Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25

My new BFF, forever. This foundation enhances skin tone, doesn’t paint right over it. Lightweight, oil-taming. Ever-reliable.
Item #: 911
  • Acne Breakouts
  • Combination, Oily Skin
  • Light coverage
  • Protects skin with an in-part titanium dioxide sunscreen

Not sure of your shade? Purchase a sample pack here.

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

80 out of 100
(Based on 207 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 9 Next »
  1. Elizabeth B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Very natural looking coverage!
    • I am only giving this four stars instead of five only because I have not found the perfect match for my skin yet. The lightest shade was much to fair for my light/med skin so I ordered a sample of the champagne beige but it is a bit to dark. I am going to try the linen shade next and am hoping it will be perfect for me. Aside from my issues with finding the right color, this foundation is great. It is the perfect daytime foundation and wears beautifully, and I have oily skin!

  2. DEBORAH A.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 11, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Melts Off Your Face!
    • I gave this 2 stars because it looked very nice at the beginning of the day... but unfortunately not at the end! It seemed to just disappear or melt off of my face and so by the end of the day all of my flaws were showing and I was shiny looking on top of everything. I was very hopeful because of the great reviews, but unfortunately this makeup did not work for me.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Thursday, December 05, 2013

    Thanks for your review! Please contact us for advice, as we suspect the products you applied first may have had something to do with this foundation not lasting as long as it usually does. With oily skin, any product you apply prior to foundation can mix with your skin's excess oil and cause a foundation to break down.

    —Admin
  3. PTA
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Please don't stop making this!
    • This foundation is the perfect texture for very oily skin, and amazingly the right natural yellow tints which are impossible/hard to find in foundations. Please don't change this or stop making this! Yay no pink!!!

  4. Shelly F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 06, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    The best for oily skin!
    • I was happy to see Paula had tweaked the BFF shades; now the lightest shade is perfect for my very fair skin! I use this with her now d/c'd shade Fairest in the SPF powder, which I was lucky enough to stock up on at half price. I've been a Paula devotee since 2001 and have never felt the need to return any product I've purchased; if a product wasn't a 100% fit, I've always had family / friends for whom it worked beautifully. Besides, I want to keep her in business .. we're lucky to have her!!

  5. ANONYMOUS
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    WONDERFUL A+++
    • This is one of the best liquid foundations with sunscreen I have ever used. I have combination to oily skin and therefore can't layer products. Since I apply all foundations sheer I must use a separate spf product underneath. Wearing this alone or over my Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer SPF 30+ is just a pleasure. The texture reminds me of L'Oreal Paris True match liquid foundation and Almay's Smart Shade liquid make up only this is ten times better and the shade matches me to a T! It is heaven sent!

  6. Heather P.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Wonderful product
    • I received two sample ;best champagne and best linen, both are lovely colors that blend in well with my skin tone (fair to medium with a bit of ruddiness) when using a foundation brush, my skin looked even and luminous without that too greasy look. It felt like I wasn't even wearing makeup!! I have aging skin that is blemish prone, usually I will get blemishes the same day as wearing a product, but so far blemish free.....woohoo !!

  7. A L H
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I love everything about it
    • I am so glad this is still available. I was freaking out because I did not see the old-style bottle. I live in Florida and have to be in and out of my car in the hot sun. I've had skin cancer on my face and must have sunscreen. The darkest shade is Natural Buff which isn't that dark but looks so natural and is more foundation like than sunscreen like. I like that the SPF is higher than most foundations.

  8. Sandy M.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 20, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good for oily skin
    • I have oily, acne prone skin with large pores. This foundation worked pretty well for me. I like that it's very lightweight and the Best Natural Buff is a pretty good match for my skin (I usually wear MAC NC35). This hasn't caused any breakouts for me. The coverage is pretty light, but it dries quickly and is buildable to a medium coverage. It has a semi-matte finish so I still have to finish with powder for a more matte look. Good value and I will probably repurchase.

  9. TINA A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 15, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Good job on this product!
    • I've tried many foundations, but they were all very thick and cakey feeling. This one is light, and last all day. I'm impressed.

  10. Kay
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Great light weight foundation
    • This is a nice foundation if you are looking for light coverage. I find that it does not irritate my sensitive skin or aggravate my dermatitis. The Best Champagne Beige color works for me if a have a little bit of a tan and need to even out my skin tone. What is also nice about this is when my skin feels really oily in the summer I can skip using my spf moisturizer and just use this foundation. I would love to see more colors so I can find a great match for when I don't have a tan!

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 04, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for me (Worth a try! Get a sample!)
    • I've been using this foundation for a number of years now. It is smooth to apply, comfortable to wear, feels so light I can't even tell it's on my face. It has build-able coverage, does not cause breakouts (for most people, it seems?), and it doesn't slide off my oily face. Lovely colors, though few. Hard to describe how perfect this foundation really is. I put it on with my fingers (I know, not recommended! damp sponge, I've heard, is best), but it still works great that way for me. Love it!

  12. Jill V.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 12, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Left my skin flaky
    • I suggest ordering the samples to ensure you find the right color and see how your skin reacts. For me, this product brought out the flakiness in my skin. I don't have that problem with my usual foundation. And yes, I moisturize. I tried the two middle colors and they were both a bit light, even though I have fair-to-medium skin tone. I trust this product won't make my skin break out, so I wanted it to work. I'll stick to my Urban Decay Naked Skin 4.5.

  13. JO S.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 08, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Wished it had worked...
    • I have tried to use this several times but just cannot get it to work for me. The application is beautiful and it looks great but every time I wear it I break out in cystic acne! I often break out with physical sunscreens so I am thinking that is what it is. It is unfortunate because the application is beautiful.

  14. LILIYA Saxon
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    This is the best natural looking foundation
    • Yes, it will not give you that heavy tint, but it will give you a very nice and ever coverage. Very natural looking for every day, but not enough for night because it is not supposed to be used for going out. It has SPF in there.

  15. Sun L.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 10, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Light coverage that works well over Elta sunscreen
    • My entire skincare regimen is PC except for sunscreen - I haven't found anything in PC that I like better than Elta MD UV Clear SPF 46 - and this is the only PC foundation that applies smoothly over the Elta MD. The All Bases was too moisturizing; the Resist applied very patchily and emphasized the large pores on my nose. The Best Face Forward's coverage is light, but I don't need or want a lot of coverage anyway, just enough to even out my skintone. The new tube packing is an improvement.

  16. Kateryna L.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 08, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Where is the coverage?
    • I am currently using PC barely there moisture tint but I wanted to get something that will give me a bit more coverage on those days when I feel like I need it. I opdered a couple of samples of this product to figure out color is the best for me, and I was really disappointed because it gives just as much coverage as moisture tint does! There is pretty much NO COVERAGE. It is not a foundation! I am glad I didn't buy a full size of this product.

  17. Susan J.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 27, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    If Paula reviewed this product, I don't think it'd do well... No shade choices - especially reddish/
    • I must say I am really not happy with these. Two colours are too dark, and the other two far too light. Considering how much Paula valued shade choice in all of her reviews, I was severely disappointed in the choices for her products. None of them are friendly to my red/pinkish undertones.

  18. Emily
    Reviewed on Friday, April 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Still Love It!!
    • Thank you, thank you for updating the colors! I can now wear my favorite foundation again! I've tried just about everything out there and this is still the foundation I always come back to, even though my skin is now more normal than it is combination. The coverage is so nice and can be layered if needed.

  19. C
    Reviewed on Monday, March 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    LOVE THIS
    • I love this foundation. Been using it for years and can't do without it!! It is light, never feels heavy or greasy like most others. It is easy to increase this light coverage by layering it. It makes pores nearly disappear! Great for oily skin and also for combination skin. It is a great very versatile product, truly adjustable-coverage make up. If you set it with powder, it will not rub off. A must for summer! Feels like you are wearing no make up at all!

  20. Hayley L.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 08, 2013
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    Good stuff
    • I have oily skin and I suffer from acne breakouts. I've started using paula's skin care and it has cleared up in a week. I ordered two samples of the spf 25 and I love it! It feels like you're not wearing makeup, so light. I think that the makeup might wear off with someone that has very oily skin. I don't have that problem anymore since I've been using Paula's products. Definitely worth the money, just make sure to try the sample first.

  21. DINA MARIE D.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Like but sadly, don't love
    • I like the SPF 25 and that it doesn't feel oily or pasty. However, this is fairly sheer with not much staying power. I always loved Guerlain's Divinora Fluid Matte makeup. It was just matte enough, never chalky. Coverage just right, never too light or heavy. The smoothness was unlike any I've ever used. I wish this formula was closer to Divinora's, which smoothed over pores very nicely also and stayed put. I'm still trying to figure out the best color for me. Hard with only 4 colors.

  22. Amy
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Did Not Put Forward my Best Face
    • For the last year or so I have been trying to find a replacement for Clinique's Superfit foundation that was discontinued, and have spent tons of money throughout the process. I love Paula's skin care products, and thought I would try the makeup as well. I ordered a sample and really liked the shade so I ordered the full bottle. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with the makeup. It looked nice when I first applied it, but by the end of the day, it was all worn off. Back to the search...

  23. Kate
    Reviewed on Friday, January 11, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very nice foundation
    • I love this foundation. I am 40 and have very oily, acne-prone skin. I used to use full-coverage foundation with sunscreen underneath, which I wanted to scrub off my face as soon as I got home. I hated that heavy feeling on my skin. After watching Paula's makeup application videos, I realized her foundations/tinted moisturizers provided enough sun protection for me, so I ordered Best Face Forward foundation. I use her Hydralight cleanser, toner, BHA 2% liquid and Skln Balancing serum and then apply the foundation with a sponge (Paula's sponges are perfect for this!). Not only does my skin feel great, it looks great and I don't want to wash it all off as soon as I get home from work. Best Linen is the perfect color for me. I love Paula's products!

  24. Brandy
    Reviewed on Monday, November 12, 2012
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Didn't work for me...
    • I have been a long-time user of Paula's skincare line and love it! I recently ran out of my foundation and thought I would give her makeup a try. I loved the sample I received, so ordered a full size bottle. Unfortunately, I didn't get the same results. It went on streaky, didn't blend well, and although I know its light to medium coverage, its not at all buildable. Guess its back to my old foundation. Customer Care Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you are not happy with the shade and coverage of this foundation. We do carry samples of the different foundation options and shades if you would like to sample them to see if you find one that works better for you. We would also like to mention that we are coming out with a New RESIST Foundation in December that will have more color options as well as a bit more coverage. We are happy to send samples once it is available. In the meantime we will issue you an in-house credit for the product, you can use the credit towards a future phone order with us. If you have any questions, or would like samples of another foundation please contact customer care. We are happy to help.

  25. Teresa
    Reviewed on Friday, November 02, 2012
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Too yellow :(
    • I really like the coverage of this liquid foundation and I have tried several colors. The darker shades worked better when I was tan, but now my tan has faded and the yellow tone is too much! Please make with a pink undertone or a neutral! Customer Care Response: Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to pass your comments along to Paula and her product development manager. If you have any questions, please contact customer care and we are happy to help!

« Prev Page of 9 Next »

What makes this product unique?
This weightless, liquid foundation with sunscreen is superb for oily skin. It offers a long-wearing matte-finish that blends impeccably. The result? Skin's appearance is significantly improved. This foundation provides light to medium coverage and reduces shine while protecting your skin with broad-spectrum SPF 25. Oily skin will remain matte for hours while this foundation's special texture works to minimize the appearance of large pores.

This product is 100% fragrance-free.

Who is this product for?
Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25 is recommended for normal to very oily/combination skin.

Sources to support the claims made for Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25

The Encyclopedia of Ultraviolet Filters, Shaath, Nadim A., Allured Publishing, 2007, pages 124–125; The Lancet, August 2007, pages 528–537; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2005, pages 253–262; www.aad.org/public/publications/pamphlets/common_melasma.html; and www.emedicine.com/DERM/topic260.htm; and www.cosmeticsinfo.org.

Key Ingredients: glycerin, titanium dioxide, silicone

Product Ingredients:

Active: Titanium Dioxide 8.70%; Octinoxate (Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate) 4.55% Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone (silicone slip agents), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate (thickener/fatty acid), Nylon-12 (absorbent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Polyethylene (thickener/opacifying agent), Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer (silicone polymer), PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone (emulsifier), PEG-8 (thickener), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (powdery thickening agent), Propylene Carbonate (solvent), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Polyhydroxystearic Acid (suspending agents), Aluminum Stearate (thickener), Alumina (absorbent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Polymethylsilsesquioxane (opacifying agent), Polymethyl Methacrylate (film-forming agent), Sodium Chloride (binding agent), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (silicone-based emulsifier), Benzoic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid, Phenoxyethanol (all preservatives), Iron Oxides (mineral pigment).

DIRECTIONS: Apply after using your usual skin-care routine. You can use this foundation with sunscreen over your daytime moisturizer whether it also contains sunscreen or not. It is fine to layer sunscreens. Apply with a makeup sponge, foundation brush, or clean fingertips. Dab the foundation over the central part of the face, and blend downward using short, smooth strokes. Layer as needed to build desired coverage and then smooth out any excess product. If desired, follow with a pressed powder.

How is Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25 different from other Paula's Choice foundations?

The major differences are texture and finish. Best Face Forward Foundation SPF 25 has a fluid consistency that feels lightweight and sets to a long-wearing matte finish that works to reduce shine. It is ideal for normal to very oily skin types. All Bases Covered Foundation SPF 25 has a thicker consistency, a creamier feel, and sets to a satin matte finish best suited for those with normal to dry skin. Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30 is also extremely sheer, with a hint of color and is best for normal to dry skin.

How come this foundation's SPF rating increased from SPF 15 to SPF 25? Did the formula change?

Rest assured the formula has not changed. What happened is that we retested this foundation to comply with the latest FDA regulations. We were thrilled to find out that not only does this sunscreen meet the FDA's new broad-spectrum protection standards, but also that its SPF rating is higher than previous testing revealed. It's the same foundation you've been enjoying—only now you're getting a greater amount of critical sun protection!

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.379 3/29/2015 2:31:22 AM
Skip to Top of Page

Free Email Sign-Up

- Expert Skin Care & Makeup News & Advice (twice a month)
- New product reviews on Beautypedia (twice a month)

Enter Your Contact Information

Birthday (Optional)

 
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging | FREE Shipping on $50+