

  25. Carol F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    New daily staple
    • I really like this tinted moisturizer! I was surprised that it was more pigmented than I was expecting (about the same as my newly-retired foundation) - but I'm not going to complain about that! I like that it covers uneven skin tone and protects from sun damage, and leaves my skin feeling soft and moisturized. It's not as matte as "super light daily defense", but I dust on some powder to keep it in place and I'm on my way!

« Prev Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 is an unbelievably light and silky tinted moisturizer that blends effortlessly to even out your complexion while allowing your natural skin tone to show through. You'll get a smooth, satin-matte finish with sheer coverage and a hint of color to enliven skin. All this, plus broad-spectrum sun protection via pure titanium dioxide and zinc oxide make it the perfect beginning to your makeup application!

This product is 100% fragrance-free.

Who is this product for?
Barely There Sheer Matte Tint is recommended for all skin types and may be used by those with rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 136–149; Pharmazie, January 2008, pages 58–60; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; The Lancet, August 2007, pages 528–537; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2005, pages 253–262; http://www.aad.org/public/publications/pamphlets/common_melasma.html; and http://www.emedicine.com/DERM/topic260.htm.

Key Ingredients: sodium hyaluronate, titanium dioxide, vitamin C, vitamin E, zinc oxide

Product Ingredients:

Active: Titanium Dioxide 5%; Zinc Oxide 5% (mineral-based sunscreens); Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Propylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PEG/PPG-18/18-Dimethicone (silicone-based emulsifier), Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate (thickener), Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone slip agents), Talc (absorbent), Phytantriol (water-binding agent), Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (antioxidants vitamin E and C), Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Aluminum Hydroxide, Stearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (slip agent), Boron Nitride (absorbent), Sodium Dehydroacetate (preservative), Palmitic Acid (thickener), Dextrin Palmitate (emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives). May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide (pigments).

DIRECTIONS: Apply after using your usual skin-care routine. You can use this tinted moisturizer with sunscreen over your daytime moisturizer whether it also contains sunscreen or not. It is fine to layer sunscreens. Apply with a makeup sponge, foundation brush, or clean fingertips. Dab the tint over the central part of the face, and blend downward using short, smooth strokes. Layer as needed to build desired coverage and then smooth out any excess product. If desired, follow with a pressed powder.

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 can be layered for additional color and a bit more coverage. Since this is a tint, the level of coverage increases only subtly as you add layers (not substantially as it would with a foundation).

Since the shades are sheer, it is not critical to get an exact match. If you are in-between two shades, we recommend going with the shade that is slightly darker (instead of lighter) than your skin tone. This will add a touch of translucent color to your face, though you will want to make sure the shade matches your neck/jawline as closely as possible (samples of each shade are available).

Do I need to use a separate moisturizer with Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30?

Unless you have dry skin or dry areas, Barely There Sheer Matte Tint can be used comfortably on its own. It is designed for all skin types, but someone with dry to very dry skin may prefer to apply a moisturizer first for additional hydration. Those with normal to oily skin will likely appreciate the light feel and natural matte finish Barely There Sheer Matte Tint provides, though for this skin type a lightweight moisturizer can be applied to dry areas if needed.

Is Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 closer to a tinted moisturizer or a foundation?

It is closer to a tinted moisturizer, but offers more coverage than most tinted moisturizers do. It does not provide coverage on par with liquid foundations, including All Bases Covered Foundation SPF 25 for normal to dry skin) and Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25 (normal to oily/combination skin).

Is Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 safe for breakout-prone skin?

It is a good choice due to the fact that it isn't heavy, thick or greasy. However, we cannot guarantee it won't cause or worsen blemishes. For some people, this product's active ingredients (the mineral sunscreens titanium dioxide and zinc oxide) can cause clogged pores. The only way to know if any product will cause or worsen breakouts is to try it and see how your skin responds.

How come this foundation's SPF rating increased from SPF 20 to SPF 30? Did the formula change?

Rest assured the formula has not changed. What happened is that we retested Barely There Sheer Matte Tint to comply with the latest FDA regulations. We were thrilled to find out that not only does this sunscreen meet the FDA's new broad-spectrum protection standards, but also that its mineral-based SPF rating is higher than previous testing revealed. It's the same sheer foundation you've been enjoying—only now you're getting a greater amount of critical sun protection!

Help! I'm confused by the new shade names. How do I know which shade to buy now?

Our goal with switching from shade names to shade levels (intensities) was used to make the process easier, but we recognize that fans of this product may be confused as to which level matches their ideal shade. Here's how it breaks down:

Used to use Sheer Fair? The new shade name is Level 1.

Used to use Sheer Ivory? The new shade name is Level 2.

Used to use Sheer Neutral? The new shade name is Level 3.

Used to use Sheer Beige? The new shade name is Level 4.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.348 10/31/2014 9:25:23 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.