Items you may also like

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

The best foundation you never see. This light and silky tint evens out your complexion with a hint of color while keeping out the sun’s rays.
Item #: 912
  • Rosacea
  • For All Skin Types
  • Sheer coverage
  • Protects from the #1 cause of brown spots and signs of aging

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

89 out of 100
(Based on 260 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 11 Next »
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Yipee, the wait is over!
    • So glad this is back in stock...I purchased two different brands in the mean time and both were a waste of money. Thanks for the notification!

  2. CH
    Reviewed on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Excellent
    • Right now, I'm using the little jar sample of Barely There Level 1 fair to light and my skin is fair but with warm undertones. I love the way the foundation spreads. Now all I need to know is the right colour because I don't understand fair/light or light to medium. Also have barely there sheer matte for all skin types. Does that include rosacea as well?? Is there an expiry date to either the 30ml/1 fl.oz or the jar?

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    A shade lighter please!
    • I would use this product forever if it came one shade lighter! Please keep us very fair girls in mind when choosing colours - a 0 level would be perfect!

  4. Carla Lantz
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Barely There is barely there!
    • This is the best. I do not want to use another, but when will it be in stock??

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, October 23, 2013

    Thanks for your review! All shades of Barely There Sheer Matte Tint should be back in stock by late October/early November 2013! We apologize for the extended delay.

    —Admin
  5. Heather, A.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE!
    • I love using just a small amount of this on my cheeks to tone down my redness; lasts all day and my sensitive skin has no reaction! Also looks compeletly natural. Another win for PC!

  6. Kris
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 20, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fabulous....But Unavailable for Soooo Long!!
    • Five stars for the product but one star for the lack of product availabilty! I received a sample of this product and fell in love with it but I have waited months for it to be back in stock. Please hurry and get more in stock!!

  7. Beebee
    Reviewed on Friday, October 11, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    almost a dream
    • This is a great tinted moisturizer- it feels wonderful and isn't detectable on the skin while providing nice even coverage. But I'm begging you to make one shade lighter! That would be a dream come true. I have truly fair skin and the level 1 is too beige for us vampires. A Level 0 (like the Resist foundation) would be so much appreciated. I would use it for the rest of my life.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    BARELY THERE
    • This product is excellent for my 62-year old, combination skin; it blends beautifully and gives a soft, dewy, natural look. I have some age (sun) spots, blackheads on nose and whiteheads on forehead. This does not break me out and wears comfortably. I've used medium to heavy coverage in my younger years due to skin imperfections but now that I'm older this tinted moisturizer is much more becoming and never appears "made up". Just a little powder needed for T-zone. Need larger size.

  9. M. Fey
    Reviewed on Friday, October 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Please Bring It Back!!!!
    • I've used a lot of sunscreens, and for me this is the best. I love the level 3 but am almost out!!! I also have 4 that I blend with some 3 for a little darker look. I was thinking of buying some level 2 to blend with the 4 to approximate the 3, but now that's out!!! This product gives my skin a smooth, beautiful glow. I don't go out in the sun much, so it also lasts all day. It looks great on my skin at the end of the day, too. I have fairly olive skin.

  10. ANONYMOUS
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    BARELY THERE!
    • I am a fan of foundations that apply sheer to medium and this is just wonderful. Over my Skin Balancing SPF 30+ this is wonderful and by itself just over my toner it applies wonderfully. You get it?! It's wonderful, very happy with this product the shade 2 works best for me. Compact and travel friendly, I LOVE IT.

  11. Christina S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    A bit greasy
    • I love Paula's products, but I was disappointed in this one. I ordered the ivory and it matched my skin tone well, but it made my skin feel oily. I already have oily skin so perhaps this is better for those with drier skin.

  12. Maggie L.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 30, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Could be perfect
    • I would love this except that level 1 is too light for me and level 2 is too yellow. It's great that such a light shade is available for those who need it, but I hope Paula's Choice adds additional shades or reformulates the level 2. I am pale and I usually use the lightest shade available in other brands. Otherwise, this is an awesome product and it really does give me a satin matte finish. I have combination skin and I haven't found another tinted product that has such a matte finish.

  13. LISA G.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Elegant SPF
    • Super product for my needs. Physical SPF, tinted so no white cast, realistic shade (#4 for NC30/35). I've been going around in circles looking for elegant sun protection and this is it. Sheer enough to layer under foundation, pigmented enough to even things out a bit with a little powder on top. Won't be without it!

  14. Sharon C
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect!
    • I am about to order a full-sized tube of this product (Level 1). I've used up my sample and I'm completely hooked. As others have said, the coverage is light, but I'm a no- or minimal-makeup woman so that's exactly what I was after. Best of all, this stuff feels light and natural on my face--I forget it's there, which is awesome. I like this better than any other tinted moisturizer or BB cream I've tried--including some that are 2X-3X the price.

  15. JENNIFER W.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 19, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not for my skin
    • I liked the color of this foundation, but it made me so oily! It didn't have a matte finish and I was disappointed that it melted away after an hour or so. I've tried other PC foundations and they are either too sheer or make my skin too oily.

  16. Carol F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    New daily staple
    • I really like this tinted moisturizer! I was surprised that it was more pigmented than I was expecting (about the same as my newly-retired foundation) - but I'm not going to complain about that! I like that it covers uneven skin tone and protects from sun damage, and leaves my skin feeling soft and moisturized. It's not as matte as "super light daily defense", but I dust on some powder to keep it in place and I'm on my way!

  17. Cristina Z. (Montreal)
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect
    • This foundation is the best I've tried and it is only me who knows I have foundation on my face, I mean the skin looks naturally, no foundation shine/marks/dryness or strange color. I was panicked about my skin care routine, because there were so many ingredients, and I didn't know which are the good ones, I have to be a chemist to know, I am an accountant and I was almost desperate because I didn't know based on what do I choose? I am 29 and just discovered Paula's Choice-it is the best!

  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 14, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Better than Clinique
    • In the past I used to use Clinique City Block sunscreen and loved it due to the fact that it's tinted (Paula also recommends this product on Beautypedia). However since I discovered Barely There I started loving it more than my Clinique. It's lightweight and doesn't feel sticky and feel like my pores can breathe, whereas the Clinique one didn't provide these benefits. To deal with my combination skin I use Shine Stopper on my oily areas and my dry areas feel comfortable when using this product.

  19. haley w.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 09, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Try Samples First
    • Texture is really nice, relatively matt, extremely sheer. I started with two of the samples and have found that the colour (2 & 3) has a slightly yellowish cast, which doesn't really work for my peach undertones. I have combination, acne prone & really sensitive skin, and am please that it DID NOT give me acne, but it did start to itch after a few uses (an early sign of sensitivity). If it works for your skin you'll probably love it, but I'm glad I took a test drive first.

  20. Sarah
    Reviewed on Monday, August 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    really nice
    • I purchased a sample of this and I really like it. I am very fair (if I used MAC, which I don't, I'd probably be NC 10 or 15) and level 1 fair/light is a great match for me. I don't notice any oxidation at all throughout the day. This is definitely sheer coverage/light tinted moisturizer stuff, evens out your skintone, but you may still need to spot-conceal problem areas. I have not broken out with this either. Definitely picking up the full size!

  21. Y.K.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 01, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    It oxides?
    • I like this product has antioxidants, creamy but easy to blend, and have mineral sunscreen. It also offers sufficient moisturization for my oily skin. The coverage is very low. But it oxides and turns dull.

  22. Kathleen K
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Truly sheer coverage
    • Level 2 Light/Medium is a good match for my fair, but slightly tanned summer skin. The coverage is very sheer -- it evens skin tone and helps balance redness, but does not cover age/pigment spots. The texture is quite light and combination skin tolerates it well without breakouts. Goes on with a smooth matte finish, but the matte does become dewy over the course of the day. Looks very natural. Lovely, everyday sunscreen -- I just wish it came in a bigger tube!

  23. Jessica S.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Delivers on all claims!
    • I have oily skin and dislike heavy liquid foundations, so this is great for me! I've been using it for about 3 weeks, and I couldn't be happier. It adds sheer coverage, and I love that it's SPF 30. The Level 2 color is perfect for my skin tone. I can wear this for at least my 8-hour work day without my skin becoming overly oily and shiny. I've noticed that seems to get deeper in color about 5-10 min after application, which I like, because it covers imperfections. I'll be reordering!

  24. Victoria C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 29, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Nice, but not for me
    • I gave this 4 stars because it gives a nice smooth, matte finish and it is a great price, but I breakout when I use this. I have light-medium skin and the level 3 was a good color choice. I'd say this was a similar texture to the Laura Mercier oil-free tinted moisturizer. I will stick with the Too Faced BB cream, in Vanilla Glow(they are similar in color). It doesn't make me breakout. I think your page should include descriptive indicators like light, medium etc with the level.

  25. Tara S.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Fairest shade is excellent, great for sheer coverage
    • I have very fair skin with some redness on chin and a little on cheeks. The color matched incredibly well...not white-ish and not pink or peach. It is a sheer coverage, like a BB cream. I have to use a powder afterwards to touch up spots that need more coverage- but I found as I get older less coverage around fine lines is better. If you are looking for more coverage than a BB cream this is not for you. Smooth glide. I use it over a moisturizer too.

« Prev Page of 11 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 is an unbelievably light and silky tinted moisturizer that blends effortlessly to even out your complexion while allowing your natural skin tone to show through. You'll get a smooth, satin-matte finish with sheer coverage and a hint of color to enliven skin. All this, plus broad-spectrum sun protection via pure titanium dioxide and zinc oxide make it the perfect beginning to your makeup application!

This product is 100% fragrance-free.

Who is this product for?
Barely There Sheer Matte Tint is recommended for all skin types and may be used by those with rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 136–149; Pharmazie, January 2008, pages 58–60; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; The Lancet, August 2007, pages 528–537; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2005, pages 253–262; http://www.aad.org/public/publications/pamphlets/common_melasma.html; and http://www.emedicine.com/DERM/topic260.htm.

Key Ingredients: sodium hyaluronate, titanium dioxide, vitamin C, vitamin E, zinc oxide

Product Ingredients:

Active: Titanium Dioxide 5%; Zinc Oxide 5% (mineral-based sunscreens); Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Propylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PEG/PPG-18/18-Dimethicone (silicone-based emulsifier), Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate (thickener), Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane (silicone slip agents), Talc (absorbent), Phytantriol (water-binding agent), Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (antioxidants vitamin E and C), Glycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-repairing ingredients), Aluminum Hydroxide, Stearic Acid (thickeners), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (slip agent), Boron Nitride (absorbent), Sodium Dehydroacetate (preservative), Palmitic Acid (thickener), Dextrin Palmitate (emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives). May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide (pigments).

DIRECTIONS: Apply after using your usual skin-care routine. You can use this tinted moisturizer with sunscreen over your daytime moisturizer whether it also contains sunscreen or not. It is fine to layer sunscreens. Apply with a makeup sponge, foundation brush, or clean fingertips. Dab the tint over the central part of the face, and blend downward using short, smooth strokes. Layer as needed to build desired coverage and then smooth out any excess product. If desired, follow with a pressed powder.

Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 can be layered for additional color and a bit more coverage. Since this is a tint, the level of coverage increases only subtly as you add layers (not substantially as it would with a foundation).

Since the shades are sheer, it is not critical to get an exact match. If you are in-between two shades, we recommend going with the shade that is slightly darker (instead of lighter) than your skin tone. This will add a touch of translucent color to your face, though you will want to make sure the shade matches your neck/jawline as closely as possible (samples of each shade are available).

Do I need to use a separate moisturizer with Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30?

Unless you have dry skin or dry areas, Barely There Sheer Matte Tint can be used comfortably on its own. It is designed for all skin types, but someone with dry to very dry skin may prefer to apply a moisturizer first for additional hydration. Those with normal to oily skin will likely appreciate the light feel and natural matte finish Barely There Sheer Matte Tint provides, though for this skin type a lightweight moisturizer can be applied to dry areas if needed.

Is Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 closer to a tinted moisturizer or a foundation?

It is closer to a tinted moisturizer, but offers more coverage than most tinted moisturizers do. It does not provide coverage on par with liquid foundations, including All Bases Covered Foundation SPF 15 for normal to dry skin) and Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 15 (normal to oily/combination skin).

Is Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 safe for breakout-prone skin?

It is a good choice due to the fact that it isn't heavy, thick or greasy. However, we cannot guarantee it won't cause or worsen blemishes. For some people, this product's active ingredients (the mineral sunscreens titanium dioxide and zinc oxide) can cause clogged pores. The only way to know if any product will cause or worsen breakouts is to try it and see how your skin responds.

How come this foundation's SPF rating increased from SPF 20 to SPF 30? Did the formula change?

Rest assured the formula has not changed. What happened is that we retested Barely There Sheer Matte Tint to comply with the latest FDA regulations. We were thrilled to find out that not only does this sunscreen meet the FDA's new broad-spectrum protection standards, but also that its mineral-based SPF rating is higher than previous testing revealed. It's the same sheer foundation you've been enjoying—only now you're getting a greater amount of critical sun protection!

Help! I'm confused by the new shade names. How do I know which shade to buy now?

Our goal with switching from shade names to shade levels (intensities) was used to make the process easier, but we recognize that fans of this product may be confused as to which level matches their ideal shade. Here's how it breaks down:

Used to use Sheer Fair? The new shade name is Level 1.

Used to use Sheer Ivory? The new shade name is Level 2.

Used to use Sheer Neutral? The new shade name is Level 3.

Used to use Sheer Beige? The new shade name is Level 4.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.338 10/1/2014 11:32:57 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.